Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Apatow does it again - funny, thoughtful and sweet
For those of us who saw The 40 Year Old Virgin and came away wishing that they'd given 'that funny guy with the beard' roles that could have saved Bruce Almighty and suchlike fro mediocrity, Knocked Up is like our prayers getting answered. Rogen is on fantastic form as Ben - a waster seemingly locked in a happy stasis of living off court reparations with a house of...
Published on 27 Dec. 2007 by M. Gardner

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Romantic Animal House Road Trip
The film is based around the story of social dropout played by Seth Rogen who on a drunken one night stand with Katherine Heigl gets her pregnant because he is too drunk to use protection. It then explores the developing relationship between the two as she goes through her pregnancy.

For this film, it feels as if Judd Apatow has tried to create an all...
Published on 28 Jan. 2010 by underthethumb


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Apatow does it again - funny, thoughtful and sweet, 27 Dec. 2007
By 
M. Gardner "Afro Matt" (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Knocked Up [DVD] (DVD)
For those of us who saw The 40 Year Old Virgin and came away wishing that they'd given 'that funny guy with the beard' roles that could have saved Bruce Almighty and suchlike fro mediocrity, Knocked Up is like our prayers getting answered. Rogen is on fantastic form as Ben - a waster seemingly locked in a happy stasis of living off court reparations with a house of similar stoners, playing duel and table tennis, gtting high, and watching movies for nude bits in the hope of setting up an internet lexion of film nudity - the man who has a drunken liason with TV presenter and career gal Alison (Katherine Heigl) and gets her pregnant. The movie's story could be summed up with the phrase 'deal with it' - it is the story of how these two work out their fundamental differences and prepare for the birth.

The film works because Judd Apatow, much like in his movie debut, manages to juggle the vulgar and the sweet, the crass and the romantic, without ever seeming to side to heavily on either side. An 'eurgh' is never too far away from an 'aww' and vice versa. For critics of the film who have suggested that this wouldn't happen - that they'd just go their separate ways - you have to say that had that happened it would have been a pretty short film: guy knocks up girl, girl deals with it on own. The End. No. Instead Apatow looks at the conflict as they struggle to make it work. Unlike most romcom heroes, Ben is a highly flawed character: yes he does have genuine goodwill and yes he does foolish American bumbling very well and comes across as endearing, but he is also a lazy guy who is incredibly scared of growing up and leaving behind his childhood. Again, much like the 40YOV, Apatow has created a field where his central protagonist is a clueless and afraid, and has to make tentative (often hilarious, sometimes tragic) steps into an area that is unknown. Heigl is excellent as Alison, exuding the same sense of comfortability in her role that fans of Grey's Anatomy will be instantly at home with. Her comic timing is perfectly equal to Rogen's and the chemistry between the two is wonderfully awkward. Again it has irritated me that there are those that have criticised the (alleged) lack of chemistry between the two leads. Rogen and Heigl, from their (importantly) drunken encounter, lurch from faux-responsible businesslike brusqueness about the whole thing, to being alternately scared, disappointed in one another, proud, earnest, optimistic, pessimistic - in short every nuance of the rollercoaster of emotion one would expect over those crucial nine months. They are backed up with wonderfully understated turns from Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann.

In short Knocked Up is another Apatow success. It is by turns funny, dramatic, romantic, rude, crude and thought provoking. But it is a romantic comedy - there is no reason to make it the most gritty piece of realism - and so the sugar sweet ending may be forgiven at least if not endorsed. After all, most of Shakespeare's comedies ended up with the 'happily ever after' and he still managed to say a few things about relationships and society. If Judd Apatow is taking a couple of pages out of the Bard's textbook (eve if indirectly) in can hardly be a bad thing can it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Romantic Animal House Road Trip, 28 Jan. 2010
By 
underthethumb (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Knocked Up [DVD] (DVD)
The film is based around the story of social dropout played by Seth Rogen who on a drunken one night stand with Katherine Heigl gets her pregnant because he is too drunk to use protection. It then explores the developing relationship between the two as she goes through her pregnancy.

For this film, it feels as if Judd Apatow has tried to create an all emcompassing genre movie. On the one hand it is designed to appeal to fans of romantic comedy via the relationship between Seth Rogen and Katherine Heigl but balanced against an attempt at a modern day Animal House within the boys house. Even a road trip is thrown in for good measure. Mixing the crudeness and vulgarity that is obviously designed to appeal to the male audience with the romance partly works but it doesn't quite gel; not to the quality of his previous films anyway.

There are lots of extras on this two disc edition, ingluding deleted / alternate scenes, gag reels and featurettes. For once there is actually too much content - I tried to watch it and got bored part way through, more due to the volume of it rather than the lack of quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars more laughs than your usual romcom, 30 July 2008
By 
Super Dale (cheltenham, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Knocked Up [DVD] (DVD)
The romantic comedy is big business in Hollywood. Like the action movie staple, it is designed to appeal to a wide audience. But we've all seen so many of these films that they have totally lost any ability to surprise us. Boy meets girl, boy and girl like each other, an obstacle is placed in their way, boy loses girl, the obstacle is overcome... the audience won't stand an unhappy ending, so the destination is always the same; everyone lives happily ever after. What matters, then, is what happens along the way.

No one will be surprised to learn that Knocked Up does not deviate from this formula- but starting from an unusual premise (a one night stand between Ben and Alison, two mismatched types) and developing a new genre, the gross-out romantic comedy (I know! Romance for the girls and sick gags for the boys, it's a sure-fire winner) it remains consistently entertaining along the way.

My main problem with the film is that I had no sympathy at all with Ben and his slacker friends. A few genuinely funny gags aside, they remained impressively irritating throughout the movie. Much better is director Judd Apatow's sly dig at the conventions of the form, an interesting subplot centred around the marital troubles of Alison's sister and her husband, a few years down the marriage road. Convincingly played by Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann, the couple's problems are not fully resolved; look, Apatow is saying to us, Ben and Alison may be happy at the end of the movie, but in a few years' time this is where they may well end up.

Seth Rogen plays Ben well, a big bear of a man scared to grow up. I was less convinced by Alison, played by Katherine Heigl; maybe it's the way the role is written, but she never creates a realistic personality for the character. One minute she is revolted by the lifestyle of Ben and his friends, and seemingly within no time she is enthusiastically joining in. Still, there are enough laughs for a strong supporting cast to keep the entertainment rolling along to the inevitable conclusion. Like many romantic comedies, I am not sure Knocked Up will live long in the memory. It's too long for a comedy (really, two hours? Ninety minutes is always enough). However, it offers more genuine laughs than most in the genre, and confirms Judd Apatow and Seth Rogen as talents to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't believe the hype, 20 Feb. 2008
By 
David Chaproniere (Ashford, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Knocked Up [DVD] (DVD)
Apparently, this is a comedy. Reviewers wrote and talked about laugh out loud moments, about how wonderful a comedy this is.

Well, I watched, and waited. Where were the laugh out loud funny bits? Either I've had a serious sense-of-humour bypass when I wasn't looking, or I just don't get what is so funny about this movie. OK, there were some amusing moments, although off the top of my head I cannot exactly pinpoint what they were. All this film managed to do was while away some time, and although this was not exactly unpleasant, it was hardly a memorable experience. The trials and tribulations of the lead characters' developing relationship after a one-night stand were, I suppose, refreshingly unsentimental for most of the film (but typically cannot go the whole nine yards without ending in the usual cringe-inducing fashion), yet unrealistic in that somehow these two are to fall in love because she gets knocked up in a moment of drunken lust. Aaah, bless, ain't love grand? Pass me the sick bag, please.

Various reviews mentioned the frankness of the language and sexual references. I'm sure I've seen more blatantly sexual Disney movies than this, albeit without the swearing. If you're expecting a comedy that will shock in any small way (along the lines of There's Something About Mary, perhaps), then you will be disappointed. Apart from a few swear words, which most of us are more than adult enough to cope with, this was no more shocking that one of Woody Allen's middle-class, angst-ridden New York dramas.

The lesson? Don't always believe the hype.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly a classic, but very enjoyable Nonetheless, 17 Jun. 2012
By 
This review is from: Knocked Up [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this film from my local Game Shop for £2.99 second hand (which isn't bad at all) watched it earlier and i wasn't dissapointed. Ben (Seth Rogen) meets Alison (Catherine Heigl) during a night out and one thing leads to another and the next thing you know they end up sleeping together. The next day however, Ben and Catherine can't remember whether they used a comdom or not the night before (as they were both very drunk) but Catherine soon fears that Ben didn't use a comdom so she has a pregnancy test which is positive, she's pregnant and isn't happy about it at all. She then feels it's time to tell Ben that she is pregnant and they both go to the doctors together which confirms her pregnancy. She gets very upset about this at first however, she and Ben soon fall for eachother and both of them decide its best to keep the baby after all. They are happy for a while with a few laughs and arguments along the way and it all ends on a good note when she finally gives birth to a baby girl at the end. That is a pretty basic overview of the storyline, you'd have to watch the film to get the whole of it.

What inspired me to get this film is the fact i already own The 40 Year Old Virgin which is also directed by Apatow which i thought was great so i thought i'd give this film a shot and i'm glad that i did. Superbad may be next on my list now. I don't think however its offers quite as much as the 40 year old virgin but i was quite suprised with the amount of nudity and sex content this film has, i think it has more than the 40 year old virgin which i was quite surprised about. I'd probably say the level of comedy are the same though, and overall i think the 40 Year Old Virgin may just have the edge over this film but nevertheless this a decent film and i'd give it about 7/10.

So if you are a typical American Comedy lover, this film is for you, well worth the watch and i would highly recommened it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars AN AUDACIOUS COMEDY FOR AN ADULT AUDIENCE, 14 Jan. 2010
JUDD APATOW has hit the nail right on the head in this movie which is an insight into contemporary easy-sex /drug culture.

The laconically charming characters are brash ,saucy and real ,and inclined to see themselves as failures in all they do; a key to all good comedies since Greek times .

From the incredibly funny opening seduction scene between the two leads in a drunken stupor to the immensely funny but predictable ending, the movie takes you through a journey into modern sexual attitudes and prejudices towards long term sexual relationships ,whether our own or others ,its a revelation to see such wit and intelligence combined with charm in a screwball comedy ,kudos to mr. Apatow for giving a non-pretentious comic drama which celebrates an intelligent theme which can for once also make you snort with laughter.

This is an unmissable cerebral satire dealing honestly with one night stands ,unwanted pregnancies and so-called perfectly designed but compromised loveless marriages deemed to be ideal in arrangement, but lacking that elemental word essential to all healthy relationships called affection .

This movie demonstrates extremely well that successful relationships are totally unpredictable, with its zany script and lovable characters who are mere mortals like Seth Rogan playing a male nerd, and Katherine Heigl playing his smart and sophisticated lover-'a so-called mis-matched couple' versus their nemesis played by Katherine's sister and husband [paul rudd ],who are deemed perfect but cannot communicate on basic issues even after being together for a decade of marriage .

The joys and misery of modern marriage and realtionships is observed wryly and explored in a realistic comedy with some memorable one-liners and it's a really delightful ride to go along with this smart drama .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "Once You're Hungover You Gotta Puke, thats the secret..", 24 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knocked Up [DVD] (DVD)
A mistake that can happen to any couple so to speak, but a great mistake at that.
There's a whole array of mainstream Hollywood comedians from this time in the film and they help carry what is really a pretty mundane idea. Bloke meets girl in a nightclub, has a one night stand with her, gets her pregnant and after both their shock decide to keep the baby.
There are no twists or turns in this film and it could even perhaps be considered a romantic comedy. (Although the jury is still out!)
The lead chap's lifestyle could not be any more different to Alison's, (the lead lady). He is a pot smoking waster in short and she is a determined young television presenter working for E Entertainment.
The constant bickering between Alison's sister and husband, (who have two children) show how testing married and family life is. There is a funny scene where it transposes that Alison's sister's husband is playing fantasy baseball, when she thought he was having an affair.
There's not any thought provoking stuff and it does seem its full 2hrs 5 mins. It would have been better suited to 1hr 40 mins. Its also one of those films where the viewer is left wondering just what happens once the baby is born. Ie Everything leads up to the culmination of the birth and nothing is shown after, (a lot of films run like that which is disappointing).
Still there's laughs a plenty and its perhaps a movie that should be watched with a partner with a sense of humour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promising Start, Then Flags and Drags, 16 Mar. 2010
By 
E. Smith (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I didn't know anything about this film, but was expecting a typical romcom. It started off promisingly, with a lot of crude and rude humour, not to mention plenty of swearing, but then turns into a flick about an unlikely couple muddling through pregnancy.

I felt the premise was unrealsitic, as I just couldn't see this suave and ambitious girl trying to make a go of it with such a hopeless, unattractive, unappealing and penniless slob.

I didn't find any of the characters particularly appealing, although the two female leads had some amusing moments when they were out on the town. As for the guys friends - yuck...

To be honest, after 90 minutes we'd had enough, and couldn't believe that we'd another 40 minutes to get through. Definitely too long for us, and a let-down if you're expecting a lot of laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Knocked Up, 2 Mar. 2011
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
`Knocked Up' is a pretty decent comedy following a couple as they get to know one another when Alison (played by Heigl) becomes pregnant after a one night stand with Ben (Rogan).

Alison is a pretty career girl and Ben is a slovenly, unemployed man with a severe case of arrested development. This mix throws up some sparks and plenty of hilarity.
There are crass jokes a-plenty here, but nothing so outrageous that it is distasteful and the relationship between Ben and Alison is genuinely touching despite all it's flaws.

The supporting cast are great as well with Paul Rudd and Jonah Hill adding extra humour to an already funny film. Judd Apatow has made a funny film that doesn't take itself too seriously and whilst it isn't the best film I've ever seen, it is good enough entertainment for a couple of hours. Worth a viewing if you've enjoyed other films of this director or with these actors.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny - not your usual rom-com, 5 Aug. 2008
By 
N. Thompson "Beaker" (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Knocked Up [DVD] (DVD)
Rom-com's are usually quite a predictable and bland genea of film, but this is an exception. This films show the differences between men and women in a very comical way and the difference forced upon them when pregnancy is added into the mix. The humour in this film is very similar to Ricky Gervais' 'The Office'. If you like that subtle brand of comedy then this should be 'right up your street'. There are fine comedic performances all round from the leading actors and supporting cast. Many issues are poked fun of here; Sex, love, parenthood, relationships, mid-life crisis and men and women in general. This is not, as some fools on here have suggested, a sexist film by any stretch of the imagination ... instead its a comical look at differences between the sexes, the relationships we form and the changes we are forced to make in our life to make relationships work.

Best comedy Ive seen all year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Knocked Up [HD DVD]
Knocked Up [HD DVD] by Judd Apatow (HD DVD - 2007)
£1.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews