Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars subtely brilliant and gripping
I started disliking the Woody Harrelson character intensley and then I got gripped; this is subtle rivetting stuff; what shone through for me was the integrity of the character drawn... not a feature much highlighted in modern society.
'Hush', he says, 'do you hear that? just the sound of doors closing'.
He loses everything but walks away a giant.
A...
Published on 6 Sep 2009 by Adele Miasma

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lounge lizard
Woody Harrelson says he is not naive but superficial in the character of Carter Paigelll,the homosexual escort of society women whose husbands are in politics.And as Pope said of women mostly,'they have no character at all' we could apply this description to Carter. He provides the chance for his lady friends to indulge in gossip and witty bitching once a week over...
Published on 2 Jun 2009 by technoguy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars subtely brilliant and gripping, 6 Sep 2009
This review is from: The Walker [DVD] (2007) (DVD)
I started disliking the Woody Harrelson character intensley and then I got gripped; this is subtle rivetting stuff; what shone through for me was the integrity of the character drawn... not a feature much highlighted in modern society.
'Hush', he says, 'do you hear that? just the sound of doors closing'.
He loses everything but walks away a giant.
A stella supporting cast and an oscar deserving performance from Mr H
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sophisticated and impressive but of limited commercial appeal., 18 July 2013
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walker [DVD] (2007) (DVD)
This literary and literate film will appeal to a very limited audience - hence its straight to video release. For those who enjoy beautifully written scripts of a Jamesean sophistication and finely toned and nuanced performances - the movie provides these qualities in abundance. I found its witty and self-conscious theatricality - and the bleakness of its sub-text - totally enthralling and could not fault any aspect. The acting, direction, design, score and extras were to me a total joy! However it's definitely not a film for everyone. Those who do not enjoy the slow moving and resonant writings of Edith Wharton, Henry James and their kith and kin - keep away - this movie is not for you. For those who do - give it a try - I suspect you will not be disappointed. Harrelson is a revelation - and the supporting cast consummate professionals - in this complex examination of both a fascinating individual's psyche and his deceptive milieu. Paul Schrader, its magisterial director, described "The Walker" as " "American Gigolo" comes out" - a perfect summary that says it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Let me give you a piece of Washington wisdom," Natalie Van Miter says. "Never stand between a friend and a firing squad.", 11 Jun 2008
By 
C. O. DeRiemer (San Antonio, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Walker [DVD] (2007) (DVD)
"In the end, all you have is your breeding. It's all that separates `them' from `us,'" says Natalie Van Miter, rich, aging doyen of Washington high society.

"My great-grandfather got rich off slavery," says languid, gay, agreeable Carter Page III, escort for powerful women in the nation's capital, who is beginning to have second thoughts, thanks to a murder, about his life. "When the Yankees took that away, my grandfather made his money raisin' tobacco. I don't have any breeding."

"If your great-grandfather were alive today, he'd fit right in," says Natalie, with an affectionate squeeze to Carter's arm.

Car (Woody Harrelson), as his lady friends call him, always meets them for weekly Canasta games at an exclusive Washington club. They dish the gossip about everything and everyone, except about themselves. There's Natalie (Lauren Bacall), acerbic with a smile; Abigail Delorean (Lily Tomlin) the vice president's wife and no fool; and Lynn Lockner (Kristin Scott Thomas), unhappy wife of Senator Larry Lockner, the Senate's minority leader. They all adore Car, who dishes with the best of them. And Car adores them. He's a "walker," an unthreatening, well-bred man who takes wealthy women from place to place when their powerful husbands don't want to go.

Car even escorts Lynn Lockner to her secret weekly assignations with a lover, waiting in the car for her to return an hour or so later. This time, however, Lynn returns in minutes. She found her lover, a financial wheeler-dealer who had been scheduled to testify before a Senate committee, sprawled dead in the man's living room, stab wounds in his chest and, well, lower down. Car decides to protect Lynn, one of his favorite ladies, so he drives her home, returns and then calls the police and says he just found the body.

Carter Page is a man who has lived his life carefully. "I'm not naïve," he says at one point, "I'm superficial." He's never been willing to fully commit to his boyfriend. He uses soft-spoken wit to deflect anything too serious. "How come you're always so polite?" asks Lynn at one point. "It was my mother's answer to chaos and now it's mine," he tells her. He loves being a friend to his powerful, witty, sharply amusing ladies. Before long he's going to find himself the chief suspect in the murder, a target of an obnoxious prosecutor who is delighted to nail Carter with the crime. His boyfriend gets beaten up. Ruthless, political maneuvering in high places leaves him exposed to the elements. In some ways most hurtful, he realizes that his ladies, while still gracious, aren't inclined to play Canasta anymore with him. Even Lynn now is nowhere to be found. "Let me give you a piece of Washington wisdom," Natalie Van Miter tells him. "Never stand between a friend and a firing squad."

The Walker, for the first two-thirds, is a brittle, amusing satire of Washington society and the self-interest that makes it work. The last third, for me, slows down a bit because Paul Schrader, the director, begins to take his view of Washington politics too seriously. There are cracks about the current administration that are a bit old hat. The murderous intent to win at the political game turns from wit to something a little like melodrama. Still, The Walker for the most part is clever, with an unexpected performance by Woody Harrelson as the languid, gay Carter Page III, with a soft Southern accent and a wonderful wig. A couple of critics have said Harrelson was miscast. I don't think so. It just takes a few minutes to accept Harrelson, usually cast as grinning psychos or mentally deficient cowboys, as a tall, good-looking Truman Capote. Carter Page and his predicament with his ladies brings back memories of Capote thinking he was best pals with New York high society queens Babe Paley and Slim Keith, only to be cut dead by them when he dared to print the real dish. Capote proved to be both naïve and superficial (except when it came to his writing). So does Carter Page III until he starts putting the pieces together.

Lauren Bacall, Lily Tomlin and Kristin Scott Thomas are marvelous as Carter's realistic, witty, self-involved friends. They know the real dish; so does Carter; and they delight in sharing with each other. In fact, the movie has a number of first-rate actors, including Willem Dafoe, underused but effective as Lynn Lockner's ambitious husband, Moritz Bleibtreu as Carter's boyfriend and, particularly, Ned Beatty as Vice President Jack Delorean, a smiling, aging politician who is fully prepared to do whatever it takes to gain the advantage over anyone he thinks isn't American enough.

To see Kristen Scott Thomas at her coolest and most determined, watch that singular movie of entomology and incest, Angels & Insects. Lily Tomlin, in my view, is an extraordinary actor, able to combine tart, skeptical intelligence with unexpected warmth. Two of her earlier movies I like a lot are The Late Show and All of Me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lounge lizard, 2 Jun 2009
By 
technoguy "jack" (Rugby) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Walker [DVD] (2007) (DVD)
Woody Harrelson says he is not naive but superficial in the character of Carter Paigelll,the homosexual escort of society women whose husbands are in politics.And as Pope said of women mostly,'they have no character at all' we could apply this description to Carter. He provides the chance for his lady friends to indulge in gossip and witty bitching once a week over canasta.The exteriors and surface textures are emphasised and his beautiful apartment sanctum.Harrelson has
crafted a courteous, southern,gentlemanly, grace of manner.He has a private lover who does risque photos based on Abu Graib and he stays near Carter hoping he gets him a gallery space.Carter is immaculately turned out as Gere was in American Gigolo and cultivates his garb anally.He covers for Lynn(Scott Thomas) who comes upon the murder of her escort lover and takes the flak from the Feds and Washington.He is dropped like a hot potato by his 'society' friends.He is catigated as being unworthy of his father,a wealthy democrat,who baited Nixon.
However,The Walker" is a quietly enthralling film because it contains the murder and the investigation within Carter's smooth calm.Under stress he becomes a loyal friend and detaches himself from the paranoid hypocrises of the political elite. Although the film is not as political as it thinks it is, the performance of Harrelson, pitched somewhere between Marlon Brando and Truman Capote, is an exquisite pleasure to behold.This is a minor film but far better than the majority of films released in a year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting film, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walker [DVD] (2007) (DVD)
I saw part of this film on TV, but was unable to see the end, so bought it. It was good to see Woody Harrelson playing someone so different to his usual roles. He was very very good indeed. The film is very dense though, and every word and look is significant. This is good, but have your brainy brains in when watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a movie, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walker [DVD] (2007) (DVD)
I already saw it 3 times. Everything is perfect. The direction is perfect. The cast is magnificent. The plot is perfect. Costumes perfect (the understate upper class). The interiors. The music. And the cat. Wach it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and gripping subtle political thriller, 13 April 2011
By 
J. J. Guzy "julius paintings" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Walker [DVD] (2007) (DVD)
This is a movie unflattering to the Junior Bush administration and the morality of the very rich. The dialogue is sparse but every word is a clue to the world it depicts. It describes a highly politicised regime vicious and vindictive towards its opponents and those it disparages. It's minions use the changed political climate for their own purposes. It says however that in one respect there has been no change: greed and corruption is as rampant now as it has ever been and that the wealthy care nothing for those they destroy in amassing wealth and power. The events at Abu Grahib are used to provide an ever present reminder of the depravities of our time. In the America it describes, it is better to keep quiet about such matters. The protagonists are caught up in events over which their control is limited to the question of whether they will behave like human beings ought.

An Excellent movie! I had thought perhaps it was too subtle and too understated but I now think I was wrong because the memory of it grows richer over time. Powerful stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars slow but watchable, 8 Nov 2009
This review is from: The Walker [DVD] (2007) (DVD)
The Walker has a slow moving plot and an unexciting conclusion but if like me you wanted to see something
relaxing and classy then its worth an hour and a half of your time.Political intrigue in washington ,friendship,loyalty gossip and murder are its main themes.You get to see woody harrelson as you will never have seen him before giving a performance that some commentators thought was oscar worthy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nostalgia is a paul schrader film, 15 July 2008
By 
2cleverbyhalf (somewhere in the future) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Walker [DVD] (2007) (DVD)
Ludicrously 'old fashioned' in the sense that Mr Schrader is stuck in 1987 having an inappropriate cocktail with already outmoded lounge monster, Mr Ferry.
The whole thing feels like Bladerunner. There's even a scene where a character is illuminated through a venetian blind !
Lot's of sub-Wildean/Capote witticism. Lots of archness. Lots of Bowie-like 'style'. No substantial plot whatsoever. Lots of being beaten around the head with 'Mr Bush is intolerable and American Society is beastly and going to the dogs' (Check out the Robert Hughes reference).
So.. as subtle as big shoulders and, all in all .. a good film for any fop over forty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Turgid, 4 Mar 2008
By 
J. Ennis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Walker [DVD] (2007) (DVD)
Don't be fooled by the ratings and copy on the cover. While this is well acted the story is uninteresting, slow and the film overall, dull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Walker [DVD] (2007)
The Walker [DVD] (2007) by Paul Schrader (DVD - 2008)
£7.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews