Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding arcade racer
Midnight Club Los Angeles is like its predecessor on the PS2. It is an arcade racer pure and simple, and was never meant to be a "realistic" racing game. The things I like about it after having played it for a week are as follows:

- Blisteringly fast
You need incredibly quick reflexes to react to some of the obstacles that come in your way. The speed even...
Published on 5 Nov 2008 by Wes Noorani

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to LA
I wasn't a big fan of the previous outing on PS2. To be honest I am not a big fan of this either. It is good but it could be much better.

This is an open world driving game. Think GTA Los Angelese. You arrive, pick up a banger and then head off for some street action. Pull up the map and a few characters who are willing to give you a race are highlighted...
Published on 15 Aug 2010 by Duncan McDonald


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding arcade racer, 5 Nov 2008
By 
Wes Noorani (London, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Midnight Club: Los Angeles (PS3) (Video Game)
Midnight Club Los Angeles is like its predecessor on the PS2. It is an arcade racer pure and simple, and was never meant to be a "realistic" racing game. The things I like about it after having played it for a week are as follows:

- Blisteringly fast
You need incredibly quick reflexes to react to some of the obstacles that come in your way. The speed even with the slower vehicles is incredible.

- Amazing graphics
The graphics of the game are incredibly detailed, and really give you a feeling of the street racing scene (as seen in movies like "The Fast & The Furious) in LA

- Outstanding choice of vehicles, from tuners to muscle cars and bikes
Amazing customisation options as well, from paint jobs to vinyls and decals

- Sheer size and depth
The size of the game is incomprehensible. It will takes you weeks to finish. Even the city of LA is bigger than all 3 cities (San Diego, Detroit and Atlanta) of Midnight Club 3 put together. This has been confirmed by Rockstar

However, the game does have one negative point and that is that it can be extremely difficult at times. You will need patience (not to mention skill) to get through some of the missions.

Overall, I would give this game 9/10. It is a must have for any fans of street racing. This game allows you to experience the thrill of street racing in LA from the comfort of your own home.

Good job, Rockstar!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lot Of Fun, Very Detailed, Excellent Online Racing!, 15 Nov 2008
By 
Chris (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Midnight Club: Los Angeles (PS3) (Video Game)
Having played this game for over 40 hours, I now feel I can give it a justified review. I'll list what makes this game good.

(1) The shear detail of the game and the massive work that must have went into creating it. It's absolute genius. It looks outstanding on a 1080P HD TV.
(2) The choice of vehicles very good.
(3) Value for money, the career mode is long so it will keep you occupied for a long while, I still haven't completed it.
(4) Online gaming is very addictive; you will race some very skilled racers from all over the world.
(5) Customisation options for the vehicles are very good... you can even upload online to allow people worldwide to rate your vehicle and purchase it if they want.

Tips:
(1) Go into Arcade mode, select Sunset and Vine and change the difficulty to easiest, weather clear, time of day noon, number of opponents 5 and traffic off and play this over and over again as it's an easy track, each time you win you will get more money, you will also unlock performance and cosmetic parts for the vehicles and you will also unlock higher vehicle groups providing you get 1 place 5 - 10 times in a row. This is very easy.
(2) In the beginning use 1 vehicle at a time, don't be tempted to buy more than one... max it out with performance if necessary to win races. Avoid spending money on looks; you can do this when you have group 4 vehicles open. Then build up money and trade it in for an even better model. When you have unlocked group 4, you should buy the Kawasaki Ninja ZX14R, without doubt the quickest most manoeuvrable vehicle for online races. I have this and the Lamborghini Murcielago DUB for a good mix both maxed out with incredible performance.

Anyway, buy this game... don't listen to the negative reviews, if you give this game sometime you will lose yourself in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars burn LA burn!, 20 Nov 2008
By 
T. Flaxman "pew pew pew" (Naarch) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Midnight Club: Los Angeles (PS3) (Video Game)
now, i have to admit that i was never a fan of Midnight Club before i got my hands on this latest release, i really wasn't sure what to expect but seeing as it looked liked it used the same engine as GTA i decided to give it a go. damn. it is soo addictive!! the first couple of hours are a bit of a grind until you get some cash together (and change the default control set-up!!) to buy new cars, upgrades, body parts but after that it is pure foot to the floor racing all the way. you can tweak the cars to suit your driving style so handling isn't an issue at all, what is there not to love about power sliding around bends at 120mph+?? you can drive where you like, take what routes you like (unlike the recently released NFS!) and go exploring, the ramps and collectibles are fun to find. you can even set-up races/variables in arcade mode, whose rep points/cash still contribute to your main game score. a nice touch. online races are in several modes, you can race with other vehicles of the same tuning/performance class in tier, go for a straight all in race of mixed classes, take part in open cruises and show off your ride, make custom race routes.. there is a hell of a lot to this game for the money. sure, the cars are not as pretty as others such as GRiD or Gran Turismo, but you get an unlocked LA from the start, hundreds of races to take part in and a vague story mode which doesn't feel like it intrudes or limits your way of playing. This is how an open sandbox street racer should be made. thank you R* top job!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun arcade speed racing...never mind the tree !, 11 Nov 2008
By 
Jg Cabbolet "dubversion" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Midnight Club: Los Angeles (PS3) (Video Game)
MC:LA is a fun game. The look and feel sure has Rockstar's signature; the graphic engine seems to be the same as GTA IV. However, the graphics seem slightly better.

It's an arcade racer which allows you to slam into trees and lampposts, only to shift the car sideways and loose some speed. Pedestrians will get out of the way in the nick of time. So you have to learn what to ignore when driving fast. And let me tell you, the driving *is* fast.

Although there's a story line somewhere in it, i'm missing it. Most of the time you're using the GDS map to find targets, drive there and do the race. The races are challenging, although sometimes they suffer from the rubber band effect.

It's nice that the weather conditions change, from sun to nite to rain; it makes the driving different.

It comes with a nice selection of cars and a few bikes. Bike riding is really different that driving the car, which gives a nice mix of variety.

Due to the difficulty, if you're , like me , just want to play for half an hour to an hour per day, this game will keep you busy. The online mode should also be good, but i haven't tried it yet.

Overal: 7.5 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best racing game on all platforms, 22 Dec 2008
By 
B. Voros (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Midnight Club: Los Angeles (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a fun arcade style street racing game.

As other people already pointed it out, it is not that easy in the beginning, but if you keep playing it you will get the hang of it and win races.

It may seem extremely difficult at first but keep on playing and you will be OK, in reality the difficulty level ensures a long play through time and there is so much else to do on the game, that if you are like me, you will enjoy this game for months to come.

Don't forget the Rockstargames Socialclub, link up your account and do the tasks in order to get exclusive stuff, like the Audi R8.

All in all, this game is way better than the price made me expect it to be, this is on the same level with GTA IV, not surprisingly.

In a way it is bad news for Sony, as I am unlikely to buy any othr games for a while, it will take a great deal of gaming to beat both games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to LA, 15 Aug 2010
By 
Duncan McDonald "Dunk" (Dundee) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Midnight Club: Los Angeles (PS3) (Video Game)
I wasn't a big fan of the previous outing on PS2. To be honest I am not a big fan of this either. It is good but it could be much better.

This is an open world driving game. Think GTA Los Angelese. You arrive, pick up a banger and then head off for some street action. Pull up the map and a few characters who are willing to give you a race are highlighted. Tag them and head off to catch them up, flash your headlights and then get ready to race. The world is huge. The whole of LA is here, Beverley Hill, Hollywood, Santa Monica etc. You also get free DLC to extend it further. The detail is great and there is a kinda story running through it as you attempt to be numero uno in the street racing scene. In other words, this is Too Fast, Too Furious the computer game. You don't have to race though, you can just drive around and 'cruise'.

Graphically the game is superb but the soundtrack is an acquired taste. I had to turn it off. There appears to be two songs: 'Getting on your nerves' and 'I'm gonna bug you to death'. Both mega extended remixes. Sound effects are good but the handling is a bit tricky.

You can choose to jump directly into the action via arcade mode, where you can select a race from various groups. On-line is a clone of the single player except all the racers are other on-line players. Usually cruisin'.

However, you will find that there is a lot of time wasting in the game. To race you have to chase after your competitor to get them to race. They are a moving target usually half way across the city. So it takes time to set up the race because you've gotta find them first. There is a GPS but it is useless. Why no arrows?

Racing is ok but there are better racing games out there. You have to follow yellow flares, miss one and you are off in the wrong direction....loser. You build cash to pimp your ride and that takes time. Guess what, all your mates have got fancy import tuned beasts and know exactly what direction to drive in.

If you are a serious race fan then this game is not for you. It is a more casual style like GTA where you can go and do what you want. I consider it more a driving game than a racing game myself and to be honest, it does get boring at times.

;0|
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skid into an Epic Racer, 13 Jan 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Midnight Club: Los Angeles (PS3) (Video Game)
Midnight Club Los Angles is one hell of an amazing next-gen racer, the map is so well designed, with a huge freeway running round the city, and many tight corners, back alleys, and huge roads to burn rubber on. The Graphics are impressive, using the GTA 4 engine, this game looks stunning in HD and is very much advised for any Car fan. The range of cars is incredible, with the ability to test drive any car in the game even though you havn't unlocked it. The Online Gameplay is laggy in large groups, but with 3-4 mates in your game, you can have have one quality night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best free roam racer out there., 5 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. J. Shaine (Harrow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Midnight Club: Los Angeles (PS3) (Video Game)
From the minute i loaded this game up i was amazed at the the graphics, full 1080P. The racing is fast and the graphics always keep up with no blurring at all.

There was some funny advertising around but i will let you find that out on your own. The sounds of the cars are really good and if you have a good sound system with good bass you will know what i mean.

If i had to put any negative point on this game and most other sandbox racing titles, it would have to be that once you have raced a few different cars and done lots of racing, it gets a little repetitive; get car, do it up, race, buy new car, (or bike) do it up and race, they all need something new.

All in all a fantastic thrill ride that won't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its really good!!!! 4/5, 3 Nov 2008
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Midnight Club: Los Angeles (PS3) (Video Game)
Its so fun. The gameplay is challenging when you get more into the game and the graffics are brill!! I would rat this game 9/10 but the only downfall to this game is that when you are really stuck it is so stress full( the pink slip races!! ) And it has some problems with it( well unless its my copy ) like it sometimes cuts off the car sounds and doesn't show the roads properly. But other than that its amazing!! Its worth buying if u like street racing so Get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars grate, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight Club: Los Angeles (PS3) (Video Game)
grate game its good all round good cars good races and no problems and you can continue playing after you finish the game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab49b744)

This product

Midnight Club: Los Angeles (PS3)
Midnight Club: Los Angeles (PS3) by Take 2 Interactive (PlayStation 3)
15.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews