Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I adore this film
This video is a must for all Jim Carrey fans-it is full of classic Carrey cliches (of which I have learnt them all) and it is absolutely hilarious. I think that these 2 films-When nature calls and Pet Detective-are the best films Jim Carrey has done and I could watch them over and over again and not get bored. Amazingly witty and at a great price too, buy it!
Published on 4 Oct. 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Had to have them. Funny.
Remember these from VHS, had to buy them on DVD. funny Movies.
Purchased movies so my children can see them. they also thought the movies were fun.
Published 19 months ago by Leif B. Johansen


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I adore this film, 4 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This video is a must for all Jim Carrey fans-it is full of classic Carrey cliches (of which I have learnt them all) and it is absolutely hilarious. I think that these 2 films-When nature calls and Pet Detective-are the best films Jim Carrey has done and I could watch them over and over again and not get bored. Amazingly witty and at a great price too, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A double dose of Ace and a little of Animated Ace too, 5 May 2011
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Ace Ventura is the movie that really kick-started the careers of Jim Carrey and, to a lesser extent, Courtney Cox although it is Carrey who makes this movie all his own by his wild and energetic performance as a half-insane Pet Detective. In case you're wondering that's a detective who tracks down missing animals. Ace is a great character, with his wacky clothes, groovy swagger, wild hair (LOVE that do) and unpredictable behavior. He's a page right out of Howlin' Mad Murdock's biography.

Courtney Cox plays a boss for the Miami Dolphins who hires Ace to find their missing cetacean mascot Snowflake. They can't play without having their mascot y' know. It's paper thin and despite lasting about 85 minutes, it is kinda stretched too far.

What could have been a half decent plot soon descends into lame-brain juvenile humor as Ace does his class clown bit, offends many people, and uncovers stupid and unfunny 'plot' twists. Tom Shadyac tries his best to make the film look colorful and vivid and, for the most part, succeeds but sometimes the production design looks a bit shoddy and I have no idea who allowed Sean Young to be in this movie. She's a terrible actress and makes every scene damn painful to watch. However, she is quite a MILF these days. Not in this movie though.

There are some funny scenes and easy to see why Carrey went on to become such a big star but compared to the rest of Carrey's career it's a bit of an insult to his talent. I prefer the sequel, even though Ace is a full blown lunatic in it and appears a tiny bit more normal and human in this one.

A fun movie to watch once in a long while. Not something to rely on for never-ending appeal.

If there was to be just one pop-culture character with 'franchise' written all over it, it would be Ace Ventura. After the sleeper hit that was the original, Ace is shipped off to Africa, via Tibet, to find the missing sacred animal of the peaceful Wachati tribe. It is supposed to be a wedding gift to the savage Wachutu tribe, marking the congregation of their people.

Ace is the best there is (the only there is) surely sending him to find the sacred bat (his most hated creature) is the 'right' thing to do. No matter how crazy he is. And how crazy indeed! This time around Jim Carrey goes completely wild as Ace. Any trace of an actual human that we saw before is surrendered to complete insanity. You can tell that Carrey is having the time of his life just ad-libbing and winging it. You can almost hear director Steve Oedekerk struggle to contain his laughter off-camera. There are even a few moments when Carrey himself almost cracks-up.

I prefer the sequel to the first for a few reasons. First of all the production design is far superior and the faux-African jungle (actually South Carolina) and tribal village colors really come alive. The widescreen photography gives the film a more expansive look than Tom Shadyac's original. Plus, it has a lot more animals, which I think is cool. You gotta love the 'alrighty then' meditation scene too.

Beside's the animated show (a few episodes are featured on this DVD set), there's been no more of Ace Ventura since. But don't rule him out. Carrey may be sick of being regarded as the guy who once made his anus talk, but I can only hope he'll do a third one day.

Warner really, REALLY ought to put this out on Blu Ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ace Ventura - Jim Carrey's finest creation?, 30 April 2009
By 
A. C. Delso - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ace Ventura: Pet Detective/Ace Ventura: When Nature Calls [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
The two Ace Ventura DVDs came in a budget package, which I decided to get when I realised my 12-year old had never seen Carrey in his earlier manifestation.

I reckoned, rightly, that the combination of physical humour, slapstick and mild smut would appeal and, in fact, we all sat through them in frequent fits of laughter, as did her schoolmates.

A little low-budget compared to 'The Mask' or 'The Truman Show', but worth owning - especially the first one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant but..., 14 Feb. 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Ace Ventura: Pet Detective/Ace Ventura: When Nature Calls [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
The Ace Ventura films are SO funny, and it's DEFINATLY worth having. But -WARNING- there is something you sould know. Ace Ventura 2 (when nature calls {which I think is funnier}) is played in the UK version and in that version they cut out some of the best jokes. To fully enjoy this you must get no.2 from the USA. But if you are a parent with young kids, get this one...
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Putting the ACE back into these 2 classic films. Great Value Box set., 10 Aug. 2011
By 
T. BROOKES "Brookey" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ace Ventura: Pet Detective/Ace Ventura: When Nature Calls [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
You will know of the films so no need to go on about how funny and excellent they were/are. They are great as a memento and kids should love the wacky Carey at his best, complete with visual and animal gags.

This Box-set is awesome for fans, with 1&2 in a nice boxed, hard card sleeve. For £4.39 it is great value, sent with PRIME (next-day) in secure packaging.

Ace Ventura 1 = Subtitled in French, Italian, Dutch, Spanish, Portuguese, German, Romanian, Bulgarian & Arabic. It is Widescreen with Dolby Surround sound, but has a basic menu. 1994 83 mins

Ace Ventura 2 = less subtitles (just Romanian, Arabic and Bulgarian).

Two great films, a nice collectors box-set at a budget price. Enjoy. Alrighty then I will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Belly full of laughs, 25 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ace Ventura: Pet Detective/Ace Ventura: When Nature Calls [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
When you see the name jim carrey you know your in for a treat. His rubber face and ability to move and rotate his tall frame and never faulter is amazing.
Loved both these films and as much as i adore this actor i detested his film cable guy.
I first knew of jim carrey when he played lead role in The Mask and at that time i thought alot of the facial features he pulled was trick of the camera. Now its just his sheer genius and ability to entertain the way he does makes him a winner with me. Dumb and Dumber was fantastic but its up to anyone how far you can take his wicked but crude sometimes sense of humour. Arrived on time and in good condition and as always entertained me for hours as he does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ace Ventura: Pet Detective/Ace Ventura: When Nature Calls [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
The dvd box set arrived within a couple of days, and I was notified by Amazon of it's delivery. It came sealed and both DVD's in perfect working order. The films themselves are hilarious, and a must watch for anyone who didn't grow up watching these! I bought them for my 13 year old sister, as she's seen the first and loves it. Highly recommended, amazing films, excellent seller and service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Who Couldnt Love This, 11 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ace Ventura: Pet Detective/Ace Ventura: When Nature Calls [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
It's Jim Carrey at his best!
i've watched both of these dvd's at least 15-20 times and i still find myself laughing out loud. Now maybe people would argue this may be due to my taste in humour. But i dare anyone to watch it and not laugh at least once. Its not even just laughing its laughing with tears streaming down your cheeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "..COMEDY GOLD..", 1 May 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ace Ventura: Pet Detective/Ace Ventura: When Nature Calls [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
These are fantastic family comedies full of hilarious antics from Jim Carrey when he was in his prime, these are two of his greatest movies ever!! Ace Ventura is a very funny ride with great stories and will always be very memorable after watching, bargain price comedy gold!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars classic carrey, 1 Oct. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ace Ventura: Pet Detective/Ace Ventura: When Nature Calls [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
these 2 films are what made Jim Carrey the big name he is today. My 8 yr old son loves these kind of films because they are easy to follow and a million laughs. It made since to get the double pack because they are both good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ace Ventura: Pet Detective/Ace Ventura: When Nature Calls [DVD] [2007]
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews