Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yanks in WW1
Yes the Americans were late for both World wars but they didn't half make an impact. Some have said that this is one of the few American films about WW 1 and I feel this type of film really ought to be encouraged. In actual fact the Americans have been making excellent WW1 films since Hollywood began including 'All Quiet on the Western Front' (3 versions), 'Sergeant York'...
Published on 30 Dec 2010 by Tommy Dooley

versus
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Standard ideology from across the pond
There are two versions of the United States' role in World War I. The first is that America introduced a new group of personnel with their own style of combat, tipping the balance in the favour of a side formerly dominated by the Triple Entente powers (Great Britain, France, and Russia), and effectively winning the war for them. The second is that in 1917 the war was...
Published on 3 Feb 2008 by Daniel Mckay


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film, recommended, 28 April 2013
By 
J. A. Kirkbright (Leeds England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Battalion [DVD] [Import] (DVD)
I thought I would give this a go as films about the first War are in the minority, I was also slightly dubious as the film was about American involvement (thanks for turning up at last lads) in the conflict.

I expected it to be the usual Hollywood version as to how the Americans won everything but I was pleasantly suprised, not to spoil it for any future viewers but it is a warts an' all account and well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ex combet vet, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the shame about this film is that its true for a film that does not boast many stars it is highly recommended to all the people today who think they have had a hard life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Lost Battalion [DVD] [Import] (DVD)
Very fast delivery, seller replied very quickly to my questions and was very accommodating. Movie came in a Dutch box, but movie was English spoken. Top quality movie, brilliant story-very well portrayed. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WWI story of one desparate engagement, 3 Nov 2012
By 
Josh "The Claw" (Wherever I'm needed) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Battalion [DVD] [Import] (DVD)
An excellent WWI story of bravery when a battle goes wrong, told effectively, especially as a made for TV movie, though it could be seen as overplaying the importance of the event, but is that not to some point the modus operandi of any dramatisation? Anyway, the action is well done,the atmosphere and equipment seem authentic, with a little known cast giving the characters an appropriate 'everyman' feel. The budget may not have been great, but they did a geat job with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Focussed - harrowing, 16 April 2012
By 
Tim (far far away) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lost Battalion [DVD] [Import] (DVD)
Interesting, and focussed view from an exceptional 5 days in a tiny part of the horror of WW1. A good film though. I suppose Hollywood just cant avoid the 'USA' bandstanding (1 american trooper is worth 10 of any other), but there you go - its still a good film. Superb acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Battalion, 25 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Lost Battalion [DVD] [Import] (DVD)
I have been trying to get hold of this WW1 war film for ages. This film tells the story of a marine battalion fighting in one of the last battles of the Great War. It is gritty and well told following the main characters. It is also surprisingly, not in the slightest bit gung ho.
The action scenes are authentic, and the uniforms and weapons used very accurate.
I would highly recommend this film to all war film buffs/collectors.
My only gripe, and it is only a personal gripe; is that there are no recent films portraying the British who were involved in all the major offensives of this brutal war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Battalion. Movie., 8 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Battalion [DVD] [Import] (DVD)
I heard of this story quite by accident and searched the net to try to purchase the dvd and was delighted to see that Amazon stocked it and in region 2 format as well as being a good price.
I wanted to know more of the Lost Battalion and the men who took part and this film certainly tells their story with great reality.
I would recommend it to anyone who wishes to learn of the tragedies of the Great War as well as the bravery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lost Battalion [DVD] [Import]
9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews