Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Love Love
Wasnt too sure about him when i first heard of D'Souza but what a great book this was. It deals with so many different issues and his bibliography is extremely extensive.
Published 12 months ago by JGomez

versus
32 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wrong title and too limited
This book is readable, well written and stimulating. There is a good deal of information and some well placed argumentation. It is stronger on the scientific and philosophical arguments. However there are weaknesses. Firstly the publishers blurb that this is a '21st century successor to C S Lewis's Mere Christianity, is a rather silly attempt to create a 'buzz and a...
Published on 28 Dec 2007 by David Robertson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wrong title and too limited, 28 Dec 2007
By 
David Robertson "The Wee Flea" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is readable, well written and stimulating. There is a good deal of information and some well placed argumentation. It is stronger on the scientific and philosophical arguments. However there are weaknesses. Firstly the publishers blurb that this is a '21st century successor to C S Lewis's Mere Christianity, is a rather silly attempt to create a 'buzz and a vibe' about the book which if it were true, would not need such self publicity. Whats So Great About Christianity cannot be compared with Mere Christianity. It is nowhere near the same league.

Secondly the title itself is wrong. Christianity is not great - Christ is. In fact this is the biggest weakness of the book - in that it seems to equate Christianity with America and to some degree with right wing politics and social views. It is for that reason that the book will only really work within the US and even then only within a specific context. I doubt very much that it will be persuasive for those outwith that context.

Having said that there is a great deal of value in the book. D'Souza is intelligent, passionate and has a good understanding and grasp of the issues. If you recognise the limitations then this is a very useful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Love Love, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wasnt too sure about him when i first heard of D'Souza but what a great book this was. It deals with so many different issues and his bibliography is extremely extensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Study Guide ONLY - no text!, 1 Oct 2010
It's not at all clear from the title or description, but this book is a study guide only, i.e. it contains only some 'thought-provoking questions' with blank spaces for you to write in your own answers. It does NOT contain any of the text of the book "What's so great about Christianity".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Essential reading for anyone interested in religion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
worth every penny .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great book, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was recommended to me but I just found it a little hard going in places. But thats only me, others I know loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great historical analysis of true Christianity, 5 Jan 2011
By 
F. Levi - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read this book a last a few years ago and thought that Dsouza arguments for Christian were solid.
Debates that are ammunition for atheists are easily deconstructed throughout this book which highlights the historical positive impact Christianity has had on Western society. From the enlightenment period which influenced clergymen and scientists who by faith expanded the knowledge of the natural world kick started the events of the last 200 years. I will keep this short but hope that people will engage this book with an objective understanding of historical events and why Christianity impact in western civilisation and crucial in todays world where corruption, wars are so evident.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atheists Beware...You Might Want to Have This Book Banned..., 18 July 2008
By 
I will keep this review short and concise: Dinesh D'Souza will not be on any atheist Christmas Card mailing list, er, should I says Winter Solstice Card list. It has been said the greater the lie, the more some people will want to believe it. Atheism is so lacking in credibility, yet so many people ignore the truth and willfully adhere to this morally bankrupt philosophy. This book thoroughly demolishes the atheist viewpoint; it should be required reading at all universities, to offset the poison that the Liberal elites are forcing on students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's so great about the New Atheism?, 3 Oct 2011
By 
rossuk (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While the New Atheists challenge traditional religion, they offer us nothing in return. When I challenge an atheist about why atheism is good I get nothing. It behoves atheists to give me a reason for being an atheist. The best reason that they give is that they have no fear of God. But no theist that I know lives in constant fear of God. God is after all a loving God. This is after all rule number one for theists, that God actually loves us.

The big failure in this debate is that atheists have failed to sell their world view, and why it is better than theism.

When it comes to critiques of the New Atheism, my basic diet consists of Alister McGrath and John Lennox who concentrate on the science issues. D'Souza first came on my radar in his debate with Christopher Hitchens in God on Trial. This book was published in 2007 just after the New Atheist books.

Now having the book it is an easy read; when I checked out his section on science (which I specialise in) he was quite correct. What I appreciate about him is that he comes from India but lives in the USA, so he can appreciate the global picture, unlike many who live in the `affluent' USA. I have worked in 25 countries including the USA, India and Turkey, so I can appreciate his take on things. The book is 350 pages, with 26 chapters and eight sections.

1. The future of Christianity
2. Christianity and the West
3. Christianity and Science
4. The argument from design.
5. Christianity and philosophy
6. Christianity and Suffering
7. Christianity and morality
8. Christianity and you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christ's Love, 26 Mar 2010
By 
F. Levi - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read this fantastic book with interest after taking much interest in the consuming debates between D'Souza and Dawrkins.D'Souza's historical scholarship is commended as well is his philosophy in debating the existence of God. The fact that many Atheists try and undermine Christianity makes no sense since they have faith in Atheism which really contradicts there arguments. What D'Souza really wants people to know such as atheists, agnostics and non-Christians is that Jesus Christ the son of God died for your sins as the sacrificial lamb, taking away for eternity your guilt,shame, and sinful nature= Lies,theft,murder= Hate ,using Gods name in vain, Lust=Adultery. These are just 5 of Gods ten commandments. God then raised Jesus on the third day defeating death and taking away Satans powers. To live in eternal separation of God is not what God wants, he wants a relationship with you through his son Jesus and then his Holy spirit will dwell in you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What's So Great About Christianity
£10.14
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews