Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding arcade racer
Midnight Club Los Angeles is like its predecessor on the PS2. It is an arcade racer pure and simple, and was never meant to be a "realistic" racing game. The things I like about it after having played it for a week are as follows:

- Blisteringly fast
You need incredibly quick reflexes to react to some of the obstacles that come in your way. The speed even...
Published on 5 Nov 2008 by Wes Noorani

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to LA
I wasn't a big fan of the previous outing on PS2. To be honest I am not a big fan of this either. It is good but it could be much better.

This is an open world driving game. Think GTA Los Angelese. You arrive, pick up a banger and then head off for some street action. Pull up the map and a few characters who are willing to give you a race are highlighted...
Published on 15 Aug 2010 by Duncan McDonald


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight Club: Los Angeles (PS3) (Video Game)
Brilliant :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No Enjoyment To Be Had, 3 Dec 2008
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Midnight Club: Los Angeles (PS3) (Video Game)
Believe me I really wanted to enjoy this game but just couldn't. That is the summing up in one sentence, games are made to enable people to enjoy themselves and I am afraid this game fails on most levels. Sure the graphics are very impressive I will give them that but the gameplay is awful. As someone had mentioned in a previous review there is just no realism to the game. I mean it quite obviously slips up right from the start when you find that from the outset your 25 year old VW Golf GTI can beat practically anything and that includes a modern day Skyline which in itself to an avid car fan like me is absurd. The other part of this game that contributes to its downfall is the repetitiveness. Yes I know many people will argue that there is only so much you can do with this type of game but this game is quite simply pitiful in this sense. You get a car, you race the car, you race again, you get money, you can buy a better car. Well so what when the first car you get can beat anything else into the ground anyway. I found this circular motion of gameplay so boring I couldn't have cared less about getting a better car because I didn't want to play it long enough.
Now Rockstar are well known as the developer who created the simply sublime GTA IV but if were them I would be quite embarrassed to tell people that I made this game. That may be a harsh comment but when you remember that this game was at least 6 months overdue when it came out then there can be little sympathy. Ok if the game had benefitted from the extra development time then that would not be a fair comment but alas it hasn't. In conclusion this is a very weak game with little or no enjoyment to be had and if you are desperate to play a game where you race round the streets at ludicrous speeds use your copy of GTA IV cause that is a far superior game with a far greater dose of fun to be had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth it., 31 Oct 2008
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Midnight Club: Los Angeles (PS3) (Video Game)
I expected more from Rockstar.

The best part about this game is the car customization. Of course you need money which means you have to go out and race. You don't need to win to get money, which seems odd. (who pays you for losing?)

The soundtrack is also good, and you can use playlists from your ps3.

The car handling and controls feel unrealistic and unintuitive. Think of the original Ridge Racer if you can remember, it's arcade like and feels unnatural. Cars are barely damaged, paint gets scraped and windows smashed. You can't leave the road unless it's in a place where they meant for you to. Sometimes it's difficult to tell if they meant for you to or not, as I was unable to drive onto a field with no barrier in my way, which annoyed me.

The online modes are terrible and mostly used for showing off your car to others.
- there's no traffic online, or police or pedestrians

Camera angles are terrible
- when you're in-car, you can't see 90 degrees left or right, only about 45
- when outside of car, you can't pan around the car from any angle (only left/right/straight back)

Rockstar makes some great games, but this isn't one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Special!!, 15 Nov 2008
By 
A. Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Midnight Club: Los Angeles (PS3) (Video Game)
The graphics are okay, and the amount and range of cars is very good. However, the gameplay is unrealistic, with hardly any damage and you can drive into pretty much anything and be able to carry on driving having only slowed down slightly. You use L2 and R2 for acclerate and brake...what was wrong with x and square. You can customise the controls, but even then, it has trouble changing into higher gears for some reason. The online multiplayer is good as you can go on cruise mode, and start races with anyone you see, but there's no traffic!! and most of all, why no offline multiplayer. Part of the fun of MC 1,2 and 3 was being able to go on with friends on the same console. Overall, no improvement from exisisting midnight club games apart from the graphics being slightly better and a better range of cars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING!! - game starts freezing after 50% completion, 16 Feb 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Midnight Club: Los Angeles (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a fantastic arcade racer (wipeout on wheels),but I have now completed 57% and the game freezes and locks up the ps3 completely after a single race or after completing a series.It's such a shame as Rockstar have (nearly) made a fantastic game.Having searched the 'net it seems quite a few people are experiencing the same problem - however the freezing appears to stop when you start a new game,so it appears you cannot complete it!Hopefully Rockstar will address this problem,but seeing as this game came out a few months ago they may not release a patch.So,BEWARE - if you purchase this you will be in for big headache that will not go away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Midnight Club LA, 20 April 2009
By 
H. Ricketts (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Midnight Club: Los Angeles (PS3) (Video Game)
This was bought for my son who said 'It was a fun game but the storyline was bit dry.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars too good to miss out!, 26 Oct 2008
By 
F. Reja (UK.london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Midnight Club: Los Angeles (PS3) (Video Game)
you dont know what your missing if you dont play this, career is soo good and online is really good, best modes are keep away and capture the flag. trust be this games is bangin
bad thing is they need to add kore cars and bikes and some SUV's like a Range rover dammit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5/5, 24 Oct 2008
By 
N. Hussain "16..Gamer for life xD" (Ilford, London, U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Midnight Club: Los Angeles (PS3) (Video Game)
Even though i am writing this review a day before release. I just wanted to say the game play might not look all "realistic" like the NFS (btw big fan of NFS). A racing game doesnt have to have realistic handling and what not, to make it an awesome game. take Midnight Club 3: Dub Edition for an example, that game had the most unrealistic handling and physics but what a game! and every midnight club before that too. So I have very high expectations and high hopes for this, at last a free roam racing game that can actually (and hopefully will) addict you! Need For Speed were good but had a lot bugs commonly due to how EA rush their games. We all know for sure Rockstar Games take their work steadily and easily and produce high quality games without rushing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mutts Nutts!!!!!, 5 Dec 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Midnight Club: Los Angeles (PS3) (Video Game)
BRILLIANT
better than need for speed... all of 'em put together!!!!

(",)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 24 Sep 2008
By 
S. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Midnight Club: Los Angeles (PS3) (Video Game)
Pre-ordered already. Bar the first installment of this game, these titles are by far and away better than ANY city style racer out there (GRID, NFS, Burnout, etc). Highly recommended if you like this sort of thing, you will NOT be able to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Midnight Club: Los Angeles (PS3)
Midnight Club: Los Angeles (PS3) by Take 2 Interactive (PlayStation 3)
£23.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews