Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly inspiring film - simply amazing
Barcode: 5099951302597

Kylie Minogue sure knows how to treat her fans. Not only do we get the DVD of the brilliant Showgirl Homecoming Tour that got its CD release earlier in 2007, but we also have amazing documentary film, White Diamond that i luckily got to see on its premiere night at the cinema. That night remains to this day one of my finest memories of...
Published on 10 Mar 2008 by L. Green

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars She'll Shine on and on (and on !?)
As a 'reality' documentary - White Diamond has only been approved by Kylie as it is a product of 'Gay Husband' William Baker's view on his best friend and her battle to 'put on a show' despite struggling with Cancer. Any 'personal' material has been well and truly cherished by the cutting room floor.

William Baker : stylist, producer, director, creator, gay...
Published on 3 Jan 2008 by Clinty


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly inspiring film - simply amazing, 10 Mar 2008
By 
L. Green "Feltano" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White Diamond / Show Girl Homecoming [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Barcode: 5099951302597

Kylie Minogue sure knows how to treat her fans. Not only do we get the DVD of the brilliant Showgirl Homecoming Tour that got its CD release earlier in 2007, but we also have amazing documentary film, White Diamond that i luckily got to see on its premiere night at the cinema. That night remains to this day one of my finest memories of being a Kylie fan, the film illustrating just why she is one of the world's favourite popstars.

But let's take a quick look at the live show DVD first. Showgirl Homecoming represents one of the finest examples of a modern pop concert, the filming and imagery is of the highest class and captures the night in perfect quality. Fantastic costumes and amazing dance moves galore are to be found here and at the heart of it, Kylie really does shine like a White Diamond.

All era's of Kylie's amazing career are represented here from the glossy pop of her SAW days, through her adventurous days in the mid 90s and all her modern classics like Can't Get You Out Of My Head and In Your Eyes. Stand-out tracks include an amazing updating of the aforementioned 'CGYOOMH', a version of 'Light Years' that flows seamlessly into the beautiful early album track 'Turn It Into Love' and a rave-esque medley of 'Shocked', 'What Do I Have To Do' and 'Spinning Around'. And who could forget 'Dreams' or Kylie's version of 'Over The Rainbow', two songs that truly showcase her incredible voice.

Also, one of the things i like best about Homecoming is that as a whole it presents a more intimate concert than the original Showgirl. Kylie appears more open, talks to the audience at length and is all charming smiles throughout. All round, a truly awesome concert.

But what about White Diamond itself. As William Baker, the director and amongst many other things Kylie's long time friend, puts it - this is an attempt to show the wider public the 'real' Kylie. Many people only know her as a result of I Should Be So Lucky, Michael Hutchence, the gold hotpants, CGYOOMH and cancer. For them, those things = Kylie. White Diamond tries to show to these people that there is more depth to her and presents an extremely intimate look at Kylie's life and to those who say this film isn't gritty, revealing enough, Kylie really is this nice, charming all the time!

Following her on her Homecoming tour, like Madonna's 'I'm Going To Tell You A Secret' this goes to show just what it takes to put on a massive concert like this. Amongst all the fun and hard work, we get some charming moments with Dannii and Bono who come to sing with her. The film is truly inspiring in the way Kylie caries on through everything, determined to give her fans the best experience possible - i was close to tears at the part where she was too ill to carry on with the show but couldn't bare to just leave the audience. Kylie's strength of character is truly admirable.

I also love the way we see that in many ways Kylie is just like us, she gets tired, she laughs, and she plays on her computer. I love it! And with loads of bonus extras, this DVD is well worth getting. A true joy to watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Showgirl celebrates - and keeps her dignity intact, 12 Jan 2008
By 
C. O'Brien (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White Diamond / Show Girl Homecoming [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
It's not clear whether the show or the warts-and-all documentary is the main draw for this release. The two-hour show itself is fantastic - filmed on a single night at Melbourne's Rod Laver arena in front of an ecstatic hometown crowd, it showcases a plainly radiant performer who sounds and looks much happier and healthier than she did on the 2005 live DVD, which was filmed at London's Earl's Court just before her diagnosis. Although some dates on the new tour had to be cancelled when Minogue went down with a nasty throat bug, her voice too is generally much improved here - stronger and less nasal than it was before her illness. The contrast is made plain from the disc's extra features, which include re-edited versions of some of the Earl's Court songs ("In Denial", "Your Disco Needs You") which have been dropped from the new version of the show.

The accompanying "White Diamond" documentary is a personal portrait of the singer by her stylist/director/"gay husband" William Baker. Unlike David Furnish's portrait of his partner Elton John "Tantrums and Tiaras", or the infamous "In Bed With Madonna", it's not a controversial exposé - more an affectionate look at the rigours of touring and the ups and downs of being a working creative. There's not much of on/off lover Olivier Martinez, but there's a glimpse of Bono's guest appearance at the Sydney show, some great backstage banter and a moving sequence with sister Dannii. We don't learn much about Kylie that we didn't already know, but the film is always watchable and she does emerge with her dignity - and much of her privacy - deservedly intact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comeback Queen: Part III, 28 Nov 2007
By 
AyJay (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: White Diamond / Show Girl Homecoming [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
WHITE DIAMOND

**As seen at selected cinemas and on TV**

Ultimately, I found WHITE DIAMOND to be a feature length `Behind The Scenes' for the SHOWGIRL: HOMECOMING tour. We meet the backing singers, dancers, wardrobe assistants, Kylie's manager, vocal trainer & 'friend' Bono (U2). Despite this impressive entourage, there's nothing really exciting going on most of the time, unless you count the edge-of-your-seat thrill of a late dancer.

Kylie - the reason this documentary exists - comes of as little more then a giggly, smiley character in a children's TV program. She automatically puts on an act whenever she sees a camera. her speeches are practiced and there's rarely any real emotion shown. You have to wonder what got cut out. We see her turning off the camera when she's had enough, and the only hard(ish) hitting question she is asked; "Do you feel trapped [by fame]" goes unanswered. To put it bluntly; The Saintly image she works so hard to perfect is boring. I used to be a massive fan, but her image obsession has put me right off.

The only gritty parts are when we see a tired Kylie sleeping on her dressing room floor. Seeing the hundreds of people in WHITE DIAMOND, and then considering the fact that her sister is the only person to voice concerns over Kylie's health, is very sad. Is everyone milking Kylie, or is she - a well known workaholic - pushing them? Either way, here's WHITE DIAMONDS message; Money over health and wellbeing.

Something that really grated on me is the `Director'. I'm not a fanatic who hates everyone who is close to and/or is competition to Saint Kylie i.e. William Baker, Dannii, Madonna etc, but really. I thought directors mainly worked behind the camera, but Will is in nearly every frame. He drapes himself over Kylie constantly, cries over her performance with her sister & generally annoys everyone. Kylie is indeed a Saint, for putting up with him.

If you are interested in the behind the scenes workings that go into a tour, you'll love this. If you love Kylie or William Baker you'll really love this.

Wanting to keep her private life private is absolutely fine; just don't promise something you have no intention of delivering.

As we've already seen the documentary before, there is bonus material in the form of one of Kylie's `Kids' duets, with sister Dannii (The performance is edited differently to Dannii's DVD).
This is one of the highlights; no fancy backdrops, no dancers, just the two of them giving a cool performance together for the first time in 20 years.

SHOWGIRL: THE HOMECOMING

** Warning: I will be discussing parts of the play list. So if you don't want to know, please don't read this review. **

Well, it's here. Kylie's comeback tour (did she ever go away?) is here & no doubt will fly off the shelves. The SHOWGIRL: HOMECOMEING tour is pure entertainment, with fabulous dancers, set pieces & costumes, as well as Ms Minogue herself.

I can't help to compare HOMECOMING to the lofty standards of the original SHOWGIRL tour, and I'm afraid it just falls short of the mark. Not that second place is so bad.

My biggest bugbears are with `Somewhere Over The Rainbow' and the encore. Having a classic song by another artist is great, but did Kylie really have to have `Rainbow' again? It shows of the fact that Kylie has a decent set of lungs on her, but something new would have been appreciated.
It's the same with the encore, which is also the same as the original SHOWGIRL. I'd avoided all gossip of the tour & the reviews before I went to see HOMECOMING, so when the same songs were sung I felt a bit let down after all the excitement & suspense beforehand.

And I know the set list was going to be changed in some places, after all Kylie is making a fresh start in her career. I didn't miss `Please Stay' (it wasn't a great single) and `In Denial' is a great song, but as it's a duet it didn't really work last time, so I can see why it was dropped this time.
But on the other hand `Put Yourself In My Place' is a classic song, nearly as good as `Confide In Me' in my opinion, so I really missed it. I also really missed non-single track `Your Disco Needs You`, which is pure fun, and was a real crowd pleaser last time.

Speaking of changed set lists, I must admit that I found the `temple' section a bit dull. I've already mentioned that `Confide In Me' is a real classic, so it pains me to say that it was a bit lacklustre here. The other 3 songs in this section are `Cowboy Style' (I think this was an Oz only single), I don't rate this song, and the lyrics are a nonsensical jumble. I would have liked to have had `Breathe' in its place. Then the backing singers perform `Finer Feelings' a superb but sadly underrated Kylie single. The final song in this section is `Too Far'. Having a non-single from her least successful album (IMPOSSIBLE PRINCESS) must be a personal choice, but it's boring & the audience will be distanced in my opinion. I'll be skipping this section on the DVD.

'Kids' is sung with her backing singers, not with Bono as stated on Amazon. (This was also on the EMI website. Tut tut)

But now my gripes are out of the way lets discuss the best bits!!

The opener `Better The Devil You Know' is a classic and never fails to put a smile on my face.

Non album track `White Diamond' (wrote by Scissor Scissors) is something a little more personal, yet it's still nice and upbeat.

FEVER non single `Burning Up' is mashed up with the Madonna classic `Vogue', acknowledging the people who call her a copycat. It worked surprisingly well. Kylie is not best known for attitude, but she's certainly capable of giving it!!

Two more non singles are mashed up for her closing song. `Light Years' (same named album) is lovingly performed with `Turn It Into Love' (KYLIE), making this song personal for the audience who continue to support her.

The costumes may not be pretty, but they are bold. The most interesting choices for a Kylie concert, ever.

I've already mentioned the sadly missing songs, but we do get them as a bonus. `In Denial', Je Ne Sais Pas Pourquoi', `Please Stay' and `Your Disco Needs You' are all here, edited differently to the original SHOWGIRL DVD.

This DVD set may be mis-titled as a 'Personal Portrait' when it clearly isn't, but the documentary is still a must have for any devoted Kylie fan. Everyone else; Go straight to the concert disc & leave the documentary alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loving attempt to portray reluctantly cooperative pop star at emotional comeback stage, 19 Mar 2009
This review is from: White Diamond / Show Girl Homecoming [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I put this on to play in the background while me and a friend tidied up, but we soon found ourselves fixed to the screen. To be honest, I did not expect anything else than a smooth, polished surface, as Kylie has always seemed like a model to me, someone that different designers and producers (as well as the audience of course) project their images upon, and who becomes one with them in a very believable, enjoyable way. How could one expect a shocking expose from this film? Especially since it is made by William Baker, loving gay husband of Kylie's? I remember La La La very well...

But the pervasive sadness and melancholy in this film, coupled with the exuberance and restlessness created a very strong emotional draw for both us. Kylie expresses discomfort with the documentation process several times, but at others lets the guard slip for a moment. At one point she states that she felt "stripped of everything" during her cancer experience, and so perhaps this documentation is OK. This isn't Madonna commanding the camera to keep filming her in any possible intimate situation, and with Madonna any situation can be intimate. This isn't a lioness woman who seems to control everything. Kylie appears to be very much playing her role and doing her job, at times she appears to be a bird in a circus cage, not trapped as such, a bird that keeps coming back because this is home.
She appears full of energy and eternally young, then the older sister reponsible for everyone and everything. Somehow I feel I have to disagree, being Kylie does *not* look easy to me.
Still, there is an undercurrent of sheer strength, and Kylie mentions some spiritual ideas, of her journey, and expresses how she enjoys driving through Australia's landscape, and how she feels real in privacy at the beach.
As someone who has every move, item of clothing, note sung painfully examined and checked, then re-checked, and re-checked ad nauseatum, the entire circus of being Kylie seems to be extremely well tolerated by Ms. Minogue. Hats off to her, and to the talented William Baker who seems to me to have nothing but real love for his friend. Again, disagreeing with another review, I enjoyed frames of him adding to the narrative. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Being Kylie looks easy, 25 Nov 2007
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White Diamond / Show Girl Homecoming [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
The latest trend in the pre-Christmas DVD is to release the previously-sidelined documentary with (what was formerly the main attraction) concert as a piece of extra bait. This package is no exception : the 'bonus' disc is a full 2 hour concert from last years "Homecoming Tour" which was, cunningly, released as a live CD earlier in the year, whilst the main lure is an allegedly warts-and-all expose of Kylie On Tour named "White Diamond".

In theory, this could have been a fascinating look into the heart of modern stardom, an essay on fame-beyond-talent, a more daring variant on In Bed With Kylie, this film exists only because the cameraman is her trusted confidant and 'gay husband'.. and thus Kylie herself finds that, given the position of the filmaker, anything truly exposing is left on the cutting room floor. Unlike Robbie Williams similar, but far more fascinating Nobody Someday, this fails to reveal Kylie. What the film shows is someone who, despite having recently battled cancer and heartbreak, just dogmatically ploughs on. 'Our Brave Kylie' keeps smiling, keeps dancing, keep working, knowing neither happiness or unhappiness, showing neither despair or even anything other than quiet tiredness, Kylie proves that above almost all things, the show must and will go on.

Kylie smiles. Kylie giggles. Kylie dances. Kylie looks a bit tired. Kylie exhibits the limited emotional range - or, if your prefer the fixed stability - of Roger Moore, without the ability to raise an eyebrow. Aside from a computer failure, the tour documented shows no daramas but is a finely honed, slick machine geared towards efficiently extracting money with immensely enjoyable vaudeville pop that merely imitates the emotions.

Ultimately, it makes Being Kylie look easy. It's the Anti-Radiohead. It fails to address the fact that Kylies fame is now a product of her being famous : the music she makes is almost irrelevant, and filiming adding shots of her fidgeting fingers does not give gravitas to a generally vacant interview. The problem with this is, I feel, that Kylie is so well trained in diversion and keeping her feelings hidden from the harsh truth of the camera eye, that it's difficult to discern if she is another other than all surface, no feeling.

When you are in the public hour 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, for 20 years, you don't have a private life : everything is public. There's no hint of even the slightest amount of self doubt (the same doubt that makes Robbie Williams far more interesting) - despite turning her weaknesses into strengths and exploiting what she has to maximum effect - Kylie seems to be marketing herself in this as a giddy, happy-to-be-here brand, a product known as Our Brave Kylie as she bravely battles on against colds, cancer, and computers. As the documentary comes to a close, Kylie finally starts to show a modicum of emotion - albeit when she has to terminate a show early due to illness - but ultimately it feels too little, too late for the viewer after two hours of relentless can-do, gung-ho optimism. This impression is hardly alleived by the endless pop of her music - aside from the brilliant Impossible Princess, Kylie has never truly made an album of any true artistic merit.

That said, if you like Kylie, you'll love this package : the documentary is as close as anyone will ever get to her - that is, "not very", and the concert disc is a worthy and thoroughly enjoyable pop thrill that acts as a sequel/remake to 2005's Showgirl DVD.

At the end of the day, if you come expecting an expose, a treatise on the nature of fame, modern celebrity, or anything of a similar nature, please remember that White Diamond has, as its core, nothing but pop music, and whilst it is some of the best pop music ever made, you cannot glean what was never there : ultimately, there is no depth, no great and amazing revelations, beause it seems that there are no secrets to be found. If you're looking for something revelatory - you won't find it. But if you're looking for an entertaining documentary on life being Kylie, then this is perfect for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Diamond / Show Girl Homecoming [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Cracked case as always, DVD fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect transaction, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Diamond / Show Girl Homecoming [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
All went as well as it could go with this order. No delay, item arrived in condition as described and I have no reason for complaint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just as brilliant as her sounds, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Diamond / Show Girl Homecoming [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I enjoyed watching Kylie in concert. The quality of this product was found to be scratchless therefore it could be viewed without any problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love kyies shows, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Diamond / Show Girl Homecoming [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
worth more than 5 stars.recommend this dvd to all,great show with great costumes.love her singing.cant wait to buy more thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars White Diamond, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Diamond / Show Girl Homecoming [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Competive price and it is exactly as described.
Postage was quick and I was kept informed.
Excellent product and would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

White Diamond / Show Girl Homecoming [DVD] [2006]
Used & New from: £1.04
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews