Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creme de la creme
I have for years used a Bialetti espresso maker made out of aluminium. The only problem with that is that aluminium can't be descaled and cleaned to my standard.
This Alessi espresso maker is absolutely the best ever. It is made from steel, can be descaled and also popped in the dishwasher. It has a click function making it easier to assemble - even for people with...
Published on 8 Dec. 2009 by Yardy

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Looks good but .....
The first one of these I returned because in use coffee shot out of the top of the pot, when following the instructions in the booklet, with the lid open and also with the lid closed Very messy. The handle was not aligned properly, but I did not know this until I received the replacement one.

The replacement was not quite as messy as the first one, if used with...
Published 13 months ago by allfrogs


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creme de la creme, 8 Dec. 2009
By 
This review is from: Alessi Espresso Coffee Maker with Magnetic Base, 6 Cups, (9090/6 FM) (Kitchen & Home)
I have for years used a Bialetti espresso maker made out of aluminium. The only problem with that is that aluminium can't be descaled and cleaned to my standard.
This Alessi espresso maker is absolutely the best ever. It is made from steel, can be descaled and also popped in the dishwasher. It has a click function making it easier to assemble - even for people with weak hands or just one hand!
The large base ensures less energy waste when brewing espresso.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect home coffee maker, 6 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alessi Espresso Coffee Maker with Magnetic Base, 6 Cups, (9090/6 FM) (Kitchen & Home)
I am coffee obsessed.

I use this every day in preference to my expensive "proper" espresso machine. The Alessi produces consistently great coffee with little fuss or mess. Yes, it isn't proper expresso but with good espresso bean freshly ground it makes wonderfully strong, thick coffee that just needs a little steamed milk. I find it especially good if it is taken off the heat when the pot is no more than 1/3 full giving a stronger, less bitter coffee. I grind the beans reasonably fine and tap down more than is recommended.

A pot is enough for one very strong cappuccino and one weak latte.

I have had several of the more conventional screw type machines. This is much easier to use and doesn't suffer from steam escaping from between the top and bottom parts.

Easy to clean and after a year of constant use it looks like new, I can imagine it still being in use in 20 years time (that works out at 7,305 coffees at 1.5p a coffee). I love that it just needs a heat source and isn't electrical.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Design - great Coffee, 8 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alessi Espresso Coffee Maker with Magnetic Base, 6 Cups, (9090/6 FM) (Kitchen & Home)
This is an expensive but well made and attractive item. In the picture the handle appears to be a sort of brown plastic but actually it's made from coated stainless steel.

The pot is quite small about 185mm high and the base is about 123mm wide at the bottom. It makes about 300ml / 1/2 pint of coffee, about a mugful.
There is a half-pot adapter which lets you make a bit more than 150ml.

Note - it's not clear from the instructions but the half-pot adapter goes into the filter funnel knob-side up. Then you fill the basket with coffee.
It works quite well but is messy to clear up (Got this from clearer instructions provided with the Alessi RS07).

The coffee itself is not really "espresso", but it is strong smooth and very good. A half pot of coffee cut with an equal amount of hot water makes an enjoyable Americano style drink and I find a full pot with splash of milk very good at breakfast.

The biggest negative is the price - other moka pots are available at much less and although not as handsome or well made will still produce great coffee. I chose this one and paid the premium and I'm not disappointed.

Edit - Also disappointing is the poor availability of Alessi parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best of its kind., 3 Mar. 2015
By 
Amazon Customer (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is extremely well designed. The wide bottom allows the water to boil fast, the clicking system on the handle is much more convenient than screw in systems and most importantly, it makes excellent coffee. No crema of course but a really smooth and deep taste. I have used other similar systems (by Bialetti in particular) and the coffee was never so nice. You can use this one on any hobs.

This size makes just enough for about 3 small espresso cups, or one big latte (a 33cl mug). I also have the 6 cup size which is better if you make coffee for two.

A few tips:

1. Use a tamper to make sure that the grinds are well distributed and well pressed. It makes a huge difference. For this size (3 cups) you need a 49mm tamper (or 48 if you can't find the other size), and for the 6 cups you need a 58mm tamper. They are easy to find on amazon and not expensive.
2. If you boil the water prior to putting it in the bottom part then your coffee will be ready literally in 1-2mn, and this prevents the fresh coffee grinds from sitting in the basket for too long.
3. To clean, run the pot under cold water so that you can unclip the top without having to wait for the pot to cool down (the stainless steel is very heavy so this takes forever!).
4. Use espresso ground coffee, not filter.

Hope this helps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great piece of kit, 5 April 2014
By 
Mr. Tim Balderstone "Tim Balderstone" (Staffordshire, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Durable, good looking, makes great coffee quickly and economically. Replaces my electric bulky monster that took up too much space and money via electric bills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what a beautiful brew. Using the same beans I've been using ..., 7 Jan. 2015
By 
I've had one of these for years but it has been functioning as an ornament in my kitchen for a while (they are very handsome and well engineered, after all!)
Today I made myself a coffee in it and it blew my mind, wow, what a beautiful brew. Using the same beans I've been using in my cafitiere, but getting a whole other league in terms of flavour. Treat yourself, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well made, 6 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alessi Espresso Coffee Maker with Magnetic Base, 6 Cups, (9090/6 FM) (Kitchen & Home)
Been using it now for 3 years. Still same seal! Base discoloured very quickly fom gas flame. So it doesn't look gorgeous anymore. Works well but overpriced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Looks good but ....., 15 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first one of these I returned because in use coffee shot out of the top of the pot, when following the instructions in the booklet, with the lid open and also with the lid closed Very messy. The handle was not aligned properly, but I did not know this until I received the replacement one.

The replacement was not quite as messy as the first one, if used with the lid shut but as messy if open, it had a better fitting lid and the central tube was slightly different. The funnel and separate filter plate were not as well made as in the previous one. The interior of the replacement pot was much better than the first one. I have returned the replacement for a refund.

The coffee was hot and tasted fine. So one star. Shame it was not only in my mug.

Have bought the Stellar Art Deco 10 cup which is about half the price of the Alessi, it works perfectly and is easier to clean as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Craftmanship and useability is top notch and it's easy to clean plus looks great, 16 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Did a lot of reviewing stove top espresso makers and decided on this one.
It met & surpassed my rather high expectations consistently brewing delicious cups if you feed it quality beans.
Craftmanship and useability is top notch and it's easy to clean plus looks great.

Richard Sapper made a one-of-a-kind item here; perfect blend of engineering & design that I suspect will last me many years.
There's a reason it has no been changed in all those years since it's launch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews