Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For noisy commutes these are excellent.
I purchased these in-ear-monitors (IEMs) about 6 months ago, but waited until now so I could review them based on more long-term impressions, since I feel that's always more useful when considering products that people may well be using every day. I'll start with everything not relating to how they sound, and then finish with my opinions of the audio quality - but bear...
Published on 5 Jan. 2011 by S. Thomson

versus
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Getting better...
Headphones, & in particular, earphones are a tricky purchase. It is difficult to try before you buy & you are never quite sure what you are going to end up with, over priced tosh or a decent value product. The Etymotic HF5 fall into neither of these, coming up just short of the hurdle of being a good valued piece of kit.

First off these type of phones are...
Published on 1 April 2009 by Rich


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Great earphones, 16 Oct. 2010
By 
This review is from: Etymotic Research HF5 Portable iPhone and iPod In-ear Earphones- Black (Electronics)
I bought the HF5 following the advices on internet forums.
They sound REALLY GREAT! Remember to put them deep in your ears otherwise you'll lose a lot of bass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you want great sound isolation for a different listening experience, 29 April 2009
By 
P. Whttingham "purple cloud" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First things first I don't know much about headphones I've had cheap ones £1 to massive Sony headphones at £45. I finally had some money and wanted a good set of earphones. I found these and took a gamble, and in my eyes it defiantly paid off. The look, feel and design are good. The best thing is its sound isolation and quality of sound. With them in you can't really here much and when you turn on the tunes, that all you here, really! The sound is impressive and straight into your ear; some people say bass is an issue you just have to fit them right and there not bass intended anyway. Getting them in is weird but once in quite comfortable. You do have other ear tips. You get a little noise from the cable but minor. If you like your music and want to hear it and ever pluck and strum go for theses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Broken after 2 months, 26 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Etymotic Research HF5 Portable iPhone and iPod In-ear Earphones- Black (Electronics)
My previous Etymotic headphones served me well for 5 years until I sadly lost them. Excited about getting a new pair I purchased the HF5. Great sound, but after using them around 20 times in 2 months the right channel decided to stop working. Etymotic suggested that I send them to the US for diagnosis. Sorry, but for £80 I expect them to last a bit longer than 2 months. Thank you Amazon for processing a full refund, but I will not be spending it on another set of Etymotics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 2 Pairs in 2 months, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Etymotic Research HF5 Portable iPhone and iPod In-ear Earphones- Black (Electronics)
Literally ordered the first pair of these from a seller on eBay. They arrived with a faulty left channel right out of the box. I returned them and ordered a pair from an independent amazon retailer who only offered 30 day returns. As soon as the 30th day expired, the left channel began to go faulty, eventually cutting out just a day later. I looked after these, carrying them in a hard acrylic plastic case.

I wouldn't recommenced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars sound is great, but the earplug's design is slightly flawed, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the ear plugs get dirty with earwax. generally the sound is great but it does take time getting used to plugging these things in so deep. not the best purchase tbh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish for the price, 15 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Etymotic Research HF5 Portable iPhone and iPod In-ear Earphones- Black (Electronics)
These headphones are uncomfortable to say the least: the package provides different earplugs, but none of them feel good.
When you put these on, you basically spend all the time trying to adjust the plugs in order not to feel pain and to hear decently.
Yeah, because not only they are painful to wear, but also they don't have a good quality sound. Basses in particular are weak.
The 20 pounds Sennheiser CX200 do sound far better.
Avoid this product at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid. They fall apart easily., 21 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Etymotic Research HF5 Portable iPhone and iPod In-ear Earphones- Black (Electronics)
I cannot recommend the hf5s at all. Sound is decent and what you'd expect at this price, but they fall apart easily. My first pair - the inline controls stopped working 6 months in and etymotic took 6 MONTHS (!!!!) to get me a replacement under warranty (not purchased from amazon). The replacement call answer function doesn't work on the iPhone but given the time I had to wait for a replacement I won't even try returning these. Stay away I say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Isolation but the remote doesn't work with Iphone 4s + ios 6, 11 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Etymotic Research HF5 Portable iPhone and iPod In-ear Earphones- Black (Electronics)
It has a supperb isolation, but it's remote doesn't work in my iphone 4S. I have upgraded to IOS 6, but it didn't work in IOS5 either. And no, there's no lint inside the headphone jack. When you plug it in the iphone, there's no music playing, but once you press any button in the remote, the volume goes all the way up, almost to the point to let you deaf. Take special care with that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars jury out, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Etymotic Research HF5 Portable iPhone and iPod In-ear Earphones- Black (Electronics)
had these for about a month then the left speaker stopped working for some reason the sound was very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 16 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Etymotic Research HF5 Portable iPhone and iPod In-ear Earphones- Black (Electronics)
sounds better than the previous Bose ones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews