Customer Reviews


212 Reviews
5 star:
 (144)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is more like it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Wow ... finally a game for my PS3 that doesn't disappoint. Since getting my PS3 a couple of months ago there were 3 games that I was really looking forward to, Ratchet and Clank future, Uncharted and GTA IV, I enjoyed Ratchet but it was too short and too easy and I felt slightly disappointed upon completing it, GTA IV disappointed just because of the constant delays...
Published on 10 Dec 2007 by G. Richardson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Game Review
The reason why i chose 3 out of 5 stars is for 2 main reasons. i have to mention the fact that i loved playing this game so much, how ever the draw back to this game is that at times you would experience going of the plot. The main purpose of the game is for your protagonists to find the lost treasures of Sir Francis Drake, however you spend so much time looking for...
Published 6 months ago by Ramzeen Mohamed


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is more like it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 10 Dec 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted: Drake's Fortune (PS3) (Video Game)
Wow ... finally a game for my PS3 that doesn't disappoint. Since getting my PS3 a couple of months ago there were 3 games that I was really looking forward to, Ratchet and Clank future, Uncharted and GTA IV, I enjoyed Ratchet but it was too short and too easy and I felt slightly disappointed upon completing it, GTA IV disappointed just because of the constant delays ... BUT Uncharted:Drake's fortune is absolutely fantastic, I probably finished the game in about 10-12 hours but these were the most enjoyable 10-12 hours yet on my PS3, the storyline, for a change in a videogame, is engrossing and has plenty of twists and turns so as much as you want to stop playing and go to bed you just can't put the controller down because you need to know what happens next. Parts of this game can be very difficult but never frustratingly so, it's more a case of you fail once so you try a different tactic until you eventually find something that works.
The first thing I did upon completing this game was start a new game straight away on the next difficulty setting and i'm now trying to find all the hidden treasure and earn all the medals to unlock some pretty cool rewards, of course there's your standard rewards such as concept art and macking of docs but then there's cool stuff like one shot kills and unlimited ammo to unlock, I can't wait to replay this game with them 2 active just to see how much easier it is to complete, I think i'll try it on the hardest difficulty setting then.
If there were more games like this on the PS3 then i'd urge everyone to go out and get a PS3 but for now I still think it's best to wait until next year when the great games really start coming and then get a PS3 with Uncharted as your first choice of game to play.
Very highly recommended.

P.S. I'm now playing this game for the third time on hard mode and hoo boy it is hard, there's more enemies and they're much more intelligent, i've found all the hidden treasure and now i'm trying for the medals and rewards, i've had this game for a week now and i'm still having fun playing it, this game was definitely well worth the money.
Aaaaaaahhhhhhhhhh JUST BUY IT, STOP READING REVIEWS AND TRY IT FOR YOURSELF, IT'S A FANTASTIC GAME.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An eye-opener, 14 May 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncharted: Drake's Fortune (PS3) (Video Game)
I'd waited until the HD-DVD and Blu-Ray war had been decided before buying the PS3, and based on reviews here bought Drake's Fortune to go with it. Everyone who has described it as visually stunning is spot on; it justified buying the PS3.

The story line is good, character movement is excellent, water effects superb. When Nate emerges from water, his clothes are wet, branches move in the wind, rocks and walls are algae stained. The attention to detail is amazing.

Now why only 4 stars? Firstly, it is a linear game, along the lines of Tomb Raider. I do like the ability to go where I want whenever I want (like GTA). Also, as has been previously mentioned, the puzzles aren't exactly brain teasers, and in some way the game reminds me more of going for a weekend paintballing trip. The game consists of one skirmish after another, not that these aren't fun, but the balance of the game falls heavily on the fighting rather than puzzle solving.

... and there's the annoying trend encountered in all linear games of this ilk. Why is it that having finally opened the secret door that's remained hidden for countless centuries, do you get shot at 5 minutes later by a host of enemies who couldn't have got past you?

Now I work for a living and have a family, so don't have hours each day to spend gaming, so it has to be said that this game is ideal for someone in that position. If you don't want to spend hours getting your skill levels up a notch, but want something you can dive into for half an hour, then this is ideal. The auto save is mostly good (it usually, but not always returns you to a recent point when you get killed), meaning you don't have to play through 20 minutes of game simply because your finger slipped on a button. Note, usually, but not always.

There is however a downside to this. If you actually want to go back, sometimes you can't. For example if you move to a 'next' location, so long as you don't die you can go back to pick up ammo or weapons left by the last set of cannon fodder, however if you die, and return to the new location, everything has gone.

All this said, I'm glad I bought it.

R.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best PS3 exclusive so far, 20 Jan 2008
By 
Stevie G "Stevie G" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted: Drake's Fortune (PS3) (Video Game)
Despite reading solid reviews, the concept of Uncharted looked very stale (treasure hunting, pirates etc). In addition, every Sony release since Motorstorm has been a huge waste of time. Therefore, I was convinced I'd be disappointed with this. However, Uncharted turned out quite the opposite and is without doubt the best PS3 exclusive to date. The characters are very likeable (in particular Drake, far from the clichés they first appear as). Graphics are another high point, each section is incredibly detailed. Character animation falls just short of Assassins Creed, but not by much. However, Uncharted is a far superior game overall. Naughty Dog has done very well to provide variety to a game set on just one island; a Nazi U Boat encountered early on being a typical example.

Gears of War has obviously been an influence on this game. Even the way enemies spill blood is reminiscent of Gears. By far the best element borrowed is the cover system, which works incredibly well. As do the platforming sections, familiar to anyone who has played Prince of Persia. Other games that came to mind when playing Uncharted were Resident Evil 4, Tomb Raider and Far Cry.
Where Uncharted succeeds with this cheeky plagiarism is that it takes the finer elements from these titles and combines them to create an extremely enjoyable game. Although nothing feels particularly new, its mechanics are refined to the point where it's almost perfect.
One final point that made me admire Uncharted was how it played out. The ending doesnt finish on a cliff-hanger and neither does it set up a sequel. Uncharted actually has a conclusion, which may seem like a small point, but can be infuriating. Assassins Creed, Ratchet & Clank and countless others take note.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fortune and Glory, kid, 29 Jan 2013
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted: Drake's Fortune (PS3) (Video Game)
The globe-trotting adventurer is a familiar character, especially in video games. Lara Croft had her heyday between her first outing in 1996 and the last, terrible, game in 2008. The time was ripe was a new hero to take over and Nathan Drake certainly fits the bill. A descendant of Sir Francis Drake, Nathan has adventure in his blood and is determined to unravel the mystery of his ancestor's final resting place and discover the lost city of El Dorado. It's a well-worn plot, but the jovial Talespin-esque approach and likeable characters keep it fresh and exciting.

Uncharted combines run-and-gun, platforming, and puzzle-solving elements as Nathan navigates hot jungles, sunny coastlines, and dark ruins, killing and fighting all the way. You have to wonder about the morality of a hero character who kills hundreds in his quest for personal wealth, but Nathan Drake's scruffy appearance and sarcastic quips will probably distract you from that.

The game is relatively hard and is split in 21 chapters without a single loading screen. However, in order to unlock the Platinum trophy you will have to beat the game on 'Crushing' difficulty, which is virtually impossible. The targeting system and movement of the character can be quite clumsy, and precision shooting really comes down to chance for much of the journey.

It took me 4 years to unlock 91% of the 47 trophies, and thankfully none of them are based on online play. Uncharted has gone on to be the PS3s flagship franchise, and this now 6-year-old game may be getting on a bit, but it's still well worth playing.

Graphics A
Sound A
Gameplay A-
Lasting Appeal A
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game but room for improvement, 11 Feb 2008
By 
Mr. Simon M. McKenna "Simon Mckenna" (birmingham, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted: Drake's Fortune (PS3) (Video Game)
This is by far the best looking game I've played on any platform and looks set to become a great franchise. While being a very good game though apart from its visuals it didn't blow me away. The puzzles are a little unimaginative and the platform elements of the game are pretty simplistic requiring little skill or timing. The combat system also while good could do with being refined a little and the endless waves of baddies do become a little tiresome and it does become a bit repetitive. On the plus side though aside from the graphics the presentation of the game is flawless, very cinematic and the characters and story are very engaging. If naughty dog develop the gameplay a little in the next one then Drake can be considered the PS3's first blockbuster franchise to rival Tomb Raider.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Visually stunning and lots of fun but not very hard, 14 Jan 2008
By 
K. Marzillier (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted: Drake's Fortune (PS3) (Video Game)
Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is the first game my boyfriend and I have bought for our new PS3 and we were blown away by the quality of the graphics and sound. It looks absolutely beautiful - the jungle environments and ancient ruins are stunning, and we were amazed by how real water looks. It's like a top-notch animated film, rather than a game.

However... I'm not exactly brilliant at gaming, but even I had no trouble at all with the platforming elements of the game. It's hard to fall off or miss something when you are jumping to it - Nate is not only incredibly athletic but seems to have Spiderman's jumping and climbing abilities. I can remember having to try parts of the Tomb Raider games on the PS1 eight or nine times to get through a section without being killed, and it's a bit of an anticlimax to be able do almost everything right first time. The graphics make up for this to an extent (one sequence, where you are climbing the walls of an ancient fort while the sea breaks on the rocks below, is so realistically vertiginous that you may start feeling dizzy), but in Normal mode you rarely feel a sense of achievement when you complete a platforming section. I get bored and give up if it's too hard, but this was a bit too easy even for me.

The puzzles are also very easy. The answers to most of them are found in the diary (which the program handily prompts you to look at and opens to the right page, so there's no chance of missing it) and it isn't hard to work out what you're supposed to do once you've looked at it. There's also no comeback if you get it wrong - you just try again until you get it right. I like to think in other games you'd have been eaten by ravening wolves or burned alive in firetraps for getting it wrong. I'd recommend turning off the on-screen hints (if it's possible) once you get the idea of how to use the controls - they spoil most of the exploration and puzzles by telling you what to do, often before you've even noticed the object yet, e.g. flashing the green triangle when you get close enough to something to push or turn it.

The hardest parts of the game are the shooting sections, where you end up in firefights with some of the seemingly thousands of mercenaries on the island (seriously, how many people have these guys hired?). These are the only places where you'll regularly be killed and then have to start the shootout all over again - frustrating if you've just managed to kill the guy with the laser sight, but good as it does mean you get better at taking cover, aiming and firing. The firefights are really challenging and provide most of the difficult gameplay.

The game has an involving storyline (one of the reasons you rush through it so fast is to find out what's going on), good acting and not too many Captain Exposition scenes, where you stand around listening to people talking in order to move on to the next bit of the story. The cut scenes also look beautiful and it amazes me how hard it is to see the joins between the cut scenes and actual gameplay - quite often I'd be waiting for the cut scene to finish and then would realise I was back at the controls again and could actually move around. The character animation is excellent and Nate is very human - I was quite fond of him by the end. I really enjoyed playing it, but it was over very quickly, and the final confrontation is quite low-key.

On the whole, I'd recommend this game, despite some of the things I've said above. It's amazing to look at, the storyline keeps you interested and there's a lot of action in the shooting sections (fun, even though I'm not usually a big fan of shoot-'em-ups) - just don't expect much of a challenge from the platform and puzzle sections. Most importantly, it's a lot of fun to play. Set it to hard, turn off the prompts and you should have a great time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS GAME WILL BLOW YOU AWAY!, 26 Dec 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted: Drake's Fortune (PS3) (Video Game)
I have been looking forward to this game for a long time and knew that it was going to be worth the wait. Well it definately was worth the wait. Put into a word i would describe it as Stunning.

Characters:
The main character is Called Nathan Drake (Nate to people who know him) who believes he is a descendant of Sir Francis Drake.

Elena Fisher is a reporter who is there to record what is potentially a great story. She comes in and out of the game as she splits away from Nathan in some parts of the game, otherwise she acts as a sidekick to Nathan.

Victor Sullivan 'Sully' is another main character but i wont go into to much detail incase i spoil something.

Plot:
Nathan believes that Sir Francis Drake faked his death in order to search for the treasure of El Dorado. Nathan uses a dairy that was written by Francis in order to help him to recover the lost treasure. But Nathan, Elena and sully are not alone as they come into contact with someone else who also wants to find the treasure. The game has a very good plot and it keeps to the same plot all the way through the game making it a consistent story teller.

Graphics:
Well what can i say.The graphics are phenomenal. It tops anything that the PS3 has produced so far. Every little detail has gone into making you think you are actually there searching for the treasure of El Dorado. The vegetation reacts to your movements, the wind etc. The shadows are very clear and accurate, with shadows on virtually everything which adds a good sense of depth. The sun and glare effects are spot on, for example when you come from a dark tunnel into the light it seems that everything has a bright glare. This then changes back into normal light. The water effects are almost as good as Bioshock, however i think that Naughty Dog has created water that reacts to movement (ripples) and seems to have more depth to it. One thing I can say is that sometimes there are slight screen tearing scenes and streaming texture pop-up issues, but these occur rarely and are unnoticeable as long as you don't look for them.

Gameplay:
First of all there are 4 difficulty settings:
easy
normal
hard
Crushing (unlocked after completing on hard difficulty)
This game is HARD. I have nearly completed all of it on normal and some parts are quite tricky (and im used to playing gears of war as the duck and cover system is very similar). So for most people i would advise playing through the first time on normal, but if you want a real challenge, put it on HARD mode.
In terms of length it is not the longest of games. About 8-10 hours depending on the difficulty. There are 22 chapters in all of varying lengths. It took me 5 hours and 15 minutes to get to chapter 15 on normal difficulty.
The controls are easy to master but may take a bit of getting used to if you haven't played many 3rd person duck and cover games (gears of war for example). The game features blindfiring over and around cover, this is useful when you are low on health. The game also features some hand to hand combat ( I would not recommend this unless it is the last/only enemy due to the fact that you still get shot to bits. To aim your weapon press L1 to shoot press R1, simple. To roll/stick to cover press o. To jump/ jump across ledges press x while running. To change weapon you use the D-pad. R2 is reload. The game is dualshock 3 enabled. The sixaxis control is used for grenades and balancing across logs (only used twice in the game). There are several parts in the game that feature driving a jet ski and other vehicles.

Weapons:
Don't know all the specific names so this may not be too accurate:
Pistol
Ak-47
Frag Grenades
2 types of shotgun
grenade launcher
Desert eagle 5 handgun
Uzi type 9mm firing machine gun
Sniper rifle
There are more weapons but i can't remember them all. You can only carry one small sidearm and one large gun. Also you can carry a maximum of 4 grenades. Overall a decent array of weapons.

Achievements/medal points:
Uncharted was really the first PS3 game to have real achievements. There are 1000 'medal points' to get. These can be achieved by doing specific things, such as getting 100 headshots. Also there are 60 hidden treasures scattered around. These help the replayability factor.

Overall verdict:
9.5 Out of 10.

This game may be short but i can see myself playing through this more times. The game puts you in a virtual paradise that will truly show off the PS3's true power (naughty dog say that they used 30-50% of the PS3's CPU power = lots more potential). The story is gripping and really seems to involve you in a way that i can't explain but you will just have to find out for yourself.

Are you ready for some treasure hunting, i know i am!

Thanks for reading,
MORPHEUS24-7

P.S: congratulations for reading all of my review!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please read this!, 20 Dec 2007
By 
Jamie Firth "Jamie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncharted: Drake's Fortune (PS3) (Video Game)
Listen, I never usually leave reviews but I just had to this time.
I have had my PS3 for several months now and own around 7 games. I have never been blown away by any of the games and to be quite honest I am a little disappointed as i felt they are not a million miles away from the PS2 games.
I ordered this game after reading the reviews, but was'nt that excited.
As soon as you load Uncharted it ouses quality, the cinematic scenes are movie quality and very believable. Then you start playing the game...WOW!!!
The graphics are just out of this world, I played the game with my mouth open as I could not believe how good it is. The sound track just adds to the atmosphere and before you know it, you are fully submerged in the game.
The controls are very responsive and make the game a pleasure to play. I defy anybody not to like this game. This game is what the PS3 was designed for. All PS3 owners must own it. ENJOY!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uncharted: Drake's Fortune - PlayStation 3, 8 Sep 2013
By 
Jonathan Price (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted: Drake's Fortune (PS3) (Video Game)
Uncharted: Drake's Fortune
PlayStation 3
Rated 15

Stats:
HD 720p
1 Player (offline)
Supports Sixaxis motion control
Requires 2560KB minimum of free hard drive space.

Developed by Naughty Dog
Published by Sony Computer Entertainment

Story:
Sir Francis Drake's long-lost diary sends fabled fortune hunter Nathan Drake on a treasure quest to find El-Dorado's golden statue. But stranded on a forgotten island in the middle of the Pacific Ocean, Nathan's search turns deadly. Hunted by mercenaries, outnumbered and outgunned, Nathan and his companions must fight to survive as they begin to unravel the terrible secrets of the mysterious island.

Story Review:
The story has you griped from the start due to the amazing chemistry of the lead character's. Drake is your average guy; constantly throwing himself in harms way, without a clue of what lies ahead of him, which may seem like a mistake at first, but quickly adds to Drake's favor; leaving him to always have the upper-hand, than his enemies. The story is full of banter and quirks which are basically uncommon in video games; this provides a more natural response to situations and heighten emotion; I just wish other games can adopt the same level of characterisation as seen in this one.

Gameplay:
Funnily enough the first part is more harder than the last part of the game, due to the player being bombarded by ruthless intelligent enemies that come out of every entrance. With that being said, the first parts appear to be more random and not staged like they are in the latter parts of the game; making them look like set pieces rather than AI. The enemies will try to flank you by one approaching from the front, whilst the other from behind, whilst at the same time using an high-end arsenal of weaponry like grenade launcher's or Revolver's. If the players character is close to death, the screen would grey-out gradually, ending with a musical note signifying the characters death. A way to stop this from happening; is for Drake to seek safety; away from the enemies line of sight. You can select weapons using the d-pad (arrows) on the control pad. Only one weapon can be carried of each type. The downside however is Drake's flimsiness when combatting heights; cos' he would stumble or roll of the edge of the platform and he doesn't jump far enough.

Visuals:
The visuals are great, definitely a game to showcase high definition. It contains a great use of colour for the forest elements, rust and water. Screen tear is noticeable on this game when moving the camera around, however it won't impede on gameplay too much for you to panic.

Conclusion:
Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is the first game in the Uncharted series which also comprises of Among Thieves and Drake's Deception as it's follow-up sequels exclusively on the PlayStation 3. This game pretty much came bundled with my PS3; so it wasn't as though I was keen on playing it, but now I'm glad I did cos' I thoroughly enjoyed this game and it's one I'll always go back to. If you like exploration and Third Person Shooting, this game is for you. I would of liked a very easy mode which comes as standard in the follow-up sequels, cos' at times the enemies feel a little overwhelming. This along with the screen tearing issues and Drake's flimsiness is the reason for 4 stars overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top 10 PS3 Games, 8 April 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted: Drake's Fortune (PS3) (Video Game)
Hello,

The main character in Uncharted is Nathan Drake, an independent adventurer with an ironic sense of humor who claims to be a descendent of Sir Francis Drake. The 400 year old journal in the coffin of Sir Francis Drake will be the starting clue that sets our modern day fortune hunter on an exploration for the fabled treasure of El Dorado, leading to the discovery of a forgotten island in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

You will have to uncover clues, solve riddles and puzzles, unreveal mysteries as you travel through living jungles and ancient ruins!
Fight against pirates and mercenaries bare handed by execute combos or use any of the huge variety of sniper rifles, grenade launchers, handguns, machineguns, and shotguns!
Your companions Sully, who always smokes cigars and Elena a TV reporter who always argues with you will be on your side most of the times!
The soundtrack is great and goes perfect with the place or the situation you are in.
Graphics of the game are unbelievable, realistic water movement while after you come out of it your clothes are still wet for some time. The facial animation is extreme, when a rocket explodes at the wall where you had your back at as a cover you will see the terror in Nathan's face!
Extremely funny dialoges and monologes also by all characters make you laugh all the time!

The game was released in 2007 but till today it remains one of the greater games of all times. Its music and sound, graphics and gameplay are amazing!
You can finish the game in about 12-16 hours if you take your time to enjoy it at maximum, even sooner if you choose not to find all treasures or complete most of the achievements.

I recommend it with no doubt because I know it will give you a lot of laugh and fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Uncharted: Drake's Fortune (PS3)
Uncharted: Drake's Fortune (PS3) by Sony (PlayStation 3)
8.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews