Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Product really nice weight
I have been using this geological hammer on my dissertation to ogmore-by-sea, have chosen this hammer due to its pointed end as it is much easier to excavate fossils from the outcrops. I have collect many samples from the field using the normal pick end which is sometime difficult due to its size, an issue did arise when trying to separate slate rocks along its cleavage...
Published on 20 Jun 2011 by Mr. P. J. Kennedy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars heavy duty
used these on lyme regis beach searching fossils, did the job cracking open rocks.......... good kit not too heavy to use but heavy enough to do the job.
Published 7 months ago by Kes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Product really nice weight, 20 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. P. J. Kennedy "P J Kennedy" (Bham, WM, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Faithfull HGP 22OZ Geologists Pick (DIY & Tools)
I have been using this geological hammer on my dissertation to ogmore-by-sea, have chosen this hammer due to its pointed end as it is much easier to excavate fossils from the outcrops. I have collect many samples from the field using the normal pick end which is sometime difficult due to its size, an issue did arise when trying to separate slate rocks along its cleavage which i had to use another hammer for but overall i am very happy with OLD FAITHFULL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Geologists Hammer, 12 Jun 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faithfull HGP 22OZ Geologists Pick (DIY & Tools)
Bought at a very good price for occasional use.
Seems to be the one I always reach for a nice
efficient tool
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faithfull Geologist Pick 22 oz, 9 April 2010
By 
G. Jackson (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Faithfull HGP 22OZ Geologists Pick (DIY & Tools)
I can really understand why they call this Geologist Pick faithfull. It is light enough for women whilst being strong enough to split the hardest rock.

Purchased for my daughter undertaking her Geology degree, but must admit I have had so much fun splitting open beautiful geodes and some fanastic fossils.

Highly recommended

Rocks & Minerals (DK Eyewitness Books)Rocks and Minerals (DK Handbooks)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great price, 30 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faithfull HGP 22OZ Geologists Pick (DIY & Tools)
Faultless hammer for weekend use. Compared with others at a far higher price, which I used too, this is a fantastic item. Keep one in the boot and you will be always ready.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all, 10 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faithfull HGP 22OZ Geologists Pick (DIY & Tools)
I bought this hammer to use on a week long geology fieldtrip in wales and i have to say this hammer is very good.
This hammer is very tough and manages to break things like basalt, the flat side is probably better for breaking the rocks but the back end is good for using as a lever like a claw hammer to pull layers of rock away so overall the toughness of this is very good.
The only downside to this hammer is that it is heavier than you give it credit for when you need to carry it around all day in that when you are holding it the thing feels tough and well made but not too heavy but when you start carrying it around it gets alot heavier.

hopefully this review has been helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Weight, 21 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faithfull HGP 22OZ Geologists Pick (DIY & Tools)
This was a gift for my son who was going on his first field excursion. Nice weight, nice feel in the hand and not too big. Will last until he decides for himself to upgrade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For the Amateur or Expert, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faithfull HGP 22OZ Geologists Pick (DIY & Tools)
For its price, this is an excellent hammer which is suitable for an amateur or, indeed, a professional geologist or fossil hunter. Good value too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delighted with this purchase, 4 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faithfull HGP 22OZ Geologists Pick (DIY & Tools)
Although I'm sure it makes a good geologists pick, I bought this to help me with a landscaping project in my garden. As a woman who finds it hard to wield a full-sized pick axe for longer than 5 minutes, this has proved an excellent light-weight substitute. I've used it extensively and it is a really solid little tool and I have been extremely impressed with its quality and robustness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... hunting so had to order a lighter one) but good, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faithfull HGP 22OZ Geologists Pick (DIY & Tools)
Quite heavy so not suitable for a child (ordered for my eight year old nephew for fossil hunting so had to order a lighter one) but good product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faithfull HGP 22OZ Geologists Pick (DIY & Tools)
The person this was bought for was very pleased. A good quality item for a super price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Faithfull HGP 22OZ Geologists Pick
£16.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews