Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
15
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 February 2004
Who knew you could make a comedy about a Leveraged Buyout (LBO)? James Garner, in a brilliant performance, plays F. Ross Johnson, the CEO of RJR Nabisco who wants to buy out the company. He learns about LBOs from the cool slick Henry Kravis, the then-master of the buyout (played by Jonathan Pryce). When Ross takes Kravis' advice and goes out on his own, Henry gets MAD and fires his own salvo. This was a time when people threw figures like "$25 billion" around and thought nothing of it. The technicals of the deal are explained with enough detail that non-financiers can easily follow what's going on. Nice satirical touches like Ross' wife's manicurist explaining the art of the deal to her. A lot of cussing; after all, this was the ultimate boys' game. Fine fun movie.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2010
I originally watched this upon it's terrestrial TV premier broadcast in the early 90s solely on the strength of it starring James Garner, and I was glad I tuned in!

It's really Garner that carries the film, though the supporting cast help kick the film to the back of the net :)

Garner comes out with so many fantastic one liners that had me in stitches! :D

I decided to see if I could find the film on DVD and as usual Amazon didn't let me down :)

It was great to see the film again with fresh eyes, and once again I find it amazing that a corporate buyout has been made so entertaining!

Please beware... if you haven't heard Garner using four letter words and have no wish to start, then this film is not for you, but I have to say, you'll be missing a great performance!

I bought the DVD from Supermart_USA, it arrived way after the latest delivery quoted at the point of sale, though it did arrive fully intact having been adequately packed before dispatch :)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
This is one of those slightly niche films that you may not have heard of but it's really good. If you like business it's a must watch. If business isn't your thing it's still worth a watch with some great performances from excellent actors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
this movie has been realised on 1989 and distributed on 1990. amazingly you can see in this movie of 25 years ago that one could easily foresee part of the the economic problem of subprime and of huge american public and private debt of nowadays...Also from a negotiation point of view, interesting...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2011
A great film and been looking for this on DVD for a while. The film shows th excess of the 1980s when junk bonds were king and money was no object. Funny how this film of a true storey 20 years has basically come round again ovber the last few years.

Would recommend this film, a good cast, the storey it told at a fast base and follows the book it was based on well. James Garner plays the lead very well.

Barbarians at the Gate [DVD] [1993] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
This film is like an unintended time capsule. It's dated so badly it's actually worth watching for the laugh. If a historian wanted to examine culture and entertainment in the 1980's they would have to look no further.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2009
I don't want to be a spoilsport, but I would prefer an adaptation of this book that was a little more faithful to the core material. My problem with the movie was that, while it was undeniably entertaining, and brilliantly cast (love Jonathan Pryce as a serpentlike Kravis), it was just a touch too comedic, and felt at times a bit like a sitcom. Also, James Garner is excellent as F. Ross Johnson, and brings to life the charisma that the CEO of such a company must have had.

Not bad, just off the mark.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2015
Superb witty film. I'm not sure I could laugh at/with the plutocracy the same way today but this a wonderful satire on greed and the RJR Nabisco Airforce.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
Enjoyed this film very much. Love James Garner. So sad he's left us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2016
all good, nice product, thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.