Customer Reviews


155 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (60)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, gritty and action-packed western
Putting Russell Crowe and Christian Bale together in this movie was a master-stroke. They take opposing roles as the film romps along and the conflict (and then friendship) which develops between them makes for some gripping, nasty and touching moments.
This isn't one of those slowly paced, meandering modern westerns where it takes forever and a day for nothing much...
Published on 3 Dec 2007 by Rowena Hoseason

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good start, terrible finish
I have enduring memories of the original, seen in black and white in the local flea pit in Belfast approximately a million years ago, so I was keen to see this one. Now it has to be remembered that the Western is really a type of American fairy tale where a man's gotta do what a man's gotta do, and all sorts of improbablilities abound, such as the fast draw that never...
Published on 1 Jun 2008 by Teemacs


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, gritty and action-packed western, 3 Dec 2007
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 3.10 To Yuma [DVD] (DVD)
Putting Russell Crowe and Christian Bale together in this movie was a master-stroke. They take opposing roles as the film romps along and the conflict (and then friendship) which develops between them makes for some gripping, nasty and touching moments.
This isn't one of those slowly paced, meandering modern westerns where it takes forever and a day for nothing much to happen. This is a vigh-velocity romp with plenty of wham! and bam! In 3:10 To Yuma the characters develop through blood, sweat and tears (punctuated by gunfire and fist fights).

Bale is a failing farmer, a cripple, who feels he's letting down his family and in particular his oldest son. Crowe is a high-living outlaw, used to ruling the roost and robbing whoever he can. Their paths cross when Crowe is captured and Bale agrees to join the guards who will take the prisoner to catch the prison train (that's the 3:10 to Yuma).

So that sets the scene for a road journey, one where the two men get to know each other, understand more about each other, fight each other, ride horses, sit round campfire, get beaten up -- all that good western stuff. The pace of the film is rapid, so it doesn't sit around dwelling on each point, but clips along to the next fight, the next showdown, the next twist.
There are moments of sweeping action on the plains and in the railroad yards, backed with gritted-teeth drama as the farmer's son starts to admire the outlaw -- his father can't compete with the glamorous gun-slinger who effortlessly charms the women, and provides exactly the wrong role model for the boy.
Bale's character can't quite believe that Crowe really is 100% bad, and that he's completely beyond redemption. Crowe keeps proving, brutally, that he really IS a bad man. Yet in the end, both characters find a form of redemption, via a shower of bullets and a heart-stopping chase sequence. It's one of the best showdown sequences I've ever seen, across the clapboard walkways, through the barns and alleyways and on the roofs of a frontier town.

3:10 to Yuma is over two hours long but it flies by. If you missed it at the movies then definitely watch it now. It's one of the best westerns to come along for years -- all guns blazing...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Far better than I was expecting..., 22 Mar 2010
By 
C. Ball (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 3.10 To Yuma [DVD] (DVD)
I've never seen the original, and perhaps I should, but this remake I definitely like. I thought both Russell Crowe and Christian Bale were superb, although how ironic is it that neither of the leads in this most American of genres are American?

Anyway, I'd highly recommend it. It's very tense and engaging, the two leads are excellent and Ben Cross is fantastic as Wade's sociopathic second-in-command. It's strange, towards the end I was getting Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid vibes with Wade and Evans: definitely strange since they're supposedly enemies, one of whom is trying to put the other on a train to prison. But there's an odd kind of friendship between the two which is quite moving, especially at the end.

So yes, my advice would be to watch it. Even if you don't like Westerns. And really, how can anyone not like Westerns? I'm so glad they're back into vogue again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3:10 to Goodness..., 17 Jan 2008
By 
D. Woods (DURHAM, DURHAM United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 3.10 To Yuma [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a fan of all kinds of movies, but a lot of westerns leave me cold. Especially the older ones, where everybody always seemed to be so emaculate, despite the dust and grime of thier surroundings. And cheesy dialogue (lots of that). The better westerns were morality tales, like High Noon or action packed tales of violence, like the Dollars trilogy. What we have with this film is a perfect blend of both. A wonderful moral tale about redemption, loss, love and fighting for what you believe in melded with all that you expect from a really good western - coach chases, gunfights and some squinty-eyed quick draws. Performance wise? Note perfect. Actors like Christian Bale and Russell Crowe automatically add depth, but the stand-out is Ben Foster as Crowe's right hand psycho 'Charlie Prince'. A chilling and quirky performance. So, all in all, a good enough western to fans of the old fashioned type, with enough action and depth to appeal to the new crowd. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good start, terrible finish, 1 Jun 2008
By 
Teemacs (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 3.10 To Yuma [DVD] (DVD)
I have enduring memories of the original, seen in black and white in the local flea pit in Belfast approximately a million years ago, so I was keen to see this one. Now it has to be remembered that the Western is really a type of American fairy tale where a man's gotta do what a man's gotta do, and all sorts of improbablilities abound, such as the fast draw that never really existed and the squeezing of an entire arsenal of machine gun-like shots out of a gun that only held six bullets and which had to be cocked every time. So, one has to accept this and enjoy the ride.

I found the ride reasonably enjoyable. Crowe and Bale do quite a good job, as does the nasty SOB who is Crowe's 2IC. However, the ending is so wildly, completely improbable that it just spoiled the whole show for me. Surely a more likely ending could have been contrived?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TRUly GRITy, 15 Nov 2007
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 3:10 to Yuma [2007] [US Import] [Blu-ray] [Region A] (Blu-ray)
Ben Wade (Russell Crowe) is a theif and a killer, and after robbing the stage 22 times, he's been caught. Rancher Dan Evans (Christian Bale) volunteers to join the posse that's taking Wade to the train station, a three-day ride away, for the princely sum of $200. Evans needs the money to keep his ranch and to improve his status in his teenage son's eyes. All the while, Wade's evil gang is following them and slowly but surely whittling down the posse.

This western grabs you by the throat and doesn't let go for two hours. At the end, I felt like I hadn't taken a breath the whole time. It's gritty and dirty and cruel and incredibly intense. Crowe manages to make his nasty character likeable and even heroic at the end. His manly charisma dominates the screen. Bale is also excellent as the pitable, noble rancher. I was really rooting for him. Ben Foster plays a thoroughly hateful sadist with relish, but he looked so much like Mike Love of the Beachboys that I was a little distracted during his close-ups.

The taut script has many memorable lines such as, "Even a bad man loves his mama." The desert scenery is magnificent and the movie has a realistic, no-frills look to it. It left me exhausted and sad, but it was powerful and extremely well-made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1957: Great story and fine craftsmanship. 2007: Thirty minutes of angst are added and the story suffers, 7 Aug 2009
By 
C. O. DeRiemer (San Antonio, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 3.10 To Yuma [DVD] (DVD)
My take on 2007's 3:10 to Yuma? Ninety-two minutes for the 1957 original versus 122 minutes. Thirty-two listed actors of which 11 are credited (according to IMDb) versus 43 listed actors of which 32 are credited.

Taut craftsmanship with few obvious lessons versus morality Hollywood-style. No angst, just a great Western story versus so much angst (morality, redemption, failure, father/son, husband/wife, and so on) that I thought I'd never get the angst out of my clothes.

A tension-filled duel of wits and stubbornness between Van Heflin and Glenn Ford which ties them closer and closer together versus odd and unnecessary (except by Hollywood standards) hints of an attachment that dare not speak its name featuring Wade's psycho sidekick,

Great character acting versus great character acting.

Two fine lead performances versus two fine lead performances...but for Dan Evans I'll take Heflin's straightforward doggedness over Christian Bale's modern-day intensity. While I like Ford's and Russell Crowe's performances as Ben Wade, just as a matter of personal preference I like Ford's particular style of slyness and charisma as Wade a little better than Crowe's.

An ending that is tidy and quite satisfying versus an ending that tries to carry too much meaning.

Is it fair to judge a contemporary remake against the original? I think it probably is when the remake suffers (in my view) from contemporary Hollywood bloat. The original was a tight, small story put together by Hollywood craftsmen who knew how to tell and present a story on film. There just isn't, in my opinion, 30 minutes of better movie in the remake. I've watched the Ford/Heflin version a couple of times. I doubt that I'll revisit the Crowe/Bale version. For those who like movies, whichever version you wind up liking, watching both might be a worthwhile way to spend three-and-a-half hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality remake, 5 Oct 2008
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 3.10 To Yuma [DVD] (DVD)
This is a remake of the 1957 film of the same name. Fortunately I saw the original last year, which is a minor classic itself. In general I don't like remakes, however this is well done and Russell Crowe again shows that when he wants to, he can be a terrific actor. Rather surprisingly I thought his performance overshadowed Christian Bale's, who is generally considered a better actor.

The story that Peter Ustinov used to tell of an actor he was working with is never more true than here. Ustinov was in the background in a shot, and the star of the movie turned to him and said "what are you doing?". Ustinov said "I'm doing nothing". The star said "Oh no your not I'M DOING NOTHING". That sort of sums of Russell Crowes performance. He doesn't do a lot, but his not doing a lot is actually very good!

The plot has been told over and over here so to keep it short, Ben Wade (Crowe) is a notorious criminal who has to be put on the 3:10 train to Yuma (where there is a prison). Dan Evans (Bale) is a struggling farmer who being desparate for money volunteers to help, knowing that Wades gang will be on their tail.

The major difference between this film and the original is the inclusion of Dan Evans son as a major character. I didn't think this did any harm, and in places it worked very well.

The single DVD has a few extras on it which are pretty good (commentary/deleted scenes). On the DVD case it says its the best western since Unforgiven. Whilst writing this review I was trying to think of any other westerns since Unforgiven and couldn't remember any... So if I've seen any they obviously didn't have a big impact. This film is by no means perfect but I have no problem recommending it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The 19th century credit crunch, 18 Aug 2008
By 
OEJ - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 3.10 To Yuma [DVD] (DVD)
Talk about mixing a good-old-fashioned Western with modern-day lifestyles - here's a cowboy in 1880s Arizona with debt problems, mortgage arrears and who might lose his ranch as a result! Maybe the credit crunch isn't such news after all. But instead of repossession, in those days the lenders tended to set fire to your property, so hopefully we have progressed a little.

This is an attractively-shot movie with a really good musical score and a couple of A-listers in Bale and Crowe, all of which combines to make for good if sometimes rather violent visual and aural entertainment. It starts off reasonably enough, with financially-stressed Evans (Bale) agreeing to help put captured villian Wade (Crowe) on a train - that's the 3:10 to Yuma - to make sure he goes to prison. But things get a bit confusing after a while, because it's a fair certainty that Wade will be hanged as soon as he gets to Yuma and while he makes a few expected attempts to free himself from his captors during the long horseback-ride to the station, he ultimately gets what could be described as an attack of morality and ends up with somewhat conflicting feelings for Evans in the seemingly impossible quest. It's pacey and full of action but all of this serves to put a mask on the underlying point of the film in the first place. Character development is good but there are more point-blank killings than I feel there need have been given the character-driven original (made 50 years earlier) on which it is based. As a result it shouldn't be taken too seriously as a story because in the end it fails to convince, but as a visual spectacle it's worth watching and the soundtrack helped to lift it a couple of additional notches too. A better approach would have been to tone down the violence and instead focus on the character of Wade and explain in more detail why he made the decisions he did towards the finale. That's probably what the 1957 film of the same title did, I suppose, so for the 21st century they've removed half of the interesting bits and replaced them with as many shoot-outs as they could fit in. A pity, because they could have made a great film if they had, as opposed to a merely good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yee-hah! What a movie!, 12 Dec 2007
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 3.10 To Yuma [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
'3:10 to Yuma' is the adaption from Elmore Leonard's novel and is also a remake of the 1957 film of the same name. The film begins when rancher Dan Evans (Christian Bale) heads into Bisbee to clear up issues concerning the sake of his land when he witnesses a stagecoach robbery, lead by famous outlaw Ben Wade (Russell Crowe). Then, with the help of Evans, Wade is captured by the law in Bisbee and Evans is one of the escorts who will take Wade to the 3:10 to Yuma train in Contention for the reward of $200. Evans' quest for taking Wade to the station is not only for saving for his land but an inner battle that he can be more than just a naive rancher in the eyes of his gunslinging son William Evans. The transport to Contention is hazardous and filled with ambushes from Indians, pursuits by Wade's vengeful gang and Wade's own conniving.

I've not watched a great deal of Westerns, so I didn't really know what to expect from this film, but I watched it anyway as it was directed by James Mangold who also directed some of my recent favourites, Cop Land, Walk the Line and Identity and I was not disappointed by '3:10 to Yuma' at all. The action and excitement is heavy from the get-go and the acting is just top-notch. The standout actor here has to be Russell Crowe who plays the cocky, confident and ruthless outlaw Ben Wade absolutely perfectly. I've never been much of a fan of Crowe but after watching this I wondered what I'd been missing as I thought he did a superb performance. Christian Bale plays Dan Evans very well, although I felt the character itself was rather a let-down as opposed to Bale's acting, as this definitely wasn't his best role I've seen him in. Ben Foster, who plays Wade's right-hand man, Charlie Prince is also an extremely talented actor who I'd seen in some of his previous films like The Punisher, X-Men 3, Hostage and 30 Days of Night and this is without a doubt his most stand-out performance of them all.

Overall this is an excellent film all round that is just non-stop from start to finish and even makes you route for the bad guy the whole way through. Definitely one of the best films of 2007 and will no doubt be one of the best DVDs of 2008. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost great, 7 July 2011
This review is from: 3.10 To Yuma [DVD] (DVD)
Almost.

In fact, if it had ended about 20 minutes earlier than it did, I might have stuck 4 stars on this. But the ending is so utterly implausible and ridiculous, relying on a ludicrous shoot-out where all of a sudden no-one can apparently hit a cow's backside with a banjo and a final scene that is so preposterously thought out that I could hardly believe it, that I almost feel annoyed at giving it 3 stars. That's how much the denouement irritated me.

The fact is though that, aside from one nonsensical piece of suicide on the part of a couple of the characters, there is a lot to like in 3:10 To Yuma. Bale and Crowe are excellent, bouncing off each other superbly, while Peter Fonda and Gretchen Mol do sterling work in support. But it's Ben Foster who completely steals the show, for me, with a mesmerising performance as Crowe's right-hand man. Shame he's such a terrible goalie. Arf. And for the most part, the story rattles along relatively smoothly.

I don't doubt that some people will love the finale and come up with a reasonable explanation for it, but in the admittedly very small post-Unforgiven world of westerns, how it chooses to end is, for me, unforgivable. Worth a look, but it's not a patch on Open Range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

3:10 to Yuma  [2007] [US Import] [Blu-ray] [Region A]
£4.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews