Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Words fail at how good this is
Like many I've had the CD of this as a favourite for years but the DVD includes all the (at times) amusing "visual/audio interludes" between the songs and the DTS mix on a decent 5.1 system is WAY better than the CD, not far off being there, well, "ish". Seriously, they have done a great job of the transfer, it sounds wonderful!

If you like Nirvana and have...
Published on 28 Nov. 2007 by Mr. R. Braithwaite

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine for a few songs and great musicianship but gets ...
Fine for a few songs and great musicianship but gets a bit samey and a tad boring. You want them to plug in and get electric half way through.
Published 8 months ago by Bobby Dazzler


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Words fail at how good this is, 28 Nov. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nirvana - Unplugged In New York [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Like many I've had the CD of this as a favourite for years but the DVD includes all the (at times) amusing "visual/audio interludes" between the songs and the DTS mix on a decent 5.1 system is WAY better than the CD, not far off being there, well, "ish". Seriously, they have done a great job of the transfer, it sounds wonderful!

If you like Nirvana and have never heard the CD then you MUST buy this, it is one of the most stripped down, talented, raw live performances I've ever heard. Simple, musical, inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best Unplugged .... ever!!!, 28 Nov. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nirvana - Unplugged In New York [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
The best of the Unplugged series .... ever!!!. It's what the Unplugged series was all about. Just listen to the cover version of Leadbelly's "Where Did You Sleep Last Night"... the passion Kurt Cobain puts into this song at the end makes this song worth watching and waiting for. No wonder Cobain refused to do an encore... "How can I top that" was his response. Cover versions all over but what cover versions they are. Great covers of great Nirvana songs too. I've been waiting for this to be released on DVD since '93. I can't wait for it to be delivered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the comfort of feeling sad?, 1 Jan. 2008
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nirvana - Unplugged In New York [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
What is surprising - especially given the fact that the number of posthumous Nirvana releases now outstrips the records they made whilst together - is that the legendary 1993 MTV Unplugged Set sees its first DVD or VHS release 14 years after the event. Regarded by many as the highpoint of Nirvana's career, and in many ways, a mere taster of where Nirvana were going to go next on their inevitable journey into being older statesmen of rock, it now stands as the only existant recording of the way Nirvana could have been but ultimately never were. Whilst I, personally, would rather they have released a full concert from each one of their respective eras, "MTV Unplugged" is a fitting testimony to the group. Firstly, the music sees the band at their absolute defining moment of artistry - where the heavy guitars and the screaming that was seen as typifying them (and pigeonholding them as onedimensional) were profoundly shoved aside in favour of revealing the very nature of the band underneath the bombast and the sound. Cobain has never seemed so aware, so alive - despite this being just four short months before his demise. In some ways, you could almost predict that he knew that this was a watershed moment for Nirvana, where they stepped out of their cliché and started to be respected for what they knew they were all along.

Music : fourteen acoustic performances by the group covering their entire career. Thankfully, the well worn hits such as "Teen Spirit" and "Lithium" are nowhere to be seen, in favour of LP tracks and obscure covers (being recorded for the only time in Nirvana's career). This allows the viewer to see an alternate perspective to the group - that of artists instead of what they were seen as at the time ; fixture of the rock pantheon, the tortured soundtrack to the Pre-Emo masses and the poster boy for neurosis. Cobains death retrospectively gave the group a gravitas that the trends of the time were too shallow to see but was always right under their noses. The performance is superlative in content and style and should you only ever own one Nirvana record then "Unplugged" is the one to choose. The extras - five rehearsal songs and a scant MTV interview feature with people who were there (and not the band, despite what the package tells you) - are short and unexceptional but of some interest. Overall, it's a good package - but not amazing by any standard - and if you own the CD, it should come fairly low on your list of priorities. If you don't have the CD go straight to this DVD instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars (Officially) on DVD at last..., 9 Dec. 2007
By 
P. Philips (Sutton Coldfield UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nirvana - Unplugged In New York [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I was beginning to wonder if this was ever going to be released officially
on DVD, partly because it's been broadcast on MTV dozens of times over the years, and as a result many people have copies of it. Until now I've had a good quality stereo VHS copy which I taped of the TV in 1995 but I'll be getting this DVD for sure. It includes(as does the original CD) 2 songs cut from most TV broadcasts of this show namely Something In the Way and Oh Me as well as lots of extra footage all in 5.1 sound, so quite a nice package. This is in my opinion the best MTV Unplugged set along with Alice In Chains Upnlugged which I (slightly) prefer. It's hard to name individual standout tracks as they all work well together, but the opening About a Girl, Come as you are and the David Bowie cover(one of several covers) are particularly good. Highly recommended, 4.5 from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 2 Dec. 2007
By 
C. Watterson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nirvana - Unplugged In New York [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
There are barely words to describe how good a performance this is from this legendary band. Even Kurt - who was said to be very critical of his own performances - was quoted as saying it was one of his best shows.

Nirvana's classic tunes stripped down do not lose any of their power or feeling. There are also some fantastic covers with Bowie's 'Man who sold the world' and ledbelly's 'Where did you sleep last night' the stand outs. Kurts scream and the look in his eyes are something to behold during the rendition of this song. He looks like a man on the edge and sadly it turned out to be true as he was dead within a few short months of making this show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To awesome Kurt - may he rest in peace, 15 Mar. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nirvana - Unplugged In New York [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Simply one of the best unplugged composites ever. Moving, raw, poignant, achingly beautiful - sung by a blond archangel with a dark shadow over him ........ I had this on video tape - taped from the television years ago - and had been waiting for this DVD, along with millions of other dedicated Kurt fans! I remember where I was when I heard of his suicide - driving through the centre of a big city! Nirvana fans, old and new - buy this and rejoice! Kurt rocks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 19 Nov. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nirvana - Unplugged In New York [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Being a big Nirvana fan, this is firm favourite in my DVD collection. It is really well filmed and edited, and it really gives you a good insight into Cobain's character, and how he interacts with the rest of the band. Not like the usual "hard-core punk rocking" that Nirvana is usually known for, this almost "Nirvana toned down" gig had me in awe.

Being the last performance Cobain did before his death the month following, the performance really does have sentimental value. It could quite rightly be said that it was his "best and last" performance.

I would also defo recommend "Nirvana-Live!Tonight... Out [1993]" type it in amazon) which is an amazing put-together of Nirvana's performances over their career, including some interviews and some slightly humorous parts too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 26 Nov. 2008
By 
This review is from: Nirvana - Unplugged In New York [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Before I saw this DVD concert, Nirvana was just a name for me. I knew about Kurt Cobain, I knew that a few of their members later started Foo Fighters, but that was all.

But now I`ve seen! :) And that was all it took to really understand the legend-status of this man. They played lots of covers that night, but whatever they`re playing, Kurts outstanding voice and ability to express emotions through music blew me away. His versions of Meatball Puppets` songs; lake of fire and plateau are a lot better than the original versions. This performance, which took place less than five months before Kurt died, has become legendary, and everyone who likes Nirvana just a little bit should definitely own this DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars semi- acoustic concert, 6 Feb. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nirvana - Unplugged In New York [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
i already had the cd of this which i love but this is even better. you get the full original mtv broadcast plus the entire (unedited) recording, which yes you get on the cd but here you have all the inbetween interactions (priceless), also four songs filmed during show rehearsal which really adds to a feel of being part of the day. this is obviously a must get for all nirvana collector fans and a must-try for anyone who previously thought of nirvana as too loud/heavy for them. the unplugged idea really shows up the band versitility and that their songs are lyrically (as well as musically) so worthwhile and so much more than just another 90's rock group. the covers they perform are wonderfull and they really make those songs their own, eg. on first hearing it i thought meat puppets oh me was nirvanas, and bowies man who sold the world is the best cover version of that song that i've ever heard (and i am a bowie fan).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seminal Performance, 19 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nirvana - Unplugged In New York [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Reviewing something like this is hard, after all you either like a band or you don't. If you do like Nirvana, you will love this. The performance itself is legendary, and the semi-acoustic set up of unplugged, serves to highlight the fragility and emotion in Kurt Cobains voice. I have owned the CD since its original release, and the DVD is great upscaled on a blu-ray player. The entire performance is included, including the inter song chatter that is not included on the CD. Its not a traditional "unplugged" run through of greatest hits, there are some obscure covers in there, Leadbelly, the Vaselines, David Bowie and the Meat Puppets (who also make a guest appearance), but in all it just sounds incredible. Rarely will you hear such emotion as in the final song.

If you like Nirvana, or even if you are just sick of the ultra manufactured music around today this DVD will go down a treat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nirvana - Unplugged In New York [DVD] [2007]
£7.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews