Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing wrong with 15 minute jams..., 10 May 2008
By 
Mr. P. Ferris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: E.S.T. - Live in Hamburg (Audio CD)
I'm going to give this album 5 stars for the same reason that everybody else seems to have left it at 4.
I think EST really are one of the greatest groups currently operating in any genre, and I think this album shows them functioning at their brilliant best. I can appreciate 17 minutes of "Definition of a Dog" is not to everyone's taste, but I love the sense of free-wheeling anarchy that courses through it - you can feel the band having a great time, and I couldn't help but be drawn in. These giant jam-session tracks (namely the aforementioned "Definition of a Dog" and "Behind the Yashmak" are not as deep and complex as some of the other things on here, such as the beautiful "Tuesday Wonderland" and my personal favourite "Dolores In A Shoestand," but they aren't trying to be. Remember this is a live gig, and in front of a crowd as appreciative as this, you have to let your hair down a bit!
All in all, this shows EST in a different setting - and I think it's all the better for it. It perfectly captures their spirit of unpredictability and is a real gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrific stuff!, 13 Oct 2007
By 
Yovra (Driebergen, Holland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: E.S.T. - Live in Hamburg (Audio CD)
The tracklisting should be like this:

1.'tuesday wonderland'
The proceedings start with one of the best tracks. Percussive and melodic. First-timer may have to get used to the fact that EST plays 'blocks' of three or tour tunes. So after a piano-interlude
2.'the rube thing' starts. One of the old concert-favourites of EST; quite bluesy.
3.where we used to live; a beautiful ballad from Tuesday Wonderland
4.eighthundred streets by feet; one of the most melodic jazz-tracks ever!
5.definition of a dog; this is the reason why I'm don't give five stars to this EST-release. I don't care much for the jam-based concert-favourites. They're a bit poor against the richness of the last few EST-albums (why no version of Viaticum or Serenade for the Renegade?).

2 CD Set-2
1.the goldhearted miner
2.dolores in a shoestand
3.sipping on the solid ground; a gorgeous ballad with a lyrical solo from Esbjorn; after an interlude (that sounds very much like something by Keith Jarrett) it goes straight into a rousing version of
4.goldwrap
5.behind the yashmak. See my remark about Definition of a Dog; some EST-fans will love this; I don't care much for it.

It's a beautiful recording and there are loads of melodies and concentrated jazz-making!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Acoustic Jamband shock, 24 Jun 2008
By 
Ianham "Ianham" (Ross-shire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: E.S.T. - Live in Hamburg (Audio CD)
I wish to second the appreciation of 13 min plus jams.
(1)they allow you to reach a full appreciation of the music whilst simultaneously allowing you sufficient time to qualf a foaming pint of ale without incurring excess wind."Definition of a dog" even allows you that extra half pint.
(2) Long jams discourage the casual ne'er do well's and light-weights - a simple process of sorting the men from the boys. "Delores in a shoestand" has the added bonus of the sort of phasing which usually gets the average jazz buff reaching for their graphic equalizer.
(3) It allows players to chance to compete with their peers on a musical basis thus removing the need to resort to illicit drugs and/or indulge themselves all-night shennanigans. Obviously the Grateful Dead are the exception that proves the rule.The opener "Tuesday Wonderland" comes on like Radiohead without the three moany gits on guitar (I realise that doesn't leave much of the band but you get my drift.)
(4) Miles liked long rambles and whatever Miles liked is fine by me.
(5) It aids restful sleep and cramming before exams - although hopefully not at the same time. I don't do exams so I tend to sleep a lot. Some may say this is a draw back but I like CD's that cause a certain drowsyness. It's not a criticism!
(6) It assists comfort breaks to be taken during concerts without ruining more than one tune - if you are one of the musicians you presumably have a catheter at the ready before embarking on your solo. "The rube thing" as as number two on the set list must have some bladders straining even at this early point in proceedings. To play this intensely one must undertake rigorous training and acquire serious muscle control.
(7)It takes you places -"Behind the Yashmak" for example takes me to a particularly smelly bazaar reminding me funnily enough of John Fahey's "In a Persian Market" even though they are musically dissimilar.

This is a great CD for all the right reasons - great tunes, fantastic playing, spot on recording, wonderful atmosphere. I must mention the quasi ECM style artwork that makes three ordinary blokes look cool and intellectual (It must be the reflex camera, mine always makes me look dim and vacant.)

I recommend this CD to the house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best jazz album of the decade (don't just take my word for it...), 17 Dec 2009
This review is from: E.S.T. - Live in Hamburg (Audio CD)
EST Live in Hamburg was recently named by The Times as the best jazz album of the decade (Nov 21 2009). And there's been a lot of great jazz albums released in the past 10 years so it's obviously an impressive compliment! But they're spot on. EST were very much the jazz band to watch until Esbjorn Svensson's untimely and tragic death in the summer 2008. Their music was incredibly beautiful yet refreshingly innovative, each album exploring new possibilities and taking jazz to new levels, and Live in Hamburg captures EST at the very height of their powers. It's a stunning performance from a band that live were nothing short of a phenomenon. Not only for the funky lighting and smoke machines, but for the sheer intensity and passion of their playing, as well as their incredible modesty - three more pleasant and unassuming guys you could not meet. As live albums go it's flawless - a great selection of standout tracks spanning their entire career and musicianship so exciting it will take your breath away (it did mine). So while it's hard to believe that EST are no more, this album - like the recently released "very best of" - stands as a monument to the very best jazz band of the noughties. They will be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EST had ESP......, 27 Mar 2012
This review is from: E.S.T. - Live in Hamburg (Audio CD)
I'm very late catching the train on E.S.T. having only just discovered their incredible jazz/rock/avant-garde/call-it-what-you-will via Youtube four years after Esbjorn Svennson's tragic death. Never the less I can now relish the prospect of a considerable catalog to explore.
The indefinably free quality of composition and performance that made parts of Radiohead's 'In Rainbows' so special to me is all over this album in spades. Such beautifully haunting and affecting arpegios, cycles, variations of cycles, and detours however, take that quality far beyond anything Radiohead have ever flirted with.
This live performance from 2007 contains quite simply some of the very best musicianship you are ever likely to hear. Virtually all the pieces here are 'jammed-out' longer than their studio recorded counterparts, but it certainly doesn't feel like pointless noodling, more like some kind of organic instantaneous re-composing; such was the talent and unspoken communication between these three guys. Just three guys!! : piano, bass, drums with occasional effects and keyboards - and yet such colour, dynamics, power.
One of the best live albums I've ever heard and a jazz revelation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful album, 15 April 2008
This review is from: E.S.T. - Live in Hamburg (Audio CD)
EST seem to get better and better and having seen them frequently in the past few years this album is a personal delight. Sure there are a few tracks where they get a little carried away and forget when to stop but this shouldn't detract if you use the skip button. The track Tuesday Afternoon is a delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding live concert !, 12 Feb 2010
By 
U. Bødtger "UBT" (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: E.S.T. - Live in Hamburg (Audio CD)
This album is one of the best recordings made by this excellent and outstanding Swedish Trio. EST offers the listener a wide range of sonar experiences: from contemplative emotions to rough off-beat, exploring both known and experimental features of the trio concept of modern jazz. I never get tired of listening to this album, which takes me on a very emotional journey every time. I can surely recommend this to every person who enjoys being challenged and moved by music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live Hamburg, 24 Jun 2008
This review is from: E.S.T. - Live in Hamburg (Audio CD)
Thank you , this is mesmerising music and something to be cherished. Wherever you are and whatever you're doing, stay with it. Esbjorn, Dan and Magnus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ESTablished again!, 30 Nov 2007
This review is from: E.S.T. - Live in Hamburg (Audio CD)
The most rewarding thing about the continuing rise about the EST is thatthey have not had to compromise their own musical ascen.dancy for popular acclaim,this is ESTat their best experimenting with longer tunes from their past albums in a live situatio, if you liked all their previous releases you will enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great performance, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: E.S.T. - Live in Hamburg (Audio CD)
Definitely one of the best live jazz recordings. Great trio, great solos, lots of inspiration. It's very sad not have them around
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

E.S.T. - Live in Hamburg
E.S.T. - Live in Hamburg by Esbjorn Svensson Trio (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews