Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sylvia
Ashton's brilliant choreography, revived by Christopher Newton and Delibes' expressive music combine to make a charming evening out at the Royal Opera House or in your own home if viewed on the excellet Opus Arte DVD. This homage to the 19th-century French ballet style is a light hearted mythological story of a nymph captured by huntsman and restored by Eros to her true...
Published on 19 Mar 2008 by Mr. GM Roebuck

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars gift purchase
bought as a Christmas gift last year for my 93 year old mother she thoroughly enjoyed it and has told me so, ergo I have to presume that there was nothing wrong with the quality of the disc.
Published 5 months ago by Mrs Jan Vick Hughes


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sylvia, 19 Mar 2008
By 
Mr. GM Roebuck (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Delibes: Sylvia [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
Ashton's brilliant choreography, revived by Christopher Newton and Delibes' expressive music combine to make a charming evening out at the Royal Opera House or in your own home if viewed on the excellet Opus Arte DVD. This homage to the 19th-century French ballet style is a light hearted mythological story of a nymph captured by huntsman and restored by Eros to her true lover. It is an excuse for some inventive, romantic and dazzling decorative dances, both solos and handsomely crafted groups. Peter Farmer tastefully developed the original attractive Second Empire designs of Robin and Christopher Ironside to provide sumptuous sets and costumes.

Some may claim that none quite match Fonteyn's playful musicality when the ballet was created on her in 1952. But it is wrong to compare artists with each other, which is why dance awards are invidious. Today's dancers provide a technical brilliance with a satisfying emotional appeal.

In the complex title role Darcey Bussell, is persuasive as the proud nymph as well as tenderly showing the first awakenings of love. With her thrilling long extended legs, flirty, flying elevation and speedy articulate footwork she is still in her prime. She dances with perfect precision in the pizzicato divertissement and is ravishingly radiant in the pas de deux powerfully partnered by Roberto Bolle who also displays some soaring elevation as the shepherd Aminta. Mara Galeazzi has developed into an accomplished performer and shines as Diana with Martin Harvey providing a superb and mischievous Eros. It is gorgeous.
Gavin Roebuck
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive Sylvia, 29 Dec 2007
By 
Mr. A. Mcmurdo "alexander7366" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Delibes: Sylvia [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
I have waiting for ages for this ballet production to appear on DVD after watching it on BBC2 several years ago and now its available.Its a wonderful production the dancers are superb not only the 'star' roles Bussel/Bolle but the entire cast,the orchestra of the Royal Ballet,the sets,costumes,lighting sound etc,and of course the Delibe score enchanting.This is a must have for any ballet fan and could convert the sceptical !So often DVD production are not of the best quality but this is super,go buy it you wont be let down in any way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sylvia, 30 Nov 2011
This review is from: Delibes: Sylvia [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
This DVD is an essential acquisition for any fan of ballet. Darcey Bussell's performance as Sylvia is absolutely enchanting, technically brilliant and executed with such charming rapport with the audience. How she manages to maintain such a beautiful smile while straining every sinew of her body is beyond me! Roberto Bolle is the perfect complement in his role as Aminta, neither eclipsing Bussell nor being over-shadowed by her. His faultless performance exhibits great versatility and Ashton's choreography stretches both to the limit.The orchestration leaves nothing to be desired and the technical quality of this DVD is excellent in both sound and image. Camera angles and judicious use of zoom give good balance between scene and detail. I cannot fault this DVD in any way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delibes - Sylvia, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delibes: Sylvia [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
A beautifully presented and danced programme to be watched over and over, to be enjoyed and live the story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ballet fan, 13 April 2011
By 
B.W. (peterborough, cambs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Delibes: Sylvia [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
A beautiful ballet and colourful production. Difficult to find fault - I just wish I could have seen it live. I have lent this DVD out to friends who also loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really lively music and dancing, 11 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delibes: Sylvia [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
I liked this production a lot. A story that was easy to follow,lovely scenery,great dancing and lively music.
Some say the music was inspired by Wagenrs Ride of the Valkyries. It was certainly heavenly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Darcey Bussell DVD, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delibes: Sylvia [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
It's a Christmas present, arrived on time & in condition described,
If your a 7 year old girl and loves ballet then this is for you!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sylvia, 2 April 2010
This review is from: Delibes: Sylvia [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
I bought this DVD for my daughter and she loves it, she has just got into ballet.
Thank you,
Mrs Dawn Keeble
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I gave it away as a present, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delibes: Sylvia [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
No idea as I bought it for a present and haven't seen it.I' sure its' gorgeous or I wouldn't have bought it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars gift purchase, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delibes: Sylvia [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
bought as a Christmas gift last year for my 93 year old mother she thoroughly enjoyed it and has told me so, ergo I have to presume that there was nothing wrong with the quality of the disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9ce67c00)

This product

Delibes: Sylvia [DVD]  [2010] [NTSC]
Delibes: Sylvia [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] by Graham Bond (DVD - 2007)
16.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews