Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous pairing!
This was one of the funniest films I have ever seen! I saw it first at a French Film Festival, and the audience needed the subtitles because we were all laughing so loudly, we couldn't hear the actors. Since then, I have got the DVD, and I laughed just as much the second time! The chemistry between Jean Reno's deadpan character and Gerard Depardieu's...
Published on 27 Jan 2006 by Harriet James

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amiable but not particularly funny
Tais-Toi! aka Ruby and Quentin aka Shut Up! reunites Francis Veber with Jean Reno and Gerard Depardieu, but it isn't up to the standard of his previous collaborations with either star. An amiable throwback to the Depardieu/Pierre Richard comedies (Les Comperes, Les Fugitifs and Le Chevre, remade as Father's Day, Three Fugitives and Pure Luck), with Reno in the Depardieu...
Published on 16 Jun 2009 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous pairing!, 27 Jan 2006
By 
This was one of the funniest films I have ever seen! I saw it first at a French Film Festival, and the audience needed the subtitles because we were all laughing so loudly, we couldn't hear the actors. Since then, I have got the DVD, and I laughed just as much the second time! The chemistry between Jean Reno's deadpan character and Gerard Depardieu's child-like naive is wonderful. The acting is superb, and the script sharp. Simply brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amiable but not particularly funny, 16 Jun 2009
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Shut Up! (Tais-Toi!) [DVD] (DVD)
Tais-Toi! aka Ruby and Quentin aka Shut Up! reunites Francis Veber with Jean Reno and Gerard Depardieu, but it isn't up to the standard of his previous collaborations with either star. An amiable throwback to the Depardieu/Pierre Richard comedies (Les Comperes, Les Fugitifs and Le Chevre, remade as Father's Day, Three Fugitives and Pure Luck), with Reno in the Depardieu tough-guy role and Depardieu taking Richard's as the clinging genial idiot, it's a pleasant rainy day movie with a few good jokes but not enough to make it stick in the memory despite the sight of the two stars in drag. But, if in the next few years you see a Hollywood comedy about an idiot on the run from a prison asylum with a revenge seeking hardened con, you'll at least remember where the idea came from. And it's almost worth the price of the disc just to see Reno in drag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A VERY funny movie, 6 Dec 2007
I really enjoyed this movie. Depardieu shows his versatility as an actor this time playing the role of a very simpleminded but talkative fugitive, who ends up sharing a cell with a much more sinister character played by Jean Reno. Very watchable movie with much heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer genius!, 5 Jan 2007
By 
Charley (Brisbane, Australia) - See all my reviews
Sorry, super fonkey you are so far off with your review of this film I really hope it doesn't influence anyone thinking of watching it. Gerard Depardieu and Jean Reno are brilliant. I laughed the whole way through this film. Depardieu is a comedic genius and he uses his talents to full effect here. Simply hilarious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and hilarious!, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shut Up! (Tais-Toi!) [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the funniest films I have ever seen! I laughed and laughed so much that I bought it again for my parents and recommended to everyone I see!

Well worth seeing and I imagine I will be watching it again and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this film each time I watch it I find yet another nuance.Always brings a smile even after 6 years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Endearing comedy with Depardieu and Reno both excellent., 17 Dec 2011
By 
Philoctetes (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Shut Up! (Tais-Toi!) [DVD] (DVD)
Jean Reno was pretty quiet in Leon and we don't exactly associate Depardieu with monosyllables so in a sense these actors are almost spoofing themselves in Tais-Toi! Depardieu is an idiot crook who proves too much for every single inmate at the jail; until that is, he gets put with Reno's silent hitman by an imaginative detective. Reno remains stubbornly silent allowing Depardieu to witter on endlessly, the latter interpreting this as friendship. When Reno is moved to the prison psych ward Depardieu knows it's time they were both sprung, but Reno's nemesis - a rich scumbag who murdered Reno's lover - is lying in wait.

From the writer that brought us the deathless comedy Le Diner De Cons, Shut-Up! is another odd couple flick where phones play an important part (this time cellphones) but instead of being trapped in an apartment we're mostly out on the streets of Paris as our blundering duo try to dodge cops and assassins whilst Reno plots his revenge and Depardieu plans their happy ever after. The idiot is almost superhuman, shielded from getting hurt by his stubborn naivety, proving impossible for the increasingly exasperated iceman Reno to shake off. At one point they don the gayest of outfits after robbing a jockey and his wife, seemingly a nod to La Cage aux Folles.

Only four stars because it's not as subtle as The Dinner For Idiots. The script is occasionally witty but mostly just amusing. Lots of action, car chases, gunfights, punch-ups and comical scenes in the police station.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TAIS TOI! NO, I'M TOO BUSY LAUGHING, 15 Nov 2006
By 
Robert Watt "Doctor Bob" (Glasgow, SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
FRANCE'S MOST INEPT CRIMINAL MIGHT HAVE ONE USE - CAN THE POLICE GET HIM TO USE HIS INFURIATINGLY PERSISTENT AND FUTILE OBSERVATIONS TO BREAK THE SILENCE OF A REAL BADDIE? YOU WON'T BE ABLE TO KEEP QUIET FINDING OUT! WE JUST LAUGHED AND LAUGHED!! DEPARDIEU AND RENO PROVIDE SUBLIME COMIC TURNS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very very good!, 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shut Up! (Tais-Toi!) [DVD] (DVD)
An outstanding film, that reinvents the concept of dynamic duo, and gives us a refreshingly enjoyable comedy that is bound to stay with the viewer. Saying anything else would be rather unfair, and it's best that this film be watched before it's commented upon. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Opposites Do Attract, 15 Mar 2008
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Shut Up! (Tais-Toi!) [DVD] (DVD)
Jean Reno is Ruby, a dangerous criminal (well considered to be anyway). He's been framed for a murder and has decided to take vengeance: and finds himself in jail.

Quentin, played by star Gérard Depardieu, is an idiot, he's really clueless and when he holds up a foregn exchange bureau he really does land himself in trouble. He's sent to jail too, only to fight with people - funnily enough, he wins.

The big meet up happens when Ruby is left with Quentin in a cell, as Ruby won't talk, he's put with the very annoying Quentin and his cell is bugged. What they don't realise is that these two are going to sort out their differences in a bid for freedom.

This is a very funny film from director of Le Dîner de cons, with the same wit, style and flair that Francois brings to a movie. Quentin's stupidity is really comical, and Ruby's reaction is funny too. Jean Reno and Gérard Depardieu work really well, and revive the good old baddie buddy movie genre (like Nuns on the Run).

The extras are thin on the ground, so might well be worth getting the French version. The strange menu is a bit bizarre too, why not a simple subtitles menu rather than all that clutter on the main menu?

Excellent movie, well worth getting on DVD, this will definitely be watched time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shut Up! (Tais-Toi!) [DVD]
Shut Up! (Tais-Toi!) [DVD] by Francis Veber (DVD - 2008)
£14.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews