Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleased To See A Volume 2
The five films here are:

Sadie Mckee (1934) - A classic early Joan Crawford 'rags to riches' tale. The character is feisty but keeps her dignity and her moral standards.

Strange Cargo (1940) - Her final pairing with Clark Gable. Unusual but very watchable tale of a prison escape. Look out for an Oscar and Bosey thing going on with two of the...
Published on 28 Mar 2008 by David R. Bishop

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars John Herbert
An excellent purchase. Prompt delivery and a real bargain .
My wife loves the black and white Joan Crawford films and this arrived as a superb birthday present.
This experience of dealing with Amazon books and other products has confimed me as a real fan of Amazon
!
Published on 5 Feb 2009 by J. Herbert


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleased To See A Volume 2, 28 Mar 2008
By 
David R. Bishop "Bishbaby" (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joan Crawford Collection 2 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The five films here are:

Sadie Mckee (1934) - A classic early Joan Crawford 'rags to riches' tale. The character is feisty but keeps her dignity and her moral standards.

Strange Cargo (1940) - Her final pairing with Clark Gable. Unusual but very watchable tale of a prison escape. Look out for an Oscar and Bosey thing going on with two of the fellow escapees. Ever so bold for its time.

A Womans Face (1941) - Often said to mark the beginning of her 'decade of suffering'. A woman with a disfigured face finds a cure, but her problems are only just beginning. The intensity of her performance, and the unfluffy suject, is a pre-cursor of her excellent film noir works at Warners a few years later.

Flamingo Road (1949) - An attempt to revive her earlier 'poor girl makes good, then hits problems' formula. I love it, but dare I say it, she was a little too old for the role. With her own brand of magnetism, she somehow pulls it off.

Torch Song (1953) - Her first full colour movie. She plays a broadway musical actress who can be difficult, and embarks on a stormy relationship with her blind piano player.

The discs are full of extras, including cartoons and shorts, contemporary to the films. There are some radio broadcasts, including Bette Davis, and also Ida Lupino doing 'A Womans Face'.

There is a short feature on 'Flamingo Road' about Joan's time at Warner Brothers. It is fascinating, but apart from FR, it is mostly about the movies on Volume 1. The other four titles here were MGM productions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 24 Mar 2008
This review is from: Joan Crawford Collection 2 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Shame that I had to buy this in region 1 due to Warner Bros not releasing it in region 2, apart from that this is a wonderful set. It comes in a neat package with stunning pictures of Miss Crawford. The films them selfs are great, especially A Womans Face, which shows Miss Crawford in one of her finest acting roles. Also included is Torch Song which was Joan's first full colour movie, although the the film is not as great as the others it's full colour makes up for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What A Woman! What A Face!, 13 May 2008
By 
Film Lover (North West england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Joan Crawford Collection 2 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Joan Crawford - Movie Star - Ultimate Star - Raging Star - whichever way you dress it up this woman remains, more than 30 years after her death, the definition of a star.

This eclectic second volume of Crawford films demonstrates again her indelible contribution to the history of American culture. Whatever your views are on her acting, her appearance, her voice, - she demands your attention every second she is on screen.

Watch these films and marvel at Hollywood's gold standard in Star Quality - she has no equal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars saint joan, 1 April 2008
By 
G. Stevens "filmfiend" (london, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joan Crawford Collection 2 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
After the sucess of the 1st volume, its now time to enjoy some more from treats from her time at Warner Brothers and an excellent selection from her MGM years including 'her return' for 'Torch Song'.
The extras include brief but excellent biographies (The Warner Years, Crawford and Gable) and are very enjoyable, though I am not sure about the Christina Crawford contribition supporting the Mommie Dearest industry. This collection is clearly aimed at Crawfords fans and we have heard that story enough thankyou Christina.
It's wonderful to see Joan in an early MGM film, Sadie McKee, looking incredibly beautiful and down to earth.
Strange Cargo was a revelation, brilliant subject for it's time, and the cast are incredible.
A Womans face introduces middle age Joan, complete with her new range of expressions and harder facial features. Every one of the supporting cast is extremely well acted, showing the care MGM put into its productions.
Flamingo Road, from Warner Brothers, is enjoyable, though Joan is a bit old for a carnival girl.
Torch Song is both immensely enjoyable, and absolutely hilarious, with Joan managing to play an incredibly unlikeable character that you can't help yourself liking. It is a shame about the obvious dubbing of the songs, but its a real treat to listen to the attempts on the extras with Joan trying to get the vocal track down (without success and much frustration)
There have been a few complaints about the packaging, but to be honest I need the shelf space.
Its great to have some well thought out extras-I paid a fortune for the 18 DVD box set of Marlene Dietrich, and not one single extra on the whole set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Joan Crawford Collection 2, 5 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joan Crawford Collection 2 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The box set has Joan Crawford's best film's such as "A Woman's Face","Mildred Pierce","2Sadie McKee","Strange Cargo",2Flamingo Road",and "Torch Song. A wide range of Joan Crawford's best peformance's. The films are good quality and value for money. If you're thinking of a Joan Crawford box set I feel this showcases Jaon Crawford at her peak and best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome, 6 Jun 2009
This review is from: Joan Crawford Collection 2 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
A must have for Crawford fans, and if your not already a fan by the time you have finished the box set you will be. A great collection of films which includes her first colour. It includes A womans Face, Flamingo Road, Sadie Mckee, Torch song and Strange cargo. All fantastic films!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crawford the 2nd, 19 Jun 2008
By 
Simon Bugler (Cardiff,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joan Crawford Collection 2 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Joan's 2nd collection is another very good package-not quite up to the quality of the first region 1 collection- I rate these movies as:
1 Flamingo Road 5 stars
2 Sadie Mckee 4 stars
3 A Woman's Face 3 stars
4 Strange Cargo 3 stars
5 Torch Song 3 stars
If you're a fan of Joan's camp movies though, Torch Song is def top of the pile- finally- a plea to the makers of the documentaries- please do not include that nasty daughter of Joan's in any future DVDs-don't they realise that Joan's fans hate that woman?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars John Herbert, 5 Feb 2009
By 
J. Herbert (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joan Crawford Collection 2 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
An excellent purchase. Prompt delivery and a real bargain .
My wife loves the black and white Joan Crawford films and this arrived as a superb birthday present.
This experience of dealing with Amazon books and other products has confimed me as a real fan of Amazon
!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars shoulder pads at dawn, 19 May 2011
By 
R. Poole "baby boomer" (london uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joan Crawford Collection 2 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Basically got this for torch song which is everything they say it is! bad, crass and so awful it has a life of its own and rightly has become a true camp classic.
Sadie Mckee was I found a bit humdrum (maid makes good after a few wrong turnings and the odd sable coat).I found this the weaker of the lot.
Strange Cargo a very strange film indeed with even a bit of a gay subplot between 2 of the escaped convicts and redemption for all from another.Weird.
Flamingo Road I found rather good and at times a bit film noirish.
A Womans Face is also good and better than I thought it would be but definately what they used to call a "womans film".
Taken all in all not a bad set but if "Torch Song" had been available singulary at a reasonable price I'd have just got that instead and indeed is the one I'll be watching more often along with possibly "Flamingo Road";
"Sadie" and "Womans Face" once in a rainy blue moon (maybe) and as for "Strange Cargo", well, I doubt that will ever see the light of day again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb341d1ec)

This product

Joan Crawford Collection 2 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
25.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews