Customer Reviews


259 Reviews
5 star:
 (162)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great system, and great blu ray player
There is so much noise over the PS3 vs Xbox debate on the internet, in reality both are great systems but PS3 is better for my needs and if your needs are like mine then i would recommend it too.

Before i get to the gaming aspect i will state that the Blu ray player is excellent, i decided to save for an HDTV to complement a next-gen system as it made sense. As...
Published on 16 July 2008 by M. Dommett

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Quality machine lacking Quality titles
Firstly, this is a totally un-biased review.

For the current price, the Playstation 3 is undoubtedly a steal. I've looked into the whole Blue-Ray and HD DVD "war" (as, like consoles, they're geekily called) and it would appear in-definitely that Blu-Ray will win soon over sales, company contracts. I've compared the quality of Blu-Ray to that of a HD-DVD player...
Published on 30 Dec 2007 by Picard


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great system, and great blu ray player, 16 July 2008
By 
M. Dommett (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony Playstation 3 Console (40GB Version) (Video Game)
There is so much noise over the PS3 vs Xbox debate on the internet, in reality both are great systems but PS3 is better for my needs and if your needs are like mine then i would recommend it too.

Before i get to the gaming aspect i will state that the Blu ray player is excellent, i decided to save for an HDTV to complement a next-gen system as it made sense. As Blu ray seems to have won the format war i was chuffed to have a free blu ray player in the system, the quality is fantastic and the movies are getting cheaper all the time, especially on amazon.

If you have an HDTV and want to take the step up to high def movies then this free blu ray player (which is crazy when you see how much they are normally) is a great reason to get it.

As a gaming system this is also really picking up speed, it does not have as many games as the X Box 360 (for obvious reasons) but the claim that there are no good games out for it is a joke. You only need to look through this site to see how highly rated many of these games are. Plus i bought the ps2 on release and it took 2-3 years for the console defining games to develop and i am sure we will see the same here. I personally am willing to wait for these 'defining games' and there is easily more than enough great games out now/coming soon to see us through.

I needed wireless access due to the position of my room in the house and the ps3 has one inbuilt. My connection has been great with a 4mb connection at all times on all days.

There is so much else on the ps3 including photo's and video storage, etc. As everyone says it is a media system. I have not really used these functions yet but it is great they are there and if you could make use then all the better.

So in conclusion if you needs are like mine, You want a reliable (hasn't given me any hassle at all) console with an ever expanding library of great games, the ability to watch blu ray films and wireless internet ability then this is a fantastic machine to buy. If you can make use of other functions then even better.

I cannot recommend this console more, the x box 360 is also a great console (when it works) don't let anyone tell you differently but i feel this console is the better choice overall, plus i believe that once game development for the PS3 is finally fully unleashed at it's potential then it will have the better games too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


419 of 452 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The PlayStation3 -ECO- Edition, 4 Jan 2008
By 
M. Scholl (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony Playstation 3 Console (40GB Version) (Video Game)
I will explain the title shortly.

First of all, I hope you know what this console is all about. "Next-Gen" gaming. This console can produce the utmost beautiful images on an HDTV, deliver Blu-Ray-Disc playback, connect wireless to your home network and interact with media sharing software, play on-line free of charge and the list continues.

However...a console is only as good as its games are. Fortunately, the PS3 has an acceptable games library by now - built of a few great, a few decent and a few bad titles out today. You will get to experience the much talked about multi platform titles such as Assassin's Creed, COD4 and The Orange Box as well as get a taste of what is to come by the best PS3 exclusives so far; Uncharted: Drake's Fortune plus Ratchet & Clank: Tools of Destruction.

There clearly are enough games from both 1st- & 3rd-Party available and brand-bias aside, nobody should be considered sane when claiming the PS3 "has no games" nowadays.

As I mentioned "a taste of what is to come", I might as well tell you that MGS4, Haze and a few other mid-to-late-2008 PS3 exclusives are easily the most anticipated games these days.

Regarding the title of this review, I wanted to let you know that the 40GB PS3 is without a doubt the most advanced version. No, not because it lacks PS2 backwards compatibility. But because the Cell (the CPU inside every PS3) is manufactured following the 65nm standard. This decreases the power consumption to roughly 130W from 200W, thus making the PS3 40GB the most stable, quiet and cool "Next-Gen"-system on the market. Yes, I am referring to the Xbox360 RROD disaster here. You should however know that I owned an Xbox360 previously which broke thanks to mentioned fault.

Yes, the 40GB lost 2 USB ports. Yes, it lost the multi card reader. Yes, it lost the PS2 backwards compatibility. But it gained cutting edge technology inside that can make your purchase well worth it. You save money over the other models, too.

Unless you desperately need to play PS2 games on the PS3, I can wholeheartedly recommend this model over the other ones. The Hard-Disk-Drive inside the PS3 is upgradeable with any notebook (2.5") HDD without voiding the warranty.

Therefore you could build a 300GB-65nm-Cell-monster and install a Linux distribution as 2nd Operating System on it, which will allow you to use the PS3 as full blown computer.

Résumé: Choose the 40GB for PS3 games and healthy 65nm-technology. Choose the 60/80GB for PS3 games and PS2 backwards compatibility.

I hope my view on this product helped you make a decision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertainment hub, 20 Jan 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony Playstation 3 Console (40GB Version) (Video Game)
My friend recommened a wii, and my cousin told me to get a xbox. So i went and brought a ps3. After being uncertain at first, its grown on me to the point where i dont think i would ever get rid of it. As well as the games (Warhawk, COD4, Oblivion GOTY, Resistance and UT3 are excellent), it has replaced everybox under my tv. Upscaling dvd player, media centre, jukebox, checking the weather on the web, viewing pictures from my camera, it does it all. As a plus, it supports everyday items. My external hard drive and bluetooth headset work flawlessly. Considering what it can do, i dont think any console can match the ps3's value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What you need to know..., 18 Oct 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony Playstation 3 Console (40GB Version) (Video Game)
Well first of all, I love my ps3. Im writing this in 2011, and I got it in 2008. I have loved my years of gaming with the ps3. Don't let the 40gb HDD put you off. It lasted me untill march this year, and I replaced it with a 640gb HDD I got from this site. The Ps3 is epic, truly epic. It looks good and performs like Bolt at the olyimpics!
The Blu-ray is awsome, and you can now get a dualshock remote. The graphics are ace, don't listen to the reviews saying they are not. They were written in the first few weeks, and are now much better, It can play music aswell as the Bbc-Iplayer, Itv-netplayer etc. It's not just a games console it is a media centre. PSN is amazing aswell. It is free, and they have upgraded the security so it is SAFE!!!!!!! It is a shame however, that my PS3 has a fault. It wont read disks. However, I will get it fixed, or buy a pre-owned 40gb, and put my 640gb back in. So buy it! Don't even think just press the buton. Or get one with a larger HDD. By the way, the Hdd is a hard disk drive. It's were all your data is stored, and the bigger it is, the more stuff you can put in it. I hope you find this helpfull.
AIM-2002
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What is so special about the PS3?, 4 May 2009
By 
Mr. S. Djumpah "SoLoMoN" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony Playstation 3 Console (40GB Version) (Video Game)
We were promised superior graphics, so vastly superior to the competition that it would be like night and day they said so what happened, well the biggest mistake was undermining the competition and secondly and probably the most important as it's the source of my review is that they failed to differentiate between the types of power and within which one the PS3's superior power lies in.

The PS3's issue is with it's architecture, it's so uniquely crafted that ultimately by the time you harness the power and games start look a leap above the competition, next gen would have already arrived (lol).

Jokes asside people have to think of the PS3 as a performance device e.g. GEARS wont look any better on the PS3 but can perform better with smoother frame rates, or more happening on the screen as the processing power is where the PS3 is vastly superior and this is where it's strentghs lie. Metal Gear may not be able to run on 360 in its current state and not because of it's visuals but because of it's set pieces, in one scene you have metal gears flying over a battlefield shooting and laying waste to everything in site, in the far corner you have a building collapsing from the destruction, all this happening amidst a war, with soldiers on both sides fighting and then there is you, having the ability to interact with all these objects, now if this was on the 360 the building probably wouldn't collapse and the soldiers may have canned animations but visually the game would look the same and may even look better with the user friendliness of 360's architecture, and so alot of what the ps3 offers is unrelated to the visual prowess but to its processing fidelity.

In the scene I explained above you may be unaware but the PS3 has to govern more than what appears on the surface, it needs to apply the AI of the soldiers, then it needs to alter the effects of the flying metal gears gun fire, not to mention any changes on the battlefield have to also be rectified, then there are your actions that essentially change everything, killing enemy soldiers on one side will even change the behaviour of the AI towards the player, then there are your own movements that have to be mapped and identified in such a way that the game is aware of when a bullet zips past your ear lope or hits you in the shoulder e.t.c. so physics also have to be incorporated, then there are the weather effects and how they effect the environment i.e. the way snakes bandanna moves or its effect on accuracy, also we can't neglect the importance of sound which has to correlate to everything happening on screen and there are the visuals which have to all be rendered from the geometry, to animations (don't forget death animations) to facial expressions and weather effects and finally we can't forget the gameplay which incidently is so well orchastrated that it has this organic feel throughout the game which obviously means more processing power.

So as you can see with so much happening there is a huge demand on the processors, however alot of the stuff could even be removed without ever noticing and in actual fact would be removed if it was to run on a weaker console and here in lies the power of the playstation 3, expect vastly superior visuals in the form of it's design and you will be dissapointed, but if your the type of person who appreciates the finer details as I am, then over the coming years you will begin to really see how the PS3 is a more powerful beast underneath.

To conclude for the reasons outlined this is why MGS 4 and for that matter whatever game fully utilises effeciently the PS3's power cannot without alterations run on the 360 and by the same token is also why Crysis wont run on consoles especially not with the same visuals and physics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Quality machine lacking Quality titles, 30 Dec 2007
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony Playstation 3 Console (40GB Version) (Video Game)
Firstly, this is a totally un-biased review.

For the current price, the Playstation 3 is undoubtedly a steal. I've looked into the whole Blue-Ray and HD DVD "war" (as, like consoles, they're geekily called) and it would appear in-definitely that Blu-Ray will win soon over sales, company contracts. I've compared the quality of Blu-Ray to that of a HD-DVD player I bought off here for half price a month ago, and the quality is very much similar. If anything, HD is slightly better, but theirs little in it. Just as a note for those wondering about "DVD Upscaling", for the incredible price of some current HD-DVD players, it's worth buying one even if you don't buy HD-DVD's, as they improve the quality of standard HD DVD's to a small degree.

The console itself is smart and easy to use. With it's touch sensitive buttons on the front, you can switch it on, and it's whisper quiet whilst keeping pretty cool after prolong use. It's packaged nicely with all nessescary cables.

I'm quite fussy on how easy to use a console/computer is, hence I opted to Mac's 2 years ago. Luckily, the PS3 is as straightforward as the Wii; in that you switch it on, and everything is neat and tidy in front of you. Media etc are all divided into sub-catergories.

Theirs also plenty of features for those of you who like to 'mod' their consoles. In the PS3's case, you can boot it via a different OS, like Linux if you wish. I've had various looks, but it's much to be left to those who are interested in all that business.

Unlike the traditional Playstation controllers, the PS3's have a 6 axis motion sensor which though rarely uses, does add 'a little' more ambience to some games. It has to be said though that it is merely a gimmick, for few current PS3 titles rely heavily on this.

On a good point, the controller's a light and can be charged up via the console itself through USB - a brilliant step which saves batteries going into landfill sites.

I bought this console on the strength of 2 things; Blu-Ray, and some quality looking titles in Motorstorm, and the future of games such as Metal Gear etc. Sadly, this is my only disappointment so far - the console lacks many original/unique titles that the Xbox 360 and Wii can pull off, and at cheaper prices too. The longtivity of a few of the best current games can't be relied on too heavy. If this console wants to survive in the sales ranks, it will need more exciting, varied games at a cheaper price.

The graphical out-put of the PS3 is unlike anything you will have ever seen. Having used this both on HD and standard composite cables, it's clear the PS3 relies alot on the use of HD out-put, to crispen up the visuals and show off the Anti-Aliasing, much like the Xbox 360. Humans display emotional, truly life-like faces, the physics are mind-boggling on Motorstorm, and the attention to textures/detail is like nothing before.

The PS3 is without a doubt the most future proof console when it comes to graphical power. Though funnily enough, it is the Xbox 360 which is currently using the most of it's potentinal. Both console's have very similar GPU's - the reason why the PS3 wins over looks/speed is merely because of the Cell Processor, hence Sony are losing money on every console made, not to mention the included Blu Ray facility.

I recieved the PS3 from work to test, and eventually paid off a small percentage of the money to keep it, because I loved the Blu-Ray facility that much. However, it's important to remember this console is in "gaming" category, and for that, it fall's short on a lack of killer titles. I have no doubt though that in the future, amends will be made.

Though I borrowed the Xbox 360 for a short time, it's clear that gaming wise, you'll be getting the best value through a good selection of RPG's etc. But when it comes down to value and future-proofness, the PS3 is stunning value, but simply hasn't come into it's own yet.

It could be from it's own failing - with a complicated and vast world that Game Producers have open to them, it takes longer to produce large, graphically astounding titles. Patience could be a virtue, but since I have a life and see hardcore gaming as a bit sad, I just wouldn't buy the PS3 on the strength of its gaming.

Overall, it all comes down to a choice: Value or Games. But just remember one thing - a console is only as good as the games available for it....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


120 of 138 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's so much quieter and cooler., 31 Oct 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony Playstation 3 Console (40GB Version) (Video Game)
At first sight the 40GB model doesn't seem good value when you can get the backwards compatability 60GB with two games for an extra £50, but the 40GB model contains the newer 65nm cell chip which uses less power. The best thing about the new 40GB is that it is so very much quieter and throws out a lot less heat, my old 60GB used to get very hot, but worse than that it was way too noisy which could be distracting at times.
If backwards compatability with the Playstation 2 is important to you then the 40GB won't be any use to you. Me personally, I am very happy to sacrifice the BC and extra 20GB for the quieter cooler operation of the 40GB.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Playstation 3 Console (40GB Version) (Video Game)
I odered this as a gift to my partner and within 2 weeks off getting it it broke no fault off ours, they refused to refund or replace the item I wont order from here again they were very UN HELPFUL,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shocking, 2 Oct 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony Playstation 3 Console (40GB Version) (Video Game)
I can't believe it I have just paid £55.00 for a broken play station 3. I will now send it back for a full refund and I would tell everyone not to buy any product from this seller !!!!! Furious, no wires or controller when it said on the description it did include it all !!!!!! Just got wires from a friend and it won't turn on, only for like 1 second then shuts its self down!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


221 of 255 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JUST BE CAREFUL, 6 Oct 2007
By 
T. Flaxman "pew pew pew" (Naarch) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony Playstation 3 Console (40GB Version) (Video Game)
hi, this is a PS3, what more needs to be said about it? well, first off you have to remember this is a cut down version of the original 60Gb version, not too much to concern yourselves with, BUT, this is not backwards compatable with the old ps2/ps1 titles like the 60 model is, this is due to some motherboard modifications and removal of the GF chip. other things missing are the flash/memory card slots but if you really need these you can us a standard usb card reader, just plug it into the console. the other thing is it only has 2 usb ports on the front, these can also be expanded using a standard usb hub if you need more ports too. it still has wi-fi, blue tooth, and everything else the full 60Gb model has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sony Playstation 3 Console (40GB Version)
Used & New from: £74.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews