Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can you say?
This is a must;the original album from the back end of 1964,plus bonus Ep tracks from 1962 and 1963. I think the combined mint condition total of the 3 original vinyls is £300+, which tells you it's a bargain.

It lives up to its' title, as Davy Graham showcases the folk-blues open D tuning folk playing he'd been perfecting from 1959-62, turns in a little...
Published on 11 Dec 2006 by The BlackFerret

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's not quite what you think it is ...
The first Davey/Davy Graham album I heard was 'After Hours', and I bought this a couple of days later, having been completely blown away by 'After Hours'. I was rather disappointed with this - everything that made 'After Hours' great is absent here. Graham is obviously a great guitarist, but this record is not great, and as it's meant to be his best I don't think I'll...
Published 8 months ago by Mr Ons


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS WAS 1964?, 2 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Goodness...what a find.I read a bit before and since finding this record and it's a staggeringly influential man and record. Anyone interested in Folk, Pentangle, Led Zeppelin, genius guitarists...you have to buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars goin all around my brain!, 28 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folk, Blues & Beyond (Audio CD)
for all the folk who grew up trying to play "anji" and who saw Davy at his best-
thanks to the people who released this on cd. my vinyll copy vanished long ago
in edinburgh so to get this and hear again such original ideas - well - too much!
so many influences meld together blues, jazz, folk and arabic- this guy brought us
dadgad tuning - listen and learn!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finger Pickin' Good, 7 Feb 2008
By 
jamie lyons (brighton, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Folk, Blues & Beyond (Audio CD)
I found this a real jem. Every song ranges from good to excellent and the guitar playing blows you away. Davy keeps the emotional content wonderfully varied as well, from the jovial 'Skillett (nice and greasy)' to the heartbreaking 'Sally free and easy'. Classy stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new generation of folk music, 10 Oct 2003
By 
theleveller (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folk, Blues & Beyond (Audio CD)
It's hard to imagine today what an immense impact this recording had when it first appeared. Perhaps only Bert Jansch's first album caused more of a stir. But whereas Bert was the shambolic genius, Davey was the disciplined master whose strange oriental influences and, perhaps his greatest contribution to folk/roots guitar, the invention of DADGAD tuning, created the foundations for a whole new genre of folk guitar and, often through Bert, had a huge influence on rock as well (notably Jimmy Page). Has there ever been such an eclectic mix of material by a single artiste on one album? If you don't know his work buy this album and and marvel. Thank goodness it's out on CD as my original vinyl copy has been shagged for years (decades?).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
This review is from: Folk, Blues & Beyond (Audio CD)
On time and a good product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enhance your life: buy this album, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folk, Blues & Beyond (Audio CD)
I came to Davy Graham backwards, through John Martyn, who I also discovered much later than I should have done. Astonishing guitarist. Wonderful music. This is a great introduction to Graham, covering as it does a range of styles (as the title suggests), and both vocal and instrumental pieces. And, folks, you don't have to be a guitarist to appreciate him, you just need a heart and soul. Why do so many musicians seem to think that great musicianship can only be appreciated by them? That Graham is a great musician is as plain as the big nose on my non-muso face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Anji or Angie?, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folk, Blues & Beyond... (Audio CD)
Angie or Anji? As long as it's not by the Rolling Stones I don't care. Although the Simon and Garfunkel version ain't all that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 21 May 2013
By 
M. J. Brazier - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folk, Blues & Beyond (Audio CD)
Davy at his best. His "Sally Free and Easy" is almost as good as Cyril Tawney's original version. Simply great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Davy graham CD, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folk, Blues & Beyond (Audio CD)
A superb remastering of the iconic Davy Graham album! He was a superb guitarist and his songs are just as full of emotion now as they were when he recorded them. He had a difficult life but his talent shines through on this superb CD Folk Blues and Beyond sums it up! Wonderful! Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quality British Fingerpicking, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folk, Blues & Beyond (Audio CD)
If you like Davy Graham you'll love this album, total quality from beginning to end. Those Pentangle guys certainly owe a debt of gratitude to Davy for showing them the way to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Folk, Blues & Beyond
Folk, Blues & Beyond by Davy Graham (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews