Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lost In Time
I totally agree with the two previous reviews. Just a word about the Tempo catalogue in general: unforgiveably, Decca destroyed the masters of all the Tempo recordings, so all CD reissues are made from dubbings from LP's. Sadly Ember, now Acrobat chose to use a far from perfect copy of TAP 15 to dub the 1957 tracks. Jasmine reissued some of the 1957 tracks on a disc...
Published on 27 May 2008 by Mr. Alan Giles

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Flawed Bargain
This is music that seems somehow oddly never destined to receive the reissue it truly deserves.

The Jazz Couriers first two albums, the eponymous debut and the live set recorded opposite Dave Brubeck's quartet, "The Jazz Couriers In Concert", have long been rightly regarded as British jazz classics, especially the latter with its jingoistic echoes of the "Never...
Published on 14 Mar 2008 by The Collector


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lost In Time, 27 May 2008
By 
Mr. Alan Giles "AlanUK" (Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Jazz Couriers - Some Of My Best Friends (Audio CD)
I totally agree with the two previous reviews. Just a word about the Tempo catalogue in general: unforgiveably, Decca destroyed the masters of all the Tempo recordings, so all CD reissues are made from dubbings from LP's. Sadly Ember, now Acrobat chose to use a far from perfect copy of TAP 15 to dub the 1957 tracks. Jasmine reissued some of the 1957 tracks on a disc called "The First And Last Words" (JASCD 626) The tracks on that CD were The Theme/Through The Night Roared The Overland Express/Royal Ascot/On A Misty Night (two takes) and Cheek to Cjeek. the balance of TAP 15 appeared as part of one of the Tubby Hayes Jasmine reissues, but I don't have it to hand at the moment and can give no details: they dubbed from a better, though still not perfect LP.

TAP 22 containing the live material was reissued over 40 years ago on the budget Music For Pleasure label, also minus the announcements from Ron, and I would assume that it was a copy of that LP that was used in the dubbing Ember made. A pity the announcements were not included: "Elvis Presley sings Theolnious Monk" was used to introduce one number, and in announcing the names of the band members, Ron told the audience that "Terry Shannon was tied for fourteenth place with Winifred Attwell in a recent jazz poll".

I suspect this is the only reissue that we will get of TAP 22, but there is a better source for the contents of TAP 15. Given the price, though, 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of British Be-Bop, 15 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Some of My Best Friends (Audio CD)
Two excellent Albums previously only available on vinyl at very high prices. The first session comes from a studio set and is the couriers at their full throttle best, The second set is where Ronnie liked to play at his best ie "Live" in front of a London audience. By this and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Flawed Bargain, 14 Mar 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jazz Couriers - Some Of My Best Friends (Audio CD)
This is music that seems somehow oddly never destined to receive the reissue it truly deserves.

The Jazz Couriers first two albums, the eponymous debut and the live set recorded opposite Dave Brubeck's quartet, "The Jazz Couriers In Concert", have long been rightly regarded as British jazz classics, especially the latter with its jingoistic echoes of the "Never Had It So Good" Britain of the late 1950s. The music does indeed fizz with infectious confidence. It's just a case of wishing a little more of that fizz could actually be heard.

This issue places for the first time those two Couriers albums on one disc in complete sequence. A previous issue, reviewed elsewhere on this site, was nothing short of a travesty with shoddy remastering, dodgy edits, one track missing and the sonic qualities of an empty oil can.
Now we have something a little better in that it provides a well written (anonymous) booklet note and restores the missing title "Guys and Dolls". However it repeats the previous CD's unforgivable goof of editing out much of Ronnie Scott's compereing, for so long a vital part of the subconcious memory of this music.

That said for under a tenner this is an ideal place to start exploring Tubby Hayes early work and to gain an understanding of the player who lay beneath the public veneer of Ronnie Scott. Both men are in devastating form and the music throughout spills over both decades and national boundaries in a gush of youthful enthusiasm. The closing live version of "Cheek To Cheek" takes the bands approach to the nth degree and deserves a place in any jazz fans collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars they can blow, 8 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Jazz Couriers - Some Of My Best Friends (Audio CD)
1. Three studio dates. Quintet/Sextet sessions from '57,'58,'59. Fourteen tracks
2. #1-4 is also on cd "The First And Last Words"
3. #5-10 is also on "The Swinging Giant Vol.2"
4. Tubby is on vibes on #2,3,4,10,11; flute on #13; rest on ts.
5. Pretty tunes, especially "Whisper Not" with Tubby on vibes. Compare with the performance of Benny Golson.
6. #8-14 has the best recording quality.
7. Ronnie Scott and Tubby Hayes are a good match and perform very good.
8. Less stars due to the recording quality and overlap
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great music, iffy sound quality, 22 April 2000
By 
Mr. Louis Barfe "Author, broadcaster, pillock" (Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Some of My Best Friends (Audio CD)
As the previous reviewer said, this is the Couriers at their best. Unfortunately, the first half of the programme seems to have been dubbed from a slightly jumpy vinyl copy, and unbelievably, there are some annoying skips. So, minus one star for not sourcing the original tapes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Jazz Couriers - Some Of My Best Friends
The Jazz Couriers - Some Of My Best Friends by Jazz Couriers (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews