Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun - a lot better than I expected
This film had been sitting in my 'to watch' DVD pile for a while. After viewing the dire 'Four Christmases' (see separate review) a few nights previously, I was dubious about sitting through another 'comedy', but with nothing else to do at 1am on New Years Day (!), I decided to stick it on. To my pleasant surprise, it turned out to be much better than I initially...
Published on 1 Jan. 2010 by J. Gathergood

versus
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Actors rise above the material
Run Fatboy Run is a funny movie, but it's predictable. It's a low brow romantic comedy that has two of the funniest comics working in showbiz today. While Spaced, Shaun of the Dead, and Hot Fuzz are riddled with intuitive humor and cultural gags, Run Fatboy Run hits the low road with slapstick humor. That's not a bad thing - not always anyway.

Simon Pegg...
Published on 21 April 2008 by Poor Napoleon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Run, Fat Boy, Run [DVD] (DVD)
Fab really funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Run, Fat Boy, Run [DVD] (DVD)
like simon pegg
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A class English romcom, 28 April 2008
This review is from: Run, Fat Boy, Run [DVD] (DVD)
Simon Pegg is one of those few actors who has enough charm and charisma to carry a movie on his own...if he was an American we would be declaring the bloke a comic genius, as it is English comedians are nearly always hamstrung by their TV careers and attempts to break into movies are almost always cheesy failures. Fortunately for Pegg he took control of his own destiny with "Shaun" and "Hotfuzz" so has already proved himself. I'd heard "Fatboy" was a generic disaster with Schimmer falling flat on his directorial face...however this couldnt be further from the truth because this is very successful romantic comedy and could be the best English cast romcom since "Weddings". Schimmer should also have been given far more credit for getting such a great cast together (Dylan Moran on great form again). Great saturday night entertainment - ignore the bitter cynics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointing Film, 22 Jun. 2008
This review is from: Run, Fat Boy, Run [DVD] (DVD)
I expected quite a lot from run, fat boy, run, on the basis that it starred Simon Pegg, Thandie Newton and Hank Azaria and was directed by David Schwimmer. Surely credible actors like these wouldn't put their names to just anything. Obviously I was wrong. It was so cheesy, predictable and not really that funny. As mentioned in other reviews, the idea that Thandie Newton and Simon Pegg's characters were once nearly married is totally unbelievable, there is zero chemistry between the two. For me it was quite painful to watch just due to the sheer predictability of it all, I could literally see what was coming throughout the film. There is nothing original about run, fat boy, run - the film borrows on the concepts and ideas from hundreds of films before it - and delivers nothing that is worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid!, 22 Aug. 2008
By 
Craig Taylor (Scuthorpe, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Run, Fat Boy, Run [DVD] (DVD)
This is a good solid film, with a great cast. The story is original and there are many laughs along the way. Simon Pegg (Hot Fuzz) and Hank Azaria (The Simpsons) are brilliant in this, and there are also several good extras.
Although it is a good solid film, it is nothing too special, and after a few watches you will tire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars RUBBISH! PLEASE DO NOT BUY THIS, 18 Feb. 2008
By 
R. W. Lock "lokki" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Run, Fat Boy, Run [DVD] (DVD)
I can't believe people are positively reviewing this! Simon Pegg barely keeps what is a very damp and unexciting film together enough for me to watch this tripe. I am a fan of good rom com's and can appreciate good humor, I am also a massive comedy fan and loved Simon Pegg's other recent movie's but this is terrible!
Imagine a really bad version of an English rom com, splattered with all the clichéd elements you'd come to expect from this genre pieced together by an American director who used to be the un-funny one in friends and you're there. The story line is awful. Guy loses girl, girl gets with new to-good-to-be-true rich, good looking, American guy, original guy plots to get girl back, blah blah drags on to its inevitable end which to be honest hasn't even really been built up enough to even register with your emotions... funny very slightly, moving, not in the slightest, well acted, definitely not! Easily Simon Pegg's worst movie!

I can only imagine the other people here giving this more than two stars are the kind of people who think Catherine Tate's: `Am I bovered' sketches are comedy genius! Do not buy this because you liked Hot Fuzz or Shawn Of The Dead.. those movies were so,so,so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Simon Pegg has broken my heart......, 3 Mar. 2008
By 
April Newbury "Noodlebury" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Run, Fat Boy, Run [DVD] (DVD)
A one word review of this bucket of derivative crud would be disappointing.

Talk about a watered down film made for the mentally challenged; it was predictable and painful to watch. I have been a long time fan of Simon Pegg's work as a happy owner of Spaced, Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz and Big Train DVD's, I gleefully purchased sight unseen Run Fatboy Run (as it had not been released in Australia yet) and I was foaming at the mouth for another brilliant Simon Pegg outing. I rounded up some friends and popped the DVD on - only to have this abomination grace my screen. 3 weeks training to run a marathon, please, comic relief of the landlord was appalling and talk about predictable.

If you are a fan of generic hollywood tripe you will love it. If you have half a brain give Run Fatboy Run a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better than fuzz!, 1 Mar. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Run, Fat Boy, Run [DVD] (DVD)
people giving this film a bad review have obviously had a humour labotomy. It was fantastic, everything from the great relationship between dad and son,to the flashes of Dylan Moran's bottom(!)there is something for everyone who enjoys a funny story that doesn't take itself seriously. I loved it and definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dreadful, 25 May 2008
This review is from: Run, Fat Boy, Run [DVD] (DVD)
I really feel that quality actors and writers such as Pegg have a duty to the public to turn down roles in rubbish such as this. It's absolutely dreadful with no redeeming qualities. After a while I began to wonder whether it was deliberately parodying American/English comedies, but reluctantly realised that it didn't even have that depth. No one turns in a good performance, and the tree in the park had more charisma than Thandie Newton and was even less wooden. Utter utter rubbish and a waste of everyone's time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Rubbish, 18 Feb. 2008
By 
Stuart Milton (Luton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Run, Fat Boy, Run [DVD] (DVD)
Are the people serious on here with Five stars....this screenplay has been stretched so far it's not funny......this has the script of a short film made into 90 plus minutes......as has been said a marathon in three weeks, and the woman forgives the guy who left her pregnant at the alter but he really doesn't do much to win her back....

How did this get financied to be made, the story is so lame....huge disappointment. Not worth buying even if it is in a pound bargain bucket...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Run, Fat Boy, Run [DVD]
Run, Fat Boy, Run [DVD] by David Schwimmer (DVD - 2008)
£2.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews