Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent return
This albums is full of highs and lows, 'cowboys' has all the makings of a crows classic, while 'los angeles' and 'you can't count on me' are personal favourites and rank very high in terms of all-time favourite counting crows songs, however for me the album does have a few dodgy tracks that need to be skipped which is a shame and somewhat taints this much anticipated...
Published on 3 April 2008 by Rodney_Mullen

versus
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not feeling it....
For starters, I think Counting Crows are one of the most underated bands of the last fifteen years. Their first two albums- 'August and everything after' and 'Recovering the Satellites'- are masterpieces. The sheer excellence of these first two records has made every following CC release struggle to live up to expectations. 'This Desert Life'(1999) and 'Hard Candy' (2002)...
Published on 29 Mar 2008 by JDO


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not feeling it...., 29 Mar 2008
This review is from: Saturday Nights & Sunday Mornings (Audio CD)
For starters, I think Counting Crows are one of the most underated bands of the last fifteen years. Their first two albums- 'August and everything after' and 'Recovering the Satellites'- are masterpieces. The sheer excellence of these first two records has made every following CC release struggle to live up to expectations. 'This Desert Life'(1999) and 'Hard Candy' (2002) are both great records. It's just that they are not as great as the first two.

So, 'Saturday Nights and Sunday Mornings' has a lot to live up to. This is especially the case given that it is their first new album in almost six years. Things start well with '1492' and 'Hanging Tree' both of which are from the rockier end of the CC spectrum. However, by the time you get to 'Los Angeles' a nagging thought starts to rear its ugly head- the Counting Crows have done all of this before. As Duritz sings the chorus of "If you see that movie star and me" you start to get the feeling you have heard it all before. Things pick up again however with the rather excellent 'Cowboys' before the second, quieter half of the album gets going...

... and that's where the feelings of deja vu starts to come in spades. At times it almost seems as though Duritz is just going through the motions. He is trying to sound forlorn for the sake of sounding forlorn. The passion and real heart wrenching angst, so prevalent on their first four albums, seems to have gone a bit stale. When Adam sings "Come back to me" on 'On a Tuesday in Amsterdam Long Ago' you cant help but feel it is an inferior re-write of the rather amazing 'Raining in Baltimore' from their debut record. It just sounds like he is going through the motions and not really feeling it.

The second half of the album does have its good tracks though, especially 'When I Dream of Michaelangelo' and 'Come Around', the latter of which is a very fitting end to the record. The problem with the second half of this album is just that it sags a little. Songs such as 'On Almost Any Sunday Morning' and especially 'Le Ballet D'Or' feel unnecessary and add little to the overall album apart from making it longer. Also, the sub-Beatles harmonies at the end of 'Anyone But You' don't really work either and go on for too long blunting the impact of an otherwise good track.

All in all 'Saturday Nights and Sunday Mornings' is patchy. I have never said that about a CC release before and hope I will never have to say it about any future records they release. However, this album is sadly a little bit disapointing. It has some great tracks (1492, Hanging Tree, Cowboys, When I Dream of Michaelangelo and Come Around). A number of good, solid tracks (Insignificant, Washington Square and You Can't Count on Me) and then the rest of the record just sounds a bit lazy and over familiar. Maybe this would have been a stronger ten track record with the bulk of the songs from the first half with a couple of the '... Sunday Mornings' half thrown in. Who knows, but viewed as a whole it doesn't really work. Time for Counting Crows to re-think things a little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 29 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Saturday Nights & Sunday Mornings (Audio CD)
Don't listen to the hype. For such a great band expectations are very high but regrettably this album is at best mediocre. I'm sad to say it but this is one of their least accomplished albums- where are the hooks and gemlike songcraft of yesteryear? It's not that the album is bad, it's just that it's simply unremarkable. I think the real acid test is to ask yourself- would any of these tracks get on to your personal 'Best of Counting Crows' playlist? I'm not sure I would add any to my favourites.

[My favourite CC tracks in no particular order: Round Here, Mrs Potter's Lullaby, Butterfly in Reverse, Amy Hit The Atmosphere, Miami, Omaha, A Long December, Hangin' Around, American Girls, Mr. Jones, Hard Candy, Rain King, Holiday In Spain, Raining In Baltimore, All My Friends, Black And Blue, A Murder Of One, Why Should You Come When I Call?]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent return, 3 April 2008
This review is from: Saturday Nights & Sunday Mornings (Audio CD)
This albums is full of highs and lows, 'cowboys' has all the makings of a crows classic, while 'los angeles' and 'you can't count on me' are personal favourites and rank very high in terms of all-time favourite counting crows songs, however for me the album does have a few dodgy tracks that need to be skipped which is a shame and somewhat taints this much anticipated release. Although these tracks are a shame there are mant decents tracks on this album and it is a definite must own for any CC fan and even casual CC listener, 8 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing... REALLY!, 17 Oct 2010
By 
Nanni Sergio Vittorio (Milan, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saturday Nights & Sunday Mornings (Audio CD)
I'm sorry to say this but "Saturday Nights & Sunday Mornings" is the worst record Counting Crows have ever made. The first two are MASTERPIECES (especially the 2nd "Recovering The Satellites") but this one is boring... a few good tunes pop up here and there but as a record it's not very consistent. As much as I love CC first four releases (and the "Across The Wire" live album) I wouldn't recommend it even to fans. Better listen to your old Crows records!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reaching backwards for the first time, 10 April 2009
By 
J. Jenkins (Dudley Port, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saturday Nights & Sunday Mornings (Audio CD)
Counting Crows reputation as an unadventurous, middle of the road rock band belies a track record of subtle reinvention for those who wish to hear it. Over the course of four previous albums they've gone from purveyors of coffee table americana, to a grunge band, to spacey, indie rockers, to something approaching pure pop. To their credit, album five is the first time they've really repeated themselves.

Over the course of what frontman Adam Duritz says is 'really two albums' they essentially try to repeat two of their past glories; Recovering the Satellites on side one's Gil Norton produced 'rock' half, August and Everything After and side two's mournful ballad collection. You can see why they've done it - 'Satellites' is probably their best album and 'August...' their best loved. But there's something ever so slightly contrived about it; the fact that they've only managed to come up with 6 'rock' numbers on a 14-15 track album (one of which could just as easily fit on the Sunday Mornings section) suggests they came up with the concept before actually sitting down to write any songs.

This is more a criticism of sequencing than anything else. From the epic, widescreen Cowboys, to the world weary travelogue of Washington Square and across the album, these are mostly excellent songs. On A Tuesday in Amsterdam Long Ago is probably the rawest distillation of romantic longing Duritz has yet put his name to.

In fact, Duritz's angst can get a little alienating at times here. On songs like LA he's basically bemoaning the continual imposition of having to date a string of actresses, models and the entire cast of Friends. Ironically, he's at his most likeable when he portrays himself as a jerk; songs like the caustic You Can't Count on Me are potent because he is so willing to paint himself in an unflattering light. And yet he still gets the girls. Is it the hairstyle?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They've finally Come Around, 26 Mar 2008
By 
J. E. Daniel "john2747" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saturday Nights & Sunday Mornings (Audio CD)
Its' been 5 years since they last released a record, (2003's Hard Candy) since then they have released a greatest Hits, a live CD & a reissue of their debut "August & Everything After"
Fans were wondering whether singer/songwriter Duritz still had it in his locker to bring out a new record after years of struggling to cope with fame.
Anyway the band are back & back to form too!
Their album is entitled "Saturday Nights & Sunday Mornings"
Saturday Nights being the descending into the darkness, losing a battle that can't be won. With it's electrifying riffs & it's raging angst, it's unfortunate it only features 6 songs.
The second part of the record "Sunday Mornings" is the day after, the events that require turning round, the heartache of incorrect decisions.
The album transcends through Duritz's use of creating poetic lyrics with pop overtones that really drive the record home.
Despite Sunday Mornings having an extra 2 tracks, it's Saturday Nights that steals the show.
Tracks such as "Hangin Tree" with it's Nirvana - esque guitar riffs & "Los Angeles (Which sounds a lot like Ryan Adam's Rescue Blues) explode out of our stereos & therefore engages us into the thrilling frantic pace that's set.
Sunday Mornings feels rather bleak compared to Saturday Nights, but it offers us a chance to explore through Duritz's imagery, in which his narratives & the bands gentle use of strings & piano led pop contrast the record & gives it that ultimate divide.
The first single "You Can't Count On Me" is an uplifting tale of memories, "When I Dream Of Michelangelo" is about seeing the world through the Sistine Chapel & the final track (Not the bonus) "Come Around" is an infectious piece of rousing pop which ranks among their finest songs.

Despite all these positive points, it can't be helped thinking that in ways the record was also a missed opportunity.
The track "On A Tuesday In Amsterdam Long Ago" is a beautiful tale of the past which contrasts the love & hurt the story resembles. But unfortunately the music doesn't reflect the lyrics & we just get Duritz on a piano, which is all well and good when it's either "A Long December" Or "Raining In Baltimore" but this misses the mark completely.Perhaps if it was presented in a similar sort of style of say "Hard Candy" which it shares various themes with, it may have been a hit.
Another minor disappointment is the track "Cowboys" Duritz claims this is perhaps his finest written song & although it sounds great on the surface the words are clumsy & it's hard to interact with the narrative when the picture he paint's is unclear.

But Overall it's a joy to have the Crows back , they've finally Come Around!

Play these:
Hangin Tree
Los Angeles
Sundays
When I Dream Of Michelangelo
You Can't Count On Me
Come Around

Skip These:
Le Ballet D'or
On A Tuesday In Amsterdam
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 1 for sorrow, 29 Mar 2008
By 
R. Compton "Compo" (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saturday Nights & Sunday Mornings (Audio CD)
A 6 year wait and this is what we get? I've been a Counting Crows fan for a long time now, and expected much better than this. The lyrics are poor, the tunes almost non existent and the screech factor on Adam's vocals has been cranked up to 11. Forget it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mature music alert!, 27 Mar 2008
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Saturday Nights & Sunday Mornings (Audio CD)
A welcome return to form as they say, my only quibble being the "quick side - slow side" nature of the album, which lumps all the "rawkers" at the start and the ballads towards the rear. I didn't like it when Rod Stewart did it on Atlantic Crossing all those years ago (the beginning of the end sadly), and I didn't like it when the Foo Fighters did it with In your honor - although that was on two separate CD's. That aside, Adam Duritz is in fine voice and the musicianship is impeccable, the rockers indeed "rock" and the slower songs are melodic and lyrically interesting. Nothing really to dislike on the whole, so a safe 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Deja Vu, 7 Feb 2014
This review is from: Saturday Nights & Sunday Mornings (Audio CD)
I am a big CC fan and just bought this cd as I had bought all their previous endeavours. unfortunately for years, I tried to connect to it, identify a few gems which would stand the test of times. Nothing! I repeatedly got a feeling of indifference as the songs were passing through without anyone catching my attention. and recently, I've decided for the umpteenth time to give it another try. and suddenly it all clicked. I started to listen and appreciate it in a way that I never did before. the first part of the cd is clearly far superior to the second one. I like the rockier side which cc explored in their most underrated gem 'recovering the satellites'. these are good rock songs, with adam's emotions screaming to get heard out of the guitar riffs. and there are some standout tracks: 1492, hanging tree, ... make you revisit the repeat button many times. but as songs progress to the 'sunday mornings' session, a feeling of mediocrity reintroduces itself. these are not bad songs, they are just mediocre. thankfully, the ending comes with a respite: 'come around' rocks and could easier have joined the first session. what I felt though throughout this record, and it's the first time I feel this in a cc record, is the feeling of deja vu. some of these songs could have been part of previous records, the riffs sounded familiar, the sequence predictable. and this is a slight disappointment for a cc record, which usually pride themselves in offering their audience something fresh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Counting Crows, 14 Dec 2013
This review is from: Saturday Nights & Sunday Mornings (Audio CD)
Counting Crows are on blistering form on this album in which they showcase their versatility and range. Effectually it's two 'sets', the Saturday night rockout of the first 6 tracks and the Sunday morning wind-down of the last 9, so we get both the full-on blistering guitar angst and the folky acoustic balladry which first drew me to the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Saturday Nights & Sunday Mornings
Saturday Nights & Sunday Mornings by Counting Crows (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews