Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long-term, saves some of the money you would have spent on cartridges
This converter replaces a cartridge in a Watermans fountain pen, and allows you to fill the pen from an ink bottle. The volume held by the converter appears to be just over half that of a long cartridge. It fills completely with the usual twisting method to move the internal plunger.

The maths involved depends on the current prices of ink bottles and...
Published on 16 Jun 2010 by Peter Biddlecombe

versus
28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars There is no alternative
I've had a Waterman pen for over 15 years now and I've just ordered what will be my third converter. I use the pen every day, so you can work out how long they last. The problem with the two previous ones is that eventually the seal where it pushes into the nib unit splits. When it does ink will leak back into the pen casing, through the screw joint and out all over your...
Published on 14 Jan 2012 by BadgerBorg


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long-term, saves some of the money you would have spent on cartridges, 16 Jun 2010
By 
Peter Biddlecombe "peterbiddlecombe" (Bucks, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Waterman Standard Convertor (Office Product)
This converter replaces a cartridge in a Watermans fountain pen, and allows you to fill the pen from an ink bottle. The volume held by the converter appears to be just over half that of a long cartridge. It fills completely with the usual twisting method to move the internal plunger.

The maths involved depends on the current prices of ink bottles and cartridges, but at present a 2 oz bottle of Watermans ink costs just under twice the cost of a pack of 8 long cartridges. The cartridge pack doesn't state a volume but I would estimate that a bottle of ink is equivalent to about 20 cartridges - 2.5 packs. (If you can see "2 oz" on the product picture for the cartridges, that's because the picture is actually for the ink bottle's box.)

So the converter will pay for itself after about 3 ink bottles.

Another minor benefit is that you can use ink from other pen manufacturers if the price or colour suits you better. Doubtless they will all tell you that their ink is specially designed for their pens, but a fountain pen is a fountain pen and I doubt very much that anyone could tell the difference between Watermans black ink and black Quink (Parker) or Skrip (Sheaffer).

The downside: filling with ink involves a little bit of waste and mess - my Watermans Hemisphere pen had one small drop of ink on the barrel that needed wiping off after filling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars There is no alternative, 14 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterman Standard Convertor (Office Product)
I've had a Waterman pen for over 15 years now and I've just ordered what will be my third converter. I use the pen every day, so you can work out how long they last. The problem with the two previous ones is that eventually the seal where it pushes into the nib unit splits. When it does ink will leak back into the pen casing, through the screw joint and out all over your hands.

Alas there isn't any other choice, except for using cartridges. I used to find I was forever buying them with my previous pen, so I prefer ink bottles. So, I love my Waterman pen, the quality is excellent and it writes really well. The quality of the converter is great too, - except for the pathetic little plastic seal which will go. So, when you see tell tail little ink droplets on the converter when you fill it, take it out and check the seal carefully. If there's even the hint of a little split stop using it and get a new one.

Otherwise you may end up in an important meeting suddenly looking like you're back in primary school after a handwriting lesson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars refill waterman, 25 Jun 2011
This review is from: Waterman Standard Convertor (Office Product)
This is just stunning item if you dont want to buy catriges. As we know the point of having fountain pen is to refill yourself, Isnt it?

Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful product, 2 Mar 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterman Standard Convertor (Office Product)
Works well. I can now fill the pen from an ink pot, as opposed to having it out of commission for weeks when I forget to buy the not inexpensive and be spoke cartridges that I used to use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I hate being stuck with cartridges.........., 9 July 2013
By 
Pyewacket "czarnowice" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterman Standard Convertor (Office Product)
in one colour so this is why I bought this Convertor.

I have Waterman Inks in Green and Purple and am just about to remove the cartridge that came with the fountain pen and fill the Convertor with Purple Ink.

It's easy to do.........you just twist the top of the Convertor and then draw the ink up.

Voila, job done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Ink filler Ever, 27 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterman Standard Convertor (Office Product)
Was a bit dubious about the "luxury" part of this converter - after all what more could a luxury one do. Well!! The ink filling process is so much less fiddly and much more smooth. Get less ink leakage and overall works great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 17 Nov 2011
By 
Karl Grosvenor (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterman Standard Convertor (Office Product)
This is a good little gadget that allows people to use bottled ink instead of cartridges and it works a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap improvement to a fountain pen, 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterman Standard Convertor (Office Product)
I have two Waterman pens that I regularly use and (after trialling one) have had a converter in both for the past 3 years. The bottles of ink work out cheaper than cartridges and with the cost of the converter factored in it's only a couple of bottles or so before you've made a saving. That's if the cost of ink is the issue, which for me it wasn't especially. There's something satisfying (if antiquated) about refilling a fountain pen, and it makes it somehow complete in a way that a pen that takes cartridges is not. As for the function of the pen, well it remains essentially the same, although the converter's volume is less than that of a cartridge so you'll find yourself refilling more frequently; it's a process that requires a bit of time and a steady hand so may not always be convenient. It never fails to attract curious and amused glances from anyone in the vicinity, as obviously it's a rather quaint or even bizarre thing to be spotted doing these days, but if you can live with that then I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fastand efficient service and an excellent product, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterman Standard Convertor (Office Product)
I chose the standard converter because I have three Waterman pens but one of them was a cartridge pen and I had difficulty in obtaining the cartridges. I am now very happy with all my pens,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it says on the tin., 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterman Standard Convertor (Office Product)
Just that it holds ink, releases it onto the paper, and doesn't fall out of the pen. What more could you ask for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Waterman Standard Convertor
£4.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews