Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An offer you can't refuse, 18 April 2008
This review is from: Mr. Bongo's Brazilian Beats - 8CD Boxset (Audio CD)
Just been and checked, it's still got the price sticker on...I paid 14.99 for volume one (single CD) of this series when it came out in 2000. If you compare that with the asking price of this 8CD box set [repeat...eight CDs!!] which is the story of the Brazilian Beats series so far ...you really can't go wrong here.
OK it's a mixed bag of stuff, but there are some real finds. If you are a fan of new latin music, and there are some mint club tunes here, dive in...it really is a total bargain. There is everything from Pete Heller's full-on Samba house reworking of Ba-tu-ca-da to quietly anthemic pieces by Jorge Ben, to Barbatuques...who are a mesmerising ensemble doing experimental percussion using body sounds. Unconditionally recommended for discovering Brazilian artists you have never heard of...well...what are you waiting for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daily Telegraph Review, 12 Jun 2008
This review is from: Mr. Bongo's Brazilian Beats - 8CD Boxset (Audio CD)
From spaced-out percussion jams and old-school piano sambas to bossa-flavoured house and heated baile funk, this eight-volume odyssey through Brazil's many styles offers a master class in the country's dance culture.
The sultry growl of Seu jorge and the basso profundo of the veteran Trio Mocoto are among the featured voices, but this is a series that belongs to the dancefloor rather than to individual stars. And while many classic series offer overview compilations, this gives you the WHOLE of Mr. Bongo's Brazilian Beats for little more than the price of a single album. [Mark Hudson]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't beat this bargain!, 25 Jan 2013
By 
David E. Carter (Essex England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Bongo's Brazilian Beats - 8CD Boxset (Audio CD)
For the price of a double CD, this has got to be the greatest bargain I have ever had the pleasure to come across. Constant high quality music(8 & half hours!!!)throughout, the music covers 4 decades of just about every latin groove you can think of, climaxing with a DJ party mix of many of the best tracks already featured. Outside, the snow is lying thick in minus temperatures but listening to this with my eyes closed, everything is suddenly becoming warmer & lighter and when your hips start to instinctively twitch, then you know your hooked!
If you have any sort of attraction to Brazilian music at all, then at this price, simply buy this.Don't hesitate. You will NOT be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really excellent buy., 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Bongo's Brazilian Beats - 8CD Boxset (Audio CD)
This is a collection of a huge variety of artists and styles. There seems to be no logic in the track selection - contemporary and more traditional styles are simply cast together - but I'm so glad they are - I have listened to styles I might not otherwise have bothered with. I play this all the time - there are so many beautiful tracks on each CD (some I simply skip but they are very few). It's such a good compilation and I have a huge new appreciation for the talent shown by Brazilian artists. Some of the tracks seem bang up to date - I'm sure my son would appreciate them - and he is into Drum and Base. I can't rate this CD highly enough - it truly is one of my best buys. I'm listening now and the depth of the rhythms, the harmonies and the contrasting counter rhythms, the sudden changes in tempo and dynamics, the break into drumming…I could so go on and on. Brazilian music is, I have discovered, so rich. Treat yourself to this CD. You will not regret it at all. Just be open, its might not be what you are expecting but it simply gets under your skin and soon you find yourself thinking "I love this track" over and over again. If you are still wondering - just press the "buy" icon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!! An absolute bargain!, 20 July 2009
This review is from: Mr. Bongo's Brazilian Beats - 8CD Boxset (Audio CD)
Definately not your usual compilation of rubbish, this CD rocks! (or sambas!). Every CD is packed full of classic Brazilian beats giving hours of funky listening pleasure. Its a bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD Boxset, 21 May 2008
By 
J. Munro "jock_munro" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Bongo's Brazilian Beats - 8CD Boxset (Audio CD)
Mr Bongo's given us a real gem here ! You simply cant go wrong for the money. I've been listening to the CD's on the way to work, and they are fantastic. CD 1 alone is worth the money. The music style ranges from thumping house, to traditional bossa nova, to funky tunes that sound like they've been lifted from a 70's porn soundtrack and beefed up.

I'm now on CD 4 and I've yet to be bored, or hear a tune that I dont like. I'm sure the rest of the CD's in the box set are just as varied, just as enjoyable and just as cool.

Like me, if you want to expand your musical horizons, then this is a really good sample/introduction into Brazilian music.

Next time I'm having a BBQ, this CD Box set is going to get played all the way through. Its fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Box of sunshine through your letterbox, 27 Jan 2013
This review is from: Mr. Bongo's Brazilian Beats - 8CD Boxset (Audio CD)
Just finished listening to the last disc and can only comment how good it is, as the fella posting above rightly states "A BARGAIN".. have had some compilations in the past (jazz funk,soul,Latina etc) and normally a few duff tracks on those types to stretch out the duration of the cd but this a real winner, as I type on a Sunday morning the sun as decided to grace us with its presence, while the music is playing in the background all I need now is a piña colada,cool sea breeze,two Brazilian bronzed babes playing "pit pat" and I'm there......buy this gem, you'd be bongo not to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everything is here from old to new , some new ones on me but generally very classy across the board., 9 July 2009
By 
Mr. J. H. Stroud (Newbury, Berks U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr. Bongo's Brazilian Beats - 8CD Boxset (Audio CD)
Was put on to this box set after doing an internet radio show with a friend of mine after the first and second cd,s things get very interesting, good blend of bossa and latin grooves , very kind to the ears too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ooooppppaaa brasileiros!!!!, 7 Jan 2011
This review is from: Mr. Bongo's Brazilian Beats - 8CD Boxset (Audio CD)
Great Great Great. Good introduction for those of you new to or curious about the world of the brazucas brasileiros. I recommend to all who are fascinated with this latino world (NB the only portuguese speaking nation in the latino americano world). The music reflects the RICH mixture of brasileiros culture of afro, portuguese, latin, native indios, italian, japanese, arabic!! The love for life (sad times, party times, hot sex times, family times ALL the times) are reflected here. Buy it as it spans and chronicles the story of brasil as a nation for the last two centuries. FIRMESA!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dancing and dancing and dancing, 14 May 2012
By 
Mark Maloney - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Bongo's Brazilian Beats - 8CD Boxset (Audio CD)
This box set is worth it's weight in gold, you will be dancing all day and night to music, and for the price of this CD box set your party will never end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr. Bongo's Brazilian Beats - 8CD Boxset
Mr. Bongo's Brazilian Beats - 8CD Boxset by Brazilian Beats (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews