Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful easy listening
I picked this up after I was transfixed by the track Otremare which was used in the film This Is England. I'd read that most of the music by Einaudi sounds similar, yet each track is unique. I couldn't agree more. This is hughly addictive stuff. Mostly piano with the occasional string instrument thrown in, this makes for a great listen while pottering about or just...
Published on 27 Dec. 2007 by Matty

versus
14 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother
Have all of Einaudi's previous piano albums, and thoroughly enjoyed them. He is, however, a composer with a very limited number of basic themes, and you will have heard all the themes on this new album before - albeit with the addition of some strings and some pre-recorded loops. If you have his earlier piano albums, give this one a miss. Very disappointing.
Published on 4 Mar. 2007 by Ron


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 7 Mar. 2007
By 
corvinna (coventry, west midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Divenire (Audio CD)
being a fan of Einaudi i bought this immediately and on the first couple of plays thought it was good but quite similar to his other work. However, having been lucky enough to hear the composer play it live in person last night and heard it properly i can listen to the cd and hear the true beauty and complexity of these pieces - the first and last tracks are just heartbreakingly gorgeous. I would suggest giving it your full attention, higher volume and turning the base up slightly. Also listen to what's going on in the background, not just the piano melody, as adding the looping and strings is a stroke of genius, evoking at times great power, at others quiet poignence or eerie soundscapes. Just an incredible piece of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brill!!!!, 15 Dec. 2006
By 
Mrs. Shirley E. Vyse (Midlands uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Divenire (Audio CD)
I was lucky enough to be able to get this superb CD on import,and I think it is Excellent. It is a superb relaxing cd, something that is ideal to help you relax & unwind after a hard day.
The Cd is a wonderful blend of solo piano & orchestral strings & of different genres.

I was completely blown away with this album. I would not hesitate to get hold of it, you will not regret it, Good luck!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anyone Who Doesn't Like This is Tasteless, 5 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Divenire (Audio CD)
Ok the title is a little strong but this is how I feel about this album. I'm a metal fan, I listen to heavy stuff and nothing at all remotely like this yet i'm able to enjoy music such as this because of its beauty, dynamics and ornamentation - If a heavy metal fan who hates mainstream music like JLS and all of that can enjoy this, surely anybody can? Perhaps a CD everyone should own or at least listen to half of the songs.
That said, I do play the piano and so have found learning a few of these songs incredibly enjoyable :) Some reviews say look at mozart and classical/romantic/renaissance composers for piano music - I don't agree; the music style by this composer is completely different to that of those composers and this has something to do with the time difference obviously. Therefore you cannot say if you want good piano music go to mozart etc because it's a completely different style.

I must admit some people find the songs very repetitive or similar, and that will be a common feature of one composer and this will be quite universal across all music today. If you listen to one particular band and then another for long periods of time, you will notice differences between the bands and repetition or similarities between the same bands songs although they aren't identical. Every band or musician has their own style and therefore use that to write songs; some people just don't appreciate that these songs have got differences and probably took a very long time to write and instead are not necessarily fine tuning their ears to it.

Excellent relaxing music for things like driving but whatever you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Music From A Talented Composer, 13 Nov. 2007
This review is from: Divenire (Audio CD)
This album is my first exposure to Einaudi, but it has made me a fan of his brilliant work. The depth captured in the music through the use of an extremely minimal style is simply awe-inspiring. Never did I think that so few notes can invoke such intense feelings. Thus far I have listened to this album a dozen times in a row and get the same chills when I first heard it.

After listening to this album, I was able to find his older compilations and am glad to say that I am equally impressed. Kudos Einaudi, kudos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really lovely and special album., 23 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Divenire (Special Edition, BONUS DISC: 3 Brand New Remixes) (Audio CD)
This is a work of compassion for music and the piano. You just want to listen to it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars music CD, 16 Oct. 2009
By 
M. Wigley (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divenire (Special Edition, BONUS DISC: 3 Brand New Remixes) (Audio CD)
Every track is a dream! I love this CD (&the bonus CD). It's not very often that I buy a cd and every single track is wonderful. This is a must buy if you have good taste in music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking., 22 Oct. 2007
By 
Philip R. Symons "Geek." (Stoke-on-Trent, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divenire (Audio CD)
Two of the tracks will blow you away. The rest of the album flows excellently - and fairly calmly, with some brilliant ideas from the man.
Ludovico's really gone full-tilt with the elements on this one, and the use of electronic loops could have truly gone overboard... and to be honest, would probably have created a great sound all the same earning new fans from the ambient market: but he's not forgotten that the piano is what it's all about.
The strings are a fairly obvious addition, but totally worthy of mention. They add might and emotion to really stir things up.

One man has already said: if you get a chance to see a live Einaudi show then you must go! Even if you buy your ticket late, and you're at the back, it doesn't matter. I've seen him twice: once really up front, and the other... not so up front. Both were easily as good as each other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting music, 28 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divenire (Special Edition, BONUS DISC: 3 Brand New Remixes) (Audio CD)
Music that transports you away whenever you listen to it.
It lifts you and soothes you. Pure escapism, well worth the price tag
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, can't stop listening to it, 10 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Divenire (Special Edition, BONUS DISC: 3 Brand New Remixes) (Audio CD)
I've listened to Einaudi's music for the first time during a Pilates class, and it was so inspiring that I scarcely felt the strain of the neverending abdominal exercises! I couldn't think of anything else until I bought this wonderful CD, to which I listen whenever I can. The bonus CD with the remixes also is amazing, that's why I highly recommend this particular edition (that in italian music stores for example doesn't exist). Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely stuff, 11 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divenire (Special Edition, BONUS DISC: 3 Brand New Remixes) (Audio CD)
Some excellent tracks on this Divenire album by Ludovico Einaudi some of the tracks like Divenire nd Primavera,Svanire include amazing orchesrtal parts while others have cello and a few other instuments and some tracks with only Ludovico doing some beautiful piano pieces. He also experiments with loops over dubs and reverse piano loops on some tracks which all contribute to an amazing cd, the bonus cd mix is not that great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews