Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing book
As an amateur photographer I found the book to be compelling reading, being written in an engaging fashion and giving information in doses small enough to absorb with pleasure.

In addition to basic techniques and tips, you will also learn what equipment you require in order to improve your photography.

This is an excellent book which has helped me...
Published on 7 April 2008 by Colin

versus
56 of 63 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great - but for a very limited number of people
If you'd only read the first book and loved it, and haven't read anything else about photography, then this could be a good book for you.
Sadly for everyone else the book doesn't go into enough detail or give nice tips that you wouldn't know already. The format worked really well for book 1, but it just doesn't for this the second book.

Good points:...
Published on 30 Jan 2008 by Adam "Reviewboy" Yorki...


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing book, 7 April 2008
As an amateur photographer I found the book to be compelling reading, being written in an engaging fashion and giving information in doses small enough to absorb with pleasure.

In addition to basic techniques and tips, you will also learn what equipment you require in order to improve your photography.

This is an excellent book which has helped me advance in my photography and which I have read from cover to cover at least twice.

This book is a must for anyone new to photography!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy a highlighter pen..., 21 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Please, don't take any notice of the tripe you will read in these reviews about stupid humour. It is only in a half dozen intro pages and even then, it's not enough to worry about and stop you learning from these wonderful books.
Buy this book, buy volume one too and a good highlighter pen, because you will learn an awful lot (unless you are a seasoned pro). The tips are quick, precise and have made my photography much better in the week it has taken me to read (and cover in highlighter!) both volumes.
Volume two has a great section on studio work with simple and inexpensive equipment that is worth the cover price alone. Don't listen to the silly moans about his sense of humour, buy these and learn lots!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy it...., 15 Feb 2008
By 
Marc Hill (Casnewydd, Cymru / Newport, Wales) - See all my reviews
.....if you are a seasoned pro or utterly humourless. If you think your photographs are generally OK, but are missing that little something extra that makes them good enough to be proud of; then buy it instantly.

This isn't a technical photography manual that will spin your head out with more terms than a consolidation loan contract. Neither is it an artsy Bauhaus analysis of photography design. No, it is actually useful.

I wrote a glowing review of the first volume, and the second volume is just as good. The only downside is that I now am going to spend more money on photography kit. I really think that addiction to narcotics or alcohol would have been much cheaper and far less damaging to my marriage.

The author, to me anyway, comes across as a thoroughly nice bloke who obviously loves what he does. The style is informal and friendly and I enjoy reading both volumes again and again. If, like some reviewers, you find this off-putting I think that says far more about you than it does Scott.

In conclusion: my photographs are better after reading this book, thanks Scott.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book Even For Pro's, 5 Oct 2008
By 
OT8. (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
I've been a wedding photographer for 25 years. I thought this was going to be another "how to take photos book". I've liked other Scott Kelby books so whilst in a bookstore picked it up just for a quick glance, but was suprised to see how much detail he went into. Each page being a new subject, it gave a detailed taster of each subject without all the waffle many books have, and then gave links to websites where you could read more or get equipement that is hard to find. To me it was worth it just for those hard to find links.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 63 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great - but for a very limited number of people, 30 Jan 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you'd only read the first book and loved it, and haven't read anything else about photography, then this could be a good book for you.
Sadly for everyone else the book doesn't go into enough detail or give nice tips that you wouldn't know already. The format worked really well for book 1, but it just doesn't for this the second book.

Good points:
Quick tips that could be a good jumping off point for someone who doesn't know where to go next
Good explanation of how to use off camera flash in TTL on Nikon and Canon cameras
Section on wedding is OK

Bad points:
Writing style - feels rushed, mostly filler and jokes fall flat
Images don't really help show techniques - no before and after photos, or lighting set up diagrams
Poor quality paper - feels cheap
Nearly all of the information can easily be found on the web
Subjects only covered in the smallest detail - would have to buy another book on the subject if in anyway interested

Conclusion
There are better books out there. It does feel that this book was rushed out because the first one (which I liked a lot) sold well.
I would recommend having a quick flick through the book before buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Digital Photographer = Buy this book ... you won't be disappointed, 9 Jan 2009
By 
Karl Grocock (Luton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A fantastic book despite some of the attempts at humour. At least this book is more fact than the aforementioned humour as sadly spoils Book 1 (see my review of book 1). This is a superb book covers everything you need to know to get started in Digital Photography and is a constant reference source and guide by the side throughout your photography career - whatever this may be for you. Buy this book if you want to know about digital photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Read, read and read again, 12 Jan 2009
By 
J. H. Lloyd (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fabulous book. I have had my camera 2 years now and although I've generally got to grips with it, there are always more questions to ask that the manual can't provide. There are some great tips and pointers in this book. It's compact enough to carry around, and as previous reviewers have written, corner those pages and highlight the sections that are of use. I guarantee any self taught photographer will find something useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good practical advice, 25 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. S. Brinn "stu9527" (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Scott Kelby says that he will treat you as a mate out on a photo shoot with him and advise you accordingly throughout this book. That is exactly what he does.
This book contains no-nonsense advice on shooting weddings, portraits and also some additions to landscapes and other scenes from the first book.

This is an entirely new volume of wisdom, so if you haven't already got it, consider buying his first book as well.
Yes, the humour is an acquired taste, but its one that I really like, breaking down the barriers and making the photography fun. It must be popular as Scott has achieved great success in all his books.

The one thing that results in a 4 star rating is that despite his assurances, this book is targeted at Nikon and Canon users. Yes Scott, I know that other makes have similar controls, but by ignoring the other makes and providing step by step instructions to the big two you are alienating those of us who have Olympus, Sigma, Sony, Pentax and any other make there is out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too many mistakes - in too much of a hurry, or ghostwritten?, 5 Dec 2010
There is a lot of good info for the aspiring photographer, but also too many mistakes - from contradicting itself, leaving out important relevant info because of trying to keep it short and snappy, to just plain out-and-out wrong (see the excitement in telling us how just a change from first to second-curtain flash (the ONLY change made, it says ...) totally changes the the amount of ambient light in the example picture ... as if! Sorry, whoever wrote this book, you don't alter the laws of physics that easily!)

I loved the first book, but this one seems to me to have been written by someone who was not that expert at photography, who was maybe just reproducing 'recipes', but without the real knowledge to know when they'd copied it down wrong. So, I found I couldn't trust the new things I found in the book, because of the mistakes I saw in the things I already new ...

I think Scott 'outsourced' this one - and maybe some of these 'recipes' need to be taken with a pinch of salt ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One long shopping list, 10 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. R. J. MacRae "jayhawk2000" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked the first volume in his series, but despite his claim that this book is entirely different it revisits the basics of portraiture, weddings and landscapes which were already covered. Much of the information is identical to the previous book, right down to a tip about the importance of finding a new angle on a popular landmark (illustrated with a photo of the Eiffel Tower, just as he did in volume 1).

The main difference this time around is the shopping list. Hardly a page goes by without his insistence you spend $$$ on a particular product (often specifying the precise brand he thinks you should buy). There is no justification for why he thinks these are the best products. More to point he offers few if any cheaper options and makes no attempt to explain DIY alternatives.

The tips in between are exceedingly basic and is the type of stuff easily gleaned from a photo magazine. Seriously, he spins out across an entire chapter the same generalised information you'll find in articles like 'Improve Your Landscapes With These 10 Easy Tricks.'

And finally, I've said it in my other review, but if you're going to subtitle your book 'make your photos look like the pros' then why illustrate it with cheap royalty-free images that often lack that professional touch?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews