Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums of 2002
In many respects this is the strongest Nightwish release to date.The production has improved and the songs are more subtle.It is also stylistically different in many ways.Both the lyrics and sound are more Melancholic than before.Apparently this is largely due to songwriter Tuomas having a bad year.
This is the first album to use bassist Marco in place of Sami.He...
Published on 21 Jan 2003

versus
4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where do you beguin...
It's a rock album, it's a classical album, it may even be classed as a gothic band. This group from Finland are unique. Soaring female vocals can't help but remind you of bands like Evanescence and Within Temptation, but the songs themselves seem like outdated rock tunes that contain very little emotion within themselves.
I've heard the other albums by Nightwish,...
Published on 19 Sep 2003 by J. Pouteaux


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums of 2002, 21 Jan 2003
By A Customer
In many respects this is the strongest Nightwish release to date.The production has improved and the songs are more subtle.It is also stylistically different in many ways.Both the lyrics and sound are more Melancholic than before.Apparently this is largely due to songwriter Tuomas having a bad year.
This is the first album to use bassist Marco in place of Sami.He also sings in a couple of songs (Dead to the World and Feel for you).I like his vocals though Tony from Sonata Arctica may have been even better,as was intended at one point.Especially on the cover of Phantom of the Opera,which somehow does not suit Marco's voice.
Standout tracks include Bless the Child,Slaying the Dreamer and Everdream.However by far the best song is the closer `Beauty of the Beast`.A brilliant ten minuite epic in three parts.This is my faviroute Nightwish track,as well as my faviroute song of 2002.The first part `Long lost Love` was composed by Marco.It shows that he is a gifted songwriter,maybe as good as Tuomas.The second part `One more night to live` contains the climax of the song between about five and eight minuites in.Cristabel,the last part,is the repition of a theme with some narration before fading out and gives the song symmetry as it is a similar tempo to the first part.
`Forever yours` is the ballad of the album.Certain similarities with `My heart will go on` are obvious.However it is by no means a rip off of that song.This song has,in my opinion,the best lyrics on this album.
Although there are no weak tracks `Ocean Soul` and `Feel for You` are not quite as good as the others.There is nothing wrong with them,they just fail to keep my attention as much as the others.Phantom of the Opera is not quite as good as it could be.As I mentioned previously Marco's vocals could be better.In particular in the last minuite.
If you are new to Nightwish,although this is an excellent album I reccomend Wishmaster or Oceanborn first.These are the most consistent and have more immediate effect than this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Majestic Epic, 26 Oct 2004
By 
P. Brunton (Lancaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
To put it simply this album is truly sublime. I've listened to all of Nightwish's albums many times over, and Century Child is the one that really captured me. For those who don't know, Nightwish are bassically Operatic Metal. If that sounds odd, it's because it is, but hey, it works! For those who do know Nightwish, and are wondering which album to buy, I'd say that Century Child really does stand out as the best. From the beautiful flute accompianaments of Forever Yours to the full speed keyboard and guitar driven audio assault that is Dead To The World, this album is filled with powerful, emotionally evocative music that is, consistantly, beautifully executed. The vocals are spot on, both male and female, and the lyrics are as intriguing and exciting as always. However it's the music that really takes this one a step above Nightwish's other works, with some truly magnificent song arrangements. And of course Nightwish's famous hallmark, the 'strange but intriguing choice of cover song' is fully present and corrent in the form of 'La Triviata' from Phantom Of The Opera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The beast is awakening, 21 Jun 2008
By 
Twitch (Southern England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Century Child (Audio CD)
Century child is the 4th studio album from the mighty Nightwish. It is a dark album which, Tuomas described in interviews at the time `as the album that saved his life'. He was going through depression at the time, which is quite evident in the music you will hear. If you have listened to all of the Nightwish albums thus far you will hear the progression of the band, as each album they release all the way up to DPP is musically more epic and powerful than all the previous releases. Tuomas had not yet got to work with a proper orchestra yet however was able to work with the Joensuu city orchestra on 5 tracks meaning there are an extra 32 musicians at work. This album is another glimpse of the greatness that will come...

During the recording of the album there was a line up change where original bassist Sami Vanska, who worked with them on the Oceanborn and Wishmaster albums, was asked to leave the band. Tuomas said that they wanted to get a more proficient bassist and a male vocalist to add more depth to the music. This is how they came to hire Marco Hietala who was well known in the Finnish music scene for his powerful vocals with his band Tarot, he was also a great bass player and so they could by hiring him "kill to birds with one stone" a quote Tuomas gave at the time.

The album itself is in my opinion at least is an amazing creation with 3 of their best ever songs, and many others that are great as well.

1) Bless the Child- A great song that starts with a spoken introduction by Sam Hardwick, the same boy who spoke the final verse of the song dead boy's poem from the Wishmaster album. I has a nice vocal melody and a good guitar beat that is backed by a nice symphonic sound. A good opening track. 8.4/10

2) End of All Hope- A good song that has a good beat but not the most creative chorus in the world. Has a nice guitar solo if you can call it that, it's just too small, needed to be prolonged. 7.6/10

3) Dead to the World- A decent song that is radio friendly and has some nice lyrics and is also the first time you hear Marco on the album. His vocal style somehow works with Tarja even though she is clearly the better vocalist. 7.5/10

4) Ever Dream- One of the best tracks on the album and has some beautiful lyrics to accompany the beautiful music. Nice guitar riff and synth sounds, as well as well as spine tingling backing vocals from Marco. 9.1/10

5) Slaying the Dreamer- This is an angry song that utilizes Marco's Powerful voice to express this. My interpretation of this song is that it's about greed and the evils of money hence the lines
"You bastards tainted my tool,
Raped my words played me fool,
Gather your precious glitter
And leave me be"

There is also reference to vampires,
"Put a stake through my heart!
And drag me into sunlight,
So awake your greed
As your slaying the dreamer".

A great song and one of my favorites off the album, with a great beat that leads into Marco's vocals, a definite head banger at live shows and at home by yourself. 8.9/10

6) Forever Yours- A beautiful soft song that is the ballad of the album. Nice lyrics and slow soft music that compliment the song and that has a surprising amount of power. 7.7/10

7) Ocean Soul- A good song that somehow feels like an album filler. Don't get me wrong its good just not the best Nightwish have ever done. One of the more forgettable tracks but doesn't bring down the overall quality of the album. 6.3/10

8) Feel For You- Like ocean soul its good just not amazing, the best thing about this are Marco's vocals that are strong and are accompanied by a decent beat. 6.4/10

9) Phantom of the Opera- The best musical song of all time that has the amazing- don... don don don don don (sorry couldn't help it). Nightwish do a good job but the vocals in the end when Marco screams "sing for me, my angel of music"; seem underdone as Tarja voice just doesn't resonate from the speakers as you would expect. Listen to their version on End of an Era (9/10) much more powerful and overall a better performance. This version only, 7.4/10

10) Beauty of the Beast- This is the epic track from the album and the best song for it, and at a length of 10:22 is split into 3 different parts. The vocals are beautiful and the lyrics amazing. The music is jaw dropping and at the time their most orchestral song. The melodical changes in the vocals and the music are fantastic and will give you the hairs and back thing. It has since been outdone by the musical scores on Once and Dark Passion Play, but is still epically gorgeous. 10/10

Bonus Tracks:

11) Lagoon- A decent enough track that has a nice vocal melody from Tarja. 7.2/10

12) The Wayfarer- Another decent track. This is the faster of the two bonus tracks. 7/10

Overall Rating 7.25

A beautiful album that is well worth the price. You won't be disappointed if you buy it and if you're a Nightwish fan will find some of your favorite Nightwish songs so far. If you are new to the band I recommend you start with Angels Fall First or at the very least Oceanborn and work up album by album as you can hear the progression and evolution of the band. Another Masterpiece from one of the greatest music writers since the classical giants and a possible Hans Zimmer of the future. Tuomas I have no doubt could one day write a film score, I for one would love to see him working with Hans Zimmer on Pirates of the Caribbean 4 in the near future.

Notice
To all Amazonians please try out Savatage they are the most underrated band of all time, if you have good taste you will love them. Listen Now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Nightwish do it again!, 17 April 2005
By 
Quirkycat (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This was the third Nightwish album I bought ... (the first two being the amazing 'Once' and the dramatic 'Wishmaster') ... I can't say it's THE best, but it definitly ranks up there as one of their most brillant albums!
The stand out songs are 'End of all hope', which is a tirade against life, 'Feel for you', which has an amazing beginning, and 'Everdream', a lovely, epic of a song.
Oh, and 'Slaying the dreamer' ... this is the nearest a song gets to grabbing you around the throat and slamming you up against a wall ... then giving you a tender kiss. Honestly - I don't think I get tired of this song, ever!
'Phantom of the opera' might not be to everybody's taste, but I like it. If anyone saw the so-soish film version of the musical, and liked the title song there, trust me, Nightwish's version is much better. (It's darker, and more to the spirt of the novel, for one thing; Marco makes a demonic Phantom, and Tarja a very weird, warped Christine ... in a good way!)
But I'm rambling. This album really, really rocks, and I think any Nightwish fan - or someone new to them! - should definitly have this in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Nightwish album, and my favourite CD of 2002, 25 Mar 2003
By 
Michele Beltrame (Maniago, PN, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In my opinion, this is just the best Nightwish CD to date. I used to like also past ones, but I noticed that, after a while, they used to become a bit repetitive and, therefore, boring. This is perfect: the leading Tarja voice is absolutely incredible as usual, and Marco's parts are a well chosen addition.
There seems to be a lot of musical variation, comparing with past albums. The subgerne has been straightened down to back-to-the-roots Helloween-style power metal, as I like.
My favourite songs are End of all Hope (with that fantastic "no will to wake for this morn, to see another black rose born"), Bless the Child, Slaying the Dreamer, and Forever Yours. However, I really love them all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Brilliant!, 17 Dec 2007
By 
This review is from: Century Child (Audio CD)
I started listening to Nightwish completely by accident, and in all honesty, it's the best accident i've ever had! The lyrics are haunting and the music is breathtaking. This album was actually the third one i came to listen to and, despite the darker and gloomier tone, i still love it, and have listened to it nearly every day since i bought it. My fave tracks have to be forever yours, bless the child, ever dream and i love the phantom of the opera. Nightwish is simply one of the best bands ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best bands you have never heard of, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Century Child (Audio CD)
Let's first state I am not a fan at all of the way heavy metal has gone, most of which today I would not even classify as music. Being brought up on Sabbath and Purple who still had one foot in the blues, from Judas Priest and Iron Maiden onwards I lost interest, the music died. I had a brief daliance with Evanesence which struck me as different due to the female lead, but nothing since then has really interested me, until Nightwish.

Found them by accident on the BBC4 programme "Metal Evolution", apparently there is an European sub-genre called "Power Metal"(?), I have never really got into European metal either, I am sorry but Europe's "Final Countdown" just killed it all for me, however this band from Finland have struck a chord within me. Like Evanesence we have a female lead, however the difference is she is an operatically trained singer, and yes at last, there is some heavy metal music with music involved.

I have to say the band name is a bit pathetic, it is like they wanted to be called Wet Dream but didn't have the balls to carry it through so came up with an approximation, it is the sort of name that might put you off getting into them, please don't judge this book by its cover. This is the first album I have bought so can not enter into the whole "did the new bass player make a real difference?" argument. What I can say is that it is a perfect stepping on point. The music is so dramatic, has movie trailer music written all over it (especially "The End of All Hope" which could be used for any superhero film trailer), the sound field is vast and all encompassing and the mix of heavy metal and opera (very Wagnerian) is simply inspirational, after one listen of this album you feel you can do anything.

Highlights have to be "Ocean Soul", a track I just play over and over again and the magnificent version of Phantom of the Opera, probably the best song Andrew Lloyd Webber ever wrote, it has been begging for a HM make over and this is the band to do it, truly awesome. All that said, there really is not a bad track on the album, it has made me want to hear more (in fact I have just ordered "Wishmaster").

If you like your heavy metal just shouting, screaming and thrash chords you will not like this band, however, if (like me) you hark back to the time when music was actually involved, you will not be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Haunting..., 14 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Century Child (Audio CD)
I'd only just discovered this symphonic metal band and found this cd to be a very impressive musical offering. Tarja's vocals were haunting, melodic, emotive and soaring whilst the band were a tight unit and the lyrics beautiful. 'Bless the Child', is a terrific opener, whilst the second track, 'End of all Hope', is one of the most operatic songs on the album. The song, 'Ever Dream' is quite possibly the most beautiful song on here, along with 'Ocean Soul'. The album continues to rock with songs like 'Slaying the Dreamer', the ominous, 'Phantom of the Opera', and the magnificant closer, 'Beauty of the Beast'. If this output is anything to go by, I'll definitely be trawling through their back-catlogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars don't read this review - just buy the cd now!!!, 1 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Century Child (Audio CD)
Being a fan of nightwish and already owning a couple of their albums I went out and bought this.
It's not good - it's amazing! All the songs are brilliantly composed with beautiful keyboards and awesome guitar work to create what is probably the band's best album to date.
Best tracks-
Dead to the World: Outstanding vocals from both Tarja (singer) and Marco (bass) and insanely fast keyboard playing from Tuomas. This track is also a favourite at concerts. One of the best songs. Ever!
Beauty of the Beast: A 10 minute song split into 3 parts (?). Absolutely brilliant: too good for words. Anyone who knows what music is will agree this track is AWESOME!!
Overall: 10/10 easy! IF you want to hear what music means, buy this. Now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evenescence? i think not!, 16 Mar 2005
Ok, so everyone is talkin about Finnland's hotest export, but is it all hype? I first heard Nightwish nearly 4 years ago when i bought Century Child on a whim, but what a whim it was! Tarja's voice is possibley the most beautiful sound ever made. Heavily influenced by the legandry european acts such as Lacuna Coil and In Flames. This album starts of with the captivating and atmospheric "Bless the child" and takes you on an epic journey all the way to the final song, the most epic of all, "Beauty of the beast". This 10 minute song has three seperate songs all linked musically and lyrically and is a masterpiece! This band is big and there's a reason why! Fated to rank alongside Black Sabbath, Iron Maiden, The Beatles, Rolling Stones, Led Zepplin and other greats. Don't believe me? Buy it and see for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Century Child
Century Child by Nightwish (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews