Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings to life the most overlooked Gospel
Mark's Gospel is rich with the teachings of Peter, with some personal insight from Mark who was a boy in Jesus' last days. Barclay does a wonderful job of bringing us into Mark's Gospel and explaining the circumstances and meanings of Jesus' words and parables, without putting any personal spin on them. The English translations don't always do the Greek words...
Published on 6 May 1999

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Where the rot set in for the CofS
William Barclay was one of Scotland's most prominent Bible scholars. A professor at the University of Glasgow whose lectures were sometimes even broadcast! His knowledge of New Testament times was comprehensive and his handling of Koine Greek outstanding. But, he was a heretic: an Arianist who did not believe in Christ as being divine. He was also a rationalist who...
Published on 17 Jun 2011 by Dr John N Sutherland


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings to life the most overlooked Gospel, 6 May 1999
By A Customer
Mark's Gospel is rich with the teachings of Peter, with some personal insight from Mark who was a boy in Jesus' last days. Barclay does a wonderful job of bringing us into Mark's Gospel and explaining the circumstances and meanings of Jesus' words and parables, without putting any personal spin on them. The English translations don't always do the Greek words justice, and Barclay helps develop the rich meanings of the Greek language we often lose in our translations. To read Barclay is to read Jesus as if He were here teaching us, which, really, He is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes reading the Gospel of Mark interesting., 24 July 1999
By A Customer
Barclay's style is very easy to read. He makes reading the Gospel of Mark very interesting. Just reading about Jesus' miracles is good, but having Barclay to read alongside the miracle stories was fun! Planning on using it in my Bible Study class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really well written and interesting., 17 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Looking for a book to read in Lent I chose this on the basis of other Amazon reviews. I am only sorry it has taken me so long to discover William Barclay -his style is accessible and his scholarship very interesting. I am now reading his commentary on St John's Gospel which is similarly both interesting, scholarly and inspiring. For Christians or non Christians these commentaries are highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gospel of St Mark - Barclay, 22 Oct 2010
By 
I have just taken up preaching and was recommended to 'Barclay'.

His books may not have been written recently, but they are invaluable as a resource for getting background and accurate information.

I originally bought the book for research but find I read it for pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Iy's what I required for my studies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is in very good condition. i am very pleased with it. Thank you very much indeed. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its Barclay, of course it's fab., 9 May 2013
By 
L. M. CARTER "Lover of the word" (Nottelling) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another wonderful book from Willy Barclay. Not for the I just want to read a bit and be encouraged today...
It's an in depth verse by verse explanation of scripture. Yes it might be a good idea to flesh out the middle eastern view...so try
Bailey. I'm a huge fan of the series so I will always recommend Barclay to anyone who likes to root out and about in the word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well researched, 26 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent for Bible Classes and sermon preparation with plenty of practical examples and illustrations that encourages you to research further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Where the rot set in for the CofS, 17 Jun 2011
By 
Dr John N Sutherland (Skelmorlie, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
William Barclay was one of Scotland's most prominent Bible scholars. A professor at the University of Glasgow whose lectures were sometimes even broadcast! His knowledge of New Testament times was comprehensive and his handling of Koine Greek outstanding. But, he was a heretic: an Arianist who did not believe in Christ as being divine. He was also a rationalist who had little time for the supernatural.

Reading this commentary again for the first time in possibly 30 years it came across exactly that way, as it had when I became a Christian in the 1980's. It feels dated, caught between a kind of respectable churchiness and a modernist scepticism. He doesn't like demons, and he has trouble understanding why Jesus expelled them, instead saying Jesus only did this for effect for the crowd.

His writing has a very human feel to it. There is little, if any, of the divine present in it. It is a scholarly work for sceptical 19th century pre-liberal thinkers. And human thinking is what really jumps out from this book. And this really spoils it as, just when you are settling in, he throws in his rationalist hat and out goes God.

Why do I still have it? Because he knew so much and has such clear insights into 1st century life. But I would treat this book only as a background reader, never, ever as a commentary as he so often views the text from a 20th century intellectual standpoint rather than what it is: a Jewish document, written in Greek, for Romans. Indeed, he almost stands this on its head and becomes a Roman commentator interpreting for Romans.

I think what is most disappointing in the text is the lack of a feeling of the gospel's thrust, structure and speed. This is a breathless rush through the life of Christ, as is seen so much in the Greek, for the benefit of people who want to know what Jesus said and did. It has a definite structure: Galilee & the North, the road to Jerusalem, Jerusalem. It is a gathered set of real events structured into a narrative, where the speed of the tale-telling does not allow geographic complexities. This gives the Gospel of Mark a unique structure and a power different from the other 3 gospels.

I am afraid that Barclay leaves me thinking: how much baby, professor, are you throwing out with what you think is only bathwater. Evangelical scholars would say: far too much, WIlliam, far too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Gospel of Mark (The Daily Study Bible)
The Gospel of Mark (The Daily Study Bible) by William Barclay (Paperback - 1966)
Used & New from: 8.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews