Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not WoW, Don't even bother comparing.
As far as all the comparisons people seem to be making go, this is nothing even remotely like WoW.

This is a PvP orientated game, but having said that, it doesn't push that marketing point until you hit level 20. Before that, it's all PvE which is good, it starts gentle.
The cap is level 50 so far, so it's a fair sized start before you meet the factor...
Published on 26 Oct. 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An old school grinder but the genre has moved on
I played the open beta, then headstart and now retail, but I'm not renewing my subs after the first inclusive month. The reason is that I've discovered what a huge grind fest and time sink this game represents. The early levels are great fun but like so many recent MMOs these seem aimed more at creating a good first impression for reviewers and new players, rather than...
Published on 27 Oct. 2009 by Martin Eager


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An old school grinder but the genre has moved on, 27 Oct. 2009
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aion (PC) (Video Game)
I played the open beta, then headstart and now retail, but I'm not renewing my subs after the first inclusive month. The reason is that I've discovered what a huge grind fest and time sink this game represents. The early levels are great fun but like so many recent MMOs these seem aimed more at creating a good first impression for reviewers and new players, rather than setting a standard for what's to come. Once you hit level 30 (the cap is 50) you hit a huge wall, the levelling curve climbs like a mountain and the game becomes one big grind. All aspects of the game have a huge time and money sink requirement. At higher levels even dying once will set you back many hours of progress. Quest xps form only a tiny part of your progress. Even when this is addressed in a future patch players will still need to grind through vast numbers of mobs to level. You cannot level via PvP, the xp gains from PvP kills are tiny.

All MMOs are about grinding of course, it's a feature of the genre. But in a good MMO you're often not aware you're grinding because you're having fun. A good MMO eats up the hours in a day because you can't get enough of it. Aion eats up the hours, period. It feels like a job. Part of the problem is that there's little variety in gameplay while you're levelling, so you become acutely aware of the grind.

The positives:

* The game is pretty polished and largely free of any show stopping bugs, at least in PVE as I hear that crashes in mass PvP are common.
* All the classes are fun to play and level, though some have an easier time than others (as usual in MMOs, ranged dps seems to have the upper hand).
* The character generator has a lot of scope for making some interesting looking characters (though sadly most players end up making pretty generic looking toons).
* Flight and aerial combat is handled in an interesting way. Unfortunately the classes are not balanced for aerial combat (yet again ranged dps has a significant advantage)
* Mobs are very agressive. Some may see this as a negative, but it does at least give you a sense of achievement if you survive one of the many bad
situations the game will throw at you.

The negatives:

* No originality of content. The design is a patchwork of ideas 'borrowed' from other MMOs and literary mythology. Storylines are generally dull and
derivative and there's a distinct lack of humour (the legendary Tutty being one of the few exceptions).
* Repetitive grindy gameplay. Mob AI is dull and the quests are the usual 'kill 100 beetles' or run all over the map gathering type. We've seen it all
before and Aion doesn't even attempt to innovate.
* There's no incentives for grouping, in fact you will make more progress solo. Content aimed at groups is pretty limited in scope and choice. This is unforgiveable in a MMO.
* There's too few mechanisms and incentives for building a community. In fact some aspects positively disrupt community, for example my legion (guild) has had to split into three because there's a 90 character limit on membership.
* PVP comes in two flavours, ganking and being ganked. Before the endgame there are no opportunities for sandboxed PvP (such as battlegrounds or RvR lakes)
so getting a fair fight is usually impossible. For a game which claims PvP is a focus this is a real let down.
* The game is totally infested with bots and gold spammers. They are already destroying the community and economy and NCsoft aren't clamping down strong
enough. There are many blatant bots with obvious names who have reached high levels and are farming 24/7 yet no action is taken against them despite
repeated reports.
* The crafting system is a total lottery with success based on pure luck rather than skill.
* The game zones are generally quite dull, very linear and formulaic, there's no eyepopping scenery that makes you feel you really want to explore.
* Only two sides makes for rather boring PvP (though since both sides have exactly the same classes at least there's no factional balance issues).
* Customer support is very poor. You can only contact support during normal office hours, which means there is no support during evening primetime. This
just isn't acceptable in a game with a monthly subscription.

Aion is an old school grinder of a MMO. The developers seem to have failed to recognise that the genre has moved on and I'm not sure who they are hoping to
appeal to. Old school MMO players have seen it all before and probably don't want to go through another major grind in a game again (I know I don't). Newer
MMO players who probably only have WoW as a benchmark will run screaming at the very prospect of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not WoW, Don't even bother comparing., 26 Oct. 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aion (PC) (Video Game)
As far as all the comparisons people seem to be making go, this is nothing even remotely like WoW.

This is a PvP orientated game, but having said that, it doesn't push that marketing point until you hit level 20. Before that, it's all PvE which is good, it starts gentle.
The cap is level 50 so far, so it's a fair sized start before you meet the factor which decides, for a lot of people, whether they will stay or leave. Unlike other MMORPGs that I've played, built solely around massive PvP (by that I mean over 100 people in a single fight), Aion gives plenty of quests and makes the whole leveling experience a lot less of a grind than your average Korean MMO. It's a lovely thing to have, and gives it much more of an appeal to me at least.

Being PvP based, you will find that sometimes it's hard to quest because you're being killed by enemy players. But fortunately that doesn't happen too often so far, so your introduction to the higher level community is quite gentle at 20. Without meaning to sound elitist, it does take a little perserverance to keep going through all the ganking and quest distractions and work you way up, until you can be one of those people who can take the fight back to them, or come to the aid of the lower levels that are getting ganked while they're leveling.

Personally I prefer the PvP based model, I find it bonds the community better, even if you do still get the stupid squabbling on the main chat channels, but in the heat of it, people will pull together to repel the enemy. But I also know plenty of people who don't like this type of MMO, and that's fine too. If you've never tried a PvP orientated MMORPG, I'd say this would be a good chance to give it a shot, especially seeing as Aion is an absolutely beautiful game, but that's hardly surprising being that it is run on the Crytek engine.

One final note is that, it's not solely a PvP game, it's technically PvPvE, and as far as I've seen this means that while you're battling it out with opposing players, it also means you have NPCs to contend with. So while you're fighting off players, you're also fighting mobs at the same time, keep in mind that the mobs will attack both sides, so your enemy is going through the same troubles as you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Aion Review, 30 Jan. 2011
By 
Philip Douglas (europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aion (PC) (Video Game)
For people that have never played mmo games before aion is a very easy and straight forward game to get into, there is alot of things to keep the player busy and the flying and graphics in the game have been done very well, the mini videos for some quests add more uniquenes to aion than any other mmo game about just now.

Aion is a good game to play if u have the hours and time to level up through grinding, but there are some faults, the quests do get a bit like playing any other mmo, quests feel like your doing a quest handing in the quest then going bk to the same area to collect and this can go on for 3 or 4 times till u complete the npc quests, there is lack of dungeons and the monsters and other characters in the game could possibly have been a lot harder to defeat, leveling up is pretty easy in this game aswell and there is not much PVP, through my time in aion it took me up to level 30 till i thought the game started to even get to the stage where my character was struggling through quests and the monsters where been a challange.

Overall Rating: 8/10
Graphics: 9/10
Gameplay: 7/10
Worth the money: 50/50
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly average, 5 Jun. 2011
By 
M. Stratton "Mikeyy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aion (PC) (Video Game)
Despite all the hype, this game fails to live up to the expectations.

I gave this game about a month of good gameplay to give it a fair chance however I never felt truly amazed by any of the features.

The characters controls and movement felt a bit rigid and the questing was very basic. Some good spell/attack animations and quite interesting story within the game.

Still a relatively good game, just don't set expectations too high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Aion, 31 Oct. 2009
By 
G. Smith "Gazsmith" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aion (PC) (Video Game)
Well having played worold of warcraft for 3 years was so hard getting used to new buttons and quests. The Map is good and points to quest locations. I found the gameplay itself a little slow.

Got to admit the skills for making things such as armor are a pain to get used to infact I gave up in the end so boring but the gameplay for questing is pretty ok overall but I shall not be renewing my monthly subs for now anyway.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Aion - amazing or annoying, 20 Oct. 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aion (PC) (Video Game)
Ive played this game for quite some time now, and i really do enjoy most parts of it.

Personally i think that if you are planning on buying this game, wait a couple of months. At the moment Aion is in a devilish state of limbo, one minuite you hate it the next you love it.

But this is common for any new game, just like when WoW hit the shelves years back, it wasnt perfect on day one, and people get angry. I adivse you wait until christmas, hopefully by then alot of the server issues and race distribution will be more balanced. Rome wasnt built in a day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars cool scenery, 20 Feb. 2010
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aion (PC) (Video Game)
Positives. Graphically it is great the scenery is diverse and beautiful to look at. Action moves give the feel of power. Leveling can be quite a challenge if you are new, but once you get used to the moves it is ok.

Negatives. BOTS! there are gold sellers in towns, but that is the same with most of these games.

This game is a PVP game, so don't buy it if u don't like getting ganked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I think people should review their reviews tbh., 21 Oct. 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aion (PC) (Video Game)
Reading all the reviews for Aion, has made me want to write one myself, and defend Aion's case.

I don't think any of the reviews are fair what so ever, as they all seemingly appear to be based on the pre-release version of Aion, or very early into the release at best.

I just started playing Aion about 2 weeks ago, and I have to say that every minute I have spent on it I have been nothing but amazed.
I don't like how people in some reviews have been heavily slating the fact that Aion has had a few teething problems within the pre-release versions, and around release. I think these are extremely unfair comments to make, as everybody that plays MMOs know, every MMO is going to have hickups at the start; and according to everyone I've spoke to that has played WoW from the beginning, WoW to had problems. And besides, what do you expect within a PRE-RELEASE/BETA product? It's not going to be perfect is it? and anyone that signs up to them shouldn't be stupid enough to expect it to be perfect. The other complaint I keep hearing is the server queue times. Fair enough, I can see why it would be annoying. But again, what do you expect? It's a highly anticipated MMO.... M M O!! The first "M" meaning MASSIVELY. This means A LOT of players. Most mmo developers can't even anticipate how many people are going to be signing up on day 1. All they can go by is the pre-orders and the players on pre-release (which is probably one of the reasons they even do a pre-release). Imagine if they didn't have that! You will never know how many people are going to buy the game on day of release, and server queue times could have been up to around 10 hours! Sure, they might have seemed slow in fixing the problem. But you can't expect them to have more servers set up and ready to go within 5 minutes can you?

Well after my little rant, all I can now say is that besides the odd bugged quests in the early part of the game (which actually work on a different channel), pretty much all the problems brought up in the other reviews, have been fixed. I have had nothing but pure fun and enjoyment from Aion.
The only thing which may make this review irrelevant to a lot of you, is that I haven't played WoW (not properly, at least). I've played it for a week or so on a trial, and watched a lot of friends play it. So i can't start comparing the two games (which might actually be refreshing to some people).

I have however, been a hooked Final Fantasy XI ONLINE player, and a Phantasy Star Online player. So I do know what an MMO is and how it should play. And I can say that for me, Aion has hit it right on the mark. It still has those typical MMO quests of "collect 10 of these, kill 15 of them, and come back to me for a present" throughout the game, but they are nonetheless new and challenging. And regardless of whether you have been playing WoW for the past 3 years or whatever, it's a new world, with new characters, and new abilities, so you are still going to experience that "new" feeling and the accomplishment. But then, when you hit level 20, you're shot into the world where your allies and the enemy can meet at any time through the Rift system. You could be getting on with a quest quietly, when all of a sudden a portal (rift) will open up just in front of you, and 20 of your PvP enemies will come running at you full force. Nothing is more exhilarating than announcing where these enemies have appeared on the chat system, and having an army appear to resurrect you and chase down these unwanted guests that have entered your world.

I'm in work at the moment so i'm going to end my review there before I get caught :P Which also means i wont be reading over and correcting errors. So I apologize for that.
But there is so much more that I have missed out and would love to write about this game. I'm sure IGN or some other review site can fill you in on the massive gameplay features that I don't have time to write about.

So in short, any problems that were around at the start (queue times, gold spammers, etc etc) have all been sorted and fixed. And the game itself, well in my opinion, it deserves a great 10/10. I'm absolutely loving it. So buy it, and make a decision for yourself :)

-John
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Promising but comes with a lot of excess baggage, 29 Sept. 2009
By 
Tom Sawyer "--ijp--" (Peacehaven, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aion (PC) (Video Game)
Update as of 16th January 2010:
Well the original review still stands except that due to the mass exodus of players from the game, the queues are history. Now what is killing players enthusiasm is the endless grinding required after level 30. Add to that the developer's inability and intransigence towards gold sellers and bots and you have a pretty poor offering overall.

Major problems now are:

1. Lack of levelling content - especially for level 30+, exacerbated by the exponential increase in require XP to reach higher levels
2. Poor combat mechanics specifically mob & kill stealing
3. Crafting is almost a real time activity and wastes hours trying to proc that elusive blue bit of gear
4. Gold sellers & Bots - NCSoft appear to condone their operations by not acting to prevent them. Players using BOT programs are commonplace and reporting them to NCSoft has no effect whatsoever
5. Lack of Game Support from the Devs
6. PvP is seriously broken in the abyss since lower levels are contantly ganked by cruising higher levels just out to wreck others gameplay.
7. The appalling attitude of some of the players in the game, many of whom appear to be from Continental Europe but some of the worst being from our very own shores.

I know of whole legions who have been reduced to single figure memberships in the last 6 weeks due to players quitting and cancelling accounts and not even playing out their remaining paid for game time.

I too have now quit and I really tried to like the game. Having played 5 different classes all up to lvl 25 (two of which are levelled beyond lvl 35) I can say hand on heart, this is not the game for me since the same problems occur in every class once you need to get into the Abyss to make up the vast vacuum of XP from the lack of non Abyss quests.

A shame for a game that promised so much but failed to transition form a Korean Style MMO to one more suited to the European market

**********************
Original review below:

I purchased this game and played the betas and had the Headstart as part of my pre purchase bonus. I found the betas to be interesting but the gamplay linear in terms of plot lines and therefore story progression and gameplay very derivative i.e. the same principles as other already successful MMORPGs.

Pre-select and Headstart were disasterous on many levels... servers crashing then getiing filled to capacity leaving no room to create the race of your choice on your chosen server. This immediately caused problems for Legions that were hoping to start up and had already recruited members off line away from the game.

Headstart issues continued with stupidly long game access times due to poor Developer server management. These resulted in queues to enter the game often in excess of 90 mins. Developer support was patchy at most absent at best.....

along comes the day that the game went completely live and once again we now all find ourselves with queues to play the game, often in excess of 2 hours and nothing in the way of a solution from the developers other than to suggest we reroll a new chr and level again on a newer and therefore quieter server. Oh and there is no means of migrating chrs at this stage from one server to another. So in effect this is no solution.

And that is the current state of play as i write this having queued for 3hrs and 26 mins finally achieving game access at 2255hrs.

To cut to the chase:

1. Aion looks pretty, but some of the textures are very poorly rendered even on highest graphical quality.
2. Chr animations are eclectic. For instance running the animation is quite bizarre, but in combat a lot of attention to detail has been paid to making the moves stylistic and visually stunning.
3. Gameplay is repetitive in style and after levelling to 21 I find myself tiring of killig x numbers of beast y, or collecting x amount of plant y and so on.
4. Kill stealing and Quest Mob killing/Quest Item looting is a real issue. There appears to be a situation whereby if another player causes more damage to a mob you have already engaged in combat, the kill is awarded to them. This is very frustrating, exacerbated by the apparently huge number of bad mannered, arrogant and damnright rude players that appear to have adopted Aion.
5. Wait times and Disconnects are issues that will kill the game. Forums are alive with players stating they are quitting or unlikely to renew after the end of their initial subscription period.
6. Poor support from the developers is causing real resentment in the community and again comments made in foums could kill the game in a simialr fashion to some of the other recently failed MMORPGs.

Would I recommend this game? Not at the moment...
Will I still be playing it in a years time? Unlikely....
Will the developers provide a solution to the current issues anytime soon? I personally don't think they are able to....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lag, poor customer sevice,what a shame, 26 Oct. 2009
By 
d rippon "rippon" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aion (PC) (Video Game)
Having been a wow player for a few years, i was looking for a new game and first impressions with Aion were good,got to level 10 easy and made my way to 20 but it was at this point and the release of new patches that i started having trouble ,latency in to the 10s of thousands which made the game unplayable, rubber banding was another issue and no customer sevice help. when they did reply it was to blame my isp, while another support person told me it was a problem there end,one realm i had latency 368909 while on a new realm that had just been opened i had latency 128 which makes you wonder how many people were playing on the first realm.
We all expect a bit of lag the first month of a new game as there are so many new players, but aion(ncsoft) just kept on packing players in to each of the servers.
If they can sort out the issues then this could be a great game, but having read a few forums i think that ncsoft are just going to wait for people to leave and hopefully that will sort the latency issue out for them, one gaming site had people leaving at 40% after free month.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aion (PC)
Aion (PC) by NCSoft (Windows Vista / XP)
£4.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews