Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Let Him Bleed..." - Seraphim Falls on BLU RAY
Both Pierce Brosnan and Liam Neeson have been putting in superb performances in their last few movies, and the first pairing of them in "Seraphim Falls" is proof that both are now genuine class acts - only getting better with age and skill. Brosnan is a revelation in Seraphim Falls (as he was in "The Matador") just as Neeson was in "Batman Returns", "Kingdom Of Heaven",...
Published on 19 May 2011 by Mark Barry

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chase movie with a Western setting
Although set in 19th century USA this isn't a typical Western in many ways but instead offers an extended chase/revenge thriller rather than the old standard tales of settlers, trains, 'injuns' and bankrobbing - though all of those do make appearances.
The film opens with a grizzled Brosnan sitting by a fire eating feshly roast rabbit on a snowy mountainside but the...
Published on 15 Sep 2008 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 48 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best western in a long time, 4 July 2011
This review is from: Seraphim Falls [DVD] (DVD)
loved it, this film has it all, I would not have considered putting either of the 2 actors in these roles, but they are magnificent, Pierce Brosnan especially. This is one of the best movies I've seen this year. There are nods to classic Clint films (you have to really pay attention to spot these) and I loved God and the devil.

Ace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Nobody can protect nobody in this world.", 26 Jun 2011
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seraphim Falls [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Opening and closing in cinemas almost without leaving a trace, Seraphim Falls did nothing to help revive the western's big screen fortunes, but despite some problems it's an enthralling manhunt movie that deserved a lot more attention than it got. It doesn't waste time getting things moving - no sooner has Pierce Brosnan started a fire to warm himself in the snowbound mountain country than Liam Neeson and his private posse are shooting at him, triggering an initially near wordless man hunt that will lead its protagonists across some spectacular country to a final confrontation in a barren desert, the ghosts of the Civil War briefly invoked en route. It doesn't reinvent the wheel, opting for the kind of genre staples that haven't had much of an outing over the past few decades, and doing them surprisingly well and, thanks to John Toll's magnificent cinematography, with an incredible feel for its ever-changing landscape that surprisingly few Western directors since Anthony Mann have ever been able to exploit. It's gripping stuff, the pitstops along the way - remote farms, railroad camps, wagon trains - offering memorable vignettes for the likes of Tom Noonan, Shannon Zeller and Kevin J. O'Connor.

Unfortunately it takes an ill-advised excursion in spiritual allegorical territory in the finale, first with the appearance of Wes Studi's top-hatted Charon figure collecting his payment on the shores of a dead sea of sand and Anjelica Huston's diabolical peddler. The latter is not quite enough to derail the film but it does throw in an unwelcome wobble that the film really doesn't need, hammering home what the film has much more effectively left unsaid up until then. Even before that there is, unfortunately, one absurdly contrived moment when Neeson first gets Brosnan in his sights and allows him to escape with ridiculous ease because it's too early to end the picture, while Neeson's motivation and bitterness aren't hard to guess at long before the secret is revealed. Yet despite those flaws the film's more than good enough and entertaining enough to have deserved a wider release and more attention than it actually got, and it's nice to see Ed Lauter back on the big screen and hear Michael Wincott growling away as Neeson's hired guns. On this evidence, co-writer-director David Von Ancken might well be one to watch in the future

Despite the lack of extras this is one where Icon's Blu-ray has a big advantage over the UK DVD. The extras may be the same - just an audio commentary by Von Ancken, Brosnan and production designer Michael Hanan and a standard making of documentary - but someone screwed up and mastered the DVD in 1.85:1 while the same company's Blu-ray is in the correct 2.35:1 widescreen ratio, and this film uses the Scope format so well that it's well worth paying the extra to see it as it was intended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seraphim Falls [Blu-ray] [2007], 28 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seraphim Falls [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A movie I never heard of, Seraphim Falls depicts the chase of Pierce Brosnan by Liam Neeson, all the way from a snowy forest to unrelenting deserts. It has a great pace and I really enjoyed the fact that the movie only shows how Liam Neeson is and it is only towards the end that we get to see why he is chasing Pierce. It makes for a morally grey movie, where you can root for both characters.

The picture quality is outstanding. Faces are very detailed, colors are well saturated plus the cinematography is of very high level. Combined with the great image quality, this really is a looker.
The only nitpicking would be that in the area where movie starts of, in the snowy forest, detail isn't as pronounced as it is through the rest of the movie.

Aduio quality was good, though nothing spectacular. The movie simply doesn't have massive gun fights or explosions which would give your audio system a workout.

Overall, the movie is highly recommended, especially at such a low price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thumbs up., 23 April 2010
By 
S. Ahmed (taxila cantt ,pakistan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seraphim Falls [DVD] (DVD)
i must say i have not liked single movie in which pierce brosnan has acted ,including his role as James Bond .but this movie struck me lightning . pierce brosnan has given the performance of his career. from the first shot of the movie in which pierce gets shot in the shoulder. you feel yourself really into the movie. and feel the excitement of chase . great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A movie you'd watch more than once!, 10 Mar 2010
By 
Sheilah King Watson (Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seraphim Falls [DVD] (DVD)
I'd cheerfully recommend this movie to people between 30 and 100! Who like movies that convey all the humanities. Bravery, fortitude, compassion. An Oscar performance from Pierce Brosnan whom I had no liking for till I watched this movie; he can act his socks off! Liam Neeson much as I like him 'generally' in this performance although good is not as Watchable as Bronsan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars not what you expect, 14 Aug 2014
This review is from: Seraphim Falls [DVD] (DVD)
I give this five stars because this movie really surprised me, positively, on several fronts.
First, I had never heard of it and saw it purely by luck, I had no idea what it was about.
Second, it starts really strongly and keeps it up (pretty much, but I will not spoil your fun). Action scenes are amazing, and the scenery is beautiful.
Third, Pierce Brosnan is really far from his usual polished roles here, he convincingly plays a gritty character.
Fourth, there are several "offbeat" characters in this movie, like the Indian towards the end, I found that quite good.
Fifth, the last third of the film took me by surprise, and the ending was not what I expected (I will again not spoil it for you). Whether you like it or not, the
end is .. "special".
Well, no need to dissect this further, it is just a great movie, I recommend you to watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect, but damn close!, 1 Jan 2008
This review is from: Seraphim Falls [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of those movies that makes you think long after the end credits roll. First off, I am not a fan of either Brosnan or Neeson, yet found both actors compelling in their roles. Brosnan in particular, bearded and suitably grizzled,looking like Robert Ryan.The story unfolds gradually through flashbacks, though the opening scene is both breathtaking and exhilerating. The overall pace of the movie will not suit audiences weaned on MTV etc., but this is old school film making without the need of CGI backgrounds or actors. In fairness, the last 20 minutes or so gets a little surreal, which in my opinion adds to the overall feel of the piece. Certainly a movie to watch again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gritty film with a peculiar ending!, 16 April 2009
By 
Mr. T. A. Maurice "Film Addict" (Essex,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seraphim Falls [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
For most of it's duration,this is a gritty film in which both main characters are not averse to casual,or premeditated,violence.
However,the final segment does jar in it's switch to what appears to be a deliberate air of unreality.
In particular,given the driven nature of Liam Neeson's character,what transpires when he eventually meets up with that of Pierce Brosnan is rather hard to believe.
Overall,though,this is a very enjoyable film which is enhanced by the Blu-Ray Picture Quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars compelling, 30 Jan 2008
By 
sammyb (chelmsford) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Seraphim Falls [DVD] (DVD)
I was very surprised to enjoy this movie as I am generally neither a fan of Pierce Brosnan or Westerns in general.
However the energy and lack of dialogue drew me in and I was transfixed until the end.
Superb performances throughout and a slow and clever reveal of the characters motivations make this a unique and fascinating film which maintains its hold over the viewer until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best Of Up-To-Date Western Films, 11 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: Seraphim Falls [DVD] (DVD)
I recently rented this film from Blockbuster as I had watched the trailer a long time ago and I have to admit I was a bit iffy about it, taking my time to decide if I should rent it or buy it. After watching it however my opinion about changed alot & ended being one of my favourite western films for a long time.

The film takes place in 1868 and although it doesn't rather seem back-in-the-day, the director & cinematographer put you in a sense of the olden times of the west capturing the film beautifully.
The story itself & dialogue is near-enough perfect for the type of film it is & has strong acting from both Brosnan & Neeson.

So, if you like newish westerns & want to see a good one then this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 48 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seraphim Falls [DVD]
Seraphim Falls [DVD] by David Von Ancken (DVD - 2008)
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews