Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure Clarkson, no substitutes accepted
Compared to his great work in Top Gear I haven't been completely impressed with his other DVD's. I enjoyed this one for several reasons. Firstly, they're clearly using the Production Crew from Top Gear, which is especially evident in both the music and the high-quality camerawork. There are also some amusing Top Gear-style bits. Such as a pretty pathetic race between a...
Published on 29 Dec 2007 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Top Gear Extended
All I would say is that it's an extension of the Top Gear show even though it does not mention BBC Top Gear. If you like the Top Gear show and the season shows are not enough then this is for you but if you have seen all the Top Gear shows during then there really isn't anything new.
One down point, if played on a PC the DVD title and chapter titles shown are that of...
Published on 14 Feb 2008 by M. T. Khalid


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure Clarkson, no substitutes accepted, 29 Dec 2007
Compared to his great work in Top Gear I haven't been completely impressed with his other DVD's. I enjoyed this one for several reasons. Firstly, they're clearly using the Production Crew from Top Gear, which is especially evident in both the music and the high-quality camerawork. There are also some amusing Top Gear-style bits. Such as a pretty pathetic race between a G-Whiz and an Alpine.

One of my favourite parts is a race between Sabine Schmidt and The Stig - something I'd been hoping they'd do on Top Gear for ages now. It's also littered with Clarkson's opinions on different supercars. It was Clarkson's commentary that made me pay more attention to cars, so I really enjoyed it here.

In summary, it's a pleasant way to pass the time until Top Gear returns for another series. If you're an "Eco-Mentalist" (to quote Clarkson), or you jsut can't stand the man, then don't buy this DVD. If you're a fan of Clarkson's work, then I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A return to form., 20 Dec 2007
By 
Mr. D. Bell "Dan Bell" (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
After last years disappointing DVD it's a pleasure to say that Clarkson has returned to form with a very entertaining one this year.

Apart from a couple of stupid stunts (which are actually quite funny) thankfully we are back in super car territory. We get treated to watching some of the world's fastest cars going sideways around a circuit somewhere in Spain. The list of cars is mouth-watering, from a Mercialago to an Ascari A10 via an, erm Rover 25!!

Clarkson's enthusiasm is as good as ever and the 75 minute running time just flies by.

Fans of these DVDs will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clarkson at his best, 23 Mar 2008
By 
I actually bought this as an Easter prezzy for my 5yo son (he doesn't like choccy!)

He's autistic & fanatical about cars, bikes, Top Gear & Jeremy Clarkson!

My son has watched this DVD at least 10 times already & still bounces off the walls every time!

Whilst i fail to see the avid interest in everything he does (he watches the Audi Channel for petes sake!!!), i can wholeheartedly say that this DVD deserves every bit of his approval.

Clarkson is at his dry, witty best. His presenting is excellent all the way through - & even if you're not a fan i dare you not to find some of Clarksons commentary laugh out loud funny.

With 'Supercar' in the title the cars are, of course, fabulous. The Bugatti Veyron, Lambo Gallardo, Ferrari 430 & the Audi R8 to name a few. The showdowns are exciting, fast & a couple are even messy - but never dull.

And if you've ever asked yourself what is quicker - an eco-friendly car or a table? You'll even get that answered in this DVD!

Top this off with guests The Stig & Sabine Schmitz (of Nurburgring notoriety) & you've got yourself a great 76 mins of entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good as ever, but it's nothing new., 13 Dec 2007
By 
Mr. M. Sankey "Road Runner" (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a devoted Clarkson fan, I love him to bits, but the genre is getting a bit tired, especially as it's basically him just doing an hour of road tests - and with the diversity that Top Gear is showing these days, the DVD isn't as exciting as it would have been a few years ago.

The facts he pours out are nothing new for many Top Gear watchers, who will be the main audience to this. It's nice to see the Veyron, the Ascari and various other cars, but there's not really much new material.

Nonetheless it's a nice way to kill an hour and the styling of Jeremy don't fade away, so it's always entertaining.

It's not a DVD that you'll re-watch a lot, but it's good for the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clarkson's 2007 Review of the Latest Dream Cars, 18 Sep 2014
By 
Bill Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is Clarkson's 2007 review of the super cars and hyper cars released that year. He starts with an in-depth review of a Lamborghini Murcielago LP 640 convertible, and doesn't like it too much, partly because of its fiddly detachable soft roof. He takes a Radical SR3 onto a race circuit and absolutely canes it. He then drives a really beautiful, banana yellow coloured Ascari A10, about the only hyper car I've never seen anywhere on the roads. Inevitably, he reviews a Ferrari, a 599 GTB and goes into great detail about its state of the art engineering and technology. He dishes out some harsh treatment to a battery powered Gee Whizz. He takes a convertible Lamborghini Gallardo for a spin through some mountains (lucky swine), he seems to review a Gallardo most years (he actually bought one so we know how much he likes them). He puts the Gallardo head to head against a Ferrari 430 Spider. He then goes on to eulogise about an Audi R8, pitching it against a Porsche 911. Best of all, he spends the last 15 minutes carrying out a fabulous review of a Bugatti Veyron, which he calls " bite the back of your hand brilliant". At the price this DVD costs, it's worth buying just for the segment on the Veyron. A treat for all petrol heads or, given the focus on the Veyron, anyone who's interested in feats of engineering brilliance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Back to his best, 14 Jan 2008
This review is from: Clarkson : Supercar Showdown - With Limited Edition Bonus DVD 'Clarkson Behind The Scenes' (Exclusive To Amazon.co.uk) (DVD)
It's Clarkson at his best - thrashing a collection of beautiful cars around a beautiful track (if slightly complex)

As usual he makes me laugh - or cringe (the cocktail he made was the biggest cringing point, although watching his face after he drank it was also the biggest laughter moment)

I enjoy his reviews and his personality - very rare that we see someone who speaks his mind and isn's a complete idiot like Boris Johnson.

I wasnt sure whether to laugh or cry when that porsche was restyled though.

Thoroughly entertaining though, Keep them coming Clarkson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Top Gear Lite, 6 July 2009
By 
I. Grallert (Claremont, NH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this DVD for my husband and son who are fans of Top Gear which is shown here in the US on BBC America. I was very happy that Jeremy Clarkson's commentary on this DVD was as funny and witty as his stick and interaction with his co-hosts on Top Gear. However, if you are not into cars this DVD is not for you as you do not have the dynamic of the Top Gear trio to entertain you with their silly, and I think often dangerous, stunts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Top Gear Extended, 14 Feb 2008
By 
M. T. Khalid (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clarkson : Supercar Showdown - With Limited Edition Bonus DVD 'Clarkson Behind The Scenes' (Exclusive To Amazon.co.uk) (DVD)
All I would say is that it's an extension of the Top Gear show even though it does not mention BBC Top Gear. If you like the Top Gear show and the season shows are not enough then this is for you but if you have seen all the Top Gear shows during then there really isn't anything new.
One down point, if played on a PC the DVD title and chapter titles shown are that of Jaremy Clarkson - Heaven and Hell for some strange reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent. My son loves it. Excellent value. Came on time. Great super cars on it. My son will be watching again and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars super car show down, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great DVD shows some of the greatest cars ever man and how good they are from design and performance well recommended thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews