Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars where it all started 4 hardcore !!!
as this dvd is 1995 the sound quality is a bit poor...the action is predictable like later ecw. some matches arnt very long as cus of the risks involved...terry funk n mick foley shine in this tournament, and make a great if not long enough main event,brutal ....worth the watch indeed
Published on 6 July 2009 by M. calder

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good for a bootleg
I bought this disc a while back, which Big Vision have released. This was IWA Japan's Kawasaki Dream event aka. IWA - King Of The Deathmatch Tournament.

It seems Big Vision have gone a similar way to Tokyo Pop. Re-releasing old japanesse commercial videos, but unlike Tokyo Pop they've done a pretty good match.

Unlike Tokyo Pop however, Big Vision...
Published on 17 Jun. 2008 by Paul Northcott


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars where it all started 4 hardcore !!!, 6 July 2009
By 
M. calder "trancematt" (kent uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deathmatch Wrestling - The Legendary Japanese [1995] [DVD] (DVD)
as this dvd is 1995 the sound quality is a bit poor...the action is predictable like later ecw. some matches arnt very long as cus of the risks involved...terry funk n mick foley shine in this tournament, and make a great if not long enough main event,brutal ....worth the watch indeed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good for a bootleg, 17 Jun. 2008
By 
Paul Northcott (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deathmatch Wrestling - The Legendary Japanese [1995] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this disc a while back, which Big Vision have released. This was IWA Japan's Kawasaki Dream event aka. IWA - King Of The Deathmatch Tournament.

It seems Big Vision have gone a similar way to Tokyo Pop. Re-releasing old japanesse commercial videos, but unlike Tokyo Pop they've done a pretty good match.

Unlike Tokyo Pop however, Big Vision have bought themselves a master copy of the original tape and re-edited and burned it onto dvd. (Tokyo Pop's dvd's were co-produced with FMW, whilst this in fact a bootleg)
However none of the material has been re-mastered and looks pretty much like the original vhs tape.

Although it says on the cover "uncut" this dvd has had about 30 minutes trimmed off it to make the 2 hour time limit on dvds. although most of the footage removed was just the japanesse interviews, ring entrances and other non essential parts to the English speaking audience this dvd is aimed at.

One gripe i have with this that it has that they've replaced all the original stock music inc. cactus jacks famous dubbed theme "Faces of a Desperate Man" !! in place of all the music is horrible generic hardcore metal. which in my opinion doesn't really fit in with the time period or mood of the event.

However one good thing about this is the commentary, Dave Prazak and some other guy who's name i can't remember are very good and put other all the matches, even the really bad ones. They really help make the event more watchable.
They even put over the pathetic explosion in the last match and carefully edit out Terry's "appology" to the crowd.

If you don't have the master tape already or a 2 disc clone of the original I do recommend getting this tape. As a bonus for the americans you get a bonus disc of XPW - Best of Deathmatches Volume 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well worth my wait mr foley., 9 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Deathmatch Wrestling - The Legendary Japanese [1995] [DVD] (DVD)
i have waited a long time to see this event on dvd and boy was i pleased when i finally purchased it,it was worth waiting for, mick foley is awesome with his wrestling and is backstage interviews.
BUT what makes this dvd great is the superb talent of terry funk in the ring and backstage, what a guy.
i must also add that the match with terry gordy was very good and so was some of the others, a must buy for true bloodthirsty hardcore wrestling fans.
BUY BUY BUY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Extreme, 4 Mar. 2008
By 
This review is from: Deathmatch Wrestling - The Legendary Japanese [1995] [DVD] (DVD)
I used to be a big fan of hardcore wrestling, and I purchased a copy of ebay a few years ago (bootleged sadly) so I have the original VHS version. I've seen some pretty extreme matches, but this, for its time, is the most extreme dvd ever. Some matches suck (anything with Tiger Jeet Singh Sucks) but the best match (in my opinion) is the Terry gordy vs Mick Foley match or the Leather Face vs Terry Funk match. The last match is a classic match also and was probably the first "Extreme" match I have seen. Compared to old Skool CZW, its pretty tame, but for its time, this was the most extreme thing ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The one that started it all, 6 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deathmatch Wrestling - The Legendary Japanese [1995] [DVD] (DVD)
A trip to memory lane, very well done and even the English commentary is well timed and well presented.
A must have for the avid fans...at last available in mainstream media!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 20 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deathmatch Wrestling - The Legendary Japanese [1995] [DVD] (DVD)
Person I bought it for seemed to enjoy it. Not my thing though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deathmatch Wrestling - The Legendary Japanese [1995] [DVD]
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews