Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reaaly like this piece of kit
I bought this because I wanted a radio alarm that would wake me to an aux input, which this does really well. It worked out of the box and I have had no trouble with it since purchase. It really ticks all the boxes for me. The light of the analogue clock can be a little intrusive indeed lights up the whole bedroom; but they have thought of that and you can turn it down to...
Published on 11 Sept. 2008 by C. Pooley

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Like it but durability???
This is a lovely looking clock radio and whilst the speakers won't fill the room with perfect audio, it's only a bedside unit - fantastic for that. The light is fully adjustable if you're a light sleeper and all of the features are great. Only irritation is that you can't select which DAB station you wake up to - it just uses the last one you were listening to. (You can...
Published on 13 Jun. 2009 by JulesRules


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reaaly like this piece of kit, 11 Sept. 2008
By 
C. Pooley "Horn man" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts Radios Gemini Digital Clock Radio With Instant Record (Electronics)
I bought this because I wanted a radio alarm that would wake me to an aux input, which this does really well. It worked out of the box and I have had no trouble with it since purchase. It really ticks all the boxes for me. The light of the analogue clock can be a little intrusive indeed lights up the whole bedroom; but they have thought of that and you can turn it down to nothing if required. Getting used to analogue style clocks took a bit of getting used to after so long with digital but as I can still tell the time proper no probs. So my view is trust it enjoy it. Don't be afraid of the alarm setting rigmarole, it's the same as all other soft setting alarms, you have to go thru the various options to get it done how you want it, it's just not a problem.

Over the years I have owned this product I have had two problems with it, the first was sorted by the supplying retailer as it was still under warranty. This particular problem was that the stations would not hold and everytime it came on went straight to absolute radio.

This I found out was a common problem at the time.

The second problem was that the time refused to settle.
This entailed a return to Roberts via their repairs procedure. There is a cost, but not excessive. The set was sent in and returned repaired a few days later. Excellent service.
Been OK since
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-Specified, Versatile and Practical BUT a Few Usability Issues, 22 Oct. 2008
This review is from: Roberts Radios Gemini Digital Clock Radio With Instant Record (Electronics)
The Roberts CRD-33 has many useful features which would not normally be associated with a clock/radio, even if it is DAB capable.

*** Note Amazon have this radio listed TWICE. Search on 'Roberts CRD-33' in the 'Electronics' department to see them both. It's worth checking each listing as prices differ....!

The most notable of these is 'Pause Plus' (DAB only), an SD card storage capability which allows radio programmes to be recorded (but there's no timed-recording facility) and MP3 files to be played and 'Aux In'/'Line Out'/headphone sockets.

I find the 'Pause Plus' live record/pause/rewind of DAB broadcasts very useful and it should be noted you can record something which has already been broadcast if it is able to be 'rewound' to (this is an undocumented feature which I discovered and Roberts were unaware of !); multiple recordings can be saved to memory card.

The 'Pause Plus'/file playback facility is quite well-specified, allowing not just pause, but also fast-forward and rewind (albeit only in 30s 'chunks'). As the unit apparently has firmware based on that also utilised by the RD-55 and RD-59 it unfortunately only has a maximum 'memory' of some 8mins. When playing files, the associated music file information (if available) is displayed on the lower line of the LCD. Having said that, you can only search for particular files by 'scrolling' through all the files stored on the card (which can get quite tiresome...) and they don't seem to be stored in any logical order.

I also think the playback operation controls (which double-up as the radio station preset buttons) are not very well placed, as they are directly on the top of the unit and the legends have no forward-visibility. As the radio is likely to be sitting at eye-level this can mean that when one accesses the buttons it is quite easy to select the wrong one...This is disastrous if using 'Pause Plus', as selecting a preset button not associated with playback changes the radio station, hence any broadcast paused and held in 'memory' is lost !

A quick note on SD card usage. Each time the card is re-accessed (by pressing record, selecting it as a source or stopping playback) it re-scans the card. This means that if the card has a lot of music files on it there can be a VERY lengthy delay before record starts or playback can be selected; this can be very irritating so you have been warned !

There are 10 memory presets on each radio band, a scrollable station display/selector facility and tone/volume controls for the speaker. Speaker output quality, whilst not stereo, reproduces treble/bass very well and sound in general with great clarity. The FM radio side is fine and has RDS. To my amazement, the 'wire' antenna works perfectly and the radio receives all available DAB stations with clarity.

The backlight is controlled by both a 'toggle' switch (on the front panel) and a variable-intensity knob (on the underside). Once you have set your desired intensity, you can then toggle between that setting and maximum intensity. This is very useful as the maximum intensity is adequate for reading or use as a bedside light...

There are 4 alarms, which can be set for once/daily/weekdays/weekends and used to activate either the DAB, FM, SD card playback, Aux In or 'Buzzer' (as Roberts call it; it's actually an electronic 'beep'-type alarm sound). The buzzer volume gradually increases over time to a maximum which can be preset, using a variable knob on the underside. It has a 'snooze' feature and when an alarm is set the corresponding switch is lit to 'warn' you.

The unit also has a 'sleep' timer for the radio, which can be set to 15, 30, 60 90 or 120 mins. There is also a 'Nap' timer, which turns on the radio after a selectable 10/20/30/40/50/60 mins period.

There is a large analogue clock display, which sets itself using radio signal reception. The 2-line LCD is also illuminated and allows for DAB broadcast information to be 'scrolled' below the station information, as well as a range of other (selectable) data to be permanently shown, including the date/time (which is also set automatically). Graphics are shown for the various other functions when they are activated.

So, all-in-all an excellent purchase with few competitors of comparable quality and specification.

For complete information, you can download the User Guide from the Roberts website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Sept. 2008
By 
J. R. Cummings "Clouseau" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts Radios Gemini Digital Clock Radio With Instant Record (Electronics)
This is a stylish unit that goes well in any situation. IF you read the instructions carefully you will have no problems setting it up. Do not assume you know how first or you will mess things up! Other reviews have complained about the lack of ID tagging from the music stored on the SD card, but this is a minor issue that is not a real problem if all you want is a bit of music to listen to in the bedroom. My one very slight moan is that it doesn't remember where you stopped listening so if you do not want to listen to the same tracks again you have so skip tracks to get to where you want.If that is an issue just plug in your MP3 player and it should be sorted! The sound is very good and it does everything needed very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly excellent, 3 Dec. 2009
Good features as already documented by other reviewers, must disagree with the 'buzzer not loud enough' It starts quietly and builds to a max volume set by a concealed knob to quite acceptable level for me and also changes tonal pattern every 20 secs or so to keep you alert.

My main criticism is it has no non-volatile memory therefore a power cut looses all your saved stations and alarms - annoying. Why not use the SD card to store settings Mr Roberts if you must penny pinch on no internal flash memory.

The SD card playback only 'sees' files in the root folder so all your files are bundled together with no chance of putting them into separate album folders.

And finally the most annoying feature is toggling through DAB-FM-SD-Aux functions the SD option always hangs for 4 to 5 secs each time as it scans the SD card which is frustrating as you then over press and the loop overshoots what you want then it hangs again next time around.

All the above niggles could be sorted by firmware changes please consider Mr Roberts it would make your good product GREAT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Like it but durability???, 13 Jun. 2009
By 
This review is from: Roberts Radios Gemini Digital Clock Radio With Instant Record (Electronics)
This is a lovely looking clock radio and whilst the speakers won't fill the room with perfect audio, it's only a bedside unit - fantastic for that. The light is fully adjustable if you're a light sleeper and all of the features are great. Only irritation is that you can't select which DAB station you wake up to - it just uses the last one you were listening to. (You can get around this if you are able to use the FM broadcast of your chosen station).

However... First unit I got didn't work. The clock hands just spun round and wouldn't set. Roberts were helpful and we checked everything but they said it was faulty so to return it. Now, just 18 months later, the replacement unit loses all of my saved DAB stations. Not every time I switch it off but 5 times in the past week I've had to resave them.

Although it's got great features and I really like it, I have to raise the question of quality. I may just be unlucky though, hence 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-Specified, Versatile and Practical BUT a Few Usability Issues, 22 Oct. 2008
The Roberts CRD-33 has many useful features which would not normally be associated with a clock/radio, even if it is DAB capable.

*** Note Amazon have this radio listed TWICE. Search on 'Roberts CRD-33' in the 'Electronics' department to see them both. It's worth checking each listing as prices differ....!

The most notable of these is 'Pause Plus' (DAB only), an SD card storage capability which allows radio programmes to be recorded and MP3 files to be played and 'Aux In'/'Line Out'/headphone sockets.

I find the 'Pause Plus' live record/pause/rewind of DAB broadcasts very useful and it should be noted you can record something which has already been broadcast if it is able to be 'rewound' to (this is an undocumented feature which I discovered and Roberts were unaware of !); multiple recordings can be saved to memory card.

The 'Pause Plus'/file playback facility is quite well-specified, allowing not just pause, but also fast-forward and rewind (albeit only in 30s 'chunks'). As the unit apparently has firmware based on that also utilised by the RD-55 and RD-59 it unfortunately only has a maximum 'memory' of some 8mins. When playing files, the associated music file information (if available) is displayed on the lower line of the LCD. Having said that, you can only search for particular files by 'scrolling' through all the files stored on the card (which can get quite tiresome...) and they don't seem to be stored in any logical order.

I also think the playback operation controls (which double-up as the radio station preset buttons) are not very well placed, as they are directly on the top of the unit and the legends have no forward-visibility. As the radio is likely to be sitting at eye-level this can mean that when one accesses the buttons it is quite easy to select the wrong one...This is disastrous if using 'Pause Plus', as selecting a preset button not associated with playback changes the radio station, hence any broadcast paused and held in 'memory' is lost !

A quick note on SD card usage. Each time the card is re-accessed (by pressing record, selecting it as a source or stopping playback) it re-scans the card. This means that if the card has a lot of music files on it there can be a VERY lengthy delay before record starts or playback can be selected; this can be very irritating so you have been warned !

There are 10 memory presets on each radio band, a scrollable station display/selector facility and tone/volume controls for the speaker. Speaker output quality, whilst not stereo, reproduces treble/bass very well and sound in general with great clarity. The FM radio side is fine and has RDS. To my amazement, the 'wire' antenna works perfectly and the radio receives all available DAB stations with clarity.

The backlight is controlled by both a 'toggle' switch (on the front panel) and a variable-intensity knob (on the underside). Once you have set your desired intensity, you can then toggle between that setting and maximum intensity. This is very useful as the maximum intensity is adequate for reading or use as a bedside light...

There are 4 alarms, which can be set for once/daily/weekdays/weekends and used to activate either the DAB, FM, SD card playback, Aux In or 'Buzzer' (as Roberts call it; it's actually an electronic 'beep'-type alarm sound). The buzzer volume gradually increases over time to a maximum which can be preset, using a variable knob on the underside. It has a 'snooze' feature and when an alarm is set the corresponding switch is lit to 'warn' you.

The unit also has a 'sleep' timer for the radio, which can be set to 15, 30, 60 90 or 120 mins. There is also a 'Nap' timer, which turns on the radio after a selectable 10/20/30/40/50/60 mins period.

There is a large analogue clock display, which sets itself using radio signal reception. The 2-line LCD is also illuminated and allows for DAB broadcast information to be 'scrolled' below the station information, as well as a range of other (selectable) data to be permanently shown, including the date/time (which is also set automatically). Graphics are shown for the various other functions when they are activated.

So, all-in-all an excellent purchase with few competitors of comparable quality and specification.

For complete information, you can download the User Guide from the Roberts website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive Machine But..., 2 Nov. 2009
By 
C. Yeadon "Chris" (Redditch) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The basic function of this item is a clock radio/alarm so I was very disappointed to find that it doesn't have an alarm skip facility. This means that if you have a day off & want a lie in you have two options a) Wait for the alarm to go off & cancel it or b)The previous evening go through alarm settings which is four or five key presses to turn the alarm off. Then the next day you have to remember to do it all again to turn it back on. I did Email Roberts but just got the reply "It is unfortunate but our products do not have the skip function you require" so in that respect it is not a very user friendly item.
However I was impressed with it's other features which have been documented previously.
For a clock radio the sound is quite good.
I live in a poor reception area but still managed to tune into about 20 DAB stations with a full signal strength.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars old school modern, 5 Oct. 2008
By 
This review is from: Roberts Radios Gemini Digital Clock Radio With Instant Record (Electronics)
I have recently bought one, and was attracted by the traditional clock.
it was reasonably easy to set up, and the sound is about right for a smallish bit of kit
the 4 alarms are great, so i have different setting for weekends etc. the sheer variety of stations is a joy, and the delay is great when i get interrupted listening to the footy commentary
the dimming makes it unobtrusive at night
great stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really useful bedside radio with lots of useful features, 14 Nov. 2011
By 
A. A. Newman (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roberts Radios Gemini Digital Clock Radio With Instant Record (Electronics)
I have had this clock for just about a year now and am very pleased with the operation. The alarms are easy to set and you can select every day, weekdays only etc and the station you want. What I really like is that you can go to sleep listening to a DAB station or a recorded Podcast (using sleep function) but still be woken to your selected FM station (note you can't do this on the same function e.g. 2 different DAB stations). I download a lot of podcasts on my PC and like the ability to store these on an SD card which can then be plugged into the radio so I can listen to them last thing at night. The file structure on the SD card is very specific - I had to check with tech support to get this to work properly and if you have an SD card inserted, the clock insists on reading the card when you select this option which takes about 5 secs, so stepping through SD Card, Aux, FM and DAB Function is a bit frustrating.
The back light on the clock is pretty bright - so my wife turns this on (via front panel switch) if she goes to bed first so I can see my way without disturbing her. You can also set the brightness of the back light to whatever level of brightness you want when the light is not fully on. The clock also keeps perfect time and resets itself automatically if there is a power cut and at GMT/BST changeover.
My only small criticism is the front controls are all identical so you have to remember what they do, but otherwise a very useable clock radio with some really useful features
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unsuitable for a bedroom clock, 15 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Roberts Radios Gemini Digital Clock Radio With Instant Record (Electronics)
I am astonished so few people have mentioned the major design fault with this radio. The backlight does not switch off when radio is on standby and so, even on the minimum brightness setting, the bedroom is flooded with a dim light. When the alarm fires and takes it off standby, the backlight subsides to a dull orange - surely it should be the other way round.

All the other facilities are excellent for a bedroom radio. I can only imagine that there has been some sort of slip-up between the original design plan and the implementation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews