Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


94 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and heartfelt
It makes such a refreshing change to see a documentary that is not out to make a scandal, reveal a conspiracy, or trick people into making fools of themselves.
This is a real treat, to watch a straightforward telling of the conquest of the moon, not from the technical perspective but from a very human perspective, using a combination of NASA photography, period...
Published on 10 Jan 2008 by Mr. Stephen Kennedy

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This documentary borders on triviality.....
There is no 'meat' here......

Potential buyers should be aware that this film is essentially a collection of sentimental (and somewhat tired) piecemeal memories of a handful of astronauts in their twilight years. There is barely a hint of the mind-boggling technical and scientific obstacles that were confronted and overcome by legions of seriously gifted...
Published 19 months ago by Frank D


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great documentary, and a great book as well., 13 Nov 2007
I thought that this documentary was a wonderful introduction to the Apollo moon landings, showing the human side of the experience and providing a great general overview of the achievements. I saw it on the movie screen and highly recommend it.

I also really liked the impressive book of the same title, by C. Burgess and F. French, that not only covers the early Apollo flights, but also delves into the preceding flights, and what the Soviets were up to at that time. In the book, I learned about the early lives and early flights of these astronauts, and what it was like to be in the moment of flying the missions. In the movie, I learned what these guys look like today, and how they feel reflecting back on their experiences. Both film and book were perfect for their medium, and great accompaniments to each other.

I highly recommend both book and movie, and suggest experiencing both!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good insight into the protagonists' experiences, 5 Sep 2010
By 
maximus (manchester, uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was delighted to have followed recommendations to watch this film. It provides an insight into what the astronauts, who went to the moon, experienced and how they felt throughout the NASA moon expeditions, and what their lives and view of life and the world has been like since. There is the usual well known footage from NASA archives, but the interviews are recent and made for this film so it's new in terms of a documentary. However, I gave this 4 instead of 5 stars because I bought it on blu-ray and I can't say it warrants that extra money based on the material that has been filmed. I would recommend buying the cheaper standard DVD instead. Your blu-ray player is likely to upscale it anyway and it will look as good as the blu-ray in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This documentary borders on triviality....., 24 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Shadow Of The Moon [DVD] (DVD)
There is no 'meat' here......

Potential buyers should be aware that this film is essentially a collection of sentimental (and somewhat tired) piecemeal memories of a handful of astronauts in their twilight years. There is barely a hint of the mind-boggling technical and scientific obstacles that were confronted and overcome by legions of seriously gifted engineers and scientists. The fact that considerable 'filler' is devoted to re-looped footage of SaturnV rocket exhaust without the merest mention of the name of Wernher von Braun bespeaks itself of bias or deliberate omission.....

Lest anyone think that `anti-space' sentiments are behind this criticism, let me say that I toured NASA facilities at the height of the space program, and stood downwind of a Saturn V during launch, and felt (and smelt) the indescribable power of it. No one in their right mind would make a documentary of the immense achievement of getting to the Moon without even a hint of the staggering technical challenges behind the development of even this titanic booster alone..... and similarly, all the other unmentioned heroes in the other disciplines whose creativity and persevering grit represent the real triumph of the Apollo program.

Nova's 'To the Moon" of 1999 is still a vastly more impressive and informative documentary. On a purely technical level, 'Moon Machines' is also recommended.

PS. Some of the most interesting footage is in the Special Features...... perhaps not the best endorsement of the overall package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, but dvd is not in languages announced, 27 Aug 2009
By 
Rafael Balaguer Rosa (Girona, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In The Shadow Of The Moon [DVD] (DVD)
The information at the web is incorrect!

Languages: english, spanish, portuguese.

But the DVD only contains the film in english, and the subtitles are only in english too.

Please pay attenttion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Important Historical Document, 5 Jun 2008
By 
P. Hewitt (Teesside, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In The Shadow Of The Moon [DVD] (DVD)
In the Shadow of the Moon contains original footage and interviews with the surviving Apollo astronauts. Its juxtaposition of the film from the 60s and early 70s with a bunch of bright, engaging men in their seventies talking about when they went to the moon is a fantastic way of telling the story of when the world was still full of optimism about the future.

The film loses something from being on the small screen. I own this DVD but saw it at the cinema too and the cinema is the best way to see it. Saying all that, its still worth buying and the bonus with the DVD is you get another hour of interviews which are full of more entertaining and insightful anecdotes.

This is an important historical document and should be part of your DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb,just superb., 9 Aug 2013
By 
R. G. Hancox - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was torn.I have already purchased the brilliant 'FOR ALL MANKIND' BLU RAY/dvd,so didnt know wether to get 'IN THE SHADOW OF THE MOON'.The main problem with 'FOR ALL MANKIND', is that nothing is in order - just a collection of film taken, by all crews that went to the moon (and Lovell's apollo 13 mission),none of which followed a timeline.Also, the commentary of the astronauts were over the film, not one did you see them.Dont get me wrong, i enjoyed 'for all mankind', as it had great footage,with a brilliant sound track,and am happy i have both.'In the shadow of the moon' is a slightly better one, more tighter,and followed the timeline,with interviews with the various apollo crews.The extras are also worth watching - short mini films (my only critism is why all of these couldnt have been put together in one block) with more stories - from Mike Collin's bemused feelings towards autograph hunters, to Alan Beans art work - he paints,using the moon dust he found on his boots and suit. A brilliant documentry,brought to us by Ron Howard,director of the brilliant Apllo 13.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent and thought provoking, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Shadow Of The Moon [DVD] (DVD)
great film,really gives you a sense of the courage,endeavor and wonder,well put together,some beautiful footage,but the best part for me is the profound words of the astronauts to what they experienced,a thought provoking film with a message for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars going to the moon, 29 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. John Nicholson "nic" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I grow up with the apollo missions,i was 11 years when they landed on the moon,remember watching at 03:00 in the morning with my dad,this cd has now been on the tv since i purchased it. I find the team and human input into this mission was unequelled before or since,the background information and personal interviews are now about to pass into history,it give me the push to go on to join the air force in later life,i think i maybe one of many that lifed though this time that anything was possible,and the world for a time was united,if you want to see the best of human spirt and have a love of flying and would like to know how man 50 years after the first flight made this happen then i would get this,some parts are of the NASA video is from the time not great,but the rest has been upgraded
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 2 Aug 2009
This review is from: In The Shadow Of The Moon [DVD] (DVD)
IN THE SHADOW OF THE MOON is an excellent documentary that attempts to tell the story of the Apollo moon missions from the point of view of 10 of the astronauts who flew them and who, in many cases, remain some the only human beings ever to have looked upon our world from the surface of another.

It is also sometimes very moving. The astronauts are interviewed in extreme close up which gives what they're saying an intimacy and directness that really emphasizes what they have to say. There are no voiceovers or interviewers to be heard so that it is the Astronauts themselves and the stunning images that do all the talking. The loss of the Apollo 1 crew still seems to hurt the surviving members of the NASA "family", and the assertion of the Apollo 11 Astronauts that they got a sense of the whole of humanity celebrating a human achievement shows how much we have lost in the last 40 years or so. Apollo 8's view of the Earth from space and their greetings to all of us on the "good Earth" still can mist me over and yet there's still some fun to be had as "Dr Rendezvous" contemplates the thinking of some of the minds at MIT.

The NASA images look glorious throughout, so good in fact that you almost wish it could be made as an IMAX documentary. There is something fundamentally beautiful and humbling about those shots of the Earth in space that is difficult to tire of, and the lunar surface photography is breathtaking.

The film also addresses how having been an Astronaut subsequently changed the lives of those men. All of those interviewed seem to have had their view of the world and their place in it altered forever by their experiences, and which of them you end up liking most will rather depend on how much you agree with what they're saying. Alan Bean comes across as a personal favourite for his level headed approach to life and his subsequent love of painting, but I also came away from this with a lot of respect for Gene Cernan's astonishingly unflappable calm. The most notable exception from the Astronaut contributors is, of course, Neil Armstrong, but that seems to have been his choice rather than that of the film makers.

The 97 minute running time is augmented by an extra containing a further 57 minutes of excellent sequences that either didn't make the final cut or - specifically with the Apollo 13 sequence - were re-edited before release, all of which go a long way towards enriching this fascinating story and must have been very difficult for the director to lose at the time. Some of the now very familiar sequences from other NASA documentaries - Schmidt's "I was walking on the moon one day" and the Astronaut's golf game - both fail to make the cut as does the "not because they are easy, but because they are hard" part of that famous speech by President Kennedy, but I imagine that it is precisely that familiarity that led to them being deemed unnecessary here. The 10 minute short on composing the music for the film seems rather superfluous, but if you like that sort of thing it's harmless enough.

Overall then, this is a stunning celebration of an astonishing achievement, one which you feel humanity might struggle to repeat as the Apollo missions themselves (and the technical expertise that made them happen) start to fade from living memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, entertaining and inspiring, 30 May 2009
By 
E. Heel (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In The Shadow Of The Moon [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of my favourite films. Arguably man's greatest achievement to date is described by the astronauts themselves with eloquence, thoughtfulness, humility and humour. My mother loves this film even though she knows little of the technicalities of the moon missions, because she is fascinated by listening to the astronauts talking about their experiences and feelings. The NASA footage is breathtaking, of course, and the score is sublime. (I have reviewed this separately.) The content of this film is profound, important and inspiring, and therefore it's so sad that the film was circulated to only relatively few cinemas for very few showings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9de93408)

This product

In The Shadow Of The Moon [DVD]
In The Shadow Of The Moon [DVD] by David Sington (DVD - 2008)
3.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews