Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice new delivery of an absolute classic.
Forget for a moment that this album has been released and re-released a good handful of times now, which is a big criticism of the reviewers below. If you've already got it in one of its previous incarnations and are cynical about this new release the simple option is dont buy it, no ones going to make you lol.
If you can get past that and want to know if its any...
Published on 11 Feb 2008 by S. W. Yendell

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars why tre-recording the classics?
i definately would've given this 50 stars if not for the re-recordings. all the re-recordings sucked all the life outta these classics. as one of the reviewers have mentioned, adding few demos would've made this album far better-off than what it is right now. however, worth a buy for the collectors and hardcore fans for the unreleased material from the original recording...
Published on 12 Feb 2008 by Waheed Kamal


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice new delivery of an absolute classic., 11 Feb 2008
By 
S. W. Yendell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thriller [25th Anniversary Edition CD + DVD ] (Original Cover) (Audio CD)
Forget for a moment that this album has been released and re-released a good handful of times now, which is a big criticism of the reviewers below. If you've already got it in one of its previous incarnations and are cynical about this new release the simple option is dont buy it, no ones going to make you lol.
If you can get past that and want to know if its any good then i can tell you yes. i bought the 2008 vinyl LP version and this album has never sounded so warm and even though you know the acclaim of this album if you've not heard it for a while you forget just how ridiculously good it is. its over 25 years old but it doesnt feel like it at all.
the new stuff i was apprehensive about but ive got to say that in the main they are really cool alternatives to the original versions, particularly will.i.ams versions of the 'girl is mine' and 'pyt pretty young thing'. i was pleasantly surprised with how good 'beat it' was with fergie, a really interesting take. 'wanna be startin somethin' with akon is solid enough but i wasnt really impressed with kanye's 'billie jean' remix, it doesnt sound like he did too much with it but still made it sound below par, but how can you better one of jacksons best tracks?! kudos for trying i guess. the little vincent price intro to the new stuff is funny and the previously unreleased 'for all time' could of maybe made the original thriller album. i think spending a few pounds to put a big smile on your face and take you back to the good old 80's (even if its for the first time for you young ones) isnt such a bad thing. i think its just a nice new delivery of an absolute classic. and why not celebrate its 25th birthday in this way?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection with a New Twist, 16 Feb 2008
By 
K. Chauhan "KayJay" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For those people who aren't familiar with Michael Jackson's Thriller, this is the best selling album of all time! 104 million copies sold in 25 years, thats 4.16 million albums sold every year since its release. It has also received a record 8 Grammy Awards!!

This album is a 25th anniversary edition with a special Hardback Cover. On one side it has the Original cover in Foil, and on the other side it has the new Zombie cover in foil. It also contains a booklet with exclusive photos and a special message from Michael himself.

The album itself contains all the original songs from the Thriller Album in Remastered form for improverd sound. It then contains 5 remixes by the biggest artists today including Will I Am, Akon, Fergie, and Kanye West. These remixes give an updated sound and I believe they are the best songs you hear in todays music. Will I Am effort to update two classic songs (Girl is mine and P.Y.T.) have been executed with almost perfection and they sound new and fresh, which is what the music industry need these days. Akon's take of Wanna Be Starting Something, with his vocals and refreshed beat really is good. Fergie's Beat It and Kanye West's Billie Jean are also good but these songs will always sound cool. To improve these is just an impossible task, but it does make a good change. In addition to all of this it also contains a new exclusive song from Michael himself, "For All Time", this proves he still has the magic for music.

To put the icing and cherry on top of the gorgeous cake, this album also comes with a DVD of Michael's breathtaking music videos of Beat It, Billie Jean and Thriller in their full, uncut and remastered forms. In addition to all of this, this DVD also contains the Iconic and Legendary performance of Billie Jean at Motown 25.

Overall this is a worthy Re-Release of the most successful album of all time and it is worthy of everybody's music collection. If you weren't around when Thriller was originally released, then be a part of it and get this. If you were around when Thriller was released, then this is a worthy update for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling!, 20 Feb 2008
This review is from: Thriller [25th Anniversary Edition CD + DVD ] (Original Cover) (Audio CD)
This album was the best thing to come out of the eighties - this WAS the eighties!

Okay, so people might be saying what a cop out to revive an old album, but this is probably the best album ever in the history of music. It reminds us why Michael Jackson was such a fantastic performer, and I guarantee you won't be able to stop yourself singing along to tracks like P.Y.T and Beat It. The DVD is excellent too - I'd forgotten how good the videos to Beat it and Billie Jean were, and the footage of Michael performing Bille Jean and doing that famous Moonwalk - is great. As for the Thriller film, well in my opinion, it will always be one of the best videos ever.

Who cares if the album's been revived, it's still brilliant 25 years on, and is one everybody should have in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection with a new twist, 16 Feb 2008
By 
K. Chauhan "KayJay" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For those people who aren't familiar with Michael Jackson's Thriller, this is the best selling album of all time! 104 million copies sold in 25 years, thats 4.16 million albums sold every year since its release. It has also received a record 8 Grammy Awards!!

This album is a 25th anniversary edition on the classic and collectible LP.

The album itself contains all the original songs from the Thriller Album in Remastered form for improved sound. It then contains 5 remixes by the biggest artists today including Will I Am, Akon, Fergie, and Kanye West. These remixes give an updated sound and I believe they are the best songs you hear in todays music. Will I Am effort to update two classic songs (Girl is mine and P.Y.T.) have been executed with almost perfection and they sound new and fresh, which is what the music industry need these days. Akon's take of Wanna Be Starting Something, with his vocals and refreshed beat really is good. Fergie's Beat It and Kanye West's Billie Jean are also good but these songs will always sound cool. To improve these is just an impossible task, but it does make a good change. In addition to all of this it also contains a new exclusive song from Michael himself, "For All Time", this proves he still has the magic for music.

Overall this is a worthy Re-Release of the most successful album of all time and it is worthy of everybody's music collection. If you weren't around when Thriller was originally released, then be a part of it and get this. If you were around when Thriller was released, then this is a worthy update for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Return to the Best Selling Album of All Time., 18 Jan 2009
This review is from: Thriller [25th Anniversary Edition CD + DVD ] (Original Cover) (Audio CD)
25 years after the inimitable Michael Jackson created his undisputed masterpiece, he revisits it with some contemporary artists familiar to young people today.

But as most people would tell you, the remixes are not the main attraction here. That... goes to the remastered tracks from the original Thriller album. The sound quality on every song is crisp and clear, and every song sounds like it could have been made yesterday.
Along with 'Off the Wall' and 'Bad', 'Thriller' is the peak of Jackson's career, with the timeless songs like 'Human Nature' and of course 'Billie Jean' and the often forgot but poignent and beautiful 'Lady in My Life'.

As I've mentioned, the remixes are not the main attraction, but are interesting to listen to. The two outstanding of these tracks are 'The Girl is Mine' with Will.I.Am, and 'Pretty Young Thing' with Akon which is the version that Michael first recorded while making Thriller, with an additional verse and the tempo slowed down considerably. That version however was scrapped for the more upbeat, famous version that appeared on Thriller back in 84. Here it makes it's first appearance, and though it isn't as brilliant as the version we all know, it is still a rariety.
However the remixes prove that 50 year old MJ still can hit those notes! His voice sounds just as youthful as it did when Thriller was made.

Also included is a lovely track that was scrapped for 'Thriller' in 84 called 'For All Time'. It really is beautiful, and the lyrics are some of the best Michael ever wrote.

The dvd comes with four music videos, including the famous 14 minute long 'Thriller', named the best music video of all time, and 'Billie Jean', 'Beat It' and the outstanding live peformance of 'Billie Jean' at the Motown 25 show, where Michael stole the show with his now legendary 'moonwalk' that was first unveiled here.

A truly great revisiting to his masterwork, and well worth the money, don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic album, 4 Feb 2009
By 
J.S. (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thriller [25th Anniversary Edition CD + DVD ] (Original Cover) (Audio CD)
Thriller [25th Anniversary Edition CD + DVD ] (Original Cover)
A 'must have' for anyone putting together a collection of classic albums. Michael Jackson at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insane album, 18 Feb 2008
By 
Adam Oliver "sladesripper" (Bournemouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thriller [25th Anniversary Edition CD + DVD ] (Original Cover) (Audio CD)
This is the best selling album of all time if you dont own a copy of thriller you are not a jackson fan simple. if you already have it its still worth getting this reisue for the new official remixes which are pretty cool after a few listens especially wanna be startin something with Akon and the unreleased song 'for all time' is outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent way to celebrate music HIStory, 7 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: Thriller [25th Anniversary Edition CD + DVD ] (Original Cover) (Audio CD)
The old songs, remixed songs, unreleased songs, a dvd of music videos and performances are all here, as well as a fantastic booklet that'll take you down memory lane! Well done Michael Jackson and Sony for doing justice to the music world's most influential album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection with a new twist, 16 Feb 2008
By 
K. Chauhan "KayJay" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For those people who aren't familiar with Michael Jackson's Thriller, this is the best selling album of all time! 104 million copies sold in 25 years, thats 4.16 million albums sold every year since its release. It has also received a record 8 Grammy Awards!!

This album is a 25th anniversary edition. It has the new Zombie cover in foil.

The album itself contains all the original songs from the Thriller Album in Remastered form for improved sound. It then contains 5 remixes by the biggest artists today including Will I Am, Akon, Fergie, and Kanye West. These remixes give an updated sound and I believe they are the best songs you hear in todays music. Will I Am effort to update two classic songs (Girl is mine and P.Y.T.) have been executed with almost perfection and they sound new and fresh, which is what the music industry need these days. Akon's take of Wanna Be Starting Something, with his vocals and refreshed beat really is good. Fergie's Beat It and Kanye West's Billie Jean are also good but these songs will always sound cool. To improve these is just an impossible task, but it does make a good change. In addition to all of this it also contains a new exclusive song from Michael himself, "For All Time", this proves he still has the magic for music.

To put the icing and cherry on top of the gorgeous cake, this album also comes with a DVD of Michael's breathtaking music videos of Beat It, Billie Jean and Thriller in their full, uncut and remastered forms. In addition to all of this, this DVD also contains the Iconic and Legendary performance of Billie Jean at Motown 25.

Overall this is a worthy Re-Release of the most successful album of all time and it is worthy of everybody's music collection. If you weren't around when Thriller was originally released, then be a part of it and get this. If you were around when Thriller was released, then this is a worthy update for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars why tre-recording the classics?, 12 Feb 2008
By 
Waheed Kamal (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thriller [25th Anniversary Edition CD + DVD ] (Original Cover) (Audio CD)
i definately would've given this 50 stars if not for the re-recordings. all the re-recordings sucked all the life outta these classics. as one of the reviewers have mentioned, adding few demos would've made this album far better-off than what it is right now. however, worth a buy for the collectors and hardcore fans for the unreleased material from the original recording session, the DVD and the improved packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews