Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As described
This is the standard fit Shimano freewheel used on many of the "cheaper" or lower end bikes. Unfortunately Shimano don't do lower ratio than the 14T on these though, you would need a cassette to go down as far as 11T. Good product, you'll need the freewheel tool to remove the old one (note that you cannot use a standard cassette tool on these as they don't fit - though...
Published on 9 Aug 2012 by Rob

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars When it's on -- it's stuck!
Good price and works fine. But only after tightening it up, I noticed there are no splines for the removal tool, so I don't think it's ever going to come off again. That means broken spoke = new wheel and new wheel = new block as well.
:-(
Published on 4 July 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As described, 9 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shimano 14-28 7 Speed Screw On Freewheel (Misc.)
This is the standard fit Shimano freewheel used on many of the "cheaper" or lower end bikes. Unfortunately Shimano don't do lower ratio than the 14T on these though, you would need a cassette to go down as far as 11T. Good product, you'll need the freewheel tool to remove the old one (note that you cannot use a standard cassette tool on these as they don't fit - though they look virtually the same). Just insert the tool into the centre and get a long spanner on the tool and unscrew. If it proves too tight then you can clamp the tool into a vice and turn the wheel for greater leverage (plenty of vids on Youtube for how to do this). To install simply screw on to the hub being careful not to cross thread it. You don't need to tighten fully as the action of pedalling will screw it onto the hub fully. The one this replaced lasted 3 years and around 5000 miles and I'm not very good at cleaning my bikes so it would likely last even longer if you keep the chain and gears well maintained (the teeth turned to razor teeth on the middle most used gears leading to chain slippage - I replaced the chain too. It's given my already cheap bike a new lease of life and for under £10 plus around £4 for the tool and £5 for the chain it's been well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works as Advertised, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shimano 14-28 7 Speed Screw On Freewheel (Misc.)
Replaced an old Shimano freewheel with this one. It was an easy replacement, and fitted perfectly.

Needs a Shimano Ug freewheel remover to fit it. The job's impossible without the right tool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shimano 14-28 7 Speed Screw On Freewheel (Misc.)
good standard product at reasonable price, works just fine, i tend to wear these out a lot, but it has lasted well in comparison to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sailent running, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shimano 14-28 7 Speed Screw On Freewheel (Misc.)
Great part, the bike runs silently when free wheeling, this and a new bike chain stopped my gears from slipping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars screw on free wheel., 30 Jun 2014
By 
S. Shah (wembley) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shimano 14-28 7 Speed Screw On Freewheel (Misc.)
good quality, works well. does what it says on the tin. if fitting yours elves, make sure ytou but he too to remove the old one and refit the enw freewheel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap price and standard quality, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shimano 14-28 7 Speed Screw On Freewheel (Misc.)
Nice one. It's just standard and will work up to some time so I'm just rolling to places with it. But going up the hill, you must change gear to lower, if you don't then the gear will skip again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shimano gear set, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shimano 14-28 7 Speed Screw On Freewheel (Misc.)
Well made and fitted within minutes.
Used with Shimano Derailleur and shifters,
I converted from the original clunky SRAM derailleur and twist grip gear change
Works perfectly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great value, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shimano 14-28 7 Speed Screw On Freewheel (Misc.)
This is the same block that I always use, but my last one was £16.99 about 3 years ago, so this represents great value for money. I used it with a Shimano HG40 chain and Shimano Altus rear derailleur and it works very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect replacement, 5 May 2014
By 
Steven Unwin "Steve Unwin" (Preston, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shimano 14-28 7 Speed Screw On Freewheel (Misc.)
I was suffering chain-slip on my Claud Butler hybrid so decided to replace the crank-set, chain and freewheel.
I found this to be the best price available and a perfect replacement. You'll need a freewheel removal tool and a bit of determination to get the old one off, but replacement is a doddle as the freewheel simply screws into place. The action of pedalling works to tighten the freewheel, once its fitted.

This was a direct replacement for the one I removed so I didn't even need to adjust the derailleur. It's a good idea to replace the chain and crank-set at the same time as they tend to wear together. Time will show how durable this is, but first impressions are good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Works., 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shimano 14-28 7 Speed Screw On Freewheel (Misc.)
Nothing wrong with it at all. That's all I can say. The rest of these words are just to fill-up the space so Amazon accepts the comment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shimano 14-28 7 Speed Screw On Freewheel
£8.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews