Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beutiful & artistic look at the life of forgotten artists
When a young, mentally challenged man finds himself torn in a world of greedy friends, manipulative acquaintances and the girl of his dreams, he finds his life in a compelling mix of freedom and consequence. After a young, talented artist apparently commits suicide, his roomate's paintings are confused for his own and he becomes an overnight artistic legend. However,...
Published on 6 Sep 2001

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ferrero Roche ad of a movie!
Mel Gibson starts in this dream-like film from the director of Buena Vista Social Club. He plays an FBI agent who is investigating some strange goings on at The Million Dollar Hotel.
An odball mix of characters including Jovovich, Jeremy Davies, Jimmy Smits and Gloria Stuart help with the investigation into the murder of a fellow guest. With mesmerising music music...
Published on 12 Nov 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beutiful & artistic look at the life of forgotten artists, 6 Sep 2001
By A Customer
When a young, mentally challenged man finds himself torn in a world of greedy friends, manipulative acquaintances and the girl of his dreams, he finds his life in a compelling mix of freedom and consequence. After a young, talented artist apparently commits suicide, his roomate's paintings are confused for his own and he becomes an overnight artistic legend. However, his friends, all transients who have nary a penny to their name, plan to exploit their deceased friend's newly found fame for a taste of riches and fame. And they'll go to any length to make sure nothing comes between them and that dream, even if it means destroying the life of one of their own. Fabulously bizarre performances delivered by Mel Gibson, Jimmy Smitts and Milla Jojovich. Co-written by U2's Bono and directed by Wim Wenders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusually engrossing, 10 April 2001
By A Customer
At first, when I watched this film, I thought that it was possibly the most boring thing I'd ever seen. The characters didn't fit with the background and the background didn't fit with the plot. I was confused as to the point. I thought that Mel Gibson had been cast fairly ludicrously and that Milla Jovovich's talent had been wasted.
However, as the film progressed, I found that it became unusually engrossing, something I rarely encounter in romance style films. After a while, the odd main character became more understandable, and the story of love between two social misfits, who are not quite as disreputable as they initialy appear, began to draw me in. I was engrossed. You should ignore what professional critics deplore as "Bad Acting". They often, in my estimation, confuse the boundery between the actors and the characters, though I don't think that applies much here, its just a friendly warning. Although Mel Gibsons role still doesn't quite slot in, its not really that much of an irritant, if at all. The sets are well concieved and the supporting cast... well, support the film.
I can safely say that I've never cried over a film, but this was one of the very few that nearly had the ducts at the back of my eyes going at the end. You should really watch it you know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 28 Nov 2007
By 
Khusaenova "shopper" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
it is the best film I have seen for a very long time and if I ever to make the list of the world best movies I may really consider this film as one.
It may seem a little too pretentious to start with especially for those who are not used to European cinema but trust the film: all your doubts about it will disappear. The twists of the plot, the exceptionally good shooting and absolutely great music will win you over.
It is definitely not a simple detective story. It is a very serious movie that explores human nature and raises the most basic questions of human life: love, friendship, money, ambition etc - the trivial questions. But the way the film raises them makes all these trivial things so meaningful and touching.
The actors are great. I think it is the best role of Mila Iovovich. The contrast of personalities of two main male characters creates the futuristic anti utopian world of the film in the beginning and later this very contrast proves how insufficient is the shape and the image as the new contrast getting built up: between them and the others.
There is only one thing that I can mention as a bit of frustrating in the film: the main character's mumbling. But perhaps we do not need to hear every word, anyway :)
Great film! Highly recommended to anyone who is not afraid of serious cinematography and want a wonderful visual and musical experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Futuristic Drama Set In A Rundown LA Hotel, 13 Sep 2000
By A Customer
I saw this film at the cinema. It had been slated on its release. The thing is, I'm a fan of director Wim Wenders. So I was expecting the worst.
But the worst did not materialise. Far from it. The story of FBI Agent Skinner's investigation into the death of "Izzy" (Tim Roth) takes many strange turns. The focus is not really on the investiagtion, but on the characters that inhabit the Million Dollar Hotel, a sort of safety net onto which fall all those who have slipped through the social security system. Wenders does make one mistake, and that is that the characters - all of whom are insane to greater or lesser degrees - are not varied enough. Everyone acts crazy so there is not enough variety in the performances. However, the relationship between Tom-Tom (Jeremy Davies) and Eloise (Milla Jovovich) is quite touching. Davies is convincing as the patsy half-wit Tom-Tom, and Jovovich has enough quirky energy for the part of airy bookworm Eloise. The soundtrack is absolutely awesome, with the songs being provided by Bono and the Million Dollar Hotel Band. "The Ground Beneath Her Feet" is a highlight. The cinematography is also stunning, and once again, Wenders shows himself as the master of his location - he manages to make downtown LA seem somehow beautiful. Also memorable are the Beatles references which are scattered throughout the film, and look at for a cameo by Bono in the party sequence towards the end. In fact, this film was Bono's idea : he had seen The Million Dollar Hotel when shooting a video with U2 in downtown LA, and that provided the spark for this film.
This may not be a film that will change your life, but it is nowhere near as bad as people made out. It may lack the lyricism that Bono may have been aiming at, but it is still a good stylish film. I was pleasantly surprised by this and would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 5 Dec 2000
Amazing movie: Bringing out the Dead meets American Beauty, better than both. Jeremy Davies at his very best. Milla Jovovich is superb, Mel Gibson is charming and hilarious. A truly great love story immersed in intelligent themes such as the triumph of human contact, the conundrum of television and how art is percieved by the masses all set to Bono's wonderful music. As beautifull and moving as Wenders' Paris, Texas - as close to poetry as film gets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a great,impressive story you don't want to end., 22 Feb 2001
By A Customer
I've seen the movie about 5 times and it was the most impressive movie I've EVER seen.You'll soon love the characters and their way of thinking and acting.You'll understand their problems and their dreams.Just get in touch with this overwhelming story,and you'll know what I mean.An experience that's really worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good film., 10 Mar 2008
By 
Richard P. James (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Firstly i just want to say that i don't like U2 and woundn't know Bono if he smacked me in the face, normally anything to do with him I'd run a mile from. Because of this i feel i can give an independent view of the film without it coming thought Bono/U2 loving specs.

I caught this film on BBC2 the other night and really enjoyed it, i thought the acting was excellent and the story very good, the John Lennon bloke was a bit annoying but i thought the main cast members of Jeremy Davies & Milla Jovovich played there parts excellently.

The comments from other viewers of 1 star are totally unjust, I imagine these people the sort that gave "the Godfather 2" 1 star because it was "Boring".

It definetly a film i would watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why couldn't U2 have continued on this musical journey?, 4 Jan 2001
Brilliant. Makes me wonder why U2 had to produce such a ghastly album like the dreadful "All that you can't leave behind". Both the story and music of this are superb. The scene with possibly U2's best ever song, "Stateless" is worth the cost alone. Pretentious and self-indulgent but marvellously so. Just goes to show that if you want good cinema, you avoid America like the plague and embrace European art-house!
Buy this. Much better than the glorification of violence in crass dross like Fight Club.
The extra features on the DVD, with the interview with Wenders and Hewson is revealing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ferrero Roche ad of a movie!, 12 Nov 2000
By A Customer
Mel Gibson starts in this dream-like film from the director of Buena Vista Social Club. He plays an FBI agent who is investigating some strange goings on at The Million Dollar Hotel.
An odball mix of characters including Jovovich, Jeremy Davies, Jimmy Smits and Gloria Stuart help with the investigation into the murder of a fellow guest. With mesmerising music music by Bono and The Edge and some great visuals, the trailer promised much more than the end result.
The film plods along from pretentious scene to boring scene and so on. Every now and then a spark appears but it does not ignite. This film would have made a great five minute pop video. But unfortunately The Million Dollar Hotel is not - it is not five minutes long. It s 2 hrs long! And boy, does it feel like an eternity!!!! Mel Gibson limps along like the script- badly. At least Tim Roth is hardly in it and can plead denial if anyone ever mentions it! This hotch potch comedy thriller is neither funny or thrilling. It is just plain embarrasing. It is as as engrossing as a 120 minute Ferrero Rocher ad!
The Million Dollar Hotel should have stayed in Bono s head as a dream. Instead it will remain in my head as a cinematic nightmare! Avoid even if you love U2. Don't check into this hotel, buy the CD soundtrack instead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tears and Laughter, 23 Jan 2002
By 
brono@u2mail.org (San Francisco, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
I saw this film in Cannes, France in March 2000 (during my first trip to Europe). I was lucky to be there for its release as it was not released in the U.S. except for in Los Angeles and New York (reportedly thanks to Mel Gibson's discontent with the film).
I rate it four star because I laughed and the movie also brought me to tears. As a U2 fan since 1984 (and thus far 33 concerts), I knew Bono was working on this screenplay since 1987. I can certainly see his lyrical ability in the script--full of imagination, breaking out of the box.
There are some scenes, mainly with Mel Gibson, that are hard to get through, but the story has deep meaning and had me come away from the movie with only positive outlooks to even the harshest realities of life.
It might be hard to get through the first viewing particularly in a living room. I recommend studying the film a bit (via websurfing) and then sitting down with an open mind, heart and funny-bone, or simply watching it more than once.
For U2 fans, this is a must (Bono has a cameo or two).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Million Dollar Hotel [DVD]
The Million Dollar Hotel [DVD] by Wim Wenders (DVD - 2008)
4.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews