Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have album.
In many ways the quintessential British New Wave album,New Boots And Panties gets yet another re release.So the question is do you need this as well as the brilliant 2 cd reissue of a couple of years ago?If you have never owned this album on cd this is probably the best time to invest,but if you own a previous version, i'm not fully convinced.

The Sight And...
Published on 29 Nov. 2007 by Paul M

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
PERFECT
Published 2 months ago by STAVROS K


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have album., 29 Nov. 2007
By 
Paul M "ROYALSFAN" (Reading ,England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Boots And Panties! (Audio CD)
In many ways the quintessential British New Wave album,New Boots And Panties gets yet another re release.So the question is do you need this as well as the brilliant 2 cd reissue of a couple of years ago?If you have never owned this album on cd this is probably the best time to invest,but if you own a previous version, i'm not fully convinced.

The Sight And Sound dvd is fantastic,[But clocking in at under 30 minutes],and is a perfect representation of Ian Dury and the Blockheads at their peak[and they were a tight,disciplined live unit].However with only seven songs i feel a little short changed[surely some other footage could have been found to make this better value],and as much as i love this album and band,it is hard to recommend buying this if you own the album on cd already.

A five star review is given for the amazing music on both discs,which is timeless,but approach this reissue with some caution,as you may already own a perfectly adequate version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terriffic!, 26 Aug. 2009
By 
Comical Engineer "comicaleng" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Boots And Panties! (Audio CD)
Over 30 years old but still sounds great. This is a seminal "new wave" album from Stiff records. The tracks are classics, if you don't have it then the remastered version is slightly clearer than the original in my opinion.

The Blockheads were a fine band with great musical compositions nicely set off by the slightly loony Ian Dury with his bawdy lyrics of life and loves in London and the South East. Billericay Dickie is a personal favourite of mine.

The DVD is taken from the excellent BBC concert series "Sight and Sound" which was broadcast simultaneously with Radio 2 (in the days before stereo TV for those of us old enough to remember). This was one of the Blockheads finest live concerts and well worth a listen although only 30 minutes / 7 songs in length.

I'm well pleased with this 2 disc set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Knock me down with a feather !, 19 April 2010
By 
A. Willard (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Boots and Panties (Audio CD)
Ian Dury is associated with punk/new wave, and both certainly shared some common ground, but he was a product of the pub-rock scene of the early 70's and his roots stretched much further back to rock `n' roll and then further back still to music-hall.

He was the mouthy geezer always dropping wise-cracks and double-entendres, though as this was the 1970's rather than the 1870's the entendres tended to be more of the single variety. First with Kilburn and the High Roads and then with the Blockheads he ploughed his furrow (oo-er!) until a link-up with Stiff Records suddenly made him fashionable. This was his breakthrough album and despite its rather flat production fully deserves its continued status as his best.

I'm not a fan of the rather forced sentimentality of 'My Old Man' and 'If I Was With A Woman' gets right on my 'ampton but the rest are great. From the lustful good-humour of 'Wake Up' and 'Abracadabra', the touching hero-worship of 'Sweet Gene Vincent' and the music-hall bawdiness of 'Billericay Dickie' the music veers from funk to rock 'n' roll and back again before the final punky blast of the last three tracks; the very funny 'Blockheads', the very sweary 'Plaistow Patricia' and the very nasty 'Blackmail Man'. The Blockheads were mostly made up of session-musicians who suddenly found a chance to break into the mainstream and they responded with real enthusiasm and no little skill.

There are five bonus-tracks on my copy which, for once, are worth the trouble. The singles `Sex And Drugs etc' and `What A Waste`; and some B-sides, a tale of teenage thievery `Razzle In My Pocket', the saucy `You're More Than Fair' and the raucous `England's Glory'.

It's a shame about the production because they were a great live act and this album doesn't quite do them full justice - but still a worthy memorial to a true individual talent (must see that film!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At the rendevous with Nina in the back of my Cortina !, 17 Sept. 2006
By 
Jago Wells - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: New Boots and Panties (Audio CD)
Diamond Geezer...pub rocker...artist and artiste...urban poet. Step forward the uniquely brilliant Ian Dury.

'New boots and panties' was one of those post punk albums, like The Stranglers 'IV Rattus Novegicus' and The Jam's 'This is the modern world' which slipped out of the new wave without fanfare or celebration.

Sporting a front cover which showed Ian outside an Army & Navy emporium looking 'well hard' and posing alongside a passing scally waif, NB&P was the absolute anthisis of the pomp and ceremony of the Led Zeppelin-esque albums which clogged the album charts.

Fortunately,word of mouth meant that the album garnered a new legion of Dury admirers,going on to sell 500.000 in the UK and a million world wide.

Using a unique blend of vaudeville,funk,R & R, pub rock,cockney rhyming, humour and some spicy lyrics complete with obscenities...'Plaistow Patricia' is not a track to play in polite company !...NB&P rips along like a joy rider down Peckham High street !

The Blockheads display superb musicianship and are such a tight funky unit that it must have been a joy to provide the vocals.

Conjuring up now legendary characters, 'Billericcy Dickie'..'Clevor Trevor', the aforementioned 'PP' and the dirty old tom 'Nina'.. Dury paints a vivid picture of street life 'darn sarff !

Great stuff !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London's finest, 13 Jun. 2008
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Boots and Panties (Audio CD)
Despite being well into his thirties when he and his band made this debut album, Ian Dury fitted easily into the 1977 music scene. Anything that looked or sounded different in that year was likely to be labelled punk rock and Dury, with his unglamorous image and London accent was quickly accepted as such. He had though slogged around the pub circuit for several years with Kilburn and The High Roads and recorded an unsuccessful album with them before founding this latest bunch of apparent misfits. In truth, The Blockheads were a superb band, and their music was more funky than punky, even if Dury himself sounded like an articulate, intellectual punk poet. Even on the slower tracks, The Blockheads' rhythm section make your body want to move.

'Wake Up...' kicks off with some tasteful piano before launching into an infectious groove. A revered rock and roll homage to Gene Vincent follows, featuring one of Dury's more intricate lyrics. As the album progresses, there's an increasing element of artful, often smutty music hall mixed with the funk and most of the songs are character sketches. Though 'Clevor Trever' is more subdued, Dury's lyric, full of negatives, captures the sense of insecurity superbly. The second half is generally not quite up to the quality of the first, but the band finish with the album's three most manic and musically anarchic tracks. The fast boogie of 'Blockheads' brilliantly takes the mickey out of the male half of the population. The string of obscenities between tracks, though musically delivered are, however, unnecessary. This isn't an album you played to Grandma.

My version of the album contains five marvellous bonus tracks. The title of 'Sex and Drugs and Rock and Roll' has passed into comman usage as an expression of a certain lifestyle, but the single itself, banned of course, is a great track. I've also always had a soft spot for the b-side, 'Razzle In My Pocket' about a teenage dirty book thief on which Dury plays drums. The band's first hit, 'What A Waste', is also included, completing one of the landmark albums of the 1970s and it's still a great listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic rock album & a stunning bonus DVD, 25 Jan. 2008
By 
Jazzrook - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Boots And Panties! (Audio CD)
'New Boots & Panties' is one of the most original British rock albums with Ian Dury's well-crafted, witty and bawdy lyrics combining beautifully with the brilliantly tight musicianship of The Blockheads.
Even if you already own the CD you'll need this 30th anniversary edition for the short but stunning bonus DVD capturing Ian Dury & The Blockheads(minus their saxophonist Davey Payne who had other commitments) close to the peak of their powers.
'Sight & Sound In Concert' was my first encounter with Ian Dury & The Blockheads and I remember being mesmerised by their performance when I came across this extraordinary group on BBC TV in 1977. Why the BBC haven't repeated it at regular intervals is a complete mystery.
Anyway, it's wonderful to be able to see the concert again and this DVD is essential viewing for all fans of the magnificent Ian Dury & The Blockheads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Sweet Ian Dury, Young and Old and Gone'!, 29 Jan. 2010
By 
This review is from: New Boots And Panties! (Audio CD)
What can I say! For all fans of the 'late, great' Ian Dury this two-disc edition is a must, just for the DVD disc alone. The film, from 'Sight & Sound in Concert' was of a far superior quality than I ever expected it to be, and 30 minutes of sheer delight. Seeing Mr Dury at his captivating best, doing what he loved, aided and abetted by The Blockheads.

I already own a copy of 'New Boots and Panties' on CD with bonus tracks, but the CD in this edition has two tracks not on that one, 'Close To Home' and 'Two Steep Hills'.

So, until we get a DVD with more late 1970s concert footage, and perhaps the inclusion of the videos of the single releases, this two-disc set is a must to own, well worth the money.

Note: The only other Ian Dury & The Blockheads DVD of which I am aware of was released in 2003, and entitled 'Hold On To Your Structure', filmed at the London Hammersmith Odeon in 1985, and is just under 60 minutes in length.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars genius, 29 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: New Boots and Panties (Audio CD)
this is an amazing funky album that really shows what a funny bloke ian dury was. Wake up and make love to me, has one of the most funky intros that you will ever find on record and the lyrics are classic too, and the album manages to keep this feel all the way through. the bonus tracks on the album contain Sex and Drugs and What a Waste which are too utterly brilliant songs. this album should be brought by any one that likes good tight jazz rock and who has a sense of humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 16 Mar. 2000
This review is from: New Boots and Panties!! (Audio CD)
I first listened to this album when I was about 14. At that time I remember being amazed at the language in some of the tunes but after the initial shock wore off what remained was an amazingly catchy pub rock album with fantasically well observed thumbnail sketches of English working class life in the late Seventies. Dury's lyrical skill would put a lot of today's rappers to shame. "What a Waste" trundles beautifully along while "Plaistow Patricia", "Blockheads" and "Sweet Gene Vincent" provide you with plenty of opportunities for spilling your beer whilst pogo-ing. "My Old Man" is a great character sketch and a lesson in economy of words. This album is basically the "Best of Ian Dury" and stands as an extremely important album in the history of English artists. He's like Mike Leigh on speed and cider! Everyone should own it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Boots 2CD edition, 26 July 2009
By 
Andrew J. Frankton "Andy" (Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
New Boots & Panties is a masterpiece; anyone who has a pulse should own a copy! DOn't bother to read this. Just order in now!

There are many versions of New Boots available on CD. I took this one for the demos & they are an interesting addition; CD 1 has the original album plus the singles while all of the demos are on the second disc. The demos show that the arrangements were all in place before the real recordings were made. The Blockheads were an amazing band & New Boots shows that their backing was always sympathetic to the song; never getting in the way of the lyrics but adding a real groove.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Boots And Panties!
New Boots And Panties! by Ian Dury & The Blockheads (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews