Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Brandenburgs, 17 Jun. 2010
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
This second account of the Brandenburg Concertos from Trevor Pinnock is really excellent, I think. There are, as Pinnock says in his notes, many fine recordings already, but I think this stands with the best of them. For this project he gathered a group of some of the finest baroque chamber music players in Europe, including stars like violinist Kati Debretzeni and gamba player Suzanne Heinrich, (whose wonderful solo Abel disc Abel: Mr Abel's Fine Airs - Sonatas for viola da gamba /Heinrich is one of my very favourites). They play together with immense skill and obvious enjoyment of both the music and of each other and the result is an excellent and immensely enjoyable performance.

All the soloists are excellent: David Blackadder's trumpet in Concerto 2 is simply brilliant, as is Pinnock himself in Concerto 5, but even the more minor solo parts are beautifully judged and played, like the fabulous bassoon of Eyal Streett in the finale of Concerto 1. The whole feel of the concerti seems just right to me; the intellectual weight of these great works is all there, but with a bounce and suppleness which really draws you in. As examples, the finale of Concerto 3 is taken very quickly but with no hint of harshness or strain, and the first movement of Concerto 6 is relaxed and crystal clear - nothing like the indistinct dirge of some other recordings.

I loved this from start to finish (perhaps with the exception of the solo violin piece which serves for a second movement in Concerto 3 and rather intrudes there). The recorded sound is excellent (Pinnock's harpsichord sounds just wonderful), it is a well-presented set and the notes are very interesting. It's a very good set indeed and certainly one of the best Brandenburgs I know. Very warmly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trevor Pinnock's dazzling new set of Brandenburg Concertos, 7 Aug. 2009
By 
JM Olmesdahl - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
Trevor Pinnock's new set of Brandenburg Concertos on Avie are absolutely fantastic! Die hards will tell you that the classic early 80's versions have not been surpassed. I don't agree. I have lived with versions by both Pinnock and Goebel and find the playing on the new set to be every bit as lively but with a much better, more lucid recording. Interpretatively, the newcomer is slightly faster in most movements giving an added sense of flow. And Mr Pinnock is every bit as amazing on the harpsichord of concerto no. 5. Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine improvement on Pinnock's already fine earlier recording, 5 Feb. 2013
By 
I. Giles (Argyll, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
For many lovers of this famous music, Pinnock's earlier set of some 25 years ago has remained a benchmark recording. However, Pinnock has felt the need to revisit this work with the intention of celebrating all the advances made in both understanding and performing skills made in the intervening years. This recording made in 2007 was also an opportunity for him to celebrate his own sixtieth birthday.

For this project he drew together an ensemble of players of varying ages and at the peak of their profession in terms of Baroque music playing under the title of the European Brandenburg Ensemble. The intention was to illustrate Bach's 'daring and musical subversion' as opposed to his 'discipline and order.'

The most controversial choice made for this recording concerns the deep bass and which version of the violone to use. The choice lay between the 16 foot and the 8 foot instrument with the 16 foot adding greater depth. In the event, the decision was made to use the 8 foot version for concertos 2, 4, 5 and 6 and the 16 foot version for concertos 1 and 3. This is based on research and consequent opinion put forward by Peter McCarthy. Previously the 16 foot version would commonly have been used for all the concertos so this decision may disconcert some listeners.

In general terms the concertos are played at a faster tempo than in the previous set and, markedly, with a far greater sense of dance. This dance element is an important difference as it brings an altogether lighter and more joyful feel to the music making.

The players are all capable soloists in their own right but, as a previous trumpet player I feel that special mention must be made of David Blackadder's playing in concerto 2 and I also appreciate the fine horn playing throughout concerto 1. Pinnock also shines once more on the harpsichord in concerto 5. The other fine soloists are the recorder players, Robert Ehrlich and Antje Hensel, the oboist Katharina Spreckelsen, flautist katy Bircher and the violinist Kati Debretzeni.

The 2007 recording by Avie is excellent with good range and a warmer but realistic tone quality than can happen in baroque music recordings.

I would suggest that this is an outstanding version of these concertos and an improvement of the earlier set, fine though it undoubtedly was and still is. There can never be an outright best set in works such as these, but this set deserves to be seriously considered either as an 'only' purchase or as part of a collection of versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars JS Bach - Brandenburg Concertos, 27 Nov. 2007
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
25 years after his classic 1982 English Concert recording Trevor Pinnock has returned to Bach's famous concerto's with a new ensemble and although his new recording is very good i feel it COULD have been the ultimate set of Brandenburg's.In most of the concerto's on the new recording he has opted to use a small violone instead of the usual 16ft instrument and this deprives the sound of a healthy bass.Who knows if this was Bach's original intention or not but the bass just seems too lightweight in those concert where the small violone is used.There is still some good playing here and Pinnock's new ensemble perform well enough for sure, only in concerto no1 is there a slight instability from the horns.The trumpet part in no2 is better than most other performances i have heard and Pinnock himself is wonderful in no5.A very fine recording overall but the weak bass in most of the concertos does (at least to me ears) have a detrimental effect.
For anybody who is looking for a quality set of the Brandenburg's on authentic instruments this new recording is nevertheless among the finest available as it combines a very high standard of playing and good sound.The only reservation i have about it is the lack of bass in concertos 2,4,5 and 6 where the usual 16ft instrument is replaced by a small violone.

It's difficult to recommend only 1 recording of Bach's famous concertos as there are so many but this one along with the New London Consort/Philip Pickett and Pinnock's earlier English Concert recording are certainly worthy as top spot contenders.

Trevor Pinnock is always a most reliable guide through 17th and 18th century music and he has gauged the tempo's to well nigh perfection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pinnock's dynamic, dynamite retake of the Brandenburgs, 24 Sept. 2011
By 
Yi-Peng (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
There have been countless Brandenburg cycles over the years. Of these countless recorded cycles this Pinnock offering is one of the most dynamic offerings of these concertos. I have great affection for Pinnock's previous DG recordings with the English Concert. On listening to this new set I'm confident to say that this new cycle is so much more outgoing and engaging compared to the reserve of the previous cycle.

From the get-go in the First Concerto one senses that this Brandenburg cycle is a very gutsy offering. By this I mean that the performances on this cycle are very outgoing. Pinnock generally adopts fast tempi but they hardly sound rushed. Every soloist seems to play with all his (or her) heart and everyone relishes their solo turns. The horns in the First Concerto are full-throated and rasping, and conjure up the hunting atmosphere of this piece. Elsewhere I admire David Blackadder's superb trumpeting in the Second Concerto. I also admire the interaction between players throughout these performances, especially in the Third, Fourth and Sixth concertos. The performances of these concertos conjure up the feel of a dialogue as the players respond better to each other. And of course Pinnock has a flighty harpsichord turn in the Fifth Concerto, interacting with the flautist and the violinist and navigating that all-important first-movement cadenza with ease and panache.

I admire the lighter feel of this version because of the lighter bass line. I thought it makes the music trip along more lightly. Also it makes the textures much clearer. The recording quality is excellent too and aids the clearer textures.

To sum up, this is a superb recent Brandenburg cycle and it's well worth the money.

Also in the same vein is the Monica Huggett recordings of the Orchestral Suites, also on Avie. Both recordings strike me as progressive Bach recordings, and they give us marvellous performances of these core works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastc set!, 19 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
And why is this so much better than Trevor Pinnock's revered 1983 period performance?

It's in the music notes: back then, Bach's ''discipline and order was in awe'' was what Pinnock felt, his 1983 set hypnotic and almost robot like. Fast forward some 25 years later with Pinnock being 60 years old and not 35 years old, he now relishes Bach's ''sense of daring and musical subversion''. which means the music sounds like they are all having fun.

These performances will be incredibly hard to beat having an infectious infusion of technical prowess combined with sheer boyancy for joy of the musical score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 8 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
This goes on my list of best recordings of all time. Having lost my set of Pinnock's original recording on DG's Archiv label, I bought this new one, and it's out of this world. Every movement of every concerto is inspired. Sheer love of the music shines through, and the playing is without a fault. Brilliant recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So much livelier, 9 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have recordings by Benjamin Britten and Neville Marriner. They were mangled on an upload so I wanted a new recording. Have always rated Mr Pinnock since his Handel Concerti grossi.. The Bach is excellent. It will disappoint no-one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He thinks it is wonderful but did request this particular recording, 8 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
Gave It to my father. He is 80. He thinks it is wonderful but did request this particular recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good., 12 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
Like the disk very much but I do wonder if the tempo was a bit on the fast side. Blessings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bach: Brandenburg Concertos
Bach: Brandenburg Concertos by European Brandenburg Ensemble (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews