Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A relentless chase thriller to rival the fugitive
From the word go this film is fantastic. The action starts about 30 seconds into the film and then it's relentless as we're taken on a non-stop ride, as one man is hunted down by a band of hired guns.

The acting is excellent, as you'd expect from this cast, the story - although nothing particularly new - is well executed, exciting, and pushed to its extremes,...
Published on 18 Jun. 2010 by The Truth

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great acting with startling backdrops, recommended viewing.
Continuing the spate of recent westerns including,, the Out-Back set The Proposition, 3:10 to Yuma, Appaloosa, and The Assassination Of Jesse James By The Coward Robert Ford among others is Seraphim Falls, an enjoyable story and worthwhile film centered around the bitter pursuit of a one time union solider, played terrifically by Pierce Brosnan, by a an ex military...
Published on 27 Jan. 2010 by Sam


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great acting with startling backdrops, recommended viewing., 27 Jan. 2010
By 
This review is from: Seraphim Falls [DVD] (DVD)
Continuing the spate of recent westerns including,, the Out-Back set The Proposition, 3:10 to Yuma, Appaloosa, and The Assassination Of Jesse James By The Coward Robert Ford among others is Seraphim Falls, an enjoyable story and worthwhile film centered around the bitter pursuit of a one time union solider, played terrifically by Pierce Brosnan, by a an ex military Colonel portrayed by the great Liam Neeson. It is relentless if initially ambiguous nature of Neeson's pursuit that sets up the entire film. As this is virtually a hunter and prey chase the rest of the characters provide a substitute in the gap of a fully realized story or plot. That's not to imply that Seraphim Falls is not in possession of a decent character or even an idea outside of it's two main guns but whatever of the claims by Brosnan in the behind the scenes doc about this being an anti-war film Seraphim Falls exists for the chase, the hunting of Brosnan's man by Neeson and it is with great relief that two such actors provide nuance and screen presence to accompany the typically well-shot and appealing landscapes as they not only provide and sustain the viewers interest but manage to extract several quiet, emotional moments that subsidies the harsher aspects of the story with moments of genuine human feeling, giving a faint but real heart-beat to a film that could have descended into meaningless bursts of violence accompanied by picturesque foregrounds.

I think on the strength of the performances alone, in addition to the two leads we are treated to appearances from the likes of Michael Wincott, Angelica Huston, Tom Noonan and several other familiar faces, Seraphim Falls is easily worth a look but there are several other factors that bolster the film, namely the stunning imagery provided by the landscape ranging from frost ridden mountain passes to the unforgiving, desolate stretch in the desert as the film progresses.

The story itself is close to essentially being one elongated chase sequence between Carver (Neeson's) and a group of hired guns by his side never terribly far behind Gideon (Brosnan). From the start we brief shoot-out that leads to probably the most impressive set piece in the film involving Gideon and a pounding waterfall descent. From there Gideonis put through his paces be it tending to a wound by gouging out a bullet from his arm or attemtping to avoid running foul of unscrupulous characters that run abound in films such as these. And that always been one of my favorite traits in westerns, their seemingly endless landscapes existing as perfect grounds for directors to give very good actors grounds to suddenly, in the case of Seraphim Falls literally, appear out of nowhere sometimes in wonderfully bizarre fashion as here-Angelica Huston in particular in a brief but memorable supporting performance. As the plot of Seraphim Falls is essentially a chase through the wilderness, occasionally punctuated by bursts of violence (being a hired gun appears to have been a more than precarious means of getting by) as well as the aforementioned cameos that crop up rather regularly the filmmakers wisely hit the ground running with a brief shoot-out that leads to probably the most impressive set-piece, involving Gideon and a pounding waterfall descent that sends us on our way through a story that to my best estimation works out as chase-halt-meet intriguing side character-chase-halt-intriguing character etc until the finale which is plays around with symbolism to an extent that is slightly at odds with what proceeds it but to it's credit avoids any by the number shoot-outs and resolves itself on a more cerebral level.

Having possibly out-stayed my welcome I'll wrap things up by referencing what one critic remarked of Seraphim Falls. Without a clear-cut "bad guy" the film is even more interesting but it's down to the excellent work by the two leads that keeps these men interesting. Flashbacks, more or less, provide reasons for why each man is where he is but their characterization never really grows beyond a sketchy outline-not that it really needs to give more of either here- Nessons forceful screen presence and the sympathetic, oddly interesting appearance Brosnan takes on keeps the motor on Seraphim Falls alive (I think with two lesser actors the film would have died in the waters), and that for me was enough for what is, as advertised, a gritty chase and revenge western. Strong acting, a feast for the eyes in the backdrop and confident direction (from co-writer David Von Ancken) draws my hand here and though not on a par with other films in the genre that have seen release in the decade just past, Seraphim Falls is for the most part a gripping western worthy of your attention. 3.5/5

DVD extras include a directors commentary which also has Brosnan's participation and there's a behind the scenes feature with the producers, director and lead actors that runs for approximately twenty minutes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A relentless chase thriller to rival the fugitive, 18 Jun. 2010
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seraphim Falls [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
From the word go this film is fantastic. The action starts about 30 seconds into the film and then it's relentless as we're taken on a non-stop ride, as one man is hunted down by a band of hired guns.

The acting is excellent, as you'd expect from this cast, the story - although nothing particularly new - is well executed, exciting, and pushed to its extremes, with some very original ideas thrown in to keep each scene fresh (*****SPOILER ALERT***** the bear trap set to swing from a tree and take a mans head off being one example ***** SPOILER OVER). The scenery is stunning and takes in many different types of landscape as Pierce is hunted down; the chase starts in the snow covered mountains and ends in a sun bleached desert for instance, and Blu Ray is the perfect medium for the stunning terrain.

Throughout the film you're not really sure who the good guy is or who's the baddy - is it pierce or Liam? You're never sure until the end when the reason for the chase is revealed, and this ads to story immensely as you watch, engrossed, trying to figure out what's what, second guess and work out the story for yourself before all is reveal.

With plenty of action, twists, turns and double crosses this is a great film which I loved. It's very simple - from start to finish it's a none stop chase; a man hunt that rivals The Fugitive, Coogan's Bluff or any other film of a similar ilk. Is it a western? Yes and no - it's set in the wild west, but that really is about all. So if you're not a fan of westerns don't be put off by it: in the spirit of the film, hunt down a copy now! I have no hesitation in giving this 5 stars. Awesome stuff.

If this review was helpful at all please give it a thumbs up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A excellent western which has the most beautiful scenery., 27 May 2009
This review is from: Seraphim Falls [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Last year we were spoilt rotten with westerns which is highly unusual as they were a rare breed. We had this film Seraphim Falls, The Assasination Of Jesse James By The Coward Robert Ford and 3:10 To Yuma. All three films are very good indeed but for me I would say Seraphim Falls is the best and was the least known too. Pierce Brosnan and Liam Neeson both give career best performances, they really are most excellent in their roles.The whole of the film is set against the most breathtaking backdrops which look amazing on Blu-ray. Liam Neeson is hunting Pierce Brosnan down with a group of men for vengeance over something that happened at the end of the Civil War. The ending is very mysterious and most satisfying. If you are a big fan of westerns then you can't afford to miss Seraphim Falls as it really is top class stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Western, 19 Mar. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seraphim Falls [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is one of the best Westerns I've ever seen, and on blu-ray it looks excellent. I had to watch it again just one week after having watched it the first time, I enjoyed the visuals and the story that much. The movie is much more realistic than the average Western, there are no saloons, riverboats nor sheriffs, just a cold snowy mountain at the beginning of the movie, from where the story begins to unfold. You can feel the cold winter air and the cold rushing waters. Seraphim Falls will take you back in time to witness a struggle to survive and avenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bitter pursuit, 8 Jun. 2008
By 
M. G. Wilson (Eastbourne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seraphim Falls [DVD] (DVD)
Set in the bitter aftermath of the American Civil War, Seraphim Falls is a tale of revenge. Across the extraordinary New Mexico landscape, Neeson relentlessly pursues Brosnan across snowy mountains, torrential rivers, scrubland and finally desert. One consumed by anger and hatred, the other eaten up by remorse. All that keeps them going is pursuit, a fact made clear at the film's climax, when the two protagonists face each other, stripped of everything (even the landscape is featureless) except the means of killing the other. Neeson and Brosnan are excellent as are the rest of the cast. The settings are stunning, huge open spaces, beautifully photographed by John Toll.

Unlike many cowboy pictures, with their black hats and white hats, this is story that refuses to simplify. right down to the ambiguous ending. There are no good guys and bad guys. Only men driven to the edge, trying to do what's right, and oftentimes getting it wrong.

Receiving mixed reviews, Seraphim Falls made little impact in the UK. That did the film a disservice because its landscapes would be ravishing on the big screen, but gives us the chance to see something genuinely fresh now. Seraphim Falls is a very creditable entry in the Western canon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From hard and gritty to mythical and allegorical, 31 Oct. 2008
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seraphim Falls [DVD] (DVD)
A film of two halves, but with a somewhat uncomfortable join.
This movie starts off with one of the most gritty and riveting hunts in recent memory. Pierce Brosnan's weatherbeaten and hardened ex Union officer is the hunted one, and Liam Neeson is the hunter, driven remorselessly by the ghosts of his past. The cold of the mountains, the pain of using a knife to gouge out a bullet and cauterize the wound, the chill of the water, the close quarters kills with the knife, all make for a visceral start with minimal dialogue and little explanation. Each man is completely single minded - one on survival, and one on revenge. As the chase moves onto the plains, we discover more about their past and the reason for the chase, marking a change in tone of the movie. As the plains give way to the desert, the movie takes an altogether more mythical and almost surreal mood, which is sure to divide audiences. Those expecting an action packed climax to the chase may feel cheated, however what we do get is at the very least thought provoking and I think lingers in the memory much more than a conventional showdown would have.
The director borrows heavily from the greats - the revenge themes of many a spaghetti Western, with the repeated flashbacks revealing a little more each time we see them reminiscent of Leone, also Ford's `The Searchers', as well as the atmosphere of Eastwood's Westerns. Borrowed the styles may be, but they are put together with a unique voice and vision, albeit in a somewhat hollow way in which the director too often substitutes myth and images for true drama. But what startling images they are! The photography is beautiful, whether it is the stark beauty of the mountains and snow, or the green of the plains or the arid expanses of the desert, and the images of the men facing off, or Angelica Huston in the desert, will stick with you.
The musical score to the movie is surprisingly restrained, but is a perfect accompaniment to the story - at first minimalist and somber in minor keys, reflecting the movies tone of survival and single mindedness, then the score switches to something more traditional as it enters the plains and the sphere of a traditional Western, and finally becomes wistful and dreamlike in the final stages. It's imaginative and subtle, always in the background and never grabbing your attention, but adding immensely to the tone and feel of the movie, almost like another character.
It is the final third of the movie which feels just a little longer than it should, with some ideas dragged out, and with changes of tone which leave the viewer almost feeling like he is being asked to start a new movie. What helps keep the viewer hooked are the leads, who are terrific, the two Irishman fitting into a Western with great assurance. Brosnan in particular makes the most of a very physical role, with much more subtlety than we might expect. Otherwise, a strong supporting cast of character actors is great to watch but frankly is given little of substance to do.
This is a flawed film, to be sure - but nonetheless it achieves what great cinema is supposed to - it stirs the emotions, and makes you think. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Casting, Good Film. Visually impressive, 20 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Seraphim Falls [DVD] (DVD)
Serpahim falls is a western taken place shortly after the American Civil War. It was nice to see Pierce Brosnan and Liam Neeson in the same film and they both play their roles well. It was also a good role for Brosnan to get even further away from just being thought of as Bond and he certainly had a challenge taking this role on and filming in the cold conditions to which the film begins. The dvd has good extras despite amazon not listing them on this page. There is a full commnentary and making of The film aswell as more than most dvd films devoted to interviews of the cast and what they saw as the characters they played. I would say the movie isnt the best to keep on viewing multiple times, however it can be very exciting as there is quite a lot of tension in the film. The film tells the story of what revenge can do to people and May hit a cord with people who have long held memories of anger towards people from their past. The film has I think a few messages in this film to learn from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An unusual and satisfying western, 18 Feb. 2008
This review is from: Seraphim Falls [DVD] (DVD)
Seraphim Falls almost makes it into the territory of the great westerns. It is well acted (I haven't seen Brosnan this good in anything), beautifully shot and moves along at a wonderfully measured pace. Essentially, this is picaresque journey through the west structured around a revenge narrative. Neeson is tracking Brosnan. As the chase goes on, both parties meet interesting characters. And then they eventually meet face to face.

The film has a grit and a reality at its core, but also is alive to the sheer strangeness and multiplicity of the frontier, and the ending I found genuinely surprising. The one bum note in the film is the Neeson character's backstory which is, after all, the engine driving the whole narrative. The loss of his family is certainly reason enough for his quest, but as depicted it lacks power and drama (see, perhaps, The Outlaw Josey Wales for much more effective presentation of similar dramatic material).

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Compelling Film, 15 Sept. 2010
By 
P. A. Gosden "Flinter" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seraphim Falls [DVD] (DVD)
Mmmmmm. This has the reputation of being an excellent film with a strange ending. Precisely my own opinion. And the ending will confuse most on first viewing.
Here we have two non-Americans playing Western roles. And it works amazingly well. The viewer is thrown into the exciting plot with plenty of violence and a storyline that develops well through the film. Without giving away the ending it might help to understand that the film is not a simple shoot-e'm-up. It has an underlying theme. The final development of that theme is halucination, dehydration, heat stroke and exhaustion. Very surreal. And unexpected. I recommend this film to those who appreciate a good western coupled with first class acting and a good plot. Buy it, watch it, enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suprised How Much I Liked This, 20 Feb. 2008
By 
J. Patching "panzer-attack" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seraphim Falls [DVD] (DVD)
I like Westerns but I gave this one a miss in the cinema as it had a lot of negative reviews. I'm now sorry I did as, whilst I can see that this film wouldn't be everyone's cup of tea, I absolutely loved it. It's a movie that's not afraid to take its time in unfolding the story. I think you've definitely got to be in the right mood to watch it. It's certainly not an all-action, pop corn type of film, although it has more action in it than I was lead to believe from certain reviews.

In my opinion, the main thing this film has going for it is atmosphere. The scenery is gorgeous and varies greatly throughout the whole picture. The acting from Brosnan and Neeson is top notch (Brosnan being particularly good).

As you've probably read elsewhere, the film has a ... 'different' sort of ending with supernatural/spiritual overtones. A lot of people seem to have had a problem with this but it didn't feel at all out of place to me.

But still, this does seem to be a film you love or hate. I loved it; I leant my copy to a friend who fell asleep half way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seraphim Falls [DVD]
Seraphim Falls [DVD] by David Von Ancken (DVD - 2008)
£3.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews