Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars34
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 August 2007
Funkeys are set to be the new craze to sweep the nation. Funkeys are collectable figurines that plug into your computer via USB and unlock a world of games, fun and excitment.

In this review I will cover such subjects as:

Packaging
Fun Factor
Ease of use
Price
Overall impression
Packaging:

As most parents know packaging is a major part in buying something- it attracts you to a product or pushes you away. Funkeys are encased in a plastic 'box' which is unaccessable without the use of scissors which as many people know is a pain. The colours are bold and alluring while the character also adds extra temptation to the product. Other aspects such as no information about that specific Funkey lets the packaging down. If a child asks someone to buy him Xener, there is no information such as a name on the front.

Fun factor:

The most important part in a game is the fun factor and durability. Funkeys is extremely fun, its a new style of toy which opens the possibility to a new market. Children can share the game with there siblings or all own seperate accounts. This game never gets boring as you can consantly unlock new worlds and quests. There is no end to the world of Funkeys as new characters can be bought to add to the game.

Ease of use:

Funkeys are very easy to use and there is not much need for a manual. Setting up Funkeys is fairly easy- CD, install, plug and play. Although with my Funkeys a patch was needed to install the Mega Funkey. Children can easily set the game up on there own but it is best to have parental supervision. Funkeys are easy to control and to move a simple click is needed and not a whole manner of keys. Funkeys have fairly good graphics but there is alot more potential. Worlds are very colourful and cartoonish but it could reach alot further.

Price:

Funkeys are fairly good priced for the contents you receive and the 'ever lasting' (dont hold me to that) fun. Starter packs can range from £15-25 depending on the funkeys you receive and the single packs range from £2.50-7.50.

Overall Impression:
In my opinion Funkeys will be a massive hit in the UK and America. They have the opportunity to expand the product line and the ability to keep kids entertained for an increased length of time. Funkeys are... guess what... very fun to play with and have an everlasting WOW factor. They are very easy to use and set up but they also are low in the price range which might bring a smile to parents faces. There is only one bad point, in my opinion, about Funkeys- the packaging. This still isn't very big but it was an annoyance.

Packaging : 5/10

Fun factor : 9/10

Ease of use: 10/10

Price : 10/10

Overall: 9.5/10

Thankyou for reading!!!!
0Comment16 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2007
UB Funkeys are Great. They are the best game for the PC and they are going to be THE game to get this Christmas! They are for any age from about 6 up, my little sister likes playing and so does my Mum! You get a big Funkey (the hub) that plugs into the USB port of your pc and then there are loads of other other smaller Funkey characters to collect, which sit on the shoulders of the hub (really cute). You play the game, creating a virtual world with different areas and games for each of the different types of Funkey. You have your own Crib which you decorate and fill with different items you pick up along the way as you play the game. Its really fab and really addictive and all my friends want one!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2007
Im 9 and ive just got a starter pack with the main hub and 2 extra funkeys.
I think this is a really different game from what else you can buy your kids.
I agree with what everyone else has said but i think that having a toy that you can change characters by sitting them in a hub that plugs into your own computer is so cool and unique and i dont know anything else like this.
the little funkeys have magnets on their feet so when you sit them in the hub they wont fall off.
Theres a website for funkeys that tells you all about them and has a bit on it that helps you if you have any trouble so thats good.
I think the only bad thing is that if your computer is not very good then funkeys might be a bit slow which can be a bit annoying when you are waiting for it to load up etc, but apart from that its really cool and i think it will be on loads of birthday and christmas lists this year.
0Comment10 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2010
Bought this to go with a new laptop but unfortunately windows 7 does not support the software and up to now there are no software updates available. Disappointed with mattel.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2007
UBFunkeys is the exciting computer game that transports you to the fun and funky world of Terrapinia - a virtual world and home to the UBFunkeys. Each new UBFunkey you collect unlocks more of the world. The more UBFunkeys you have, the bigger the world gets. The bigger your world gets the more stuff you can collect. Play each UBFunkeys game and earn coins to buy cool new items to customize your UBFunkeys crib. Once you have it decked out, upload it to share with your friends and family. But watch out! In this virtual world, Master Lox and his evil henchmen are lurking about; waiting to steal your coins and stop you. Unlock the UBFunkeys Zones....Play the UBFunkeys Games....and defeat Master Lox, bringing peace to the UBFunkeys.There are 42 collectable UBfunkeys in total some of them are common, some of them are rare and some of them are extremely rare. Buy ub funkeys now!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2007
I've got the U.B Funkeys Starter Kit (which contains the U.B Funkey hub and 2 characters - I got Scratch and Twinx); I also have Deuce and Vroom. It's a game that plugs into your USB port and unlocks a new funky world to play in. Each little character sits on the shoulders of the hub and looks really cute. I think they are amazing - definitely going to be the thing to get for Christmas. The little characters are really cool. This game is definitely for Sims players as you earn money and buy things for your crib, but it is also an adventure game because you discover different places. I love playing all the games that earn you money and I get really scared when the music changes and a henchman starts following me to steal my coins! I really enjoy playing this game and any kid who has a computer to play on should have one.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2007
These are brill. i just got a starter pack and some extra ones too. They are ded good.each little man lets me access different bits of the game. see [...] You become the little funkey man that you have plugged into the computer. theres loads of different little men. my favourite one up to know is the little red man Deuce.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2007
UB Funkeys are Great. They are the best game for the PC and they are going to be THE game to get this Christmas! They are for any age from about 6 up, my little sister likes playing and so does my Mum! You get a big Funkey (the hub) that plugs into the USB port of your pc and then there are loads of other other smaller Funkey characters to collect, which sit on the shoulders of the hub (really cute). You play the game, creating a virtual world with different areas and games for each of the different types of Funkey. You have your own Crib which you decorate and fill with different items you pick up along the way as you play the game. Its really fab and really addictive and all my friends want one!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2007
These little cute and cool characters are easy to use and download since all you have to do is plug them it. The main funkeys which is the biggest one has a cable sticking out of his bottom and in the starter pack you also get a cd which installs it. It is simple to use and really all you need are the funkeys and a free USB cable slot. What you do with the little funkeys is you put them on the main big funkeys head and whichever character you put in shows up on the screen as your character. Cool! If you have no character plugged in then the main funkey shows up. Read more or visit [...]
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2007
I have this starter set and they are just so much fun. You can play with the main large white one or plug in the cute little collectable characters. Theres loads to collect and you will want to collect them all!! theres normal funkeys, rare funkeys and even some really rare ones to get hold of. Each time you have a new funkey you unlock more of their world and so have more to explore. Its a great sims type of games and you can buy things and improve your game.
I think this will be the game everyone wants this year so im sure they will be a sell out soon.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.