Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steve emerges from Dave's shadow
As a life-long Sylvian fan, I've also followed his brother Steve's career with interest and his mid-eighties album with fellow Japan band member Richard Barbieri (under the name The Dolphin Brothers) remains one of my favourite albums of the period. But this album comes twenty years later so it would be wrong to expect the same pop sensibility that coursed through that...
Published on 29 Oct 2007 by Leepy

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This Gives Drummers a good name !
This album should be heard by all drummers.Yes we can be technical and musical and we can push a boundary or two.Behind a kit Steve Jansen excels although one gets the feeling he prefers to be behind a laptop these days.This is a beautifully packaged album with some wonderful tracks.Ballad of a deadman is a Jansen track brought to life by David Sylvian and Joan...
Published on 24 April 2009 by captured saint


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steve emerges from Dave's shadow, 29 Oct 2007
This review is from: Slope (Audio CD)
As a life-long Sylvian fan, I've also followed his brother Steve's career with interest and his mid-eighties album with fellow Japan band member Richard Barbieri (under the name The Dolphin Brothers) remains one of my favourite albums of the period. But this album comes twenty years later so it would be wrong to expect the same pop sensibility that coursed through that album. Instead, Slope is a mature, intelligent, playful and experimental album rich in texture, leftfield vocals and disorientating rhythms. Sow the Salt is mersmerising, Ballad of a Deadman swings beautifully and Playground Martyrs, aired on David Sylvian's recent World is Everything tour, is alone worth the entry price. And you get two different versions! Personally, I would have loved to have heard more of Steve's fine voice on this album but his choice of guest artists more than makes up for that. Yes, in places it's dark, sombre and challenging and that may well scare some people off but it certainly won't disappoint anyone who appreciates the direction of brother David's work of late. As with all Samadisound releases it's also beautifully packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an amazing album!!!, 5 Jan 2008
This review is from: Slope (Audio CD)
deservedly selected in The Wire magazines top 50 albums of the year - this is a fantastic album!!! If you don't believe me you can see some great reviews from leading UK newspapers The Guardian and The Observer at steve jansen's dot com website. I heartily recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 31 Oct 2007
This review is from: Slope (Audio CD)
it seems so effortless and somehow humble but with a single debut ablum steve j. shows us where truely experimental music should lead. each title is a masterpiece, full of depth, intelligence, humour and pain. i recommend this to anyone who is serious about hearing something refreshingly new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars finding the way., 12 Mar 2008
By 
J. Higham "joehigham" (Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slope (Audio CD)
As you may notice, the majority of reviews on this page are probably out & out Sylvian/Japan/Nine Hourses fans. With this in mind you can start to see how this CD is being rated a next thing to genius, well that's not quite the case - as yet. I think that the CD, which I bought on the back of some of these reviews, is certainly a nice example of someone starting to be his own man, but the songs are often no more than sketches with the need for a little development on the 'harmonic' front. Of course, one song with a nice atmosphere based on a odd meter (7/4, 5/4 etc) is great, but often all the songs seem to be organised around the same principals. However there are many nice moments - guest voices, atmospheres, interludes etc, which make this an interesting CD. I would add that the three stars is to try and vote 'tactically' so as to even up the rating. Steve Jansen is certainly a very creative musician and one hopes that he will develop the ideas he has on this CD even further.

I should just add a comment ...... it's now 2010, and the original review that I wrote (above) was written in 2008. I haven't changed my opinion from the above article but it's maybe helpful to say that this CD still sits in my CD player regularly ..... which shows, I'm still listening to this CD and so it has stood the test of time.

If you enjoy Steve's percussion interludes you maybe interested to check out Thomas Strønen!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive Mix of Melodic and Experimental, 25 Jan 2008
By 
Christopher Hunter "cjhunter2001uk" (Farnham UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slope (Audio CD)
Drummer makes good album shocker. My art-house/semi electronica album of 2007. There are a lot of neat little tricks going on here and Mr Jansen has learnt how to sample on the front edge of the genre with some assistance from his brother, Mr Sylvian. There are some excellent vocal performances on here from the likes of Nina Kinert, Anja Garbarek and Thomas Feiner (the latter sounding like a disgruntled Tom Waits) and the album also has some glorious instrumental tracks.

My one complaint is that there are a couple of tracks in the middle that have obviously been taken from last years `Nine Horses' sessions and it shows, otherwise this is very impressive work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantabulosa, 31 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Slope (Audio CD)
finally steve jansen has found his way to a solo offering of world class quality. His percussion has always been sublime, and is unmistakable - even Jansen samples for Arve Henricksen's 'cartography' are obviously him- now he'sa gather some quality musicians and singers around him, and produced a fantastic set of songs. Taking a leaf from older brother David Sylvian's book by getting world class musicians to work with you, but not overwhelm you, and both brothers now produce excellent music.
Buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must for sylvian fans, 19 July 2009
By 
shally (manchester ,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Slope (Audio CD)
excellent album ,but as sylvian fan ,ballad of a deadman,and "playground martyrs and well worth buying this album alone.And the vocal talents nina kinert on playground martyrs reprise.Pets and Friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars veeery good, 16 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Slope (Audio CD)
saw sylvians concert 2days ago. seeing him 4th time. steve was there. all player excellent, beside the fact that i dont like personaly the jazz versions of old good songs like brillinat trees, before the bullfight etc.. anyway... Slope is excllent experimenta album. Finaly, i think steve find his way and i guess he have much to gave to us in former future! glad to hear david sing in this album keep going in that way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This Gives Drummers a good name !, 24 April 2009
This review is from: Slope (Audio CD)
This album should be heard by all drummers.Yes we can be technical and musical and we can push a boundary or two.Behind a kit Steve Jansen excels although one gets the feeling he prefers to be behind a laptop these days.This is a beautifully packaged album with some wonderful tracks.Ballad of a deadman is a Jansen track brought to life by David Sylvian and Joan Wasser.December train has a throb that only a drummer could bring to an electronic track. As for playground martyrs this is the stand out track of the album.Jansens keyboard skills to the fore added to simply wonderful vocals by Nina Kinert and Sylvian.An outstanding piece of music that deserves a wider audience.They are some fillers on the album (gap of cloud / a way of disappearing) but overall it's a fine debut.Why Jansen waited until he was almost 50 to release solo work is anyones guess.This is a talented man who should have the confidence to release more solo work. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment from Steve, 28 Oct 2007
By 
Jonathan Attle "JattManAtty" (Preston, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slope (Audio CD)
Oh dear !! What a very disappointing new album considering the previous types of music & albums produced over the years . For me it seems to be too 'self indulgent' & 'experimental ' .Not easy to listen to & even harder to try & enjoy !! . Oh well , you pay your money & take your chance !! .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa17a3e94)

This product

Slope
Slope by Steve Jansen (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews