Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars98
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.11+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 December 2006
bad first: as with silent alarm, there are a few misses, especially on the ballady songs. moreover, none of the songs on here really get that blistering, crunchy, dancy bloc party sound. somewhat disappointingly, this album almost totally lacks the super power rock-out bliss that made 'helicopter', 'price of gas' or 'banquet' kick so much ass.

that said, people who preferred 'this modern love' or 'bluest light' on silent alarm will love this record for how much more they go in that direction. the songs here are more complex, slower, better recorded, and more heartfelt. the first single is undoubtedly going to be "on", and what a single it is! the impressionistic melancholy of the lyrics and the intense mid-tempo, bass-heavy pace just never let you go. this thing is really really good. just top notch. but it's exceptional, and it makes you realise how much more they might have done.

in the end then, these guys put out a pretty solid record, but it's not going to be the one you hear at the cooler dance clubs, and you and your pals won't likely be rocking out to it at 10pm to get all hyped up for another insane night in shinjuku or roppongi. it's more early session make-out music for slightly more mainstream indie kids. which isn't bad, we all like to make out. ;)
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2007
By turns sombre, bleak, angry, delicate, and more, this is a very introspective take on "modern life is rubbish", though wihtout the flippancy of the phrase. While the production values are increased over "Silent Alarm", the songs are emotively bare. The new band bravado has been stripped back to reveal more of the souls behind the music and it's amazing.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2007
I like the IDEA of Bloc Party. An indie band fronted by an articulate, sexy black man.....so far, so interesting. And 'Silent Alarm' was chock-full of punchy little post-punk numbers - derivative, but well-executed. So what on earth has gone wrong on 'A Weekend In The City?'

Kele Okereke says it's an album about being young and angry at the start of the 21st century. But does it have to wear its studenty earnestness like a greatcoat from Oxfam? And do we need another rich rock star telling us that "Drugs are bad, OK kids?" Or a rock'n'roll song with the word 'accountability' in it?

Even the most accessible song, 'I Still Remember', about a stolen afternoon of schoolboy love, is let down by the revelation that the action took place on a "teachers' training day" - no 'bunking off' for these boys!

'Uniform' features some risible 'social observations' that are so trite they'd make a 14 year old blush with embarrassment. Listen to The Jam or The Specials or Billy Bragg to hear how much better this sort of stuff can be done.

It's not all bad. The aforementioned 'I Still Remember' is a delight - a beautiful melody allied to a genuinely touching lyric, and 'Hunting For Witches', 'Waiting For The 7.18' and 'The Prayer' rise above the general mediocrity. The album is hampered though by the state-of-the-art production which flattens everything out and drains the songs of instrumental colour.

Full marks to the band for trying to make an ultra-modern, political rock record. Next time, remember to include some tunes eh lads?
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2007
A really bad attempt at an image change, Bloc Party shot to fame with their first album which has some great tracks, from Helicopter, Pioneer and Banquet, it really is an out stabnding piece of work for a first album. For this to be so bad, so eariler on in the career of this band, its a real dissapointment.

The album winges and whines through all its tracks, and boasts of a poorly planned message that just comes off as sounding selfimport. Each song goes on and on, with unispiered lyrics about life in the UK, and just how depressing and boring it really is, oh boo hoo. ALL(!) the tracks are slow incomparrision to the bands former work, and all of them are relentlessly boring, the words 'Oh my God will you STOP moaning!' spring to mind. If they really feel so strongly about the world they live in they might want to change it some other way that writting bad music, because at the end of the day they're just cashing in on other insipid people who feel the same and are just as lazy.

On top of the bands truly aweful new sound (its so ear bleedingly bad I can't satnd to hear it), having read interviews with the band it seems they enjoy looking down on other successful artists saying that "other bands arn't political enougth" ... Maybe they should concentrate on their own band and stop being so 'political' as it stands in the way of something intresting and new. personally i lister to music for escapisum, not to be told how I must be feeling, esspecailly when I don't even agree.

The lyrics are preachy and insipid, the guitar riffs are unintresting or at best taken off the first album with a few chored changes and the way the band promote themselves is equally egotistic and anoying.

BAD(full stop)
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2006
having heard a few tracks from "a weekend in the city" including the first single "the prayer" i can safely say that this will be one of the defining albums of 2007 & that it will be even better than the amazing debut "silent alarm" a special mention to "uniform" which is a contender for the best bloc party songs i've heard
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2007
Completley agree with previous comment "hunting for witches hunting for tunes". Not enough material on here to fill a single what about an album. Reall really disappointing. I hoped we would hear the same spirit present on Silent Alarm, punky and energetic, melodic and well crafted. This was not the case unfotunately, I can only see the demise of what was lone of my favourite bands. Have they been on too much charlie?
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2007
I've loved everything Bloc Party have done up until now and really wanted to like this new disc. There are some good tunes on it, but it just doesn't work for me. They seem to be aiming for a high concept album with varied musical influences but in too many places it just comes across as self-consciously arty and at times irritatingly pretentious. Some of the lyrics are particularly annoying and detract a great deal from what could have been a fantasic album.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2006
Well the first album was perfection and now so is the second one, so they really have done well. I love everything about this band, their style, lyrics, riffs.. everything. It's the only band I listen to really. Been the same since the first album came out, they are really that good. Trust me, this will never be a dissapointing buy. I love it!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.95

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)