Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST BRITNEY ALBUM EVER
What a great Album I have always loved Britney But this Album made me Obsessed with her She has great club beat songs and there's a little something for everyone on this album. Its a great album to just come back home to chill to or even drive around in the with the music up full blast A MUST OWN ALBUM!!!!!!!!
Published on 5 Nov. 2009 by Mrs. K. Macinnes

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Blackout
"Blackout" this album are good especially to "Piece of Me" very good song & Britney Spears have a good voice,but i'm not fan a take just this Album & only to listen
"Piece of Me"
Published on 6 July 2012 by Bélial


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST BRITNEY ALBUM EVER, 5 Nov. 2009
By 
This review is from: Blackout (Audio CD)
What a great Album I have always loved Britney But this Album made me Obsessed with her She has great club beat songs and there's a little something for everyone on this album. Its a great album to just come back home to chill to or even drive around in the with the music up full blast A MUST OWN ALBUM!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Britney Blackout, 23 Oct. 2007
By 
This review is from: Blackout (Audio CD)
In my opinion I absolutely love the new album. I have made my friends listen to some of the songs and we're obsessed! Highly recommended for any Britney fan. I have heard a majority of the tracks that have been leaked online and I am impressed. There are a variety of songs that cover various genres like Dance, Pop, and R&B. The material is definately different and more experimental than her previous songs. Radar and Ooh Ooh Baby are songs that really make an impact and are incredibly catchy. I think Ooh Ooh baby is rather similar to Rachel Stevens L.A EX but far better! GO BRITNEY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Pop Album, 19 Oct. 2007
By 
A. Tew (Northamptonshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackout (Audio CD)
I'm sure people had their doubts when they heard Britney was releasing another album in the midst of her troubles. But fear not as this album is amazing. A good one for all those that love grown up pop-dance-urban-rnb music. Will definetely be buying this when it is released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 18 Oct. 2007
This review is from: Blackout (Audio CD)
all the songs are great. youve got to hear them more than once to like them and enjoy them. i think it will sell millions and be at number #1!! hope sooo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cold as fire, hot as ice, 10 Jan. 2008
By 
H. Ogilvie "blue aeroplane" (london, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackout (Audio CD)
i've never bought a britney album until now, always wary of the possible filer in amongst the great singles. i hadn't even heard any of the tracks before ordering this, i'd just read like many others about her supposed lacklustre performance on the mtv awards recently.

i'm amazed she found the time to go into the studio in amongst all her personal problems with k-fed and the custody of her children.

this was a very pleasant surprise. from the off this record is teeming with attitude. the beats are hard and furious at times, but always original. the album concept, loosely concerning the pressures of fame and the public eye with large helpings of sexual suggestions, works well. you might be reminded of christina's 'dirrttyy', but you always come back to britney's damaged innocence and vulnerability which clearly stand out on several of the tracks here.

producer danja provides platinum beats on ' gimme more' which is instantly addictive. some of the tunes have a europop sheen, redolent of her earlier efforts, but this does not damage her credibilty. the nearest the album comes to balladeering is the closing neptunes penned 'why should i feel so sad?', a poignant end to an album where britney is not afraid to vent her spleen a litle, but with that sweet smile still in place - tho you'd never believe it from recent shots in the papers.

huge keyboards are all over the grooves of this record and generate a real sense of occasion on all the tracks.

is this a departure or a step sideways? all i know is this is one growling monster of a pop album and the most sonically innovative modern music to emerge from the us since timberlake's last opus.

this ought to convert many of the doubters and will keep her existing fanbase hungry for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Without a doubt ,the best pop album of 2007, 6 Dec. 2007
By 
M Ellwood (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackout (Audio CD)
Wow, wow, WOW! What an indredible album, not only is every song listenable, but EVERY song is good if not very good. A majority of the songs on Blackout could easily be massive hits to follow on from 'Gimme More' and the new single 'Piece of Me'.

Gimme More - 10/10
Piece of Me - 9/10
Radar - 9/10
Break The Ice - 10/10
Heaven on Earth - 7/10
Get Naked (I Got A Plan) - 9/10
Freakshow - 8/10
Toy Soldier - 10/10
Hot as Ice - 10/10
Ooh Ooh Baby - 7/10
Perfect Lover - 8/10
Why Should I Be Sad? - 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amidst the madness, Britney reminds us why she's a legend, 14 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackout (Audio CD)
Britney Spears' 5th studio album was released at the most trying time of her career: she had finally cracked under the monotony of her superstar life, and, seeking a "normal" life of marriage, children, and perhaps most importantly, privacy, her search for answers and fulfillment was plastered all over the newspapers and celebrity gossip websites as a "meltdown." Indeed, many things had happened in her life until that point which left Britney heartbroken and confused, and this vulnerability led her to make some poor choices in her quest for fulfillment: Britney's first love, Justin Timberlake, broke up with her for being unfaithful; Her aunt died; her management gave her a far too demanding schedule; and she wanted, more than anything, to live a "normal" life, and often confided in her team that she fantasized of having her own little businesses, such as cute little cake shops. She became bored with the pop star life-style, and dreamed of having a husband and kids. She would marry, but it would end in disaster, and although she would have children, her search for meaning would consume her so much that her ability as a mother would be questioned. Britney had showed signs of depression and anxiety long before the public was made aware of it... exactly how deep her pain runs, we can only speculate.

Britney was considered a pop legend before she became known as the "little girl lost," and this album proves that, even in turmoil, Britney Spears can deliver an iconic era. "Blackout" is strong, fierce, and unflinching. Like its predecessor "In the Zone," "Blackout" offers an urban Britney that oozes sexiness and confidence. I cannot help but wonder what this era would have been like, had Britney not suffered the way she did... had she remained the same. I suspect it would have been an incredible success, and would have been considered her best work since the "Oops... I Did it Again" era of 2000. Many thought her star was falling, as sales had dropped since "Britney," but if this album was delivered with iconic videos the likes of "Toxic," "Slave 4 U" and "Me Against the Music," a tour, and memorable live performances similar to the VMA performance of Slave 4 U in 2001, all suspicions that her star had stopped shining would have been put to rest. You could argue that this album did put those suspicions to rest, that it was an incredible success, and that many do consider it her best work... but it must be said that the Britney we have now is not the same Britney we used to have. Britney does not show the same sharp, flawless choreography that she used to; she no longer appears happy and calm in interviews; and, upon closer inspection, Britney seems a shell of her old self. It is almost as if the old Britney is gone, and the new Britney is just the ghost of her. Many fans disagree with this, and although I love Britney still, I can't help noticing that Britney is very, very different since her troubles. The reason for Britney's dance moves - once so celebrated - now being absent from her shows, is a question left unanswered. There are many theories, but fans continue to speculate, as though Britney is a riddle that must be solved. In interviews, Britney's once goofy, sweet, girl-next-door personality now seems to be held back, almost as if Britney is afraid to let her out. She appears anxious and uncomfortable where she once appeared open. This does not make me like Britney any less. On the contrary, I feel compassion for her, as a sufferer of depression and anxiety disorders myself. I don't know if Britney has a diagnosed disorder, but I believe that going through a particularly troubling time in one's life can change a person, and leave them debilitated in some ways. I can only guess the innermost feelings of Britney like everyone else, but, at the very least, I believe Britney's confidence has lowered considerably. I also believe there is more to it than that... but we can only continue to guess as to what it may be.

It makes me sad to think that there was no "Blackout" tour, and when I listen to this album, I picture Britney when she was at her most awe-inspiring best. All of the songs on this album could have had amazing choreography, and I imagine Britney from her Onyx Hotel Tour dancing to "Hot As Ice," "Get Naked (I Got a Plan)," and "Perfect Lover" with the legendary precision dance moves we all loved so much from what some fans call "old Britney." And I can't help but wonder, what pain lay beneath the elaborate concerts of the "Britney" and "In The Zone" eras, waiting to be unleashed. It makes me sad to realise that the Britney I adored and admired so much when I was younger, may have been suffering inside.

Despite the sadness behind this album, it is arguably some of the best music of her career. Whether you're a fan of "old Britney," "new Britney," all Britneys or not a fan at all, you will find something enjoyable here. Amidst the madness, Britney reminds us why she's considered a legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Album!, 2 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackout (Audio CD)
Britney came back after three years with this amazing studio album. It is very pop and i think is one of her bests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING ALBUM!, 25 Oct. 2007
By 
This review is from: Blackout (Audio CD)
I've heard all of the demos before and I have to admit they all ROCK! The finalized versions od all the tracks are even better, making the album sound amazing. According to many fans this is BRITNEY SPEARS' BEST ALBUM to date, and will satisfy all: pop, dance, R&B, electropop fans! So buy this ALBUM. You won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Comeback, 29 Oct. 2007
By 
Koo (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blackout (Audio CD)
This album is great, every track is great. The weakest is probably Track 12 "Why should I be Sad?" but it is not bad. All the songs are really good and my favourites are Gimme More, Break The Ice, Hot as Ice and Ooh Ooh Baby. Great comeback album but i wish it had "Get Back" on it don't really care about the other leaked tracks like Kiss You All Over, State Of Grace or Everybody because they aren't as good as the rest of the album! These are all on the Blackout sessions though which I have. Also would have been good to see "Original Doll" tracks like someday i will understand or over to you now on there but i have them anyway so never mind! Anyway great album from brit go and get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blackout
Blackout by Britney Spears (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews