Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great product once you've mastered the "reuse" procedure
You would have read various reviews complaining about the means in which the product must be "reset" in order for it to be re-used. Having mastered this myself, I thought it would be best I detail my own steps so that everyone can see how easy it is:

1. Get a large enough pot/pan
2. Place a towel/cloth at the bottom of the pan
3. Place the heat pack...
Published on 19 Sep 2009 by Marc Love

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Re-use of product
The heat pad is very good; it heats up instantly as soon as you click the botton. However, to re-use the pad is not user friendly. You have to boil the heat pad in a pot for a while; wait for the salt to dissolve before it can be re-used.
Published on 13 Feb 2012 by Oye


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great product once you've mastered the "reuse" procedure, 19 Sep 2009
By 
Marc Love (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heat In A Click Instant Re-Useable Heat Pack Shoulder Warmer (Various Colours) (Personal Care)
You would have read various reviews complaining about the means in which the product must be "reset" in order for it to be re-used. Having mastered this myself, I thought it would be best I detail my own steps so that everyone can see how easy it is:

1. Get a large enough pot/pan
2. Place a towel/cloth at the bottom of the pan
3. Place the heat pack (folded so that it fits) on top of the cloth, ensuring that the heat pack is not touching the edges of the pot - you may need to use some of the cloth to protect the sides as well as the bottom.
4. Boil some water in a kettle and pour this over the heat pack
5. Put the pan on a hob over a very high heat
6. Cover the pan preferably with a see-through lid so that you can see the crystals dissolving
7. Ensure all crystals have dissolved - remember the crystals are darker than the liquid so just check to see that there are no "patches" in the heat pack. In my experience this has taken no longer than 5 minutes after the water has begun bubbling.
8. Move the pan into the sink.
9. Pour enough cold water into the pan, turning the water warm/cold, such that you can remove the heat pack comfortably with your fingers.
10. Place the heat pack on a dry towel/cloth and once cooled it is ready to re-use.

Ten steps may sound a bit much but I have deliberately been over prescriptive so that there is no room for error. Following these steps I have never had any issues.

The only reason I've not given this 5 stars is that I think the instructions stated for re-using the heat pack are not detailed enough leading to many people having problems.

Also, it is worth mentioning the major benefit this has over a traditional heat pack; granted there is some work required to "reset" this heat pack, but once in a ready state, this really is ready to go with a click! Traditional heat packs would require you to boil them first which is sometimes an off-putting process if you need the relief immediately. This is where it becomes "portable" in that you can have this ready when you need it, say on a long car journey, which cannot be said for a traditional heat pack which begins cooling down the second you have stopped boiling it.

I see this product as being the reverse process of a traditional heat pack in that you are required to do the boiling part at the end, whereas usually you would have to do this at the beginning; the major benefit being it is ready when you are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Re-use of product, 13 Feb 2012
This review is from: Heat In A Click Instant Re-Useable Heat Pack Shoulder Warmer (Various Colours) (Personal Care)
The heat pad is very good; it heats up instantly as soon as you click the botton. However, to re-use the pad is not user friendly. You have to boil the heat pad in a pot for a while; wait for the salt to dissolve before it can be re-used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shoulder heat pack Heat in a click, 6 Dec 2007
By 
Maggie (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heat In A Click Instant Re-Useable Heat Pack Shoulder Warmer (Various Colours) (Personal Care)
This arrived yesterday and activated like magic, producing a good degree of heat and instant relief for my bad shoulder - agree with all the positives in the preceding review. I did not receive the bag for using on other areas of the body though.

Now the downside - the boiling up bit. Following the instructions I boiled the pad until no crystals appeared to remain. However as it cooled crystals reformed and I tried twice more to boil them away but in the end gave up and left it, rock hard. This morning I found the biggest pot I had and boiled for much longer - about 30 mins! The pad is now cooling and so far no crystals have reappeared - I am holding my breath!!

I am not sure they can describe this as portable and for use anywhere - yes for one time use but you would have to have access to a big pot, cloth and hob - unlikely away from home! The blurb says you don't need a microwave etc to prepare it but is misleading about the ease of re-use.

So it would be five stars for the therapeutic effect but one star for the process - I give it a three!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly, 17 Dec 2010
This review is from: Heat In A Click Instant Re-Useable Heat Pack Shoulder Warmer (Various Colours) (Personal Care)
Anyone with shoulder pain knows that using heat really helps, even if temporarily. And this is exactly what this product is designed to do- provide heat to your shoulders. There's good and bad points to this particular pack, here's the good points...

-the pack is shaped so that it can fit right over BOTH shoulders, as well as the back of your neck- not all hot packs can do this
-the pack can be used over and over
-the hot pack can be toted places and kept handily to use in a moment's notice
-its not messy to use and easy to heat up

Okay, not too bad. However every rose has its thorn...

-after using, you have to boil it to return it to the "ready" state

And that's about the only negative I can think of for this hot pack. However, consider this. Moist heat packs you boil first, and then use. With this one, you use it and then boil it, so either way you're doing the same thing. This pack is better because you can take it with you and use it anywhere quickly.

You could say to heck with it and just get an electric heating pad. That's definitely easier than messing with the whole boiling thing, BUT, you can't use an electric pad just anywhere like you can with this one, and this kind heats up quicker.

In the end, you just have to decide what quality you want the most, whether it be portability or ease of use. Shoulder pain sufferers might also want to check out Treat Your Own Rotator Cuff- heat feels good, but does nothing to make your shoulder area stronger and less resistant to pain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars leak, 11 Nov 2012
By 
M. S. Mckay - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heat In A Click Instant Re-Useable Heat Pack Shoulder Warmer (Various Colours) (Personal Care)
i got this for a sore neck i had. used it a few times and it was great but the 3rd time i used it it started leaking phoned amazon and they refunded my cash right away it was good before it started leaking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars will save me a fortune!, 23 Jan 2012
This review is from: Heat In A Click Instant Re-Useable Heat Pack Shoulder Warmer (Various Colours) (Personal Care)
i suffer with fibromyalgia and regularly use thermacare heat wraps but they are one use only and cost a fortune.
this heat pad is wanderfull and due to its size and shape is versatile for other parts of the body like lower back, knees, elbows etc.
for its intended use i was still able to walk around and even drive, i put it on and covered it with my scarf and tucked it in to my jumper,,very sug and secure and toastie warm :-)
the 1st time i reset it by boiling i was disapointed because as soon as i took it out of the water it started to set it self off again,,,however i went to their website and say said that if even just one or two crystals are left undisolved it will restart it self. so now i make sure ive boiled it long enough and thoroughly check its totally clear,,all sorted. on the web site it says that some custommers get a good result by putting it in the dishwasher on a 85/95 degree cycle. unfortunatly my dishwasher doesnt get that hot but it was sufficient to soften it enough so i could fold it to put in the pan but soaking with hot water in the sink does just as well to soften it.
the heat lasts about 2 hours. also, top tip, it goes rather ridgid when it heats up so i recomend as soon as youve set it off, position and mould it around your neck/shoulders while its still flexable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute rubbish, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heat In A Click Instant Re-Useable Heat Pack Shoulder Warmer (Various Colours) (Personal Care)
I first saw these at the outdoors show and ended up buying one for heat treatment to my shoulder.

I used this 5 times and then it stopped working. As soon as it starts to cool down from reheating, it solidifies. The clicker no longer works so it only has heat once heated with boiling water - may as well use a traditional hot water bottle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Clients, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heat In A Click Instant Re-Useable Heat Pack Shoulder Warmer (Various Colours) (Personal Care)
I use these within treatments for my clients in clinical practice.
However, I will say that when the unit arrives the metal disc can be hard to click, however, I have discovered that if you boil it a few times it does get easier.
Stays hot for about an hour or so.
Remember to put a tea towel in a saucepan when you boil it down to liquify otherwise it may stick to the saucepan.
A Great Buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous to use first time, ridiculous to reuse, 13 Oct 2008
By 
Ryu "Ryu" (Near Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Heat In A Click Instant Re-Useable Heat Pack Shoulder Warmer (Various Colours) (Personal Care)
I purchased one of these in Edinburgh at the weekend as did my elderly mother, apparently we got a special price of 25 if we bought three of the smaller products for 10 too.
I have terrible shoulder pain and when I got home after spending 25 on this product I was thrilled with how much heat was generated and the pain was greatly eased............However, on carefully following the instructions of boiling it down, and using a cloth on the bottom of the large pan, i was horrified to discover after a short time the plastic covering had stuck to the side of the pan and the product was burst and leaking into the pot.
This after one use has rendered this product useless, which at 25 for 1 go, Im certainly not impressed.
My mother used hers and although hers didnt stick, after a lengthy boiling period the product just goes back to being hard again.
In these energy saving times this is a very expensive product to use resulting in a lot of wasted fuel and cash.

I have contacted the manufacturer by email but there is no telephone number to contact them directly.

As expected I have heard nothing. Please be very wary of this obvious design fault.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Read the small print!, 25 Jun 2008
This review is from: Heat In A Click Instant Re-Useable Heat Pack Shoulder Warmer (Various Colours) (Personal Care)
This item is advertised as an "instant, portable and reusable heating pad". I bought it thinking it would be low-energy, convenient and easy to use away from home when on the road. Turns out that after each use you have to boil it in a pan for 30 mins in order to be able to re-use it (and see other reviews for how "easy" this is to do). Not so low-energy or convenient after all. I tried to return it as it was of no use to me, only to find that the item is apparently "not eligible for return" and my email to Amazon Customer Services to query why has received no response after nearly a week. A total waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews