Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars268
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 December 2007
Wow ... finally a game for my PS3 that doesn't disappoint. Since getting my PS3 a couple of months ago there were 3 games that I was really looking forward to, Ratchet and Clank future, Uncharted and GTA IV, I enjoyed Ratchet but it was too short and too easy and I felt slightly disappointed upon completing it, GTA IV disappointed just because of the constant delays ... BUT Uncharted:Drake's fortune is absolutely fantastic, I probably finished the game in about 10-12 hours but these were the most enjoyable 10-12 hours yet on my PS3, the storyline, for a change in a videogame, is engrossing and has plenty of twists and turns so as much as you want to stop playing and go to bed you just can't put the controller down because you need to know what happens next. Parts of this game can be very difficult but never frustratingly so, it's more a case of you fail once so you try a different tactic until you eventually find something that works.
The first thing I did upon completing this game was start a new game straight away on the next difficulty setting and i'm now trying to find all the hidden treasure and earn all the medals to unlock some pretty cool rewards, of course there's your standard rewards such as concept art and macking of docs but then there's cool stuff like one shot kills and unlimited ammo to unlock, I can't wait to replay this game with them 2 active just to see how much easier it is to complete, I think i'll try it on the hardest difficulty setting then.
If there were more games like this on the PS3 then i'd urge everyone to go out and get a PS3 but for now I still think it's best to wait until next year when the great games really start coming and then get a PS3 with Uncharted as your first choice of game to play.
Very highly recommended.

P.S. I'm now playing this game for the third time on hard mode and hoo boy it is hard, there's more enemies and they're much more intelligent, i've found all the hidden treasure and now i'm trying for the medals and rewards, i've had this game for a week now and i'm still having fun playing it, this game was definitely well worth the money.
Aaaaaaahhhhhhhhhh JUST BUY IT, STOP READING REVIEWS AND TRY IT FOR YOURSELF, IT'S A FANTASTIC GAME.
66 comments|64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 January 2013
The globe-trotting adventurer is a familiar character, especially in video games. Lara Croft had her heyday between her first outing in 1996 and the last, terrible, game in 2008. The time was ripe was a new hero to take over and Nathan Drake certainly fits the bill. A descendant of Sir Francis Drake, Nathan has adventure in his blood and is determined to unravel the mystery of his ancestor's final resting place and discover the lost city of El Dorado. It's a well-worn plot, but the jovial Talespin-esque approach and likeable characters keep it fresh and exciting.

Uncharted combines run-and-gun, platforming, and puzzle-solving elements as Nathan navigates hot jungles, sunny coastlines, and dark ruins, killing and fighting all the way. You have to wonder about the morality of a hero character who kills hundreds in his quest for personal wealth, but Nathan Drake's scruffy appearance and sarcastic quips will probably distract you from that.

The game is relatively hard and is split in 21 chapters without a single loading screen. However, in order to unlock the Platinum trophy you will have to beat the game on 'Crushing' difficulty, which is virtually impossible. The targeting system and movement of the character can be quite clumsy, and precision shooting really comes down to chance for much of the journey.

It took me 4 years to unlock 91% of the 47 trophies, and thankfully none of them are based on online play. Uncharted has gone on to be the PS3s flagship franchise, and this now 6-year-old game may be getting on a bit, but it's still well worth playing.

Graphics A
Sound A
Gameplay A-
Lasting Appeal A
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2008
Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is the first game my boyfriend and I have bought for our new PS3 and we were blown away by the quality of the graphics and sound. It looks absolutely beautiful - the jungle environments and ancient ruins are stunning, and we were amazed by how real water looks. It's like a top-notch animated film, rather than a game.

However... I'm not exactly brilliant at gaming, but even I had no trouble at all with the platforming elements of the game. It's hard to fall off or miss something when you are jumping to it - Nate is not only incredibly athletic but seems to have Spiderman's jumping and climbing abilities. I can remember having to try parts of the Tomb Raider games on the PS1 eight or nine times to get through a section without being killed, and it's a bit of an anticlimax to be able do almost everything right first time. The graphics make up for this to an extent (one sequence, where you are climbing the walls of an ancient fort while the sea breaks on the rocks below, is so realistically vertiginous that you may start feeling dizzy), but in Normal mode you rarely feel a sense of achievement when you complete a platforming section. I get bored and give up if it's too hard, but this was a bit too easy even for me.

The puzzles are also very easy. The answers to most of them are found in the diary (which the program handily prompts you to look at and opens to the right page, so there's no chance of missing it) and it isn't hard to work out what you're supposed to do once you've looked at it. There's also no comeback if you get it wrong - you just try again until you get it right. I like to think in other games you'd have been eaten by ravening wolves or burned alive in firetraps for getting it wrong. I'd recommend turning off the on-screen hints (if it's possible) once you get the idea of how to use the controls - they spoil most of the exploration and puzzles by telling you what to do, often before you've even noticed the object yet, e.g. flashing the green triangle when you get close enough to something to push or turn it.

The hardest parts of the game are the shooting sections, where you end up in firefights with some of the seemingly thousands of mercenaries on the island (seriously, how many people have these guys hired?). These are the only places where you'll regularly be killed and then have to start the shootout all over again - frustrating if you've just managed to kill the guy with the laser sight, but good as it does mean you get better at taking cover, aiming and firing. The firefights are really challenging and provide most of the difficult gameplay.

The game has an involving storyline (one of the reasons you rush through it so fast is to find out what's going on), good acting and not too many Captain Exposition scenes, where you stand around listening to people talking in order to move on to the next bit of the story. The cut scenes also look beautiful and it amazes me how hard it is to see the joins between the cut scenes and actual gameplay - quite often I'd be waiting for the cut scene to finish and then would realise I was back at the controls again and could actually move around. The character animation is excellent and Nate is very human - I was quite fond of him by the end. I really enjoyed playing it, but it was over very quickly, and the final confrontation is quite low-key.

On the whole, I'd recommend this game, despite some of the things I've said above. It's amazing to look at, the storyline keeps you interested and there's a lot of action in the shooting sections (fun, even though I'm not usually a big fan of shoot-'em-ups) - just don't expect much of a challenge from the platform and puzzle sections. Most importantly, it's a lot of fun to play. Set it to hard, turn off the prompts and you should have a great time!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2008
This is by far the best looking game I've played on any platform and looks set to become a great franchise. While being a very good game though apart from its visuals it didn't blow me away. The puzzles are a little unimaginative and the platform elements of the game are pretty simplistic requiring little skill or timing. The combat system also while good could do with being refined a little and the endless waves of baddies do become a little tiresome and it does become a bit repetitive. On the plus side though aside from the graphics the presentation of the game is flawless, very cinematic and the characters and story are very engaging. If naughty dog develop the gameplay a little in the next one then Drake can be considered the PS3's first blockbuster franchise to rival Tomb Raider.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 January 2008
Despite reading solid reviews, the concept of Uncharted looked very stale (treasure hunting, pirates etc). In addition, every Sony release since Motorstorm has been a huge waste of time. Therefore, I was convinced I'd be disappointed with this. However, Uncharted turned out quite the opposite and is without doubt the best PS3 exclusive to date. The characters are very likeable (in particular Drake, far from the clichés they first appear as). Graphics are another high point, each section is incredibly detailed. Character animation falls just short of Assassins Creed, but not by much. However, Uncharted is a far superior game overall. Naughty Dog has done very well to provide variety to a game set on just one island; a Nazi U Boat encountered early on being a typical example.

Gears of War has obviously been an influence on this game. Even the way enemies spill blood is reminiscent of Gears. By far the best element borrowed is the cover system, which works incredibly well. As do the platforming sections, familiar to anyone who has played Prince of Persia. Other games that came to mind when playing Uncharted were Resident Evil 4, Tomb Raider and Far Cry.
Where Uncharted succeeds with this cheeky plagiarism is that it takes the finer elements from these titles and combines them to create an extremely enjoyable game. Although nothing feels particularly new, its mechanics are refined to the point where it's almost perfect.
One final point that made me admire Uncharted was how it played out. The ending doesnt finish on a cliff-hanger and neither does it set up a sequel. Uncharted actually has a conclusion, which may seem like a small point, but can be infuriating. Assassins Creed, Ratchet & Clank and countless others take note.
55 comments|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
Uncharted: Drake's Fortune
PlayStation 3
Rated 15

Stats:
HD 720p
1 Player (offline)
Supports Sixaxis motion control
Requires 2560KB minimum of free hard drive space.

Developed by Naughty Dog
Published by Sony Computer Entertainment

Story:
Sir Francis Drake's long-lost diary sends fabled fortune hunter Nathan Drake on a treasure quest to find El-Dorado's golden statue. But stranded on a forgotten island in the middle of the Pacific Ocean, Nathan's search turns deadly. Hunted by mercenaries, outnumbered and outgunned, Nathan and his companions must fight to survive as they begin to unravel the terrible secrets of the mysterious island.

Story Review:
The story has you griped from the start due to the amazing chemistry of the lead character's. Drake is your average guy; constantly throwing himself in harms way, without a clue of what lies ahead of him, which may seem like a mistake at first, but quickly adds to Drake's favor; leaving him to always have the upper-hand, than his enemies. The story is full of banter and quirks which are basically uncommon in video games; this provides a more natural response to situations and heighten emotion; I just wish other games can adopt the same level of characterisation as seen in this one.

Gameplay:
Funnily enough the first part is more harder than the last part of the game, due to the player being bombarded by ruthless intelligent enemies that come out of every entrance. With that being said, the first parts appear to be more random and not staged like they are in the latter parts of the game; making them look like set pieces rather than AI. The enemies will try to flank you by one approaching from the front, whilst the other from behind, whilst at the same time using an high-end arsenal of weaponry like grenade launcher's or Revolver's. If the players character is close to death, the screen would grey-out gradually, ending with a musical note signifying the characters death. A way to stop this from happening; is for Drake to seek safety; away from the enemies line of sight. You can select weapons using the d-pad (arrows) on the control pad. Only one weapon can be carried of each type. The downside however is Drake's flimsiness when combatting heights; cos' he would stumble or roll of the edge of the platform and he doesn't jump far enough.

Visuals:
The visuals are great, definitely a game to showcase high definition. It contains a great use of colour for the forest elements, rust and water. Screen tear is noticeable on this game when moving the camera around, however it won't impede on gameplay too much for you to panic.

Conclusion:
Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is the first game in the Uncharted series which also comprises of Among Thieves and Drake's Deception as it's follow-up sequels exclusively on the PlayStation 3. This game pretty much came bundled with my PS3; so it wasn't as though I was keen on playing it, but now I'm glad I did cos' I thoroughly enjoyed this game and it's one I'll always go back to. If you like exploration and Third Person Shooting, this game is for you. I would of liked a very easy mode which comes as standard in the follow-up sequels, cos' at times the enemies feel a little overwhelming. This along with the screen tearing issues and Drake's flimsiness is the reason for 4 stars overall.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
Hello,

The main character in Uncharted is Nathan Drake, an independent adventurer with an ironic sense of humor who claims to be a descendent of Sir Francis Drake. The 400 year old journal in the coffin of Sir Francis Drake will be the starting clue that sets our modern day fortune hunter on an exploration for the fabled treasure of El Dorado, leading to the discovery of a forgotten island in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

You will have to uncover clues, solve riddles and puzzles, unreveal mysteries as you travel through living jungles and ancient ruins!
Fight against pirates and mercenaries bare handed by execute combos or use any of the huge variety of sniper rifles, grenade launchers, handguns, machineguns, and shotguns!
Your companions Sully, who always smokes cigars and Elena a TV reporter who always argues with you will be on your side most of the times!
The soundtrack is great and goes perfect with the place or the situation you are in.
Graphics of the game are unbelievable, realistic water movement while after you come out of it your clothes are still wet for some time. The facial animation is extreme, when a rocket explodes at the wall where you had your back at as a cover you will see the terror in Nathan's face!
Extremely funny dialoges and monologes also by all characters make you laugh all the time!

The game was released in 2007 but till today it remains one of the greater games of all times. Its music and sound, graphics and gameplay are amazing!
You can finish the game in about 12-16 hours if you take your time to enjoy it at maximum, even sooner if you choose not to find all treasures or complete most of the achievements.

I recommend it with no doubt because I know it will give you a lot of laugh and fun!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2009
This is the first game that I bought on the PS3. And what a way to be introduced to a consol. This is, I think, the most stunningly beautiful game on the PS3 (granted, I don't own that many, but it's still way at the top). The first level is a teaching level on a boat. The shooting controls are simple and the hand to hand combat controls are also simple. The next few levels are in the jungle. These are the levels that show the time and effort that the people behind the animation put into this game. The leaves, grass rocks and trees are absolutely stunning. When Drake (the main character) walks through water his trousers get wet. The water in itself is fantastically animated and when the trousers get wet and rumpled it's a joy to behold.

Right now, enough of me rambling about the water and leaves. The game is about Drake's search for El Dorado. He is accompanied by his friend Victor "Sully" Sullivan and love interest Elena (who's a reporter working on her own documentary). Most of the levels there are two of you, Drake and someone else. They help by mainly shooting at the enemies and standing around giving you hints if you keep going around in circles.

You travel through the jungle, normally being chased by the bad guys, or chasing after them. There is a twist in the story that I'm not sure really works. But it does come out of nowhere and you would never think that the plot was going it that direction. But the twist is important to the end of the story.

During the game you have a variety of weapons that Nate finds on the bodies of the dead goons. You also have a range of melee attacks. Melee attacks comprise a variety of single punches, while combo attacks are activated through a sequences of button presses that, when you time them just right, offer much greater damage; the most damaging of these is the specific "brutal combo," which forces enemies to drop twice the ammo they would normally leave when they die! Always good... You get hand guns, machine guns, shotguns, grenade launchers and my favorite, Grenades. I like the grenades because the height of the aiming arc is adjusted by tilting the controller up or down. Little things...

All in all, a great game. Nuff said.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2008
I actually think that this is the best non-sequel game of this generation so far. Its that good.

Its inspired by the likes of Tomb Raider, Prince of Persia and Gears of War.

Mostly however, it takes its inspiration from the Indiana Jones movies. It has the non stop action, cheesy script, and spectacular set pieces of Speilbergs classics. In fact, if it had the Indiana Jones license, it would probably be lauded as one of the greatest games of all time and sold about 4 times as much.

Basically you are a adventurer on a mission to find out what happened to your distant relative, Sir Francis Drake. The story takes you on a ride between romance, jealousy, betrayal, gang warfare and cowardice. Not to mention the truly bizarre twist near the end.

Many people criticise the end of the game, but to be honest it works in my opinion. It makes the ending into a crescendo rather than a whimper and makes the game feel more dramatic and film like. once you've played it, you'll know what I mean.

As far as the game goes the controls are first rate, especially the combat system. You're always searching for bullets which is excellent and makes it feel more a quest for survival as opposed to you being a one man killing machine. The script and the fantastic voice acting (easily the best ever in a videogame, or at least as good as Psyconauts) really make you aware of the main characters mortality which is quite rare for a videogame, and you do feel for him and want him to get safely to the end.

All in all this is a very good reason to own a Ps3 and is probably the best exclusive game on any system at the moment, with the only exception possibly being Gears of War.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2008
Just finished this game and had a to write of review of it. The more people I can get to give this game a go the better off they'll be!!!. First of all I must say that after having a PS3 for over a year now it is somewhat of a shame that it has taken so long for some quality games to be produced for it. Uncharted is one of those games.

When you first start the game the first thing I noticed were the stunning visuals. The graphics are brilliant and finally show off the power of the PS3. As the first cut scene ended at the beginning of the game the action starts with an it was incredibly easy to pick up the controls for this game (basically if you're a fan of the Tomb Raider games this should be easy to pick up). Getting used to the shooting system of hiding behind cover and popping out to fire you're weapons becomes natural after a short while (something you do a lot of in this game).

Next thing to note is that if you are after a game with a good story this is it. The character of Drake is comparable to Indiana Jones as is the rest of the game and with its exotic locations and you're quest for an ancient treasure it makes for quite an engrossing experience. As the game progresses the plot takes a few twists and turns with some jet ski driving as well as having the bonus objectives of finding hidden treasures and unlocking bonus material for completing various tasks throughout the game.

The only downside some people may find is that the game is relatively short-lived and I completed it in just over a week. But on the plus-side there is replay value in that if you don't unlock everything first time round ie find all hidden treasures you can start over once finished and complete what you haven't done. I have no problem myself with the games length because it is paced just right and made me want to play it again (although on a harder difficulty level, there are 4)!

All in all highly recommended and ace action game.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)