Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars9
3.4 out of 5 stars
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 1 October 2008
Yes it is easy on the "Normal" setting but there are 2 harder levels if you want the challenge - basically you get more monsters.
My main gripe is that there isn't much strategy required for battles, you basically keep whacking or zapping until you win, which you will, esp if you save regularly and can restart on the odd occasion you decide to preserve your potions.
Otherwise this is a basic dungeon crawl in the aforementioned eye of the beholder vein, but you find yourself wanting to complete each level, find all the secrets and kill all the available monsters to get the extra HP.
And before you know it you've finished.
Yes it's too short, too easy, but fine fun whilst you're at it...and you can get it a lot cheaper in second hand shops than amazon are selling it for.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2008
As technology and the world of videogames advances through its years, so do my expectations. I want it big. I want it elaborate. I want it to blow my mind with all sorts of visual effects and stuff to do! So despite my initial disappointmnet when I first loaded up "Orcs & Elves" I was eventually won over with its' surprisingly successful mix of contemporary ideas mixed in with back-to-the-basics game design of the classic dungeon hacker. Its no-nonsense presentation creates a quickly-paced, action-packed game that's full of energy. Even though its simplified gameplay, (just like its mobile phone counterpart which it's so clearly based on!)the design works on the Nintendo DS.

Put Orcs & Elves on the same level as any other role-playing game and you might find yourself disappointed. You can't select your character's class, or name him, but what the game lacks in story and customisation, it makes up for in a game design that gets straight to the point. You're thrust into got a sword for up-close combat and a wand to blast those far away targets. Movement is entirely grid-based: every step forward, left, right or backward, as well as every rotation is in 90 degree increments. It's also turn-based, which is really Orcs & Elves' biggest hook. Each move is a "turn." If there are other creatures in the general vicinity, they'll take their "turn" after you take yours. Specific creatures can make two turns to your one, moving one slot and attacking - but for the most part and with a few exceptions both the player and the creatures are on the same playing field, so to speak.

The games a lot of fun, but make no mistake: it can get a tad repetitive. The action is what it is right from the start, and other than the collection of different items and the occasional "push the rock" and "leap around the geysers" puzzles, the play never changes. The creature designs are constantly being recycled: a red rat in an earlier dungeon will be a "different" gold rat in a later dungeon.
Thankfully the game's been designed for the on-the-go mentality. Save anywhere? And in three different slots? And all the maps will rememeber every notch that's been traversed? Yes please!

With Orcs & Elves, do not expect a role-playing game with the production levels of a Final Fantasy or a Mass Effect. It's a mobile phone game brought to the Nintendo DS, but don't call it a port: the game looks and plays so much better than any version already on the market. The game's back-to-the-basics approach goes against the grain that probably wouldn't work on any other system but a portable one...and it indeed does work on the Nintendo DS. Even with its limitations, Orcs & Elves' fast-paced, turn-based style is a refreshing change of pace from the evolved role-playing game design, and deserves a playthrough even if you love the epic presentation of those other RPGs
33 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2008
Reviewing this title harshly because of the graphics is a little unfair.

It doesn't pretend to be anything other than what it is - a turn-based dungeon crawl.
If you wasted your youth playing Dungeons & Dragons like I did, then think of this as a lightweight, portable, electronic alternative to lugging around rulebooks and polyhedral dice.

There's a suficiently complicated 'career' based levelling up, magic using, oodles of special items, plenty of puzzles and more monsters than you can shake a +4 mace at.

What more do you need?
22 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2008
I bought this game a month ago because I liked the idea of having an Eye of the Beholder style game on my NDS. The graphics are pretty nice for a NDS game with real 3D but I must say I'm a little dissapointed by nearly all the rest though.

The game works with a turnbased grid system: you move one square at a time and every move or action (be it hitting a sword or drinking a potion) is a turn, which will let every monster hit you or move towards you. Very simple right?

However, the game does fail in several areas. For starters, they added so many extras which in the end hardly got used. You got a dozen types of potions but most you will rarely use because the amount of turns they are handy is very limited and in most situations, you can kill a monster in two hits so why waste a potion? You got a dozen different kind of rings too but you can only use one and since the advantages of the rings are pretty comparative (either you do more damage, or take less damage, or you can hit better, etc.) you just stick to one ring instead of swapping.

There's also a dragon who is basically a shop where you can buy items. You can save up for the real powerful weapons or strong armour or you can trade gems you found for stuff. Here lies two big flaws: the dragon has a "mood" system which lets you buy stuff cheaper but it's really guessing how low you can drive prices. If you fail, his mood gets worse. How do you get his mood to go up? Either sell him a gem, or offer MORE for the stuff than you need to. Am I the only one that feels this kind off defeats the whole point of mood-based pricebargaining?

The second flaw with the dragon lies in its gear. Some of the prices are extremely high and some poor sap may end up saving all of his money for the top armour which cost over 20.000 gold. Now, if you save up nearly all your money in the game, you'll finally be able to afford the armour near the end of the game. Except the dragon then GIVES you that armour in exchange for a gem that will drop on one of the bosses you have to kill. If you have just bought that armour after saving for so long, you'll probably want to kill yourself by then!

But the problems don't stop there. There's about 10 maps to explore and each take about 20 minutes to play through if you hunt for secret areas and go to every room. It's mostly corridors and cramped rooms and there's only a few stairs so there's not a lot of variation.

On the positive side, combat is not bad. You got a lot of weapons at your disposal towards the end so you can use the best weapon for the job. Your staff lets you use special combos too which is handy against strong monsters. Ammo for the weapons that use it can be bought from the dragon.

Still, in the end the game is too short and too easy. The end boss seemed too hard for me at first, until I realised you had to stun her, and using Haste potions (which let you do two actions per turn) hit her with the hammer. In 4 hits she was dead. Oh dear. I barely had to use a potion through the entire game except for healing potions (you don't heal yourself over time, potions and meat are the only way) but when I bought a Regeneration ring, I didn't even have to use those anymore.

So, bottomline: looks good but it's too short, too easy, maps too small and uninteresting, nice combat, but overally flawed. If you want to be entertained for 4 hours, you can do worse but there's a lot of room for improvement.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2009
This was the first game that I played on my Nintendo DS, and it was a great introduction to the buttons and gameplay. Really easy to play and very addictive, although experienced gamers might find it too easy and on normal setting you can breeze through it quite quickly. Good fun!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2016
Be sure to start on harder difficulties or you will breeze though it.
Pretty much how I wanted Hexen to be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2008
When I first started playing I thought it would not be that good but once you get into this dungeon and dragons type game it quickly becomes very addictive and difficult to put down.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
Daughter loves this great value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2015
Not what was expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)