Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun - a lot better than I expected
This film had been sitting in my 'to watch' DVD pile for a while. After viewing the dire 'Four Christmases' (see separate review) a few nights previously, I was dubious about sitting through another 'comedy', but with nothing else to do at 1am on New Years Day (!), I decided to stick it on. To my pleasant surprise, it turned out to be much better than I initially...
Published on 1 Jan 2010 by J. Gathergood

versus
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Actors rise above the material
Run Fatboy Run is a funny movie, but it's predictable. It's a low brow romantic comedy that has two of the funniest comics working in showbiz today. While Spaced, Shaun of the Dead, and Hot Fuzz are riddled with intuitive humor and cultural gags, Run Fatboy Run hits the low road with slapstick humor. That's not a bad thing - not always anyway.

Simon Pegg...
Published on 21 April 2008 by Poor Napoleon


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars RUBBISH! PLEASE DO NOT BUY THIS, 18 Feb 2008
By 
R. W. Lock "lokki" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Run, Fat Boy, Run [DVD] (DVD)
I can't believe people are positively reviewing this! Simon Pegg barely keeps what is a very damp and unexciting film together enough for me to watch this tripe. I am a fan of good rom com's and can appreciate good humor, I am also a massive comedy fan and loved Simon Pegg's other recent movie's but this is terrible!
Imagine a really bad version of an English rom com, splattered with all the clichéd elements you'd come to expect from this genre pieced together by an American director who used to be the un-funny one in friends and you're there. The story line is awful. Guy loses girl, girl gets with new to-good-to-be-true rich, good looking, American guy, original guy plots to get girl back, blah blah drags on to its inevitable end which to be honest hasn't even really been built up enough to even register with your emotions... funny very slightly, moving, not in the slightest, well acted, definitely not! Easily Simon Pegg's worst movie!

I can only imagine the other people here giving this more than two stars are the kind of people who think Catherine Tate's: `Am I bovered' sketches are comedy genius! Do not buy this because you liked Hot Fuzz or Shawn Of The Dead.. those movies were so,so,so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Toilet humour with heart, 2 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: Run, Fat Boy, Run [DVD] (DVD)
Some of the reviews and comments for Run, Fatboy, Run are extremely odd. Yes, it isn't Spaced, Shaun of the Dead or Hot Fuzz but it isn't trying to be. Even if it was, the chances are people would complain that Simon Pegg is playing the same character in all his films. Judged on its own merits, this is an entertaining film with a decent message hidden in some lowbrow humour.

Pegg plays Dennis, a man who legged it from his own wedding and pregnant fiancée, Thandie Newton, five years ago. Since then, his life has been in the toilet. He's an out of shape security guard; he loves his ex and knows he can never win her back and this is made worse when she starts seeing Mr Perfect American, Hank Azaria. While you wouldn't think the voice of Chief Wiggum amongst others on The Simpsons would be a buff executive, he's definitely Dennis' opposite. What's more, he runs marathons which leads Dennis into thinking he'll do the same. Hopefully, this will go some way to proving to Thandie Newton that he can follow through with something instead of bottling it every time.

Pegg is a likeable lead as always. His mate, played by Dylan Moran, also shines, and Azaria is the sort of Perfect Teeth American Guy that you always want to punch. Newton isn't given a lot to do but she does it with grace, and a few other noticeable faces cropping up in cameos and bit parts are entertaining. Sure, it's not intelligent humour but it's definitely worth a laugh for a Saturday night. Plus it's nice to see a British romcom that is nothing to with Richard Curtis and is actually funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny movie, 23 Feb 2010
By 
A. Pernek (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Run, Fat Boy, Run [DVD] (DVD)
A really good movie. The scene with the fitness ball in the gym is hilarious. Good original story. A really good movie for a night in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Run Fat Boy Run, 27 Dec 2009
By 
AL Lancaster (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Run, Fat Boy, Run [DVD] (DVD)
such a jokes film its so funny, deffo a feel good film, would highly recomend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOL, 18 April 2008
By 
P. kirkman "you gotta love it ! ^^" (fareham/portmouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Run, Fat Boy, Run [DVD] (DVD)
this film is legand
comedy gem as its rated
i love it so much even after my brother made me watch it like 15 time in a week it still makes my laugh.
some of the scenes in my eyes are originals, iv never seen anything like or similar to them.

i saw it the week it came out with 3 mates and we were all in fits of laughter, its one comedy clip after clip.

if your a fan of simon peg then this is an amazing film to watch

xx

dont listen to all the other watchers who say its crap
becasue its not
x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unengaging comedy, 19 Feb 2008
This review is from: Run, Fat Boy, Run [DVD] (DVD)
The total of this film is less than the sum of the parts.

I love the actors (Simon Pegg, Dylan Moran) but this film just does not take off enough.

Couldn't be bothered to watch it all. Stretching enough material to fill a TV show into a film does not work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One of the worst films ever made, 9 April 2010
By 
A. S. Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Run, Fat Boy, Run [DVD] (DVD)
Pegg dropping his trousers for the American dollar. I tried to walk out in disgust but realised I was on a plane. But still tried - it's that bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, but takes a While to get into it, 13 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Run, Fat Boy, Run [DVD] (DVD)
Trust me, it is worth buying but it will take a while for you to start laughing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 30 Mar 2008
By 
Ms. P. Howard (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Run, Fat Boy, Run [DVD] (DVD)
Easy to watch and enjoyable. Not as funny as I thought it might be but, nevertheless, a lighthearted film which I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the worst one yet ,quite an achievement, 16 Sep 2012
This review is from: Run, Fat Boy, Run [DVD] (DVD)
Simon Pegg tries to act. Thandie Newton??(if thats is a name) cannot act and to be fair doesn't embarrass herself by even trying unlike like Pegg.Surely its enough that she looks pretty and does those cosmetic adverts as well.The plot is par for the course for Pegg ,an allegedly "likeable" oaf/complete loser(played by Pegg)must over come the odds and the obstacles that everyone else in life seem to overcome with ease in order to get the girl and ya ya ya yawn. So he starts running to prove he'll be a great husband and a dad because that's really all you need to make your life partner happy and successfully raise a happy well balanced child =running skills
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Run, Fat Boy, Run [DVD]
Run, Fat Boy, Run [DVD] by David Schwimmer (DVD - 2008)
2.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews